afxacid
Top 100 Contributor
Share afxacid's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
afxacid's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    87
  • Helpfulness Votes
    45
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    25 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    30 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    25 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
afxacid's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
Assos Skin Repair gel for relieves discomfort and accelerates the healing of skin damage caused by friction against the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works a Treat
Posted25 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was a little dubious of this when I saw it, but after a few sore rides, I decided to give it a try - and it worked a treat! Next day, no soreness!
I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives that work as well, but I can certainly recommend this."
Pros: it works
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A light sleeveless base layer with an open mesh construction for increased ventilation and to help maintain a constant body temperature. Ideal for hot weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Warmer base layer
Posted25 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've got to admit, when I first got this out, it took me a long time to get used to the 'dad's string vest' look - it ain't pretty! Unlike other base layers I've worn this is properly meshed (i.e.holes) as opposed to thick and thin material. It is well made though and once on, you forget about it - very comfortable.
The wicking properties are superb which is just as well, because I found it considerably warmer than other base layers I wear. Fine for cooler climates (10C and below) but once you're past 15C it gets pretty hot.
It washes and keeps its shape well and is of good quality. All in, a pretty good purchase, but save it for the cool. Sizing was as per the chart."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Sidi Ergo 3 Carbon Vernice Road Shoe delivers unparalleled performance for cyclists who demand the very best. Packed full of cutting edge features to ensure supreme fit and comfort, these shoes are great for high level racing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Twice As Good?
Posted04 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been riding SIDI shoes as long as I can remember and have tried several other brands but always come back to SIDI. After my Genius started to look a bit tatty, I decided to go for broke and buy the Ergo 3 at nearly twice the price.
I had pretty high expectations of them and out the box, they look fantastic - the high gloss look and carbon sole scream 'quality' at you. The fit is the same as all SIDI and I don't believe they've changed the last recently (I saw a review of the Wires suggesting this is the case, the the 45.5 is same as ever).
Out on the road, I was a little disappointed. Don't get me wrong - there's nothing wrong with these shoes, they just weren't noticeably better than the Genius. Sure the wire fastener in the middle has a little more adjustability, the heel cup is adjustable too and there's a little vent to open on the sole... but in reality these had little effect on my ride. The sole is stiff and the shoe is supportive - just like my Genius :)"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Headband designed to be worn on its own or under a crash helmet thanks to its thin-line construction. Pro Dry fabric for excellent wicking properties with a Dermo dry headband to quickly wick sweat away; keeping it out of your eyes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the Trick
Posted04 May 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Just takes the edge off a cooler morning and stops the sweat going into your eyes. Definitely not a 'winter' headband, the thin, wicking material fits nicely under your helmet.
The band is quite narrow and marks easily - it has some black marks from my helmet after the first ride which have never washed out. But it's not bad - works exactly for what I bought it for."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: marks easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Interactive Aero jersey has been designed to provide outstanding performance. It's slim fitting (aerodynamic cut), extremely light and features a unique system that connects the jersey to it's partner - the Interactive Aero Bib Shorts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Jersey
Posted26 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I really like this jersey though it took a couple of rides for me to come to that conclusion. The quality is first class and it looks fantastic, although you would expect that on a jersey of this price. The picture on Wiggle doesn't do it justice as the back is a colourful splash of yellows and greens. The front is more sensible, but for those of you with Bianchi bikes, that trim is pretty close to celeste ;)
The material is a little thicker than I expected and slightly 'rubbery' in texture, but in action it does the job well, wicking away moisture and keeping you cool, though it's not a 'hot summer' jersey.
Size is pretty good - the guide had my 6ft 2in frame at XXL, but when I read the word 'aero' I knew it was going to be 'race fit' and went with XXXL, which I'm pleased I did - the thicker material hasn't got that much give in it.
All in, a very good jersey that comes recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A new panel design and additional features ensure the Pocket Rocket continues as a lightweight perennial favourite. The jacket is waterproof, breathable and packs away simply.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Out with the old...
Posted22 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been buying these for a few of years now - they are fantastic in the storm season as they're really light, very weather proof and still breathable. But as with all these things, they lose their pizazz after a few years a few washes.
So I was pretty excited about a new model and decided to go for red for a change over my usual fluoro (I figure commuting is about being seen not looking great(!))
Out the bag, I was a little disappointed - the red isn't as bright as the photo suggests - in fact it's quite a dark red. And the fit doesn't seem as neat as it used to be - it seems slightly bigger than the old model and has a touch of flappiness about it in use. Just to top the disappointment, the new design isn't as funky as the old one - the fancy Altura logos have mostly been replaced by sensible reflective bands.
But I can't be a hypocrite - despite the looks, performance wise, this product is still up to scratch - still dependable, waterproof, breathable and lightweight. I just feel like I borrowed my dad's anorak :("
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
The Emperor's New Assos?
Posted17 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I guess this is the review I never thought I'd write, having bought and loved their products for years. I was very excited about a new line up and couldn't wait to try them out.
Out the box they looked great - well made as usual and striking with the broad, purple striped leg band.Putting them on was the usual gentle struggle to get them just right in all the places - I was ready to rock!
Within the first 5 minutes I noticed gentle scratching on my back. Over the course of 3 hours this drove me crazy. I've since tried them with 3 different jerseys with the same outcome - something in the new set up is scratchy.
But that was just part of it - I've spent 400k in these so far and every time I've come back chaffed, despite the chamois cream. I've got 5 other pairs of Assos bibs and they have never chaffed - ever.
And those broad bands gave me the sausage effect- ok I'm no skinny cyclist, but I'm not Mr Lardy either.
So perhaps I got the wrong size? That wouldn't explain the scratchy back, but every other pair of Assos I own is XL, and the sizing chart suggests that's correct.
I'm sure some folks will adore these bibs - but for me, I'm stocking up on S5 whilst it's still about."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit, uncomfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Nike Free 3.0 Running Shoe is designed for runners seeking the most flexible and natural ride, with an ultra-low, ultra-flexible midsole that offers the benefits of natural motion in a minimalist design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Free Addict
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my 2nd pair of Free 3s (my 7th pair of Frees altogether) so you get it that I love them! I prefer Free 5s to 3 as I like the last better - these are slightly longer so I buy a half size down.
They look great and wear well and come in at a competitive price too. You just need to decide on the colour :-)"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Meticulous preparation goes into your race day, but possibly even more has gone into the Castelli Women's Free Tri Short. Every fabric, stitch and component has been carefully chosen and tested to make this top fast, yet functional and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
First tri success
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these for my wife's first mini-triathlon, as she didn't want to go the whole way with a tri-suit in case she didn't enjoy it. So, in summary they were fantastic - perfect for the swim and run, the chamois lived up to the claim and 'disappeared', yet gave enough protection on the ride.
They are very well made with lightweight, modern materials and look fantastic on. We used the provided sizing chart and they came up true size (interesting for me, as Castelli are notoriously small sized in my world of road cycling). All in, a great product, leading to an order for the matching singlet and another triathlon booking!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing Summer Gloves
Racing Summer Gloves
Racing is the ultimate lightweight glove for mountain-bike racing. Race proven and developed in cooperation with some of the best riders in the World. The favoured choice of many World Cup riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Five star gloves
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I rarely give full '5 star' reviews, but these gloves are everything a glove should be... High quality, perfect fit, thin enough to be tactile, thick enough for protection. They look fantastic too - funky and functional. I really wouldn't change anything - great product!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
afxacid's Questions
 
