Stilts
Share Stilts's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Stilts's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    18 June 2010
  • Last Review
    14 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    14 May 2012
  • Last Answer
    20 August 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Stilts's Reviews
 
With 3K monocoque carbon fibre construction, at this price point, The Mekk Poggio 1.5 is the perfect ride for any value conscious road rider. Drawing from years of industry experience the Mekk range proves you can have a top quality for less.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Value Road Bike
Posted14 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stilts
fromConsett, Co. Durham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had been looking for an entry level road bike on/off for quite a while, never once did I think I would be able to purchase a full carbon road bike for the price bracket I was in, however, when I saw this and read other reviews I thought I would give it a try.
I contacted Wiggle using their 'Live Chat' facility to get a few of my questions answered (I found this service to be extremely convenient) and then took the plunge to order.
Upon arrival of the bike in the box I felt like a big kid and couldn't wait to open it, the bike looks fantastic and looks much better "in the flesh" so to speak.
I didn't ride it straight away as I needed to kit up with SPDs and new shoes, once I sorted these I was out for a quick 20 miler, the bike was so nibble and responsive, and even after a long period away from road biking I felt like me and the bike could tackle anything, it was easier than I thought going up a few of the local hills.
The Shimano Sora groupset had been setup very well and shifted fine through all gears.
Overall I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for an entry level full carbon road bike, you won't be disappointed!!!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 TRN Wetsuit & FREE Zoggs Tri Vision Mask
TRN Wetsuit & FREE Zoggs Tri Vision Mask
Buy the TRN Wetsuit and receive a FREE Zoggs Tri Vision Mask (CV/Black).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great First Wetsuit
Posted20 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stilts
fromConsett, Co. Durham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I purchased this wetsuit to take part in my first open water swim (not completed yet).
I have worn/tested the suit only once in the North Sea, it was very comfortable and easy to get on/off.
I chose the size 9, I am 6ft 5" tall, weigh approx. 87kgs, and 40-42" chest and this fits fine (tight, but not too tight)."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tyres
Posted14 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stilts
fromConsett, Co. Durham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First real test of these tyres completed over 12th/13th May by completing the Tran Pennine Trail from Liverpool to York covering approx. 175 miles.
Not one incident with the tyres regarding punctures and the average speed was really good too (rolled really well).
They had quite a heavy load to take on board too, I'm approx 14stone and the bike was fully loaded with double panniers.
I will def by purchasing these tyres again!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit
Cons: non
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value Tyre
Posted18 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stilts
fromConsett, Co. Durham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these tyres after reading a few reviews and I required a tyre for multi purpose (roads and off-road).
I've mainly used these for my daily commute to work and they function really well on the road, tyre is currently inflated to 55psi, rolls really well.
The only negative I have found so far was when it rained, the tyres became fairly slippery on tarmac surfaces, however, for the price and how the handle generally, I can't complain (these tyres were double the price at a local shop).
Big thumbs up, will def be purchasing again!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stilts's Questions
 
Stilts has not submitted any questions.
 
Stilts's Answers
 
 TRN Wetsuit & FREE Zoggs Tri Vision Mask
TRN Wetsuit & FREE Zoggs Tri Vision Mask
Buy the TRN Wetsuit and receive a FREE Zoggs Tri Vision Mask (CV/Black).
 

What size for a 6'5'' male, 87kg and a 37'' chest?

Hi, I am 6ft 5", 87kg and approx.40-42 chest, I chose the size 9 and found it to fit quite well.

I think the size 10 may have been to large in the chest and the size 8 to short in the legs/arms.

Give the size 9 a try, you can always send it back to Wiggle if it's not suitable.

Cheers!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Stilts
Consett, Co. Durham
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 

what size inner tube (presta valve) should I buy with schwalbe marathon greenguard 1.25 rigit MTB city tyre? Will these fit standard MTB 26" rims?

Hi,

If you're using the presta valve inner tubes now on your MTB rims/tyres then I would imagine they should be fine.

I swapped my XC tyres off my MTB recently and put on the schwalbe marathon greenguards (26 x 1.5) and my existing inners were just fine.

Cheers!
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Stilts
Consett, Co. Durham
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 

will these fit my wheel

I have a Trek 4500 with 26x2.10 wheels. Will this tyre fit correctly? Also, is a schrader valve and is there an inner tube as well?
Hi,

It will all depend on the size of your rims, however, if you choose say a 26 x 1.50 (no lower) then they SHOULD be fine.

If unsure I would maybe ask your local bike shop about your rims.

Cheers.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Stilts
Consett, Co. Durham
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 

Are these tyres OK for loose material cycle path use?

Hi,

Part of my commute is along 6 miles of a dissused and converted railway line and I feel my current MTB tyres are a little overkill.

Would these be OK for regular use on medium to fine gravel track?

Thanks
Best answer
They should be fine, however, I wouldn't go lower than a 1.50 tyre.

Cheers.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Stilts
Consett, Co. Durham