robbosps
Top 500 Contributor
Share robbosps's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
robbosps's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    36
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    06 August 2009
  • Last Review
    03 February 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    16 October 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    13 January 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 March 2017
  • Last Question
    06 March 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    23 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
robbosps's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
For extreme winter conditions. The Aeron Deep Winter Bib Tight uses a performance stretch, waterproof, fleece lined fabric to provide outstanding warmth and protection from the elements. Features the Tour Air chamois for endurance distance rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Theyre good, but i was expecting a bit more
Posted03 February 2017
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Am i asking too much from these ?
I own other Roubaix material dhb clothing, and i expected these deep winter tights too be much more.
First ride out was -3c so i was looking forward to having warmer legs. I arrived after my hour long commute with warm shins, but cold thighs and bum cheeks. I asked mates who own other branded kit with similar properties and they said i was expecting too much.
The lettering has peeled off, despite following the washing instructions.
But, in light rain they are good, and you can see the water resting on the material.
Fit - They are a good fit for me, Im 6'1 and 98kgs, so XL for me is good. They are tight over the thighs, but they sit well.
Id liked to have felt warmer on my inner thighs, but they are an improvement over the standard roubaix tights in the cold, just not quite as good as i was hoping for.
I needed the option of NOT SURE for recommending this product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
New for 2015, Lifeline MTB inner tubes are designed for 26" rims and are available in three sizes & two valve options. LifeLine inner tubes are made of high quality butyl rubber and air leakage tested to ensure excellent reliability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, cheap and does the job
Posted03 February 2017
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Its a rubber inner tube that works.Its cheap so i bought a few.
Its the last time i repair a puncture on my old 26" MTB.
I now send my old tubes to an African charity, so they get recycled too."
Pros: Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Mountain King II has superb braking traction and optimum cornering are guaranteed in all types of conditions and comes with ProTection tubless ready casing and BlackChili compound.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bought to replace Origional tyre which failed
Posted03 February 2017
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this as a replacement for the original Tyre that came on my Canyon Spectral 7
The original failed and became wonky, probably from some over zealous cleaning when replacing the tubeless milk.
This tyre is tubeless compatible, but ive junked that tech and gone back to tubes.
The tyre has always performed well out riding.
Cost - i thought these would be more, but they seem within the correct price bracket."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, easy and effective
Posted03 February 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"easiest and most simple way to clean a dirty chain. its more efficient than my old toothbrush made device.
Only piece of advice is keep an old jar handy for the dirty fluid once you've finished.
I used Morgan Blue Chain DeGreaser which i already had with no problems"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bought these solely from the reviews
Posted02 March 2016
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The reviews said they were warm, and brilliant value for money.
They are.
The fingers are a little tight on my XL gloves, but the fit on the palm is nicely snug.
For the coat, you cant go wrong."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
this will become a favorite of my riding kit.
Posted02 March 2016
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I commute 15 miles each way, most days and will try and go for a social ride once a week.
I hate riding in waterproof jackets, as my my size, they fit like sails.
I bought this after trying a few other winter tops for size.
My regret was that wiggle arent stocking the blue anymore, so i got the fluro yellow.
Ive now ridden it it minus temperatures, very high winds, light drizzle. Its been super warm, comfortable and a brilliant piece of kit.
What wiggle dont advertise is that the front has the windslam material, and its normally on their top end kit. Although this is marketed as a commuter style top, it fits the larger cyclist.
For fitting, im 6'1 and 98kilos, 44-46 inch chest. This is a a nice close fit.
The one negative which stops it getting 5 stars is the width of the wrist elastic and its fit. Something a bit larger width of material so its a tighter fit, would be better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Deuter Compact packs have been completely revised and now shine with technical updates and a modern style. Built to suit a variety of needs, the Compact works great on any terrain: longer tours, single trail rides or on the ice-cream run
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
MTB and Snowboarding Its doing them all.
Posted09 February 2016
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to take for a day out riding and use for days snowboarding.
I love the method for getting my camelbak bladder in the bag, that has now made my larger original camelbak bag, redundant.
The bag has so many features, and useful pockets. I guess it was designed by a german, its top quality.
This bag has put my carry on, through multiple airports now, and its big enough to cope, but not so large its annoying.
Ive had this for 6 months now, and it still looks brand new.
Im struggling to find a problem with it."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tool FR5 Cassette Lockring Remover
Park Tool FR5 Cassette Lockring Remover
Fits most cassette lockrings including Shimano®. (Note: You must hold freewheel with chain whip tool such as the Park Tool Sprocket Remover SR-1 or SR-2).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted09 February 2016
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"simple, easy and it works.
The metal fins are strong and show no signs of wear or premature death.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano XT PD-M785 Trail Wide Platform Pedals
Shimano XT PD-M785 Trail Wide Platform Pedals
XT SPD's are designed to take the rigours of off-road competition whilst also being perfect for cross country trail riding. This XT trail pedal is ideally suited to tackle single track and ultra-technical descents with control and confidence.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nicely made, but.
Posted31 October 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are made to a high standard and are still looking new after a 100 miles of off roading.
I replaced my pd520's for these as those were very old, but still were working, albeit a little rough.
These have a large area to help slam your foot into when needed and the additional cage doesn't made too much difference to getting pedals caught on obstacles.
But, are they better than the much cheaper versions they replace .......I'm not so sure. But they are very well made."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Developed in the classics and tested in the Pro Tour, the Gage is built to the requirements of the worlds hardest working riders. With an astounding race weight and advanced TAG fit system, Gage is already the choice of Thor Hushovd and Philippe Gilbert.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My treat
Posted01 September 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been wearing the same lid for years, both on and off road. This came up at a stocking offer , looked good, so bought it.
I'm a 59cm head with a wierd shape. I bought the large and medium. The medium just fitted, but sat on top of my head. The large is a lovely fit.
Good for long sweaty rides, and I'm really pleased.
It was really easy to adjust for its first fit, but I cut off the ends of the straps, as they will slap you in the breeze.
Also my shades fit really nicely in the vents, so I can have a pro look or just a nice location to store my glasses!
I'd buy this again. Happily."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
robbosps's Questions
 
