robbosps
Top 1000 Contributor
Share robbosps's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
robbosps's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    06 August 2009
  • Last Review
    09 February 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    16 October 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    13 January 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    16
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    23 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
robbosps's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Fits most cassette lockrings including Shimano®. (Note: You must hold freewheel with chain whip tool such as the Park Tool Sprocket Remover SR-1 or SR-2).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
it works
Posted09 February 2016
robbosps
fromWhiteley, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"simple, easy and it works.
The metal fins are strong and show no signs of wear or premature death.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano XT PD-M785 Trail Wide Platform Pedals
Shimano XT PD-M785 Trail Wide Platform Pedals
XT SPD's are designed to take the rigours of off-road competition whilst also being perfect for cross country trail riding. This XT trail pedal is ideally suited to tackle single track and ultra-technical descents with control and confidence.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nicely made, but.
Posted31 October 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are made to a high standard and are still looking new after a 100 miles of off roading.
I replaced my pd520's for these as those were very old, but still were working, albeit a little rough.
These have a large area to help slam your foot into when needed and the additional cage doesn't made too much difference to getting pedals caught on obstacles.
But, are they better than the much cheaper versions they replace .......I'm not so sure. But they are very well made."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Developed in the classics and tested in the Pro Tour, the Gage is built to the requirements of the worlds hardest working riders. With an astounding race weight and advanced TAG fit system, Gage is already the choice of Thor Hushovd and Philippe Gilbert.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My treat
Posted01 September 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been wearing the same lid for years, both on and off road. This came up at a stocking offer , looked good, so bought it.
I'm a 59cm head with a wierd shape. I bought the large and medium. The medium just fitted, but sat on top of my head. The large is a lovely fit.
Good for long sweaty rides, and I'm really pleased.
It was really easy to adjust for its first fit, but I cut off the ends of the straps, as they will slap you in the breeze.
Also my shades fit really nicely in the vents, so I can have a pro look or just a nice location to store my glasses!
I'd buy this again. Happily."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nearly, but not quite.
Posted01 September 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Put on a new pair of shoes after my original SPD SL's had been demolished. These feel good but a little loose, although that could be due to the float on these. They are on my winter shoes, so will properly get them used in the next few months
For the price, I'm happy, but I have purchased the originals for my best shoes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight and functional, the Crank Brothers 19 Function Multi Tool will help get you though a wide variety of trail-side repairs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All I've needed so far
Posted19 August 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It has enough features for my road bike commute and off road escapades.
I'm not worried about the weight, which seemed to trouble some reviewers.
Nothing has broken or bent, so it would seem the metal used is upto the job.
Best bit is the allen tools for my bolt through axles."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron Short features a premium Italian stretch fabric, refined fit and is equipped with a high spec Veloce CyTech Elastic Interface chamois perfect for medium distance rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic
Posted19 August 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These replaced a very old set of dhb shorts. I'm not a massive bib short fan, so these fit the bill nicely.
They look good, fit well and most importantly have seen me through lots of 15 mile commutes as well as 4 hour social rides and an 80 mile fast ride out.
They sit well under my baggies when off roading with no issues.
The pad has been washed lots now and still looks new.
The last pad lasted 4 years before finally leaving this world."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Zaffiro Pro Slick has the same slick racing tread as Rubino Pro for faster riding but has the addition featured on Zaffiro Pro such as fewer flats, secure grip and long tread life.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I love these tyres
Posted19 August 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've tried many other brands of late and found they aren't upto the puncture protection they suggest. Back to old faithful. Last set lasted for a few thousand miles of commuting and sportives.
It took a Roofing tack to finally kill the last set.
Surprising amount of wet grip despite a near slick pattern!
When they are on offer, they are UN beatable value."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Will stop slow leaks and punctures. This Solution converts standard (non tubeless) tyres to tubeless. Also works with any tubeless tyre or tubular tyres. When properly used, it will seal up to 1/4 inch punctures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The key to tubeless riding
Posted19 August 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bye bye pinch flats and needless tube changes. Bye bye slime tubes. Hello to freedom.
My only advise is use MORE than the instructions suggest, and if your tyres are already dirty, clean the. Really well.
Otherwise, buy it, pour it in and go ride."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded 3/4 Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nearly a 5. Why did you remove the zip?
Posted17 February 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a replacement for my favourite shorts which lost their life on some harsh Tarmac.
I was hoping to purchase a direct replacement. But the designers have fiddled and removed the zip, leaving just a small section of Lycra around the belly. This feels shorter in waist height, and doesn't allow the zip area to be UN done when getting warm or on arrival.
Otherwise they are still comfy and a great fit.
I just wish that designers will rest happily with a good design. STOP FIDDLING."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit and forget
Posted17 February 2015
robbosps
fromPortsmouth, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bye bye flats on my commute.
No punctures(that have caused me to change a tube).
Fit and forget, ride without worry. I don't really understand why everyone doesn't use them!
I believe the weight difference is the equivalent to 100ml of juice?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
robbosps's Questions
 
