afxacid
Top 50 Contributor
Share afxacid's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
afxacid's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    101
  • Helpfulness Votes
    51
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    28 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    30 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    23 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
afxacid's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>
 
The XTR M987 disc brake lever and PM caliper is a fully bled Race brake that is light on weight and heavy on performance. Hinged clamp and reach adjustment for quick installation with opposed 2-piston design reduces pad wear increasing braking control.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic Brakes
Posted28 October 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very well thought out brakes from Shimano. The feel and modulation are the best I've tried on any brake - touch lightly and the tiniest bit of speed is scooped off, grip hard and the g-force hits your face.
They were easy to fit although the very long length of 'cable' supplied means that unless your bike is immense, you'll probably have to take them to your local bike shop to be shortened.
The only issue I've encountered is on the occasions you want to brake and change gear at the same time, big hands will be trapped behind the brake lever. You can swap the layout of shifters and brakes but then I find the level slightly too short... 1st world problems :#
As a heads up, I tried these with Hope discs and they didn't work out #rivets on the rotor caught on the caliper# and ended up going all Shimano.
And as a minor improvement, there's no bite adjustment, but really, you don't need it - you're probably just used to grabby brakes #as I was#..
Definitely recommended."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, easy set up
Cons: cross manufacturer compatibility
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Nike Elite Hyper-Lite No-Show Tab Running Socks feature lightweight mesh and sweat-wicking fabric for excellent ventilation and comfort. The snug fit and a specialised heel help reduce friction without added bulk.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
My bad...
Posted28 October 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"There's nothing 'wrong' with these socks - the fit is good and they look like they'll go the distance, but they are incredibly skinny with no cushioning whatsoever.
The downside of this is that you can feel every contour of your shoe, so those shoes better be comfortable! I also found them quite sweaty after an hour or so of wearing.
So, all in, not for me - but if a skinny sock is what you're after, they may be for you."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: very skinny, bit hot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Hope's New Floating Rotors are a firm favourite with Performance-Riders and those just looking to personalise their bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cross Compatibility Issues
Posted23 October 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been riding Hope brakes for as long as I can remember, but the competition has caught up so I changed to Shimano (XTR). As part of my change, I renewed my rotors (8 year old original Hopes) to these - mostly for the bling factor, I admit.
Unfortunately, the two are not compatible. Using the Hope 183mm mounts and these rotors, the 6 rivets between the outer and inner rotor catch on the brake body. I could *just* get them not to rub but there was zero tolerance and I didn't want to risk it, so I moved to an all Shimano rig and my brand new Hope rotors will gather dust in a corner of my garage.
I would add though that this is no reflection on the product, just a warning to those considering cross compatibility to stay with one manufacturer."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: not cross compatible with xtr
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great all-rounder
Posted23 October 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are great - light, fast, grippy and durable. I've run them for about 500k now with no problems. They were easy to get on too and their lightness makes it easy to keep up with the roadies on my commute.
Recommended"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Muc-Off 5 Cleaning Brush sets are designed to clean your frame and all components whilst caring for your bike's delicate finish. Reach hard to shift grime!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent Brushes
Posted13 October 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Mixed bag of cleaning brushes from Muc Off...
I use the little, stiff brush all the time on the gear mechs and cassette and it works a treat. I like the tyre / wheel cleaner too - it works well for my roadie tyres and low profile rims, however it didn't reach far enough from some deep section rims I cleaned up for a friend. I'm not sure how it would fair on mountain bike tyres either.
The big biffer is a fairly decent brush, though I prefer to use a mitt to get some power in. Be good to wash the car, I imagine!
The little multi-brush isn't up to much - I think a tooth-brush would do a better job, and the other brush just seems like a stocking-filler to me. I can't find any use for it at all!
The overall quality is reasonable, and the handles are comfortable, though after about 10 washes, they are starting to look a bit shabby and holding onto the dirt a bit - with some irony, I may need to give them a wash!"
Pros: does the job well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does Everything Well
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very nice seat post - looks fantastic with a matt carbon finish and grey contrast logo - very nearly 'stealth' with just the 'superzero' clear in white.
The post holds the saddle firmly and removes a good amount of buzz from the road. No problems setting it up, it was very easy to adjust to get the exact position.
And the question I most wanted answering - yes, it will hold a carbon rail saddle, no problem. I've got it clamping a Selle San Marco Regale Carbon FX (0.7 x 0.9 oval rails) with no issues."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, holds a carbon rail saddle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding, appreciated by pros and amateurs. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section – the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very comfortable bars...
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My third set of these (different bikes)! They're perfect for me - very comfortable, easy to fit, easy to move around on, light and look brilliant. The black series are particularly versatile as you don't have to worry about matching the red of the standard 3T Team bars.
Worth the upgrade from the Pro level and the ride feels exactly the same as the LTD bars (I've had both) so definitely the one to pick in my opinion."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact saddle bag with 0.7L of storage for spare tubes, multi-tools, energy bars, keys and mobile phones etc. With a water resistant PU coated construction and a velcro mounting, the Evoc saddle bag is ideal for days out on the roads and trails.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just Right...
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I like this saddle bag - it's the second one I've had. It's just the right size for a tube and levers, and a multi-tool / keys if you wish. Probably on the small side to fit much more in, though I tend to use my jersey pockets for anything else.
The bag itself wears well, is reasonably weather proof and fits just about any seatpost / saddle combination (including aero posts). It's easy to get in and out of and doesn't rattle around on the move."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Elite's best selling Elite carbon cage now with a fresh, updated design to complement any bike
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well Designed Cage
Posted29 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I really like this cage - the open design means that it holds your bidon firmly, regardless of its diameter whilst making entry and exit very easy. It's light too!"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, good design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lezyne Alloy Digital Floor Drive is a CNC machined high pressure floor pump. Combining modern styling with high performance and now with a new digital gauge for the ultimate in precision tyre inflation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well Made Floor Pump
Posted27 July 2014
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So I decided it was time to upgrade my trusty floor pump of 10 years (the seals are starting to go) and decided on this for the Lezyne reputation and the digital gauge.
The pump looks good and is easy enough to use. I prefer a beefier handle, but that's personal choice. The materials seem of high quality and I like the digital gauge though it does wander a little bit and you have to let it settle before you take a reading.
My only mild disappointment was that the barrel seems quite narrow (at least compared to my previous model) so it takes a lot more strokes to get up to pressure, however this does allow you a little more accuracy as you're getting close to pressure."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, accurate
Cons: narrow barrel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
afxacid's Questions
 
afxacid has not submitted any questions.
 
afxacid's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
Hope's New Floating Rotors are a firm favourite with Performance-Riders and those just looking to personalise their bike.
 

Will there be any issues with rubbing using Formula RX Callipers?

I have a 2013 Zesty 514 and want to upgrade the discs. Will there be any rubbing with the rotors rivets?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I can't confirm but there is definitely an issue with the rivets and XTR calipers. Would suggest sticking with one manufacturer, despite the bling appeal of the Hopes (they look great!)
1 week, 1 day ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The Muc-Off 5 Cleaning Brush sets are designed to clean your frame and all components whilst caring for your bike's delicate finish. Reach hard to shift grime!
 

suitable for carbon frame

are these brushes suitable for carbon fibre frames/parts
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They're fine - I've used them on a couple of high-end carbon bikes including a matt-finish bike with a carbon campy group-set with no issues.
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 

Tilt angle

Hi, stupid question, can this post/bolts be set up so that the saddle nose is angled slightly down? My current orbea post won't allow anything beyond perfectly level which isn't the most comfortable ride!
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It is able to tilt - mine's nose down a couple of degrees but it will go further
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 

Looking for a compatible seatpost for a Selle Italia SLR Carbon Rail saddle

Need a specific seatpost for the above saddle, would this be compatible?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Can't be 100% sure, but mine is holding a carbon rail saddle by San Marco with no problems, which measures 0.7mm by 0.9mm (oval rails).
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Introducing the new Superzero seatpost from Deda with a carbon monocoque construction for a very light weight seatpost. The 2-bolts head clamp system has been completely re-designed for a quick and precise saddle adjustment.
 

Is the finish glossy or matt?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Matt - note it's a grey logo with the word 'superzero' in white too (i.e. not like the picture)
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding, appreciated by pros and amateurs. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section – the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

Ergonova Team Stealth?

Hi

This question was asked a while back but has two different answers. As you the describe the bar they do not exist on the 3t website, are they in fact the 'team stealth' edition with the wrong photo? The centre clamp area is black on the stealth edition. Your response two months ago says not but a customer of two weeks ago says 'yes' they do have the black centre clamp area.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Mine are definitely white in the centre band - this has the effect of showing the 3T logo on the stem when it's fitted.
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 

Does this include 4 screws?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes - four screws. I found out the hard way and now have 16 of them :)
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 

Long enough for cage and bracket?

Are these bolts long enough to fit a standard bottle cage and pump bracket?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes - mine are doing exactly that with no problems
3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Twinpack
Knog Frog Strobe LED Twinpack
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres.
 

Are these Frog Strobe light suitable to mount on the front and back of my helmet

If they are not suitable for mounting on my helmet , do you have any other lights that are suitable ?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Depends a little bit on your helmet design. I could just about squeeze one on the back vent, but not on the front.
5 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 

Does this work well with Campy 11-speed chains?

Are the bristles thin enough to clean 11-speed chains properly?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I've been using it with a Chorus 11 speed - no problems that I'm aware of; it's lasted longer than my old Dura-ace chains so I assume it works :)
5 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane