twink
Share twink's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
twink's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    15 June 2009
  • Last Review
    27 March 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    27 May 2010
  • Last Question
    20 September 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    17 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    14 October 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
twink's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Look Keo Cleat Cover
Look Keo Cleat Cover
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
safe walking!
Posted27 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These are a must. The keo cleats are very slippy and shouldn't really be walked in. I clip these on every time i get off the bike. Saves you money in the long run and save you an injury from slpping in the cleats. I have found these durable and a very worthwhile purchase."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zoggs Aqua Sports Carry All
Zoggs Aqua Sports Carry All
This heavy duty mesh bag provides for the hygienic, practical storage and transport of all your swimming equipment and training aids.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
big bag
Posted19 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"BIG mesh carrier for all you swimming toys. I bought it for fins, floats and paddles and may have been better with a smaller one but it could easily carry my wetsuit too. Random colours sent - one pink, one blue. Seems robust enough for its function. Neat little cotton corner tag for writing you name on! Quite happy."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SL-280 Seat Post
SL-280 Seat Post
A 2-piece alloy (AL6061) shaft seatpost (20mm setback) with a forged alloy head.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
just the job
Posted04 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Bought this so that I can clamp my seat post pannier to my road bike. (clamping carbon was not advised) As I have found with FSA products they are good quality for reasonable money. I particularly like the simple set up system - one bolt. Easy to adjust and fit and looks good too! Changing from the carbon to aluminium I haven't really noticed a big difference."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g
Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great product
Posted29 August 2011
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Value for money
"Get a lot of rubbing round neck from wet suit especially in sea. Used this during a 2km sea swim and no rubbing. Have bought a spare just to make sure i never run out..."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Aqua Sphere Kaiman Goggles Tinted Lens
Aqua Sphere Kaiman Goggles Tinted Lens
A traditional goggle with added comfort and visibility. The Kaiman goggle is an excellent competitive-style goggle that offers features superior to a traditional swim goggle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good fit
Posted22 August 2011
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have other aqua sphere goggles and bought these specifically for open water swimming as the light can be quite dazzling. I swam 2km in the sea and had no problems however the other day in the slightly colder water of a loch they kept fogging up, then after the third clearing of them they were fine!
I know from experience that you are better to try on the goggle as everyones face shape suits different types.
I find these comfortable and am happy with this brand. My clear ones have lasted for a few years and only negligence has resulted in the current lens scratches.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: gets fogged up on occasions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Altura Ladies ProGel Cycling Shorts
Performance lycra cycling shorts for summer days out on the saddle. Featuring an 8 panel construction and a ProGel Seatpad for cushioning and comfort on long endurance training rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
comfortable
Posted06 August 2011
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I read reviews that these were rather large and i agree that Altura could have cut down on the amount of material they used in the top half of the shorts. However even though they are long up top when you sit on the bike the back of the shorts cover your back area very well and the long front stops the elastic pressing on your bladder (which I hate) i didn't find them uncomfortable. Have used them on cycles over 60miles on both sports and touring saddle without much pain. I also liked the fact that they were a sensible leg length about 2inchs above the knee... Not bad at the price."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Pro Bar Tape
Pro Bar Tape
Lightly cushioned bar tape which has a traditional style and of durable quality.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
basic but does the job
Posted06 August 2011
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"not the most padded tape i have used and a little on the slick side, but cheap and capable of completing the job."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 blueseventy Neoprene Swim Cap
blueseventy Neoprene Swim Cap
Insulation, comfort, and neoprene on your head - what more could you ask for? The 3mm Yamamoto neoprene maximizes warmth and comfort with a flexible central panel to enhance fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
thick well designed cap
Posted14 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Bought the small but found it just too tight under the chin for a comfortable swim (HEAD APPROX 57CM) sure the bigger one would be fine. But good quality and nice fit."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Defender FX Front Mudguard
Defender FX Front Mudguard
The DeFender™ FX (front mudguard) is the perfect choice for lightweight durable mud protection on those wet and sloppy rides. Quick release allows DeFender to be installed and removed in seconds.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
does the job
Posted14 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"seems a bit fragile, however it fits fine. Do some off roading but mainly just paths so not sure how well it would perform in severe conditions, but good enough and good value"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 X-Socks Run Energizer Compression Socks.
X-Socks Run Energizer Compression Socks.
More energy for longer endurance!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
comfortable sock
Posted16 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
twink
fromscotland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"have worn these several times on long runs and never had any problems with the socks performance, i.e. no blisters.
I bought them as I have continual calf trouble and thought there is no harm trying something new. it is difficult to say if they really did make a different to the pains I get (as I did suffer cramps due to the distance/hydration). however I was pleased with my performance when wearing the socks and will continue to wear them in other events. I did however feel a little self conscious in them, maybe I’ll get used to them...?! I bought the black ones
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
twink's Questions
 
 blueseventy Neoprene Swim Gloves
blueseventy Neoprene Swim Gloves
A great open water specific training tool, the webbed fingers allow increased resistance training. These form fitting neoprene gloves also insulates against the cold.
 

do you have any information on sizing?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
 Blizzard Road Tyre
Blizzard Road Tyre
The proven classic. The modern tread is available in all popular colours and incorporates a Kevlar®Guard for a safer ride.
 

are these folding tyres?

4 years, 6 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
twink's Answers
 
 X-Socks Run Energizer Compression Socks.
X-Socks Run Energizer Compression Socks.
More energy for longer endurance!
 

I have had problems with Achilles Tendinosis. Would these socks be beneficial?

I have various lower leg problems and have used this with some success.I think if you can afford to experiment then worth a try, but otherwise try heel lifts and specific achilles exercises. Good luck!
4 years, 2 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
 blueseventy Neoprene Swim Cap
blueseventy Neoprene Swim Cap
Insulation, comfort, and neoprene on your head - what more could you ask for? The 3mm Yamamoto neoprene maximizes warmth and comfort with a flexible central panel to enhance fit.
 

Does this cap keep the ears dry?

Hi there,
does this cap keep the ears dry or do I have the water amongst the cap and my head when using it?
Kind regards
Hoirkman
I wear a similar cap with a silicone cap over the top (for visibility) My ears do get wet but the water doesn't 'sloosh' around too much and i often find my hair (which is long) semi dry!
4 years, 2 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 With Super Carbs 1.6kg Tub
High5 EnergySource 4:1 With Super Carbs 1.6kg Tub
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 

High5 energy source 4:1with super carbs

What are the amount of grams of protein per 500ml of drink?
from the info on the side i understand that there is 9grams per 500ml
4 years, 7 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
 Vittoria Rubino Wire Bead Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Wire Bead Clincher Tyre
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

IS THE PRICE FOR TWO TYERS

no. It's for one. i made that mistake and had to re order the second tyre!
4 years, 7 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
 Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
TORQ bar has been painstakingly formulated to produce a food that is ultra high in carbohydrate, very low in fat and with ingredients wide-ranging in glycaemic index for immediate and sustained glucose release.
 

Do the ingredients include, eggs, dairy or gluten?

I am alergic to the the above, so am trying to find bars that are safe to eat.
the ones i have say they contain gluten! There are others on the market that would be safer. Just have a search. shame as they are lovely..
4 years, 7 months ago
by
twink
scotland
 
 Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
Torq Bars - Box of 24 45g Bars
TORQ bar has been painstakingly formulated to produce a food that is ultra high in carbohydrate, very low in fat and with ingredients wide-ranging in glycaemic index for immediate and sustained glucose release.
 

What is the energy content in one of these bars?

i have the pinapple and ginger and the energy is stated as 1410kJ/344Cal. Protien 3.9g, carbs 73g/sugar34.2g. and thats all in a 65g bar
4 years, 7 months ago
by
twink
scotland