The dhb Windslam Windproof Headband offers breathable wind protection for the ears and forehead making it ideal for the colder days of winter riding. The headband is slim and lightweight so easily worn under your helmet.
 

Is this improved from the last version?

Does it still have the holes over the ears( which make it sound like your cycling in a hurricane)
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
robbosps
Whiteley, UK
 
robbosps's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What PSI can these be inflated up to?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I run mine at 110 and have had no problems.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 

Will it fit a large head?

I am interested in purchasing the DHB wind stopper skull cap. However I noticed that Wiggle only sell it in one size.

I have a rather large head with the following dimensions:

61cm / 24 inch in diameter around my head ear to ear

67cm / 26 in diameter from my chin to top of my head

Please can you tell me if it will fit my head.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes.

I have a 60cm head( i wear a 60cm cap at work ) and this fits with a bit spare.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

size help

i am 47/48 inch chest - will the xxl fit me(it says 47-49 on size chart) - are these jackets tighter fit or a more relaxing fit
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
close fitting.

Im 46inch chest, 6'2 and went XL, which is a nice fit.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Does the dhb Signal Jacket 2011 have a breathability rating?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
the zip panels at the side open up, to make it very breathable.

the main zip does the same.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

6 ft and skinny

I am 6ft and skinny. Is a large the right size?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
id say yes. im 6.2 and well padded, and xl is a sleek fit.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Crossride Disc Mtb Wheelset 2010
Crossride Disc Mtb Wheelset 2010
Discover Mavic quality and performance on the trails.
 

How dow do you tighten the "center lock" ring to secure the disc - is there a special tool available?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Its the same tool as a Shimano external BB tool
5 years, 2 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 

Can you use it with a turbo trainer?

Ive brought a turbo trainer for the winter but dont know how fast/hard im working. Can you attatch the sensor to the back fork/wheel cause obviously the front one wont be rotating? Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
no. The wireless sensor cant send the information to the unit. I bought a wired version, and its great for turbo training.
 
Products from my answer
 
5 years, 3 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 

Bike trip computer for mounting on rear wheel?

I'm looking for a wireless trip computer like the Cateye Strada but to mount on the rear not the front fork because my road bike is currently mounted on a turbotrainer. This means I'll need more than the usual 27" or so transmission distance. Any ideas or recommendations? Thanks in advance for your shared expertise.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I had the same issue. I bought a wired version simply for the turbo. Works a treat, but the wire isnt long enough to get to the handle bars, so is currently on the top frame.
 
Products from my answer
 
5 years, 3 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Schwalbe Rocket Ron Evolution Folding MTB Tyre 2012
Schwalbe Rocket Ron Evolution Folding MTB Tyre 2012
Racers' dreams come true! This super light 'Rocket (tubeless ready)' answers almost every demand at one time: Incredible grip with extremely low weight and fully loaded with all the latest technology.
 

Is this tyre available for conventional rims (non-Tubeless or non-Tubeless ready rims?)

I'd like to use this tyre on a conventional rim, but wihtin the Schwalbe catalogue I only find "Evolution" models as "Tubeless" or Tubeless ready". The non-tubeless tures are known as "Performance".
I'd like to by two of these should they can be used on conventional rims.
Thank you in advance.
Karraca
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
you can use these on a standard rim that is "hooked". Most rims have a small hook at the edge to keep the tyre on.
5 years, 7 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick MTB Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick MTB Tyre
All new Rubino Pro features available with a slick tread pattern! A fast rolling slick tyre, for mountain bikes, with puncture protection and ideal for dry road courses.
 

How long to restock? Will a size 1.5 fit alexrims dp17 rims?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes. thats what i run these tyres on.
6 years, 6 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK