Llamaman
Share Llamaman's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Llamaman's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    05 November 2013
  • Last Review
    30 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 July 2014
  • Last Question
    12 July 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    08 November 2013
  • Last Answer
    30 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Llamaman's Reviews
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bargain basement pedals
Posted30 October 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A good solid pair of pedals at a great price. I've used them for 9 months now cycling 100 + miles per week on my road bike and no problems. The option of the flats is really useful and once you get used to them they are really easy to just flip over. For the price no complaints at all."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium Leg warmers for insulation in cooler conditions. Ideally suited to the beginning of your ride, legUno_S7 pack into a jersey for storage as you warm up. Stay comfortable on cold early starts with Assos' renowned quality and fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful item
Posted01 October 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Really useful for those cool/cold mornings when you set off on a long ride not knowing what to wear. Opt for shorts and you're too cold, opt for tights and later in the day you're too hot. These give you both. One reservation having used them on a 200k is that my legs are nowhere near as muscular as the guy modelling them in the picture, so they were a shade loose. First pair of leg warmers so can't say how they compare with other makes, but now I always go for Assos as they are quality products and find it pays in the long run. Being 6' 2" and 80kg I went for size II and length was bang on."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A sleek, lightweight aero shaped wedge pack with the easy to use Topeak quick-release mounting system.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tin
Posted16 September 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great little saddle bag this. The clip on stays firmly in place and is far batter than my old one with just velcro fastening yet is easy to remove. I can fit multi-tool, inner tubes x 2, puncture repair outfit and still manage to slide my i-phone in too. If you want to carry more though go a size up. Looks neat, only drawback is the shape can make it a little difficult to fit your rear light to your seat post."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Keep your shoes protected on rough adverse weather rides with this lightweight, wind and water resistant overshoe from Sugoi.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fragile - in tatters after a few weeks
Posted22 August 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Overshoes can be vulnerable to fraying and tears but I found these particularly vulnerable. Bought them in the sale but I expected more than 6 weeks and 600 - 700 miles life out of them. I won't be going near this make again. Now have a pair of dhb's that are far better quality."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Long Finger Summer Road Glove is a stylish and technical cycling glove which features temperature regulating panels, a foam padded palm for enhanced comfort and absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good lightweight gloves
Posted11 June 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used these a few times now and am pleased with them - having long fingers being one of the main reasons! They do exactly what they say they do, a good lightweight option at a reasonable price. The velcro fastener isn't the best and the gloves were ever so slightly loose around my wrists - minor gripes and the reason I didn't give 5 stars."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight and aero shoe covers for adverse weather rides on the bike. Offering wind and water resistance, these shoe covers will protect your feet well. The offset zip design will also aid in better rider comfort.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not hard-wearing
Posted26 December 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"5 x 40 mile rides in and these overshoes look as though they've done ten times that amount. Look good and the price was reasonable but they tear easily. This can be a common problem with overshoes, so I can''t be too scathing about sugoi but I can't be complementary either. Would benefit from reinforcement at heel and toe."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves
SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves
Wind and Waterproof cycling gloves with a light, breathable construction. Featuring a 3-layer membrane fabric assembly, 3D pre-curved fingers and silicone contact points for protection, feel and dexterity on the roads and trails - whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Awkward when taking off
Posted29 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These gloves are pretty good for keeping your hands warm but frustratingly the inner layer comes away when taking them off. Getting them back on so that your fingers go right to the end of the fingers can be a bit of a faff. Odd times I've got my finger caught between the gear changer due to a bit of slack at the end of the finger, not great when you are moving quickly! I'm hanging onto them but wouldn't buy them again."
Pros: Durable
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value, good product but tight fit if tall
Posted08 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These bib shorts are great in terms of quality padding in all the right places and offer great support but if you're tall you can feel the shoulder straps. I'm just over of 6' 1" and in a large I am aware of the shoulder straps, although they don't dig in. Comfortable enough in this respect on several 30 mile plus hilly rides and the padding is impressive. I'd say that if was 1" shorter they would be ideal, but being slim xl would not offer the same excellent level of support and compression."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Strongly recommend
Posted05 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are the best bib tights that I have bought. They are really comfortable to wear, with padding in all the right places. The straps are wide enough so as not to dig into my shoulders and the legs long enough for a guy with a 34" inside leg. I'm 34 leg 6' 2" and 34" waist and they fit perfectly. Washed x 7 times since buying and fit still as good. For the price you'd be struggling to find better and could pay double for something half as good. I'm a big dhb fan having bought equivalent bib shorts in the past, but these are better still."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Llamaman's Questions
 
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 

Another size question and the difference between S5 and S7?

Hi, I'm just over 6' 1", 34" waist, 40" chest around 80kg maybe a bit less. From the size charts it looks as though I need XL, is this right. My dhb bib shorts in L fir great.
Also,
What's the difference between the S5 and S7, really baffling for a relative beginner.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
 Castelli Sanremo Thermosuit
Castelli Sanremo Thermosuit
Ride through the winter with a similar lightweight feeling as your summer kit. The SanRemo Thermosuit combines a Trasparente Jersey, Sorpasso tights and the most advanced fabric technologies for full weatherproof coverage and total comfort.
 

What size should I buy?

I'm nearly 6' 2" around 80kg 34" waist 34" inside leg - never sure with castelli size guides as not only the gear comes up small but also the size guides! Do they make any of these with a long enough leg for me?
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Llamaman's Answers
 
Keep your shoes protected on rough adverse weather rides with this lightweight, wind and water resistant overshoe from Sugoi.
 

What are they made from?

The listing states its made of "100% Polyamide(Nylon)", but down the page it then says they are made of "PU coated stretch Lycra". Which is correct?
I have the yellow version and I'm wondering if these are the same construction?
Whatever these are made from I found that they disintegrated pretty quickly and was very disappointed. I have found dhb overshoes a far better option.
20 hours ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Size Advice For a Tall Person

Hello. This is my first purchase of any cycling tights and I'm struggling to pick out the most suitable size...

I am 6’4” tall, with a 34" inside leg, 36" waist and 42" chest.

It seems that to get something to suit my height, it will be much too big in the other areas. If I go for an XL size, will the elastic nature of the material help to bring the material in and keep it snug around my waist and chest?

Any help much appreciated, thanks.
I think that you'd be okay with a large. My inside leg is also 34" though I'm not as tall as you being just over 6' 1". The straps do have a little play in them. Also these are probably the best bib tights I have ever bought.
11 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

I'm 6ft1in, 40" chest, 32" waist. Which size should I go for? Sizing chart indicates Large based on height but would waist be too baggy?

Best answer
Definitely a large. I'm a similar size to you and a large fits perfectly.
11 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire