pkch
Share pkch's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
pkch's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    18 September 2009
  • Last Review
    09 July 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 January 2011
  • Last Question
    21 June 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    03 November 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
pkch's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Breathable perforated bar tape with foam padding for a dry, cushioned and grippy feel on the flats and drops. Fizik Performance bar tape is ideal for endurance riding in hot conditions and is available in a range of colours to match your kit theme.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but not my favourite
Posted09 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this in metallic blue to replace two-tone white and blue Fizik tape I had on my race bike for 4 years which still looked good but I wanted a change. This gives a slightler softer feel than the old tape but has a bit too smooth a grip compared with the "suede" finish tapes which Fizik now make and are my favourites."
Pros: Durable, Attractive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Precision CNC machined alloy spacers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just the job
Posted01 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a 7 speed block (not cassette) and 8 speed chain on my training bike and a new compact chainset. These were just the job for preventing the chain rubbing the inside of the large chainring when in the small sprockets. Expensive for what they are and will have cost to produce but worth it for the hassle saved."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Havik 2 Full Lens Sunglasses - 2011
Havik 2 Full Lens Sunglasses - 2011
The Havik's sleek, sculptural Super Fit frame offers a comfortable, helmet-compatible fit and is matched to an interchangeable 7-base ZEISS lens that offers exceptionally accurate vision and a wide open field-of-view.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Clearly Good
Posted26 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these at the 50% discounted price, which I guess is because Giro appear to have discontinued them as no glasses are shown as current products on their website. These are definitely an improvement on my old M Frames (clearer optics, more secure lens mounting, at least as comfortable) but the Wiggle-supplied lenses are very light and more suitable for very cloudy days or riding trails. I had to get a darker lens from a foreign supplier (also at much reduced price). I have only worn them a couple of times so far; overall rating might be 5 stars with more experience."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Highly Acclaimed Defeet Woolie Boolie sock has been upgraded to the Woolie Boolie 2 for a new level of warmth and comfort. A padded terry loop cuff and sole have been added along with arch compression for greater stability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality item
Posted04 January 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have had a pair of the original Woolie Boolies for a few years and they have not worn through and still look good and, most important, still keep my feet warm. So I bought a pair of WB2s and, so far, they seem as good as the originals. You can't really expect more from winter socks."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit and Forget
Posted30 June 2011
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Size M fits well. I'm 5ft 10in and 67kg, so sizing is realistic rather than Italian. Worn twice now and they are the clothing equivalent of fit and forget: the material(s) and pad are lightweight, they fit close, wick sweat and don't rub or otherwise remind you that you have them on. So far they are the equal or better of makes that spend a lot more on advertising their more expensive products."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Best value
Posted22 March 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"They're light, they fit and are cheaper than the others."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Thrust Pedal Cleats
Thrust Pedal Cleats
Complete set including two cleats and 6 bolts and washers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not quite Keo compatible
Posted03 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I found that the cleats would not engage with my Keo Max pedals. The reason is that the raised plastic flange surrounding the leading bolt extends too far rearwards. I fixed it by sawing off the red/black part of the flange to the rear of the grey plastic surrounding the leading bolt (see the Wiggle illustration). The cleats will then engage. However, the rear slot must also be wider on the Xpedo cleats, as even the black cleats have some rotational play.
They work fine with Xpedo pedals and seem at least as durable as Look cleats but I haven't had them long enough yet to confirm this."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: not keo-compatible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A precision digital gauge that reads to 250psi for use with tyres, forks and shocks.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Worthwhile Buy
Posted01 March 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I assume it is more accurate than the guage on my (SKS) trackpump as measuring pressure is its sole purpose. I was therefore surprised to see how inaccurate the guage on my trackpump actually is - it overreads by at least 0.5 bar around 7 bar. The Topeak guage is certainly more convenient and precise, as pressure can easily be set to the nearest 0.1 bar (I do not use the psi option, which would be even more precise) using the bleed button. This is a massive improvement over the rough guesses I had to make using the very coarse (1 bar units) on the trackpump guage. A worthwhile buy if your existing pump doesn't have a decent guage."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
These Roubaix 3/4 Bib Tights are your winter saviors and will keep your warm and comfortable whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality and fit
Posted06 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
pkch
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was slightly dubious about how these would fit as unusual sizing has been a frequent comment in reviews of dhb clothes (and my own kneewarmers would never stay up) but these were just right (size M, 5'11"tall, 30"waist, 67kg) and were long enough not to ride up over my knees every few minutes, unlike some italian makes.
I have only had one 2 hour ride so far but special mention goes to the insert, which is very comfortable and of much better quality than usually seen at this price level, so I expect it to stay that way.
My only criticism is very minor: there were a couple of long loose thread ends in the stitching around the insert, which I carefully cut off. If these were left and pulled, I could imagine the insert coming adrift."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
New life for my Airbase Pro
Posted20 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
pkch
fromSouthend, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I took a risk on this because I was driven to distraction by the useless head on my SKS Airbase Pro. The hardware designed to allow the hose to replace the original do not fit but the bits for connecting to the end of the original hose work perfectly. So far, the head grips the valve very firmly. An excellent product that has rescued an expensive pump which was let down by its connector."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
pkch's Questions
 
