MH268
Share MH268's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MH268's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    13 January 2010
  • Last Review
    06 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    25 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    06 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MH268's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A touring tyre (folding) that can do everything. With HD Speed Guard and Roadstar triple compound, it offers the same outstanding qualities in puncture protection and grip in the wet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So much lighter than the standard marathons
Posted06 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought these to save some weight on my Surly Troll and take advantage of the Schwalbe puncture protection. Really easy to fit with the correct tubes, Schwalbe are best. 200 miles covered in a week and a bit and excellent levels of grip in the wet, dry and mud covered roads. Happy as saved 4 pounds in weight over the standard Schwalbe Marathon Originals although 26x1.75. Great commuter tyre."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
All the features and performance of the BB7 in a disc-brake package that is designed for the demands of the road.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So so much better than the BB5
Posted07 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Road Bike came fitted with BB5 road disc brakes and they were really very poor. Bit sceptical but decided to go for the BB7 in order to see if the bike could actually stop quicker than a super tanker at full speed. It does and no rubbing. These pads actually sit square in the calliper unlike the BB5, set up is easy and because the braking is much better you can actually run the pads further away from the rotors. If you have BB5's ditch them and buy these if you intend to stop in less than 3 miles. (maybe I should point out my daily commute has 532m of descent and ascent I can easily get above 40mph on the downs so brakes are needed)"
Pros: Adjustable
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Chrome plated track stem with a clamp size of 31.8mm and a 4 bolt design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chrome Finish to Bling up my SS Road Bike
Posted21 January 2013
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Have a gloss black & chrome Single Speed Road Bike & I wanted a 110mm 8 degree stem to pimp my ride. As a bulky rider I hate flex & creaking. So far with 500+ miles on I've had no complaints but I always copper slip every bolt anyway. Very happy and the finish is excellent."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A4 sheet of black scotchlite, black in colour but reflects as white in the dark.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quite Expensive for a Sticky A4 sheet but it does
Posted26 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Have it on a Black Road Bike that got scratched in transit and wanted to cover the scratches in something other than electrical tape. Cut to fit it is a dark grey but it's pretty visible and quite distict at night. I like it this product even for it's cost and have cut it up to fit my helmet, cut to act as frame protectors (cable rub, heel rub) and it works just fine. Easy to fit but not at all easy to remove once stuck."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultimate Safety Rear Tail Light (Pair)
Ultimate Safety Rear Tail Light (Pair)
The ultimate safety Light. Fibre Flare uses the latest super-bright fibre optic technology in a flexible tube with multiple attachment options. Versatile design allows this product to be mounted on seat posts, chainstays, bags or clothing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mega Bright & Easy to fit
Posted26 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These use 2 AAA batteries in each light and they seem to last well (still bright & not changed them yet). Product used twice daily on my commute on rural unlit roads for the past month but has been fitted for at least 3 months. They are really easy to fit and very visable from all angles. I've fitted to the rear of my Pannier Rack and its still ok with the bags on. They are quite long and just fit the Totec Rack. I wouldn't have been able to fit to my rear stays due to my V brakes, well they would but they would need to be fitted sticking out. I have managed to get water into one of them but it is gradually drying out. The water affected the on/off switch as I mounted it upside down to give easier access to the switch. The other which had the switch at the top is fine and got hit with the same hose trying to get the salt of my bike!"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
No other led light offers the same level of all round visibility as the TL1100.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mega Bright
Posted25 January 2012
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This light would ideally suit a commuter who wants to be seen. On my second one but the 2 rows of 5 LED's that can work independantly of each other is a great feature. With new batteries the side LED's are bright enough to show red dots on houses both sides of a 4 lane street (Bus Lanes)! It's quite bulky but doesn't affect movement if seatpost mounted and can be fitted to a pannier with some modifications. More expensive than others on the market but none have 10 LED's!"
Pros: Rugged, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight, compact windproof jacket. The Cropton packs down into a tiny stuff-sack to easily fit into your jersey pocket or saddle bag. The perfect emergency protection for changing weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted25 January 2012
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have a 2XL version which seems to be my size in Altura Kit, Chest Measurement is most important to get the right size in my opinion. Cut is short at the front but great once on the bike. Ok in light showers but it is best on sunny, but wind chilly days when a heavier weight waterproof jacket will have you roasting. Packs up tiny, ideal carry on a road bike as well as mtb as a just incase. No pockets but it's not that kind of jacket."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Bel-Air line of saddles is known for its all-around comfort and functionality. For nearly a decade, the Bel-Air has been SDG's most popular saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SDG Saddles
Posted25 January 2012
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Love em, currently have 4 of them. Really comfy, can ride easy without padded shorts, fit me perfectly, I'm no lightweight skinny racer, I choose interesting trail lines seldon on purpose and I'm very heavy on kit. Broken quite a few saddles but only one of these and that was a seadpost/saddle tree incident and the seatpost snapped in two! Good old Patriot Frameset solid as a rock."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new neoprene mudguard called NeoGuard™ is specifically designed to prevent mud and spray from getting in your face and eyes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RRP
Posted25 January 2012
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Like it, yes it can be made with a couple of cable ties and a old innertube, but it works as well as a down tube protector and looks a lot neater. It is expensive for a bit of neoprene and 5 velcro straps but it does it's job, looks better than a innertube and i would buy another one without thinking about it. No mud guard is going to enhance the image of a bike but to reduce the amount of muck sticking to the rider it does it and combined with a down tube protector is about as good as you are going to get."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted01 April 2011
MH268
fromMorayshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Have 2, An Orange set and a Blue Set. The Orange is an anodized orange, kind of looks more gold, but the blue matches the Fox fork blue a treat and looks ace. I haven't snapped, bent or dented either so no issues yet with strength. I cut both down as they were slightly too wide for me to start with but the cut lines are great as a guide to make sure the cuts are equal on both side. Could have done with a slightly higher rise but I have no issues and no complaints. Bought more for the look than the features. Wanted a strong handlebar and got 2."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MH268's Questions
 
MH268 has not submitted any questions.
 
MH268's Answers
 
A touring tyre (folding) that can do everything. With HD Speed Guard and Roadstar triple compound, it offers the same outstanding qualities in puncture protection and grip in the wet.
 

is there a preferable direction to fit the tyre on the wheel?

yes, it is a directional tyre, arrow is on it or V pattern pointing forward both front & rear.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
MH268
Morayshire
 
A touring tyre (folding) that can do everything. With HD Speed Guard and Roadstar triple compound, it offers the same outstanding qualities in puncture protection and grip in the wet.
 

Help deciding between 1.6 & 2.0

I use my bike for daily commuting and regular loaded touring. I currently run with 1.5 Conti City Contacts. I also do the occasional full-on MTB riding without changing tyres.

I am an admitted speed freak, so I run a max pressure to achieve the least rolling resistance/higher speeds.

I am leaning towards the 2.0, which is only 15g heavier than my current tyre, but also figure the 1.6 would have to be faster.

Based on my current use, any suggestions.
Schwalbe Durano 26x1.0 for speed. 1.6 marathons only if bike is on the heavy side or the rider is. Continental Gator Skin's 26x1.0 ran for years and are mega quick.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
MH268
Morayshire
 
The Bel-Air line of saddles is known for its all-around comfort and functionality. For nearly a decade, the Bel-Air has been SDG's most popular saddle.
 

SDG Saddle Black/Purple/Black

Is the SDG Bel Air Black/Purple/Black the plaidversion? If so, do you have them in stock and ship the to US (Chicago)? how long would the delivery take and what is the cost in $?
Thank you.
It is like a Tartan Pattern and looks great.

Stock is shown below the item! Exchange rates vary and Having had stuff sent to the United Arab Emirates I'm sure wiggle would send to Chicago.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
MH268
Morayshire
 
The new neoprene mudguard called NeoGuard™ is specifically designed to prevent mud and spray from getting in your face and eyes.
 

what size rrp mudguard fits an 18 inch frame boardman mtb

The rrp Fits on the suspension fork, so the measurement between the bridge of the fork and it's crown is what you need. The frame size is totally irrelevant. If it is a 100mm fork get an XS a 120mm S (Rock Shox & Fox)
2 years, 2 months ago
by
MH268
Morayshire