Nairnpedaller
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Nairnpedaller's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Nairnpedaller's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    21 July 2010
  • Last Review
    12 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    18 May 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    18 May 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 July 2011
  • Last Question
    29 August 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 August 2011
  • Last Answer
    08 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Nairnpedaller's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Vertigo is world renowned as the Helmet of choice of Team Sky & thanks to the unsurpassed fit, workmanship and advanced technical features, it's perfect for riders of all levels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lightweight, low profile helmet
Posted12 October 2014
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfortable, reasonably light weight helmet with a low profile when fitted (look less like a mushroom when wearing it). Rear cradle does get in the way of Oakley Radars arms but not too much of an issue. Only worn a couple if times so not sure of durability yet - some have said stickers come off."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP pump design that brings floor pump function and power along for the ride. The aluminum barrel, shaft, base, and T-handle are custom CNC-machined for durability, ergonomics and reduced weight. Supplied with inline gauge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solidly built
Posted08 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A great semi-portable pump. It's bit bulky on the frame mount but, if carried in a back pack or pannier, it's great. I took it on holiday rather than a track pump, keeping luggage weight down. The gauge is useful, the connector well made and effective and I did not find the handle uncomfortable, as some reviewers have suggested."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ energy has been painstakingly formulated so that it delivers a unique blend of carbohydrate and electrolytes to the working muscles through a drink that is lightly flavoured, refreshing and most importantly natural.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Pleasant taste
Posted08 December 2012
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does the job, with a pleasant taste. Mixes easily and doesn't settle heavy in the stomach. That's for me anyway."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shamal Ultra 2 Way Fit Tubeless Wheelset
Shamal Ultra 2 Way Fit Tubeless Wheelset
2-Way Fit makes it possible to mount both tubless or standard clincher tyres on the same wheels, giving riders the possibility of making the best of either solution depending on circumstances. USB means superior smoothness. The renowned Campagnolo hubs are now fitted with ceraamic ball bearings of the highest quality that further improve the smoothness of operation. This year the Titanium finish has been replaced by an aggressive Black finish.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality
Posted28 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lightweight, quality build. Smooth running, comfortable wheel-set when run with Hutchinson Fusion 3's. Solid performers with no noticeable flex and I weigh 86kg. They look pretty good on a red/black Roubaix Pro frame too."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Flash/Flare Light Pack with Rechargable Batteries
Flash/Flare Light Pack with Rechargable Batteries
Flash front and Flare rear light pack with rechargable batteries, charger and a silicone band bracket.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BRIGHT!
Posted28 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great set of lightweight lights. You WILL get noticed with these fitted. Great for all weather use. Not sure why Exposure need to package them in a briefcase sized, neoprene, zipped bag. I feel I should be able to use it for something but can't think what!"
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, wastefull packaging
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The world beating Fusion tyre available in Tubeless version.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First set of tubeless and I am impressed. Fitted to Shamal Ultra wheels on Specialized Roubaix Pro frame which was already pretty smooth running. The difference was noticeable over the first 100km. I don't know if more expensive tyres could be any better, possibly lighter. Fitted okay with tyre levers and inflated with track pump first go. Using Stan's sealant. Let's have some colour choices."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Arm warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted15 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Decent arm warmers with a good length for someone with gorilla arms (I am 6'6" though). Not overly warm in this current Scottish summer when it's pouring down but hardly shower-proof."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ionos Road Helmet
Ionos Road Helmet
The Ionos is the most technologically advanced road cycling helmet Giro has ever created offering unparalleled style and ground breaking ventilation
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cool product!
Posted03 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It is not a lightweight but the air certainly does flow well through vents. I run hot so it suits me and after a while, although I would never forget it was there, you get accustomed to it. For cooling airflow, possibly the best. It will cost you though, even when Wiggle have deals on. I thought it would have come with a carry bag for the cost of it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, no carry bag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 1.6 litres to 2 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted03 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Decent bag for a lightweight day out but NOT waterproof so make sure you keep phone etc. safely packed. Sits firmly under a Specialized Toupe saddle.
Good to have the expanding facility.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 H RX LL Unpadded Waist Tights
H RX LL Unpadded Waist Tights
H RX.LL, is the ASSOS full-length tight without a bib, made purely from ASSOS RX fabric.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted03 August 2011
Nairnpedaller
fromNairn
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First Assos purchase and only because it was a real bargain at Wiggle. Good quality material, fit and feel but it should be at the price Assos want to charge."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Nairnpedaller's Questions
 
The Kona Splice returns this year with shortened chainstays giving the bike a much more responsive, zippy feel. With a wide-range 24-speed Shimano drivetrain, 63mm front fork with lockout, narrowish 40c tires and hydraulic disc brakes
 

Frame reach measurement

Can you explain where you measure the 'Frame Reach' from and to?
Thanks
2 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
The Centaur black/red chainset retains all the technical and performance characteristics of the 2011 version and has been created based on a special treatment for the finish of certain parts that make the components sportier and more aggressive.
 

Will this work with a 9 speed speed set up

I have a (obviously old) 9 speed Athena groupset on my bike and need a new chainset. Is this compatable?
7 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
 Rain Jacket - 2012
Rain Jacket - 2012
A light weight 3-layer jacket with a Terrex swift construction for waterproof protection. The perfect leisurewear for Sky Pro Cycling Partners and supporters.
 

Can you give an indication of sizing?

Description says helmet compatible so is this jacket a cycling specific cut or more for leisure use?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
 Escape Disc 2011
Escape Disc 2011
Smart, sporty and ready for the city streets, the Escape offers performance plus a lighter, stiffer more stable ride. With features including the truly Giant strength of lightweight ALUXX SL aluminium, Shimano transmission and fast acting disc brakes.
 

Frame size

'Buy now' options show S - XL but the 'Description' frame measurements shows XS - L. Which do I go by to ensure correct size is ordered?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
 dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 

Back length

I'm 6'6" tall but only 43" chest. Is there much difference in the back length of XL and XXL
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

Sizing

I am 6'6" tall with a 34" waist so XXXL or M, depending which I choose to go by! How stretchy are the straps and would I be okay with L or XL
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
Nairnpedaller's Answers
 
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 

29er

Does anyone know if this bag will fit a L size 29er? such bags are hard to find.... thanks in advance
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I also have a 700c road bike, size XL (the size of a farm gate!) and it fits no problem. Pedals off, saddle & seat pin removed and bars turned 90* and room to spare. The internal wheel pockets may be tight with fat tyres.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
 Ionos Road Helmet
Ionos Road Helmet
The Ionos is the most technologically advanced road cycling helmet Giro has ever created offering unparalleled style and ground breaking ventilation
 

I have an Atmos S/M Any idea what size Ionos I need or how do I size a helmet mail order? Thanks

User submitted photo
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I ordered the same size a different Giro model and it fits fine.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn
 
The world beating Fusion tyre available in Tubeless version.
 

How does one repair a flat on a long training ride with these tyres? Is it simply a matter of fitting a normal tube? I have a set of Campag 2 Way Fit

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I use Stan's sealant so hopefully don't have to worry about puncture repair on the road. I still carry a spare tube though!
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Nairnpedaller
Nairn