afxacid
Top 100 Contributor
Share afxacid's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
afxacid's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    80
  • Helpfulness Votes
    35
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    08 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    30 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
afxacid's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
The Nike Free 3.0 Running Shoe is designed for runners seeking the most flexible and natural ride, with an ultra-low, ultra-flexible midsole that offers the benefits of natural motion in a minimalist design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Free Addict
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is my 2nd pair of Free 3s (my 7th pair of Frees altogether) so you get it that I love them! I prefer Free 5s to 3 as I like the last better - these are slightly longer so I buy a half size down.
They look great and wear well and come in at a competitive price too. You just need to decide on the colour :-)"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Meticulous preparation goes into your race day, but possibly even more has gone into the Castelli Women's Free Tri Short. Every fabric, stitch and component has been carefully chosen and tested to make this top fast, yet functional and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
First tri success
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought these for my wife's first mini-triathlon, as she didn't want to go the whole way with a tri-suit in case she didn't enjoy it. So, in summary they were fantastic - perfect for the swim and run, the chamois lived up to the claim and 'disappeared', yet gave enough protection on the ride.
They are very well made with lightweight, modern materials and look fantastic on. We used the provided sizing chart and they came up true size (interesting for me, as Castelli are notoriously small sized in my world of road cycling). All in, a great product, leading to an order for the matching singlet and another triathlon booking!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Racing is the ultimate lightweight glove for mountain-bike racing. Race proven and developed in cooperation with some of the best riders in the World. The favoured choice of many World Cup riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Five star gloves
Posted08 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I rarely give full '5 star' reviews, but these gloves are everything a glove should be... High quality, perfect fit, thin enough to be tactile, thick enough for protection. They look fantastic too - funky and functional. I really wouldn't change anything - great product!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A full zipped, understated style sleeveless jersey featuring ProSecco 3D construction offering exceptional wicking properties and a great fit. 3 rear pockets caters for all your ride carrying needs and the front full zip gives maximum ventilation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but not great
Posted07 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wore this jersey for a couple of long rides in varying conditions. It performed pretty well - not as cool as I expected but the reverse was when it got cool, I didn't freeze. Wicking was ok, but not fantastic.
The fit was standard Castelli; a bit on the small side but the XXL was good for me at 6ft 2 and 90kg.
It looks pretty good and seems well made with decent quality materials and large rear pockets.
All in, good effort but not great in a competitive market."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now you will never need to tie another shoelace.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy as...
Posted02 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Easy to fit, work a treat, these laces save valuable time during transition and don't impair performance."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pumping out a colossal 200 lumen's of light from X2 of the latest high-powered CREE LEDs, Blinder Road Front is the first Blinder of its kind to give riders 100% freedom and visibility on the roads at night.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice little light
Posted23 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"At this price, a bit more than an emergency light, but they're great for early starts and dusky commutes. Not good enough for off-road night riding though.
Lights are nice and bright and lots of combinations of flashing - very easy to fit and relatively quick to charge."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile, Adjustable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zoggs Little Phantom Kids Goggles offer both comfort and durability. Designed for young faces (up to 6 years), these goggles feature a range of comfort enhancing technologies, including anti-fog lenses and cushioning Soft-Seal™ technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice First Goggles
Posted23 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought for my 3 year old, they look great and fit well. A little bit of leaking occurred but I think that would happen with any kids goggle. All in,. a good bit of kit..."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Nike Free 5.0+ Men's Running Shoe provides the foot strengthening benefits of natural motion, along with the cushioning, traction and underfoot protection of a traditional shoe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic Shoes
Posted23 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"OK.. so I have 5 pairs of these which says something about them! Great looking, all day comfort, great performance. Even my oldest pair looks as good as ever.
So I'm sure a 6th pair is called for...."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
6cm Cuff socks with the superior quality and style you expect from the Castelli Rosso Corsa Blood line.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Socks
Posted15 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very smart looking socks from Castelli. They're a thin, absorbent material, with a supporting band around the arch. They're just above the ankle in height.
THe XXL seemed a bit large for my size 44 foot, but I didn't notice any bunching when riding. In fact, I didn't notice anything when riding, which is just as it should be!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Supreme cooling for high altitude conditions, without losing out on aerodynamic ability. The Castelli Climbers jersey will keep you cool, moving sweat away to maintain the jerseys low weight, giving you less to haul up those steep gradients.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for Hot Days / Long Climbs
Posted15 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
afxacid
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"So I bought this on the basis of the reviews saying it was super-skinny material as I do a lot of (relatively!) long hot rides - today was 4 hours at 33C. This jersey performed well, keeping me cool, even on the ascents, without getting saturated. So performance wise, all good.
Quality seems nice though I wasn't a fan of the chunky plastic zip and it certainly looks the business, although it is definitely quite transparent. It's a classy looking jersey, and functional with good size rear pockets.
So, Castelli's bug-bear - size. Yup, it's small. XXXL fit me (I'm usually L or XL for 'racing fit') at 6ft 2in and 92Kg, with broad shoulders. It was snug across the shoulders and noticeably tight on the arms - if you're particularly buff, it might cause you grief. Though, once I was going, I didn't notice this tightness.
So all in, a decent jersey for long hot days.. not a favourite, (Santini and Sportful have the shoulder width sorted better) but in the Top 5."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
afxacid's Questions
 
afxacid has not submitted any questions.
 
afxacid's Answers
 
Supreme cooling for high altitude conditions, without losing out on aerodynamic ability. The Castelli Climbers jersey will keep you cool, moving sweat away to maintain the jerseys low weight, giving you less to haul up those steep gradients.
 

Need sizing help

My measurements are:
- chest 108 cm, i also have rather broad shoulders
- waist 93 cm
- hips 105 cm
- height 194 cm
- inseam 96 cm
What would be the correct size for me?
The waist is probably only XL-XXL, but because of my broad shoulders I'm concerned that the XXL wouldn't be large enough. Wouldn't XXXL be too loose around the waist though?
The shirt will normally mostly be worn with one summer base layer underneath.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hey, I reckon the XXXL. I'm 188cm with broad shoulders and only just fit in. By the time you have a layer underneath it would be a tight fit. Sure, it would be a bit loose on the waist but not terrible. It's also quite a short jersey... Sportful Gruppetto are a good 'thin' alternative for broad shoulders - XXL would be ok in Sportful.
1 month ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The 3T Integra Ltd is the next step in integration of computers to offer a clear cockpit.
 

Garmin Edge Stem Mount

Hi

Just wondering if the INTEGRA LTD stem comes with the Garmin Edge Mount or do I need to purchase that also?

Regards

JJ
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It's an extra purchase - and not cheap. :(
5 months, 1 week ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

I am 185cm and 98 around waist - would I be best with XL

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yup - about the same size as me (188cm, 96 waist)... XL works are treat, though if you have big legs you will get a bit of a pinch effect :)
1 year, 7 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

Undershorts

Hi - can anyone tell me if these are designed to be/or can be worn with padded undershorts ? Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They have a nice insert, so no need to wear any padding underneath. Another layer would just make them bulky...
1 year, 7 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 

Will these fit Camppagnolo Veloce calipers and do they include the metal cartridge (i.e. not just pads)?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm guessing they aren't Campag compatible as the packaging only references Shimano and Ultegra products.

They do include the metal cartridge, but that may be a moot point if you can't use them with Campy stuff! ;)
2 years, 3 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
Ultra-light, breathable, waterproof shell with a tiny pack size, the PocketRocket offers fantastic low bulk protection from the elements.
 

Seasonal?

Can this jacket be used in the winter months with regards to keeping you warm and windproof or is it more of a spring/summer jacket.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It's definately a Summer jacket (though I don't doubt it's windproofing) however, it is a very snug fit, so not suited to many layers beneath it, plus it is a very thin material.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane
 
The largest of ORTLIEB's classic seat bags is a true alternative to carrying a backpack, providing room for equipment, snacks, extra shells and tools for longer day rides.
 

what is the volume in litres of this bag

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
The label advises it's 2.7L or 165 cu inches if that helps.

Cheers
3 years, 5 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane, Australia
 
 Pimp My Pedals
Pimp My Pedals
40 coloured pins and 2 x end caps for DMR V12 pedals.
 

Will these work with the V8,s as well ?

Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes - I pimped my V8s wit them ;)
3 years, 7 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane, Australia
 
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

black + logo?

black + logo is what means?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They're black with the word Assos written on the thigh panel ;)
3 years, 8 months ago
by
afxacid
Brisbane, Australia