Saturn5
Share Saturn5's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Saturn5's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    14 January 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    26 September 2010
  • Last Review Comment
    26 September 2010
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    21 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Saturn5's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Topeak Wedge Bag 2 (Clip On) Micro Saddle Bag
Topeak Wedge Bag 2 (Clip On) Micro Saddle Bag
Updated and improved version of our popular wedge pack.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rattle free
Posted14 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought to replace worn out Lezyne Micro Caddy Medium. The new design of this doesn't fit (strap is too short to go round saddle rails if you put anything in it!) so have gone for this. It is a little smaller (I now get 1x road tube, 2x gas carts, 1x mini-inflator, 3x levers, spare quicklink and 1x tool (Topeak Hexus II inside), but this does the job for me. There's a little more room, but not much. It fits neatly to the rails without any swearing, and is held well away from the seatpost.
I'll be interested to see how the plastic bracket lasts so I'll be keeping any eye on it. Unlike a strap, this might seem prone to sudden failure. Seems secure for now.
Zip seems good quality, and because this is a semi-rigid design, not under too much pressure."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A compact, streamlined saddle bag ideal for sleek racing saddle shapes, the 0.4L Micro Caddy is perfect for road cycling and sportives with your tools and essentials. Velcro straps provide secure fitting without the need for tools or mounting brackets.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Weak design
Posted09 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this because I was happy with the previous version, now wearing out. I'm really naffed off with this one because it is impossible to fit it to the saddle when it has stuff in it. The strap is about 10-15cm too short. Whoever designed this new fitting obviously didn't test it. Duh. The only solution would be to fit it upside down, but this obviously isn't acceptable.
Another point to note: there is no "reflective tail light loop" as advertised here on Wiggle, although this is obvious from the photo."
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 CherryBomb 0.5 Watt Rear Light
CherryBomb 0.5 Watt Rear Light
The NiteRider CherryBomb is one of the most visible standalone tail lights available.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bright...
Posted30 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"...but one difficulty for me is my non-round seatmast. The clamps that come with it are pretty standard seatpost/seatstay clamps. I'm going to try one of the universal clamps from Cateye http://www.wiggle.co.uk/cateye-rear-light-clamp/ in the hope of fitting it. An alternative will be to get a saddlepack with a little strap for lights at the back.
Good for the light. Star off for the inflexible fitting.
Best not look into the light. The red spot in my eye has gone now."
Pros: bright
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ritchey Liquid Torque
Ritchey Liquid Torque
Creates extra friction between two surfaces, allowing tightening torque to be reduced by up to 30%.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gritty Grease
Posted27 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a tiny pack of grease for use on seatposts and the like, especially where a carbon-carbon junction is made. Does the job, and you certainly don't need a whole pack for one seatpost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chainring Nut Tool
Chainring Nut Tool
Chainring nut wrench.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Poor materials
Posted30 March 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Both pins snapped off on first use. The active site is made of a hard but brittle material. Fit is ok, but not very secure on Shimano nuts.
I ended up using the end of a steel ruler, which worked a treat. Don't think I'll bother with such a tool again."
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, brittle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Spanner for removing/replacing the chainring bolts on your chainset. Compatible with Shimano and Campagnolo chainring bolts.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
not compatible with Shimano
Posted27 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The centre pin on this tool is the same length as the side pins, so the tool just slips off. Worse than a screwdriver!
Can't comment on whether it fits Campag, but it certainly is no good with Shimano. Returning, obviously."
Cons: Poor Fit, not shimano compatible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile winter jersey
Posted12 February 2012
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've owned another dhb long sleeve jersey for a few years and needed another. This one is certainly snug fitting, but I thought the sizing was about right. I've used it on some very cold mornings with a gilet, and today, when it was a bit milder. Temperature control is fine. It isn't windproof (which I think would be too warm) so on colder/longer rides a windproof would be useful, but on most winter rides where I live it doesn't get that cold most of the time. The collar is snug too, which some may find uncomfortable.
I'm prevented from giving it full marks because the pockets (again, dhb!) are a bit on the small side. I can get a coat in, but it is a squeeze. Winter jerseys need bigger pockets, yes? There's also no need for velcro closures. They get in the way. I don't need them in the summer, so why would I need them in the winter?
Overalll, though, a good jersey."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: pockets a little small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 A3 Document Bag
A3 Document Bag
Perfect for safe storage of maps, passports and other important documents while travelling. The dust and waterproof transparent bags are made of UV, tear and crease resistant fabric with super tough seams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best map case
Posted29 December 2011
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used these for years and the only reason I have to replace them is because they go missing! The A3 size means fewer re-folds and a very useful area for navigation, especially when using 1:25k maps.
Quality is very high. Yellowing is minimal and the material is very tough. The closure us completely waterproof. I tend to have the map tucked in a rucsac pocket, sort of rolled up, until I need to use it - it doesn't get treated too gently.
I use these a lot for the Ten Tors groups I train. I've only seen these cases tear when misused by inexperienced teenagers who, however intelligent they are, seem incapable of working out the closure system and end up tearing it in impatience! It is a simple velcro roll-lock and foolproof, if not 14 yo proof.
I don't use it on the bike, obviously!"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Inner tubes...
Posted05 June 2011
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"...to hold the air in. These are the remaining minimum characters."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Winter hat
Posted02 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Saturn5
fromExeter
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Pretty much what it is. It's a hat that is pretty windproof and fits nicely under your helmet. Snug fit in that swimming cap way. Does the job in subzero temperatures (why am I riding with ice on the roads??) Does dull the hearing a bit, compared with a fleece headband, but not critically so. Not too noisy in the wind."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Saturn5's Questions
 
Saturn5 has not submitted any questions.
 
Saturn5's Answers
 
 Chainring Nut Tool
Chainring Nut Tool
Chainring nut wrench.
 

Shimano Ultegra Chainring Suitability

Will this work with Ultegra 6601chainring bolts: gear fixing bolts (M8 x 9.1)?
I don't know if it'll fit any better than on my Shimano bolts, but the tool broke on first use anyway. I wouldn't bother. I ended up using the end of a steel rule which worked very well.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Saturn5
Exeter
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

This or Windslam Robaix for winter?

Looking for a winter jacket/jersey for cycling in London and I don't know whether to go for this or the dhb Long Sleeve Windslam Roubaix? It sounds that this jacket is warm but it's doesn't claim to block the wind like the Windslam and in my experience it's the icy wind in Winter that really leads to cold limbs.

Hence I'm leaning toward the Windslam Roubaix but want to double-check my assumptions?
It isn't windproof. I use it with a gilet.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Saturn5
Exeter
 
 Ultegra 6600 10 Speed Freehub Body
Ultegra 6600 10 Speed Freehub Body
Freehub body for use with Shimano 10 speed Ultegra hubs
 

Delivery says usually 2-7 days. How accurate is this as I don't want to order one and be sat here a month later still waiting for it. Thank you.

I've found Wiggle to be at least as good as their word on their delivery times. If it's not in stock they say so.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Saturn5
Exeter