robbosps has not submitted any questions.
 
robbosps's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

What PSI can these be inflated up to?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I run mine at 110 and have had no problems.
11 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Windtex Coloured Skull Cap
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 

Will it fit a large head?

I am interested in purchasing the DHB wind stopper skull cap. However I noticed that Wiggle only sell it in one size.

I have a rather large head with the following dimensions:

61cm / 24 inch in diameter around my head ear to ear

67cm / 26 in diameter from my chin to top of my head

Please can you tell me if it will fit my head.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes.

I have a 60cm head( i wear a 60cm cap at work ) and this fits with a bit spare.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

size help

i am 47/48 inch chest - will the xxl fit me(it says 47-49 on size chart) - are these jackets tighter fit or a more relaxing fit
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
close fitting.

Im 46inch chest, 6'2 and went XL, which is a nice fit.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Does the dhb Signal Jacket 2011 have a breathability rating?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the zip panels at the side open up, to make it very breathable.

the main zip does the same.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

6 ft and skinny

I am 6ft and skinny. Is a large the right size?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
id say yes. im 6.2 and well padded, and xl is a sleek fit.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Crossride Disc Mtb Wheelset 2010
Crossride Disc Mtb Wheelset 2010
Discover Mavic quality and performance on the trails.
 

How dow do you tighten the "center lock" ring to secure the disc - is there a special tool available?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Its the same tool as a Shimano external BB tool
3 years, 10 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 

Can you use it with a turbo trainer?

Ive brought a turbo trainer for the winter but dont know how fast/hard im working. Can you attatch the sensor to the back fork/wheel cause obviously the front one wont be rotating? Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
no. The wireless sensor cant send the information to the unit. I bought a wired version, and its great for turbo training.
 
Products from my answer
 
4 years ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 

Bike trip computer for mounting on rear wheel?

I'm looking for a wireless trip computer like the Cateye Strada but to mount on the rear not the front fork because my road bike is currently mounted on a turbotrainer. This means I'll need more than the usual 27" or so transmission distance. Any ideas or recommendations? Thanks in advance for your shared expertise.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I had the same issue. I bought a wired version simply for the turbo. Works a treat, but the wire isnt long enough to get to the handle bars, so is currently on the top frame.
 
Products from my answer
 
4 years ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
 Schwalbe Rocket Ron Evolution Folding MTB Tyre 2012
Schwalbe Rocket Ron Evolution Folding MTB Tyre 2012
Racers' dreams come true! This super light 'Rocket (tubeless ready)' answers almost every demand at one time: Incredible grip with extremely low weight and fully loaded with all the latest technology.
 

Is this tyre available for conventional rims (non-Tubeless or non-Tubeless ready rims?)

I'd like to use this tyre on a conventional rim, but wihtin the Schwalbe catalogue I only find "Evolution" models as "Tubeless" or Tubeless ready". The non-tubeless tures are known as "Performance".
I'd like to by two of these should they can be used on conventional rims.
Thank you in advance.
Karraca
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
you can use these on a standard rim that is "hooked". Most rims have a small hook at the edge to keep the tyre on.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK
 
All new Rubino Pro features available with a slick tread pattern! A fast rolling slick tyre, for mountain bikes, with puncture protection and ideal for dry road courses.
 

How long to restock? Will a size 1.5 fit alexrims dp17 rims?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes. thats what i run these tyres on.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
robbosps
Portsmouth, UK