 Powertap Pro Rear Wheel 2013
Powertap Pro Rear Wheel 2013
The powertap Pro rear wheel is a power solution that is versatile enough to do it all and features a new design. A perfect wheel for training on in all weather conditions.
 

Pro or G3?

WiggleMattp's answer to my question about the difference between the two versions of the Pro rear wheel seems to contradict WiggleJoe's answer to a question on whether the hub is Pro or G3. Could you please clarify?
9 months ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset
 
 Powertap Pro Rear Wheel 2013
Powertap Pro Rear Wheel 2013
The powertap Pro rear wheel is a power solution that is versatile enough to do it all and features a new design. A perfect wheel for training on in all weather conditions.
 

Differences from other Powertap Pro Rear Wheel

The other Pro Rear Wheel you are selling for some £70 less appears only to have different spokes. Is this the extent of the difference? Are they all built by the same people/machines which seem to have collected a few unfavourable comments in the reviews?
10 months ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

How does this compare with the Mavic Sprint jacket in terms of the closeness of its cut and the weight of material??

The indicated Mavic size M dimensions are little smaller than DHB size M but this may not be the whole story. (It's bad enough being out in the rain, so I want to avoid a jacket that flaps in the wind.)
 
Products related to my question
Sprint Jacket
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 5 months ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset
 
Specially designed for the fixed gear rider, the Pedro's Trixie is the urban survival tool with all the right pieces to keep that fixie rolling.
 

What are the dimensions of this tool?

It looks a bit long for my under-saddle bag (a Campag 15mm wheelnut spanner only just fits).
3 years, 3 months ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset
 
pkch's Answers
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

How does this compare with the Mavic Sprint jacket in terms of the closeness of its cut and the weight of material??

The indicated Mavic size M dimensions are little smaller than DHB size M but this may not be the whole story. (It's bad enough being out in the rain, so I want to avoid a jacket that flaps in the wind.)
I decided to answer this myself by ordering both jackets. Both are high quality in terms of material and construction. The fabric of the Mavic is slightly more lightweight and so possibly less robust. It is also only partly lined with mesh while the dhb is fully lined. The dhb zips appear to be more water-resistant and it has pit-zips while the Mavic has fixed ventilation slots. I think the Mavic would easily fold into a pocket whereas a large portion of the dhb would protrude if you put it into a normal size jersey pocket.
Sleeve lengths of both are pretty much the same (a fraction short for me but adequate for non-gibbons) but the fit around the chest is much more generous on the dhb and I found it too loose and decided to keep the Mavic despite the extra cost. I am 1m 78 and about 67kg.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Size Compared to Assos.

I used to have a pair of findechans which were medium, however they were too big around my bum, they had extra material that bunched up.
I now have a pair of medium Assos f1 and they fit perfect. So are the dbh a bit bigger in size than the Assos.
Im 5'11 and 70kg so im thinking a small for these??
I'm 5'10" and 67kg and the medium feels OK to me. It depends how tight you want to be squeezed.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset
 
A precision digital gauge that reads to 250psi for use with tyres, forks and shocks.
 

Does this work on car tyres too

I assume because they are schrader valves it will but just checking
Yes. It works on mine. (Remember to slide the valve selector to the correct position.)
3 years, 1 month ago
by
pkch
Gillingham, Dorset