Pierre
Top 50 Contributor
Share Pierre's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Pierre's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    52
  • First Review
    14 June 2009
  • Last Review
    10 January 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    11
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Answer
    15 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    10 January 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
Pierre's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendor. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality brake cable
Posted10 January 2012
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was after some replacement brake cable after inadvertently cutting some brand new Shimano cable whilst re-building a training bike (measured it wrong!). I didn't want to spend Shimano prices again so opted for this type after looking at what was available. It wasn't the cheapest but having already used their gear cable quite some ago (and still going strong) it was an obvious choice. In comparison to Shimano I can tell absolutely no difference. Very happy indeed with the purchase."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A simple and strong, classic designed bottle cage constructed from alloy.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
How Much?
Posted17 April 2011
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Such a simple-designed cage. It looks good and feels high quality. For the price it must be the best-value cage on the market."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Place your dirty bike in this bag before loading into your car/van and save yourself the trouble of cleaning up the mess after the bike has been taken out when you arrive home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
How can such a simple product be so useful?
Posted17 April 2011
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"To transport my road bikes abroad I’d always used a hard-case for carbon frames and a soft-shell bag for aluminium. For home-based events I would simply put the bike(s) in the back of my car. However, when I’ve used my mountain bike I normally have to use the soft-shell bag so as not to get the interior of the car dirty – but that can be a bit of a faff with dismantling the bike.
I discovered the CTC Plastic Bag quite by accident; I can’t even remember what I was looking for! Here I found the ideal solution for transporting your muddy bike by car. Now, I simply lay the bag on the floor, take the front wheel off (the bike not the car) and pop the bike in the bag before placing it in the back of the car, not forgetting to place the front wheel in the bag before you drive off.
Once home it’s simply the reverse procedure. If the inside of the bag is dirty then turn it inside-out and get the hosepipe on it.
For those of us who don’t want to use bike racks this is a must have product. It’s robust enough to withstand harsh treatment and won’t tear easily. Such a simple, useful and cheap idea."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elastic Shoelace
Elastic Shoelace
Lock Laces are an all-new, patented 'elastic shoelace and locking system' that feature specially designed elastic laces combined with a spring activated locking device. Lock Laces can be worn with all types of athletic shoes for sports or casual use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The Original and Best
Posted07 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use elastic laces in all my shoes - including my (cough) casual ones! Over the years I've tried various alternatives that have come on the market but I went back to these because I think they are better for the following reasons:
Very quick and easy to fit
Easy to adjust
Comfortable
Excellent value for money
In use in triathlons they are great, speedy transitions are almost guaranteed. Highly recommended."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Reinforced Tyre Levers
Reinforced Tyre Levers
SKS Reinforced tyre levers
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tyre Levers
Posted07 June 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After my old tyre levers snapped after many years use, I was in the market for a new set - or two. My requirements were:
Strong and durable
Easy to handle
Easy to use
Light
After reading all the reviews both on Wiggle and many other shop sites, the SKS Reinforced Tyre Levers seemed to be the ones. Having used them several times when renewing tyres, I found them to be very good indeed. Just the right size to grip securely and the tip is easy to get under the rim of the tyre beading. Hardly any flex, these should last ages. Highly recommended."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Podio Cycling Jersey - 2010
Podio Cycling Jersey - 2010
The creation of timeless pieces is something you expect from Castelli. The Podio reaches out to the consumer who wants classy lines with a bit of flair.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ultimate Comfort
Posted06 April 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having already bought the superb Castelli Velocissimo Bibshorts I also got this jersey to match. Like the shorts, the jersey is simply outstanding. Ultra-comfortable and super-lightweight it surpasses all of the jerseys I've ever bought - ever. Close-fitting but not tight it also has three rear pockets and a zipped pocket for money, phone etc. I'm so impressed with it I've now bought a second one. How can I ever buy any other jersey now?"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Velocissimo Bibshort - 2010
Velocissimo Bibshort - 2010
Velocissimo means fast! This short went through an extensive testing process before hitting the market.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Oozes Quality
Posted06 April 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've always bought the cheaper end of the market when it comes to cycle clothing and wear them until they fall to bits. Now that said clothing has fallen to bits I thought I'd treat myself to some better quality shorts. A mate had recently bought the Cervelo Test Team kit and noticed the shorts had virtually no leg-grippers. Now, I hate leg-grippers as it feels like I'm being strangled. With these though they are so comfortable. The material is thin but well-made and they fit so well. I'm so impressed that I've bought a second pair. Who needs Assos anyway!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Carbon Bottle Cage
Carbon Bottle Cage
Presented in a beautiful 3k weave carbon finish, the LifeLine carbon cage adds a touch of crisp modern styling to any frame design. The light and flexible construction securely cradles your bottle with quick and convenient entry and exit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Functional, Lightweight and Attractive
Posted06 April 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After using Tacx Toa Ultralight cages for many a year I decided a change was necessary due to the fact that two of my Toas broke in quick succession.
Went for the LifeLine cages as they seemed good value for money especially for carbon cages. They hold all my different types of bottles secure without so munch of a whimper and unlike the Toas, the fixing screws are fully recessed into the cage so insertion and removal of bottles is a doddle. Also - being carbon, they flex slightly but always retain their shape - unlike the Toas which because they are made from aluminium plate, deform giving rise to bottle holding issues.
I've used these cages for several weeks now - including two 5+ hour road bike rides - and for someone who is picky with an eye for detail (and tight with money), I am well impressed with them. Oh and they look rather nice on my Cervelo too."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: none
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
 
Black Witch is suitable for quick repairs of Neoprene Rips and Tears, especially where rubber is directly bonded together. Black Witch is also suitable for use on latex wrist, neck seals and silicone seams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted09 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having used my wetsuit most weekends throughout the winter I discovered several finger nail cuts to the legs. Bought this Black Witch adhesive to have a go at repair myself rather than take the suit to a shop. It is very easy to apply if you follow the instructions and after 24-hours the suit is good to go. Close inspection of the cut reveals that the rubber has bonded onto itself and no amount of pulling could re-open the cut. Well worth the money."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: pongs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good lube
Posted01 December 2009
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Pierre
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I find choosing a good quality lubricant is a bit like buying a saddle - you never know what you are going to get until you try it. Well I'm quite pleased with this lube. Easy to apply, dries in a few minutes it lasts me 2-3 weeks before re-application (I cycle 60-70km per day). The chain and gears run silent so when you get a bit of noise you know it's time to re-apply. Overall it's a good lube."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pierre's Questions
 
Pierre has not submitted any questions.
 
Pierre's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

What is the longest steerer tube length that this tool will work with?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It can handle all standard length fork steerer tubes. I've used this on all my bikes - Cervelo, Specialized, Ribble and GT. Good value for money in my opinion.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

Overall diameter

I have just tried to fit a set of Continental GP 4000s to my new Boardman Air 9.0 (came fitted with Vittoria Zaffiria Pro) The rear fits OK but the front is too large in overall diameter, it strikes the top of the forks, there is a 5/7mm clearance with the Vittoria. My question is will the GatorHardshell have the same problem and if not which is the best to fit - the folding or the non folding version.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A friend of mine has these tyres fitted to a Boardman Air 9.0 and they fit OK. Are you sure the tyre it seated correctly on the rim?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

Do these tyres fit standard rims or do you need clincher rim set?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
These are clincher tyres for clincher rims.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 dhb Elsted Bike Box
dhb Elsted Bike Box
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 

The box appears to be larger than airline restrictions?

The maximum size for excess backage on Virgin is 203cm length + width + height. Have there been any issues with this?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have used one of these bike boxes for several years and have never been refused by an airline. I guess because it is classed as sports equipment and not excess baggage.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 dhb Elsted Bike Box
dhb Elsted Bike Box
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 

700c

Does this box take 700c wheels and will the wheel sleeves take 700c wheels?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes to both questions.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 dhb Elsted Bike Box
dhb Elsted Bike Box
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 

is this box designed to take mountain bikes as well? My 18" Orange is a lot chunkier than the road bike pictured in the box...

User submitted photo
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have a 20" mountain bike and it fits perfectly well.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 RC312 Disc Brake Fluid
RC312 Disc Brake Fluid
Totally eliminates brake fade. Ultra high performance upgrade to standard DOT 4.
 

Is this brake flid suitable for Tektra Auriga Comp disk brakes?

Does the Tektra system use mineral oil or non-mineral oil?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
According to the Tektra website, the Auriga Comp brake system can only use mineral oil.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Pierre
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 

Approximately how many uses will I be able to get out of this?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It depends on how dirty your chain gets and how often you clean it. I use my bike everyday in the summer and clean the chain every weekend before using this product. Therefore I guess it would easily last 6 to 12 months.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Pierre
 
 Forerunner 305 Wrist and Bike Mount
Forerunner 305 Wrist and Bike Mount
Bike to wrist for the Foreunner 305. Includes the wrist strap with quick release bracket and bike mount cable ties, spring bar for wrist strap and removal tool.
 

How secure is the unit on the strap?

I would like to use this item with a 305xt. Is the unit secure enough on the wrist so that it won't fall off during the swim?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Personally I would not trust any strap to securely hold the watch whilst swimming, especially during races.
4 years ago
by
Pierre
 
Garmin International is pleased to announce the Forerunner 310XT multisport GPS training device. It is Garmin's first swim-proof training device that is water resistant to 50 meters.
 

Why does it not work while swimming?(gps)

My route is 800m and my garmin 310xt said 1.7km.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Garmin has now issued firmware that adds a swim function to the 310XT menu. However, the accuracy will still not be exact due to the inherent nature of swimming with the watch under water and thus losing the GPS signal.
4 years ago
by
Pierre