robbosps
Top 1000 Contributor
Share robbosps's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
robbosps's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    06 August 2009
  • Last Review
    17 February 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    16 October 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    30 August 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    23 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
robbosps's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nearly a 5. Why did you remove the zip?
Posted17 February 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a replacement for my favourite shorts which lost their life on some harsh Tarmac.
I was hoping to purchase a direct replacement. But the designers have fiddled and removed the zip, leaving just a small section of Lycra around the belly. This feels shorter in waist height, and doesn't allow the zip area to be UN done when getting warm or on arrival.
Otherwise they are still comfy and a great fit.
I just wish that designers will rest happily with a good design. STOP FIDDLING."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit and forget
Posted17 February 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bye bye flats on my commute.
No punctures(that have caused me to change a tube).
Fit and forget, ride without worry. I don't really understand why everyone doesn't use them!
I believe the weight difference is the equivalent to 100ml of juice?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An outstanding value road cycling shoe with a sleek, minimal upper for cooling comfort and a stiff glass reinforced nylon sole for efficient pedalling action. The R1.0 is the perfect introduction to performance cycle footwear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted17 February 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm not a proper roadie, but I use these for my 30 mile round trip commute.
They seem bomb proof, and comfy. I only adapt them for cold and wet weather with toe covers, and I don't have too many issues. -4 degrees did provide me with cold ankles.
I've replaced my original ones with another pair as I thought they were a good buy. I've done about 7000 miles in them with no problems. The originals finally died after an off with some coarse Tarmac !
I did have "hot feet" on a 100 mile ride which required shoes off, walk about bare foot and re-shoe.
For a simple easy roadie shoe, they are great. Especially is you don't fit into the skinny sized main brands. (Fat feet)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Waterproof Commuter Jacket combines great fit with over sized reflective panels to help you stay safe and dry on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Gutted. Slim fit doesn't fit
Posted03 September 2014
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This jacket on paper looks perfect.
When it arrived it looked perfect
I followed the reviews and went xxl, in lieu of XL .
Put I put it on, did up the zip and not in a millions years.
It's gone back for a refund.
Please please please can we have a commuter jacket that's not SLIM fit. I'm just not slim.
Shame. I really liked the features of this."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A package combination of the Swan Road (rear) and Croozer Road (front) mudguards for road/hybrid bikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just right for me.
Posted10 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Using these on Cannondale CAAD8 road bike which i commute 13 miles each way on.
Bought these after struggling with another product that arrived in parts to build.
These are not as close fitting as others, but they have done a fantastic job in horrid weather this week.
They do what i wanted and thats to stop getting a wet botty and bits from spray within 5 minutes of cycling.
Super simple to fit and remove.
The advertising picture doesnt do them justice really. I'd look at the front and rear products, as the pictures are better, but then buy as a set as its better value."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Crud RoadRacer Mk2 Mudguard Set is a lightweight mudguard set designed to fit road bikes with tight clearances and without mudguard mounts.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Disappointing. Could do better.
Posted07 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I put aside an hour to fit these following the on-line video and reviews from here, and despite being handy, they were a pain to fit.
They also had a part missing, which although didnt have an effect on initial fitting, they were returned.
I purchased something else, which i've found much simpler to fit, and they do the same job.
I love the look of these, but found them disappointing. They need to be simple to fit, and come in one piece, not 3 sections requiring cable ties, and double sided sticky pads."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit, fiddly to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Genuine innovations 16g Threaded Pack Of 2 CO2 Cartridges
Genuine innovations 16g Threaded Pack Of 2 CO2 Cartridges
Innovations best value threaded cartridge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing, but beware !
Posted07 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great idea these CO2 bottles, but i cant find anywhere it tells you to beware of extremely cold fitting afterwards.
Otherwise, great. Why bother with a pump !!
Used them on the road only, ad buying some larger ones for my MTB"
Cons: see review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just Brilliant for my riding
Posted24 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I commute 13 miles each way, each day, so wanted a cheap simple waterproof jacket for when it gets wet and cold.
The jacket folds up small in my back pak and is simple to use. The side zip vents are great, and its a great simple jacket.
Size wise, im 15.5 stone so the XL is a great fit.
I now prefer this jacket over my "best" cycling jacket.
Only minor is i always have to wear a sleeved top under it a its not lined.
I thinks for its cost its lightweight.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar R2 Rear Light
Lunar R2 Rear Light
Visible from up to 1 mile with it's 2 x 1/2W LEDs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I only need 1 light now.
Posted20 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this to replace my missing MARRS 3. This is brilliant and has been running most days for nearly a month and its been through frosts, heavy rain and even some sun. I havent been hit yet, so its working
Works great so i', now just running a single lights, instead of my previous 2 !
Marked down as these lights seem slightly expensive for an LED and plastic mirror."
Pros: Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just Ace
Posted20 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Puncture on the way to work on Roadie, quick replacement tube, and then first effort with this CO2 device. Pull the trigger, and bam, ready to go.
Its that easy, no small pump, just press the trigger.
Brilliant puncture repair kit."
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
robbosps's Questions
 
robbosps has not submitted any questions.
 
robbosps's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What PSI can these be inflated up to?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I run mine at 110 and have had no problems.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 

Will it fit a large head?

I am interested in purchasing the DHB wind stopper skull cap. However I noticed that Wiggle only sell it in one size.

I have a rather large head with the following dimensions:

61cm / 24 inch in diameter around my head ear to ear

67cm / 26 in diameter from my chin to top of my head

Please can you tell me if it will fit my head.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes.

I have a 60cm head( i wear a 60cm cap at work ) and this fits with a bit spare.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

size help

i am 47/48 inch chest - will the xxl fit me(it says 47-49 on size chart) - are these jackets tighter fit or a more relaxing fit
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
close fitting.

Im 46inch chest, 6'2 and went XL, which is a nice fit.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Does the dhb Signal Jacket 2011 have a breathability rating?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the zip panels at the side open up, to make it very breathable.

the main zip does the same.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

6 ft and skinny

I am 6ft and skinny. Is a large the right size?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
id say yes. im 6.2 and well padded, and xl is a sleek fit.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Crossride Disc Mtb Wheelset 2010
Crossride Disc Mtb Wheelset 2010
Discover Mavic quality and performance on the trails.
 

How dow do you tighten the "center lock" ring to secure the disc - is there a special tool available?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Its the same tool as a Shimano external BB tool
3 years ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 

Can you use it with a turbo trainer?

Ive brought a turbo trainer for the winter but dont know how fast/hard im working. Can you attatch the sensor to the back fork/wheel cause obviously the front one wont be rotating? Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no. The wireless sensor cant send the information to the unit. I bought a wired version, and its great for turbo training.
 
Products from my answer
 
3 years, 2 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 

Bike trip computer for mounting on rear wheel?

I'm looking for a wireless trip computer like the Cateye Strada but to mount on the rear not the front fork because my road bike is currently mounted on a turbotrainer. This means I'll need more than the usual 27" or so transmission distance. Any ideas or recommendations? Thanks in advance for your shared expertise.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I had the same issue. I bought a wired version simply for the turbo. Works a treat, but the wire isnt long enough to get to the handle bars, so is currently on the top frame.
 
Products from my answer
 
3 years, 2 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Schwalbe Rocket Ron Evolution Folding MTB Tyre 2012
Schwalbe Rocket Ron Evolution Folding MTB Tyre 2012
Racers' dreams come true! This super light 'Rocket (tubeless ready)' answers almost every demand at one time: Incredible grip with extremely low weight and fully loaded with all the latest technology.
 

Is this tyre available for conventional rims (non-Tubeless or non-Tubeless ready rims?)

I'd like to use this tyre on a conventional rim, but wihtin the Schwalbe catalogue I only find "Evolution" models as "Tubeless" or Tubeless ready". The non-tubeless tures are known as "Performance".
I'd like to by two of these should they can be used on conventional rims.
Thank you in advance.
Karraca
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
you can use these on a standard rim that is "hooked". Most rims have a small hook at the edge to keep the tyre on.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
All new Rubino Pro features available with a slick tread pattern! A fast rolling slick tyre, for mountain bikes, with puncture protection and ideal for dry road courses.
 

How long to restock? Will a size 1.5 fit alexrims dp17 rims?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes. thats what i run these tyres on.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK