megsta
Share megsta's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
megsta's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    16 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    30 December 2009
  • Last Question
    03 May 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    30 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    16 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
megsta's Reviews
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value
Posted16 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
megsta
fromcambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good tight fit, keeps water off top of shoe. Reflective detail is good feature,"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted06 June 2011
megsta
fromcambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit. Easier to use than I expected. I left factory settings on adjuster - seems to be fine."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Highlite Combo Light Set
Highlite Combo Light Set
Light set featuring the Whitelite, super bright 3 LED safety headlight (highlite)with un-diffused clear lens, and the rear Redlite.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good flashing LEDs
Posted01 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
megsta
fromcambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit. Good flashing LEDs. Good for commuting in well lit up cycle path town. Probably need better full beam light for darker, non lit streets."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Using the same 2:1 ingredient ratio as other Torq products Torq Gels have a blend of Maltodextrin, a long chain complex carbohydrate and Fructose (fruit sugar) this means its absorbed easier and gentle on the stomach.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
They work -
Posted20 July 2010
megsta
fromcambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Definitely works - consumed just before Biggin Hill. Kicked in and I powered ahead.
Not too keen on the yoghurt's flavours. They've got that slightly powdery after taste, like a soluble aspirin. I prefer the Forest Fruits, and Banoffee. Each to their own though.....
Tad expensive - be good if they were sold in packs of 10."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good rehydration
Posted30 June 2010
megsta
fromcambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I found that using 1 and a half per litre is perfect. 1 on it's own was a bit weak, 2 too strong. No cramp, no dehydration."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Amberley Waterproof Cycling Jacket
Amberley Waterproof Cycling Jacket
The Amberley range - keeping you warm, dry and safe
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Could do with extra pockets
Posted29 October 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
megsta
Country : United Kingdom
"Good lightweight jacket. Decent waterproofing. Only comes with the one pocket on the back. So to make it better I'd like zip hand pockets."
Pros: Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: single pocket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Great value floor pump with long hose and wide, stable plastic base.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value - quality product
Posted23 September 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
megsta
"I have been using a hand held crank brother pump for some time (which I still carry the handheld in my backpack). This Topeak floor pump is much better - able to inflate the tyres with ease. Gauge easy to read. Solida construction. Works with both types of value. Great value!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LD250/260BS/LD300 Light Bracket
LD250/260BS/LD300 Light Bracket
This is the part that the light fits on to!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
If its broke replace it....
Posted17 June 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
megsta
"Glad I bought this - better than having to get a whole new light and bracket set."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
megsta's Questions
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised.
 

will these fit on a 29er

Will these fit on a 29er wheel. I've measured the diameter of my 29er and it is 25", same as my road bike. So I think they should fit. Could someone confirm... thanks
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
 Morvelo Classique ThermoActive Long Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo Classique ThermoActive Long Sleeve Jersey
Morvelo's Classique Long Sleeve Jersey features a panelled construction that ensures a great fit while the ThermoActive fabric keeps you warm. Great for use on it's own when cool and with a base layer or waterproof when it's colder or wetter.
 

is this windproof / waterproof

hi, is the jersey windproof and/or waterproof?
8 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Reflective strip

Hi, do these have the reflective strip around the side wall of the tyre?
10 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
A stylish city pannier with a water proof roll closure with 40 litres of storage and the, secure, reliable QL1 mounting system.
 

Differences to back roller classic- ?!

Hi, this city model look similar to the back roller classic. What is the difference apart from the shoulder strap and additional buckle strap? Does the city model have a inner pocket?
2 years, 10 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
 XT PD-M770 Pedals
XT PD-M770 Pedals
XT SPD's are designed to take the rigours of off-road competition whilst also being perfect for cross country trail riding.
 

M770 or M540 or M520

Hi, are these worth paying the extra £s for, or are the lower priced shimano models adequate. I commute daily and also enter cross country MTB races. This would be my first pair of SPDs. Any advice please? thanks, Ian
3 years, 6 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
 Pace Padded Waist Tight
Pace Padded Waist Tight
The anatomical construction of the Pace waist tights makes for a comfortable and unrestrictive fit.
 

Waterproof?

Are these waterproof? If not can you recommend a pair of leggins that are. thanks,
3 years, 11 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
 M1 MTB Shoes
M1 MTB Shoes
The dhb M1 shoe is designed for the recreational mountain biker who likes the simplicity of a three strap shoe.
 

Newbie - another pedal question

Hi, I'd like to get these shoes, plus some pedals. Please an someone tell me which pedals I would need (cheapest possible). Plus would I need anything else - cleats? Can you provide Wiggle URLs? thanks.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
Anti-air loss connector essential for air spring forks/shocks and small wheel 12"/14" that have Schrader valves.
 

Will this attach to the Jo blow track pump?

Hi, I need a shock pump for my rear suspension. Before I buy a purpose built one - I was wondering if this would do the job - if attached to the Jo Blow track pump?
 
Products related to my question
 
4 years, 9 months ago
by
megsta
 
megsta's Answers
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 

What size would your recommend?

I currently have size 46 Shimano RO64 shoes. Would you suggest I go for the large or the extra large in this overshoe?
I wear size 45 and large is a snug fit. which makes me think 46 might be too tight.
10 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
3mm stretch Neoprene, taped-seam overshoe protects feet from cold, wet, mid Winter weather.
 

Hi, don't mean to sound dumb but is this 19.99 per shoe or for the pair?

Yes - it is for the pair, left foot and right foot :-)
10 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge
 
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

How many tablets per tube?

12
4 years, 3 months ago
by
megsta
cambridge