afxacid has not submitted any questions.
 
afxacid's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres.
 

Are these Frog Strobe light suitable to mount on the front and back of my helmet

If they are not suitable for mounting on my helmet , do you have any other lights that are suitable ?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Depends a little bit on your helmet design. I could just about squeeze one on the back vent, but not on the front.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

Does this work well with Campy 11-speed chains?

Are the bristles thin enough to clean 11-speed chains properly?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I've been using it with a Chorus 11 speed - no problems that I'm aware of; it's lasted longer than my old Dura-ace chains so I assume it works :)
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The Sidi Ergo 3 Carbon Vernice Road Shoe delivers unparalleled performance for cyclists who demand the very best. Packed full of cutting edge features to ensure supreme fit and comfort, these shoes are great for high level racing.
 

Is this shoe different than the Ergo 3 Vent Carbon Vernice?

The sole looks the same as does the upper.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
THere's a little vent in the sole that you can open - to be honest it makes little deference.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Triple function cap with soft rubber push-pull nozzle is easy on the mouth and delivers fluid fast. Don't let bugs in your bottle spoil your next trip.
 

Does the bottle come with a protective cap like the Elite Corsa Scalatore MTB bottle?

The protective cap can be seen on
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/elite-corsa-scalatore-mtb-bottle/

The picture for the Hygene bottle doesn't show this protective cap
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi

Mine didn't come with any

Cheers
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
 Climbers Short Sleeve Jersey
Climbers Short Sleeve Jersey
Supreme cooling for high altitude conditions, without losing out on aerodynamic ability. The Castelli Climbers jersey will keep you cool, moving sweat away to maintain the jerseys low weight, giving you less to haul up those steep gradients.
 

Need sizing help

My measurements are:
- chest 108 cm, i also have rather broad shoulders
- waist 93 cm
- hips 105 cm
- height 194 cm
- inseam 96 cm
What would be the correct size for me?
The waist is probably only XL-XXL, but because of my broad shoulders I'm concerned that the XXL wouldn't be large enough. Wouldn't XXXL be too loose around the waist though?
The shirt will normally mostly be worn with one summer base layer underneath.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hey, I reckon the XXXL. I'm 188cm with broad shoulders and only just fit in. By the time you have a layer underneath it would be a tight fit. Sure, it would be a bit loose on the waist but not terrible. It's also quite a short jersey... Sportful Gruppetto are a good 'thin' alternative for broad shoulders - XXL would be ok in Sportful.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The 3T Integra Ltd is the next step in integration of computers to offer a clear cockpit.
 

Garmin Edge Stem Mount

Hi

Just wondering if the INTEGRA LTD stem comes with the Garmin Edge Mount or do I need to purchase that also?

Regards

JJ
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It's an extra purchase - and not cheap. :(
8 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

I am 185cm and 98 around waist - would I be best with XL

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yup - about the same size as me (188cm, 96 waist)... XL works are treat, though if you have big legs you will get a bit of a pinch effect :)
1 year, 11 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

Undershorts

Hi - can anyone tell me if these are designed to be/or can be worn with padded undershorts ? Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They have a nice insert, so no need to wear any padding underneath. Another layer would just make them bulky...
1 year, 11 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
 Swissstop Flash Pro Green (High Performance) Blocks
Swissstop Flash Pro Green (High Performance) Blocks
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 

Will these fit Camppagnolo Veloce calipers and do they include the metal cartridge (i.e. not just pads)?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm guessing they aren't Campag compatible as the packaging only references Shimano and Ultegra products.

They do include the metal cartridge, but that may be a moot point if you can't use them with Campy stuff! ;)
2 years, 6 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Ultra-light, breathable, waterproof shell with a tiny pack size, the Pocket Rocket offers fantastic low bulk protection from the elements.
 

Seasonal?

Can this jacket be used in the winter months with regards to keeping you warm and windproof or is it more of a spring/summer jacket.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It's definately a Summer jacket (though I don't doubt it's windproofing) however, it is a very snug fit, so not suited to many layers beneath it, plus it is a very thin material.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane