thedarkhorse
Share thedarkhorse's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
thedarkhorse's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    05 August 2009
  • Last Review
    08 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    13 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    25 April 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
thedarkhorse's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Worlds first Non Bio Laundry Detergent designed specifically for Sports wear clothing. Used by Fitness Professionals and Amateurs alike, this unique Sportswash works as hard as you do to stay on top of your game in the battle against odours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really great washing liquid
Posted08 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have had troubles with most usual washing powders on the low 30 degree setting used to make sure I don't wreck my running / swimming / cycling / tri kit. Especially my run kit used to get stinky quite easy - this stuff works through well on low temperature.
Well priced in terms of usual supermarket brands too. Very pleased.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, really good washing liquid for sportswear
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value commuting / general tyres
Posted25 April 2011
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought a pair of these for my girlfriends old raleigh mtb and what a great buy. Sensible centre tread for road use and side knobs for path use. Not the lightest tyres but they were very easy to get on so really pleased with them.
Overall great tyres for the intended use.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: slightly heavy - but not that bad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant, resists snagging, and is 20 times more fade resistant than any other swim fabric. Featuring 4 way stretch technology for added softness and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good long lasting shorts - bit tight on the leg
Posted19 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are my second pair, first pair lasted a good 2.5 years and are still going as a back up. Great value and great to train in.
Only problem with the latest ones is the cut seems to be a bit narrow at the bottom of the leg - they do pinch a bit on the leg so beware if you have cyclists legs - one of the guys I train with has found this too.
All in all a great value product I am happy to recommend."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, very chlorine resistant
Cons: bit tight on the leg
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good lube
Posted13 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good lube, been using it for a while on my road and mtb - all good."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mens Sport Compression Socks SS11
Mens Sport Compression Socks SS11
The Sport Compression Sock offers graduated compression to help reduce leg fatigue and improve circulation along with moisture management for dry and comfortable feet.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value compression socks
Posted13 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No tried the expensive types but Im happy with the Asic ones."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Good slicks, nightmare to get on, get slim tubes
Posted13 November 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"OK, here goes with a mixed review. I have used the Gatorskin on one of my road bikes / as a turbo trainer tyre for ages and they offer great puncture resistance a great life.
Main problem with the MTB version is getting the bleeders on the rim - they are v tight. Im not the best mechanic in the world and I had to get someone to help me get them on. My tip is to pre-stretch them by holding the tyre between your feet and pulling up on them (in an up-right row motion for gym goers!). They were easier to get on after doing this with force.
Next problem was the inner tubes - standard (even 26 x 1.75 cheapo's) fill a bit too much space and you can get pinch punctures. If you can get slim inner tubes it would be recommended.
And final problem - the pressure in the tube @ 100psi blew through the rim tape on a spoke eyelet causing a puncture (using decent Velox rim tape). I would limit pressure to 95psi even though they are rated to 120psi.
Actually riding them they are great - good enough grip (though my first mtb slicks) and do help with the effeciency for road use.
Also if it helps I contacted Conti before purchase and they are fine for use with Maxin X-517 rims.
"
Pros: good slicks
Cons: Poor Fit, hard to get on the rim, inner tubes can pinch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Just like the trail, but with a wider 60mm blade for use with fat tyre bikes running 24 or 26" wheels.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Basic but good enough mudguard - check fittings
Posted13 November 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Decent enough mudguards at a decent price (lets face it no one wants to spend mega-bucks on something that gets covered in nasties!).
My only gripe is that the fitting bolts dont work for my front fork (needs to have a bolt through the fork arch).
Also the fittings on the back one, the bolt needs to go through the chainstay bridge horzontally, my Marin has vertical bolts so I zip tied it on instead - works well enough.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit, bolt fittings dont fit all forks / frames
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Muc-Off have now added Nano technology to their award winning cleaning formula.So why is Muc-Off with Nano better? Because the Nano sized particles contained in our revolutionary formula will remove dirt and grime with even less effort!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great bike cleaner
Posted13 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have been using muc-off for a while now and its all good.
Lets face it, 'nano-tech' or whatever the blurb is sounds like hype but in fairness this latest version does leave a better finish compared to the 'non-nano-tech' product previously.
All in all a great cleaner.
"
Pros: High Quality, leaves a good finish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Protein Plus Bar Box Of 15 55g Bars
Protein Plus Bar Box Of 15 55g Bars
PowerBar ProteinPlus energy bar is a high-quality, low fat protein bar developed by the athletes at PowerBar. This high protein bar was developed according to the needs of world class athletes and others who want a convenient, great tasting source of high quality protein. As with other PowerBar products, PowerBar ProteinPlus is a tool for athletes to use along with a balanced diet to help achieve optimum performance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good after hard training / racing
Posted20 April 2010
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good recovery bar after hard training / races. Bit expensive but tastes nice and does help with the recovery. Good to keep one in your bag for after tough swimming sessions etc too."
Pros: great tasting
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fast acting carbohydrates re-energise your muscles.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good post training recovery product
Posted12 September 2009
thedarkhorse
fromThe shire
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Usally use SIS Rego but gave this a go as cost per serving was less.
Mixes well in a shaker, but does not stand very well if left in the fridge (starts to solidify unlike Rego), so make after training rather than before.
Seems to be pretty good stuff, tastes nice and the scoop included is great to measure servings with less fuss than weighing Rego on scales as I used to do.
Basically I am happy to use this or Rego - go for whatever is on best offer when you need to re-order!
"
Pros: easy to measure servings with included scoop, mixes easily, tastes good
Cons: does not 'stand' well if left in the fridge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
thedarkhorse's Questions
 
