Carrot
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Carrot's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Carrot's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    17 October 2009
  • Last Review
    06 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    13 May 2011
  • Last Question
    19 April 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    17 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    06 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Carrot's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Ted Baker Ohshort Chino Short is the perfect commuter option to take you from saddle to office in style. Designed with a range of considered cycling features, it is a functional short which breaks the conventions of typical commuter wear.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Short shorts?
Posted06 October 2014
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought a pair of these in 32. I am a 31 waist and they were slightly large, so probably accurate on sizing. I did think that they were a little short in the leg, especially if rolled up twice the reveals the reflective stripes (neat feature).
Well made apart from on small area on the seat where the Very thin pad material had been pushed through with the needle as it had been sewn on. Not worth returning them for that and fixed in a few minutes with my wife's tweezers!
More comfortable if use in a relaxed riding style. Tried them on my SS with drop bars and was aware that they pulled slightly. But, in fairness, they weren't designed for that.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: short leg?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cream of the crop!
Posted06 October 2014
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used this product for a few years now and been impressed. It does what it' supposed to and washes out of the pad. There are cheaper versions available, but I see no reason to change.
Can be a bit "stingy" if it gets onto sensitive bits, but it' snot unpleasant!
"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ultimate lightweight travel floor pump with all the capabilities of a full-size floor pump at half the size.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good for travel
Posted24 June 2014
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very impressed with this pump. Although it is small, it will inflate a tyre (700x25) in only a few strokes more than my Silca full size pump and it's 450 grams lighter. ABS screw on chuck is also a great innovation. Just make sure your valve cores are tight first!
The bag is a quality product, but I can't help thinking that not having one might save £15 or so and I could pack the pump in Jiffy bags.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ready for 2012, For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good taste
Posted20 June 2013
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Tried this chocolate flavoured recovery drink as an alternative to another brand which had a very bitter (and unpleasant) aftertaste.
It mixes well with no sediment. It's easy to swallow and not too thick. I went for the sachets as they are easier to carry around and keep the product fresh.
My only question is why is the tear strip at the BOTTOM of the sachet?
"
Pros: convenient, good taste
Cons: odd packaging ergonomics
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The Mojito offers the superb Up & Down fitting system and unique synthetic leather chin strap for absolute comfort out on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Premium Kask
Posted30 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good helmet and good fit for my head. One odd thing is that the pads hold a considerable amount of sweat. When the helmet is removed this tends to drip out with some vigour - odd.
The rear cradle is quite large and interferes with the arms on many types of sunglasses, so try before you buy. Having said that, the cradle is secure and very adjustable.
A good buy if it fits. Applies to all helmets I suppose.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: pads hold a lot of sweat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Analysis, inspiration and innovation are the key words behind the development of the Tao, the Tacx superlight streamlined bottle cage. The shape of the bike and its technical components inspired the designers.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Tacx Bottle Cage
Posted29 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This was bought as an addition to an existing cage to go with some Elite 750 ml bottles (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/elite-supercorsa-coca-cola-bottle/).
As the cage has no 'spring' it does not grip the bottles and they rattled somewhat. A few turns of insulation tape cured the problem, but beware if you have slim bottles.
In other respects, a well made cage.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: poor fit on some bottles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pedros Chain Keeper
Pedros Chain Keeper
The Chain Keeper is inserted into the right rear dropout when the wheel is removed for cleaning, storing, or transporting bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Chain Keeper
Posted04 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got this as my other chain keeper is non adjustable and won't fit the 120 mm spacing on my fixed. Does the job and the eccentric design allows the chain to be tensioned to keep it off the chainstay."
Pros: Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Torq Energy Natural Organic Unflavoured - 500g
Torq Energy Natural Organic Unflavoured - 500g
A natural and organic supplement to your regular nutrition during heavy training/racing periods.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Unflavoured drink
Posted09 November 2012
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Surprisingly neutral taste. I bought this as I'd tried drinks from other manufacturers and disliked the unnaturally sweet taste (aspartame etc. perhaps?).
I was a little disappointed that there was no version with electrolytes, but I can live with that omission for most of the as I reside up north!
Incidentally, I also got some Torq pink grapefruit drink at the same time. Good taste, even the wife liked it!
"
Pros: High Quality, decent taste
Cons: no electrolytes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Allows bags, baskets or backpacks to be attached on to seat posts.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful bracket
Posted24 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got this to replace the stem / seatpost mount that I tried previously. This moves my barbag away from the backs of my legs.
The weight limit of 5kg is sensible, but I don't think I'd like to load it with so much, particularly if I had a carbon or carbon wrapped seatpost.
The clamp is quite narrow so puts some pressure on the seatpost. I wrapped the post with some plastic repair tape (thick Sellotape-like stuff) to prevent any marking. There was some moulding flash on the bracket surfaces that contacted the post, so these were removed with fine wet and dry paper.
"
Pros: Durable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Anatomic 3/4 length shorts with a 13 panel construction in A.434 Spandex. With an FI.Mille_S5 seatpad and legendary Assos attention to detail, TK.434_S5 is the finest choice for endurance training and racing in cold to mild weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Assos Bib Knickers.
Posted25 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Carrot
fromKENDAL
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these as I was fed up with using knee warmers with my F1.13 bib shorts.
I was impressed with the pad, much more flexible than the F1.13 and larger at the front to maintain my modesty, but more importantly warmer!
I am 180cm tall. I bought the 'large' which was sized for 180 to 185cm tall. I found them quite snug lenghtwise, OK in the cycling position (read the Assos blurb!), but had I been at the taller end of the range they may have been uncomfortable.
My main gripe, however, was in the knee section - or more precisely behind it. The material bunched up slightly and although it was not uncomfortable, it was a distraction. My longest ride with these shorts has been 3 hours and the bunching was starting to annoy me. In fairness, I do not shave my legs, so this may have been part of the problem. The elastics have only minimal grippers, so this may also have contributed.
The washing bag supplied is not the best. It lacks any form of positive closure and half of my shorts had worked their way out (minimum wash, delicate cycle). I have since reverted to my mormal net wash bag, secured with a cable tie.
Once again the enhanced visibility detailing is on the LHS. C'mon Assos (and Gore) let's have some right hand drive versions!
"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: uncomfortable behind knees
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Carrot's Questions
 
The Frisch gilet is the ideal accompaniment to enhance protection against the cold at any time of the year. Features include 3 rear pockets, full length zip, Windstopper Soft Shell front panels, and a mesh back panel.
 

When will this product be available please?

6 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 

Will this sprocket fit my Nexus 7 speed hub?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
The Stage Racer's Bar - Comfort, ergonomics, stiffness and aerodynamics are the essential elements we've balanced in the Contour SL, and every millimeter of the shape is designed for all-day comfort and performance.
 

Grooved for Campag?

Can you tell me what grooves are moulded into this bar. I want to use Campag Ergopower shifters
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
 Wing Pro Compact Road Handlebar
Wing Pro Compact Road Handlebar
FSA's new road handlebars are available in multiple widths & shapes. Whether you prefer to spend time on the tops, the hood or in the drops, FSA have an option that will suit your style.
 

Are the bars double or single groove?

I want to run Campag (Chorus) shifters on this bar.
Can you tell me how many grooves there are and where they run please.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
Carrot's Answers
 
The Ted Baker Ohshort Chino Short is the perfect commuter option to take you from saddle to office in style. Designed with a range of considered cycling features, it is a functional short which breaks the conventions of typical commuter wear.
 

Does this short come in a long version?

I am 6'5" and waist 34 and concerned that these will be too short.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hi, I'm 5'11" and waist 32 ish.
I have just posted a review in which I said the leg was short, especially if rolled up twice to reveal the reflectives.
Hope this helps.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
Allows bags, baskets or backpacks to be attached on to seat posts.
 

What is the maximum load (kg) this will take? Thanks

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
5kg - if you dare.
I would reduce this if you have a carbon seatpost and DO NOT OVERTIGHTEN!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

do any of the GPS bike computers show real time slopes for hills?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have an Edge 800.
This has a gradient function. If you allow for the fact that it has to work out the slope (from barometric pressure change?) then display, then this is real time - albeit with a delay of a couple of seconds or so. I have been impressed by the accuracy of this function, which has correlated well with the roadside gradient signs.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
A compact HP pump design that brings floor pump function and power along for the ride. The aluminum barrel, shaft, base, and T-handle are custom CNC-machined for durability, ergonomics and reduced weight.
 

What's the difference between the HP and HV versions of this pump?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
HP is 'high pressure' for road bikes.
HV is 'high volume' for mountain bikes.
I think!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL
 
 Four Pack Locking Skewer Set
Four Pack Locking Skewer Set
One key that locks up all major removable components (Front Wheel, Rear Wheel, Seat, Handle Bars and forks).
 

Tricross fit

Will the seat and bar locks fit my Specialized Tricross?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
If you have an adjustable stem, possibly not. See my review for more details
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Carrot
KENDAL