Gastlyastley
Top 500 Contributor
Share Gastlyastley's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Gastlyastley's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    11 August 2010
  • Last Review
    02 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    15 September 2011
  • Last Answer
    28 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Gastlyastley's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Rucksack cover is a simple and unique product, performing several functions at the same time. The Hump™ fits simply over an existing rucksack and fastens around its waist.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bright or what
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Is this a nice bright piece of kit or what. Apart from that it actually keeps my rucksack dry. Only one downside is that the light on my rucksack is covered but will get round that"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and effective
Posted28 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A simple and easy to use basic GPS. Does everything it says and not to bulky on the handlebar."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This HH® Dry Revolution long-sleeve base layer top for women features the unique LIFA® fibre technology and a seamless construction for comfort and performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So smooth and comfortable
Posted28 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A very nice smooth close fitting base layer. Nice design even though youwill not see the patterns, looks good though. Works really well and for the price it is a real bonus at the moment."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Its time has come. Introducing the all-new Grip Shift by SRAM.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So easy to use
Posted30 January 2014
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Do not know why these grip shifts are not used more often. Easy to use and makes shifting very easy especially on SRAM 2X10 front mech which does need a bit of force to shift. Leaves bar less cluttered. My wife loves them."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best bib I have bought so far
Posted15 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Well worth waiting for. Great fit with lovely smooth matterial, just like another skin. Very comfortable and the pad is just right. Have been out in hot and cold days and they have proved excellent giving a nice feel on the rides and very comfortable. Zips are far better than before which helps as well."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: long wait for stock
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Feedback Sports Pro Elite Workstand is Portable, Stable and durable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
What a stand
Posted22 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I thought I had a pretty good stand but this has outshone it by mules. Good firm footing so it does not wobble around with its large base. Clamp is excellent and easy to use with adjustable hight which is great as I am getting on a bit now, saves my back. Superb finnish, seems a shame to get it dirty."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The DMR Vault is the next generation of the classic V8 and V12 family.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ride on
Posted05 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Read about these pedals in a magazine but thought very pricey even though they got five stars. So bought a pair for the boss who cannot get used to spd and she is mega thrilled. Good balance with large area to press down on. Do not slip even with muddy shoes and gives her greater confidence on her mountai bike."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Store and protect your tools, tubes and cycling essentials in wet conditions. The strap version attaches easily to your seatpost and saddle without the need for a mounting bracket.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
This is a neat fit
Posted30 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal for use on a mountain bike. Looks good, not obtrusive or in the way but carries those odd bits that do not fit in jacket/jersey."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Luggit Blok 18L Messenger Bag
dhb Luggit Blok 18L Messenger Bag
Fully featured messenger shoulder bag swallows gear. Stabilizing strap controls the load. Numerous pockets to keep you organized.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very versatile
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"We bought this bag for multi purpose use on mountain bikes. It has not dissapointed. You can get an awful lot into 18ltr bag. Can be used off and on the bike, multi purpose with lots of areas to stow goods. So good have bought another and the smaller 7ltr one as well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Shockboard MTB Front Mudguard
Shockboard MTB Front Mudguard
Race proven - the first to be fixed to the front suspension with a quick release adaptor. Can be engaged and released by the simple press of a button without removing the wheel. Permanently positioned above the wheel for maximum dirt protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted14 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gastlyastley
fromCallington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these to stop water and gunge coming back into faces over the front wheel when windy. The have proved well adapted to that and keeping most of the water out of our shoes. Light, easy to remove and look good, not out of place on a 29er. Not easy to fit and one came lose which was anoying. Found the best way to fit was to drop the wheel out to get a good access to fit tightly."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Gastlyastley's Questions
 
Gastlyastley has not submitted any questions.
 
Gastlyastley's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

what shoes would beat go with these pedals?

I've never had these pedals before so was wondering what shoes would best go with these pedals on a budget. I'm a size 12 UK size.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I use ordinary spd shoes and ride a moutain bike. Any spd shoe will do
5 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
This GPS-enabled cycling computer tracks time, distance, speed, location and calories burned. The Edge 200 is ideal for training, everyday and touring rides or any adventure you want to relive later at Garmin Connect™.
 

Can I pause this device while I stop for coffee on my ride

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You can set it up to pause for you automatically
5 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
Its time has come. Introducing the all-new Grip Shift by SRAM.
 

What cables set is needed for these grips when used with sram x5 derailleur?

I have a Trance X 29er 2 and want to change to a grip shift for both derailleurs (front x7 rear x5).

bike spec URL http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-au/bikes/model/trance.x.29er.2/12031/57333/
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Comes complete with cable and I used my original outers, all worked well, very smooth
6 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
The DMR Vault is the next generation of the classic V8 and V12 family.
 

Would it be possible to mount power straps to this pedal?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
So far I would not use anything else as the pedals are great without any extra's. Bought for my wife who cannot get the hang of spd and was having trouble keeping her feet firmly on the pedals. She says they are great. Problem solved.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
 Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

Womens sizes

Hi: I would really like to get one of these jackets for my wife who is a womens small.
The small according to the sizing chart is miles to big. Is it possible to get these jackets in womens specific style and sizing. Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I bought one for my wife who is a small size and she has no complaints about the size
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
 Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
Night Vision Evo Waterproof Cycling Jacket 2012
An Evolution of the best selling Night Vision Jacket. In a new fabric and new design featuring a removable LED tab, front hand pockets, hood fittings and loads of reflective trim this is the Ultimate commuting jacket.
 

can you get repair patches?

It would be a shame to have to sew it, or stick on duck tape. Can you get patches for small holes?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I would think any competent seamstress should be able to repair and damage. I talked to ours and she says she regularly has cycle gear to repair.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
 Shockboard MTB Front Mudguard
Shockboard MTB Front Mudguard
Race proven - the first to be fixed to the front suspension with a quick release adaptor. Can be engaged and released by the simple press of a button without removing the wheel. Permanently positioned above the wheel for maximum dirt protection.
 

will this fit 29er wheels

i have a cannondale trail sl2 29er and was wondering if these would fit? if not is there any you could recommend that would
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, easiest to remove wheel to get a good tight fit
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Make the most of every ride with Edge® 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

What is this prodct like for hiking/wlking as well as cycling?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I have used the 800 for walking, cycling a lot. Just adjust settings to what you want so that it is not going off every time you stop ect.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

Are these pedals compatible with Shimano MT42 SPD Shoes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I have MT 42 shoes and they fit perfectly
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Make the most of every ride with Edge® 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

Can you change the activity type on the Garmin Edge 800 from cycling to running? This is important to me as I'd like to use it for both.

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I do not see why not but an expensive product for that use. We have used it on the cycles mainly but have used it for walking and even in the car. It has a lock mode so that should help when running. We found it very accurate when walking when footpaths suddenly vanish. Not sure about all the functions for running but should be able to use calories and others.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Gastlyastley
Callington