thedarkhorse has not submitted any questions.
 
thedarkhorse's Answers
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Would these tyres be suitable for my GT Agressor XC3?

Wheels/tyres 26 x 2.1
If your current tyre is 26 x 2.1 you should be fine with the slightly narrower 26 x 2.0 land cruiser
2 years, 11 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

My fitted tyres are 26 - 1.95 nobbly tread I would like to change to road tyres will the schwalbe land cruiser 26 - 1.90 be ok to fit

I think the land cruiser is a 26 x 2.0 but should be fine if you currently have a 26 x 1.95
2 years, 11 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

would these fit a rim with the existing tyres reading 26x2.10?

Yes, the 26 x 2.0 land cruiser will give you a bit more clearance (your current tyre is slightly wider so you shouldn't have any problems)
2 years, 11 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

What size Schwalbe MTB tyres will fit my 26" x 1.95 whels

If you currently have a 26 x 1.95 tyre fitted these should be fine
2 years, 11 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

Are these folding tyres?

No they are not folding, they are pretty light still but are hard to get onto the rim partly due to the steel bead
3 years, 1 month ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

Does anyone know the PSI for these tyres?

Up to 100psi I think, I wouldnt take them quite that high though (80 to 90 should be fine). Hope this helps.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
Just like the trail, but with a wider 60mm blade for use with fat tyre bikes running 24 or 26" wheels.
 

Can I fit the front mudguard to a suspension fork with no holes for bracket bolts?

My answer is no - thats my problem and I havent come up with a work around yet for my 2007 Rock Shox SID Race forks.

Better product image at:
http://www.zefal.com/SITE/BASES/PRODUIT/imgHR/prod246001imgHR.gif

Hope this helps
3 years, 5 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
Just like the trail, but with a wider 60mm blade for use with fat tyre bikes running 24 or 26" wheels.
 

Will this fit a Dahon Jack bike? Many Thanks

Have had a look at your bike on the Dahon website:
http://uk.dahon.com/bikes/2010/jack-d24

Looks like the front will be ok as it looks like there is a bolt through.

The rear appears to have a seat stay bridge so you should be ok with the bolt (if horizontal) or zip ties if vertical.

Extra image can be seen on the mt zefal website:
http://www.zefal.com/SITE/BASES/PRODUIT/imgHR/prod246001imgHR.gif

Hope this helps
3 years, 5 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire
 
Just like the trail, but with a wider 60mm blade for use with fat tyre bikes running 24 or 26" wheels.
 

Will this fit to a Trek 4300?

I have a Trek 4300 with front suspension. Will these mud guards fit it?
Check if you have a bolt through the arch on the suspension fork.

There is a pic you can zoom in on at:
http://www.zefal.com/zefal/produit.php?key=246001#

http://www.zefal.com/SITE/BASES/PRODUIT/imgHR/prod246001imgHR.gif

You also need a horizontal bolt on the chainstay bridge of your frame for the rear. If you like me have a vertical bolt you can get away with zip ties.

Hope this helps
3 years, 5 months ago
by
thedarkhorse
The shire