afxacid
Top 50 Contributor
Share afxacid's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
afxacid's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    96
  • Helpfulness Votes
    48
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    29 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    30 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    29 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
afxacid's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does Everything Well
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very nice seat post - looks fantastic with a matt carbon finish and grey contrast logo - very nearly 'stealth' with just the 'superzero' clear in white.
The post holds the saddle firmly and removes a good amount of buzz from the road. No problems setting it up, it was very easy to adjust to get the exact position.
And the question I most wanted answering - yes, it will hold a carbon rail saddle, no problem. I've got it clamping a Selle San Marco Regale Carbon FX (0.7 x 0.9 oval rails) with no issues."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, holds a carbon rail saddle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding, appreciated by pros and amateurs. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section – the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very comfortable bars...
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My third set of these (different bikes)! They're perfect for me - very comfortable, easy to fit, easy to move around on, light and look brilliant. The black series are particularly versatile as you don't have to worry about matching the red of the standard 3T Team bars.
Worth the upgrade from the Pro level and the ride feels exactly the same as the LTD bars (I've had both) so definitely the one to pick in my opinion."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact saddle bag with 0.7L of storage for spare tubes, multi-tools, energy bars, keys and mobile phones etc. With a water resistant PU coated construction and a velcro mounting, the Evoc saddle bag is ideal for days out on the roads and trails.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just Right...
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I like this saddle bag - it's the second one I've had. It's just the right size for a tube and levers, and a multi-tool / keys if you wish. Probably on the small side to fit much more in, though I tend to use my jersey pockets for anything else.
The bag itself wears well, is reasonably weather proof and fits just about any seatpost / saddle combination (including aero posts). It's easy to get in and out of and doesn't rattle around on the move."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Elite's best selling Elite carbon cage now with a fresh, updated design to complement any bike
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well Designed Cage
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I really like this cage - the open design means that it holds your bidon firmly, regardless of its diameter whilst making entry and exit very easy. It's light too!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, good design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lezyne Alloy Digital Floor Drive is a CNC machined high pressure floor pump. Combining modern styling with high performance and now with a new digital gauge for the ultimate in precision tyre inflation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well Made Floor Pump
Posted27 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So I decided it was time to upgrade my trusty floor pump of 10 years (the seals are starting to go) and decided on this for the Lezyne reputation and the digital gauge.
The pump looks good and is easy enough to use. I prefer a beefier handle, but that's personal choice. The materials seem of high quality and I like the digital gauge though it does wander a little bit and you have to let it settle before you take a reading.
My only mild disappointment was that the barrel seems quite narrow (at least compared to my previous model) so it takes a lot more strokes to get up to pressure, however this does allow you a little more accuracy as you're getting close to pressure."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, accurate
Cons: narrow barrel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bolt Bling
Posted27 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Nice quality bolts from Token that add a bit of bling to your bike. The wider bolt head is nice to ensure you get a wider application of pressure too."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Its predecessor, the Regal, was used by the greats such as Cipollini, Boonen, McEwen, Lemond and Chiappucci, and now the Regal-E offers the same level of comfort and support in an updated form.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing Saddle
Posted27 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my first Selle San Marco, having been a Selle Italia fan recently, I decided to try something different and saw this was what Mark Cavendish uses.
I was amazed! Super comfy, supportive, reduced road buzz, no break in - no chaffing. And it looks fantastic! Everything a saddle should be! I know saddles are very personal but if you're a bigger guy and have a bit of cash to invest, I strongly recommend you give this a try."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
If it's not Cinelli, it's not original cork ribbon. The unique and original cork ribbon introduced by Cinelli in 1987.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Very disappointing
Posted27 July 2014
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've used this product a number of times with no problem, but this time (for whatever reason) it was awful - a faded black / grey colour, very brittle and tore twice whilst I was applying it. Took it straight off and binned it.
I can only imagine it was in storage for some time or it was a bad batch, but unfortunately, I won't be buying it again."
Cons: Low Quality, tore on application, faded
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Latin for stronghold and bridge, ARX is 3T's race-proven design for the perfect connection between fork and handlebar, and suited to all cycling disciplines.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Strangely Drawn Back
Posted24 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"There's something alluring about these stems - they look great, are fantastic value and perform well in combat.
However, a word of experience - be very gentle as you torque up - I've had two stems sheer bolts on me and they're the devil's work to get out again. Both times they've been well below the minimum torque when they've gone (once by my LBS).
But hey, I'm back for my 5th one, which shows how well they stack up against the competition and yes, I still recommend them."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged
Cons: bolts can sheer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Assos Skin Repair gel for relieves discomfort and accelerates the healing of skin damage caused by friction against the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works a Treat
Posted25 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was a little dubious of this when I saw it, but after a few sore rides, I decided to give it a try - and it worked a treat! Next day, no soreness!
I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives that work as well, but I can certainly recommend this."
Pros: it works
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
afxacid's Questions
 
afxacid has not submitted any questions.
 
afxacid's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 

Tilt angle

Hi, stupid question, can this post/bolts be set up so that the saddle nose is angled slightly down? My current orbea post won't allow anything beyond perfectly level which isn't the most comfortable ride!
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It is able to tilt - mine's nose down a couple of degrees but it will go further
2 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 

Looking for a compatible seatpost for a Selle Italia SLR Carbon Rail saddle

Need a specific seatpost for the above saddle, would this be compatible?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Can't be 100% sure, but mine is holding a carbon rail saddle by San Marco with no problems, which measures 0.7mm by 0.9mm (oval rails).
2 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 

Is the finish glossy or matt?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Matt - note it's a grey logo with the word 'superzero' in white too (i.e. not like the picture)
2 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding, appreciated by pros and amateurs. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section – the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

Ergonova Team Stealth?

Hi

This question was asked a while back but has two different answers. As you the describe the bar they do not exist on the 3t website, are they in fact the 'team stealth' edition with the wrong photo? The centre clamp area is black on the stealth edition. Your response two months ago says not but a customer of two weeks ago says 'yes' they do have the black centre clamp area.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Mine are definitely white in the centre band - this has the effect of showing the 3T logo on the stem when it's fitted.
2 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 

Does this include 4 screws?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes - four screws. I found out the hard way and now have 16 of them :)
2 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes - mine are doing exactly that with no problems
2 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Twinpack
Knog Frog Strobe LED Twinpack
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres.
 

Are these Frog Strobe light suitable to mount on the front and back of my helmet

If they are not suitable for mounting on my helmet , do you have any other lights that are suitable ?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Depends a little bit on your helmet design. I could just about squeeze one on the back vent, but not on the front.
4 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

Does this work well with Campy 11-speed chains?

Are the bristles thin enough to clean 11-speed chains properly?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I've been using it with a Chorus 11 speed - no problems that I'm aware of; it's lasted longer than my old Dura-ace chains so I assume it works :)
4 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The Sidi Ergo 3 Carbon Vernice Road Shoe delivers unparalleled performance for cyclists who demand the very best. Packed full of cutting edge features to ensure supreme fit and comfort, these shoes are great for high level racing.
 

Is this shoe different than the Ergo 3 Vent Carbon Vernice?

The sole looks the same as does the upper.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
THere's a little vent in the sole that you can open - to be honest it makes little deference.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Triple function cap with soft rubber push-pull nozzle is easy on the mouth and delivers fluid fast. Don't let bugs in your bottle spoil your next trip.
 

Does the bottle come with a protective cap like the Elite Corsa Scalatore MTB bottle?

The protective cap can be seen on
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/elite-corsa-scalatore-mtb-bottle/

The picture for the Hygene bottle doesn't show this protective cap
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Hi

Mine didn't come with any

Cheers
5 months, 1 week ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane