Llamaman
Share Llamaman's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Llamaman's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    05 November 2013
  • Last Review
    06 March 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 July 2014
  • Last Question
    12 July 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    08 November 2013
  • Last Answer
    30 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Llamaman's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Lezyne Trigger Drive CO2 Inflator is ideal for stashing in your saddle bag or jersey pocket. The twin chuck head threads easily onto both presta and schrader valves and the anti-freeze jacket will protect your hands during use.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Hit and miss whether it works or not
Posted06 March 2017
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have used this three times. The first time I used the inflator it worked great and blew my tyre up in no time. Next puncture I was confident that the inflator would do likewise only to be disappointed as the CO2 did not seem to be very well controlled by the valve. A third time I used it and it partially worked. Carry a pump and would not depend on this, although I also carry this in case it does work!"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality, inefficient, inconsistant
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Giro Carbide Off Road Shoe - 2015
Giro Carbide Off Road Shoe - 2015
Style and comfort on the trails without breaking the bank.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent value and comfortable
Posted02 October 2016
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use MTB shoes on my road bike and these look fairly sporty rather than bulky. Always gone for Shimano in the past but thought I'd give these a go as they were a great price in the sale. I have not been disappointed. A touch on the tight side for fitting and would suggest you go a size up. The three straps really hold your foot in place well and they are excellent for walking in, no skidding around on cleats."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid rear light
Posted27 May 2016
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This has been a great light. Batteries seem to last for ages on flashing. I ride it with another light on constant when really dark in winter. I feel really confident with this behind me. Other more expensive lights have just died on me, reasonable priced and reliable."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Active Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer
dhb Active Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer
A technical first layer for light insulation. The dhb Active Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer has a wicking construction and odour-resistant polygiene treatment.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for the price
Posted08 April 2016
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A solid piece of kit for the price. Not the best for wicking sweat awat and fit is on the larger side when you want a base layer to be tight. In retrospect I would have got a medium. Advise you to go lower in size. Also I have long arms, so this was fine but those who don't drag their knuckles across the floor may struggle with surplus material."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Lite-Fit Sleeveless Base Layer
dhb Lite-Fit Sleeveless Base Layer
An ultralight, high performing base layer with wicking properties and an anti-odour treatment. Ideal for warm temperature training sessions and high tempo activities.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable base layer
Posted10 June 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I found this a comfortable base layer. Not quite as tight as I would have liked but excellent value for the price. Takes the edge of those chilly mornings when a complete base layer is a bit too much."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB HeavyDuty Overshoes
BBB HeavyDuty Overshoes
These shoe covers are extremely tough and will keep your foot insulated and your shoes protected from adverse weather. The industrial strength full length zipper won't let you down and the reflective detailing will help you stay visible at night.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Do the job and get you seen
Posted22 March 2015
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these for a good sale price and they do what they are designed to do - keep my shoes clean and my feet warm. Nice and bright so they give better visibility from the side. I only marked them down a star because I'm yet to encounter a pair of overshoes that don't disintegrate. These are a bit more durable than most but could do with more protection at the toe. Zip and fastener are sound."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good for medium rides up to 60m
Posted01 March 2015
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is thinner than Assos but you do get a lot more of it for your money, although I do tend to use more of it. As usual in my experience Assos provide the superior product but this is great for those training rides of between 30 to 60 miles. For anything longer I return to my old favourite Assos."
Pros: Great Value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Unpadded Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix unpadded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic value and a great fit
Posted20 November 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm typing this review having worn these for around 8 x 40 mile + rides and am very impressed with them. Fit is excellent - I'm just under 6' 2" slim with long legs and a large is bang on for me. They feel really good on. I've used them in Oct and Nov but would probably need something thicker in the middle of winter. I've bought the padded bib tights in the past but prefer to wear my assos shorts underneath so these are ideal if you have favourite pair of shorts like me. For the money these are one of the best buys I've made."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With 5 superbright LEDs, the Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light will make you easily visible to other road users from every angle.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fine for 9 months but that was all!
Posted30 October 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This served me well for 9 months but has now suddenly died on me. Whilst easy to fit, once fitted the band around the seat post could not be removed. Removing the batteries was difficult, but the light did give decent output in flashing mode for a long time without needing to change the batteries. My front light is a Moon and I'm going for the same at the rear as I've found that very reliable. This is okay if you want a cheaper option and I may just have been unlucky."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Unadjustable, Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bargain basement pedals
Posted30 October 2014
Llamaman
fromMatlock, Derbyshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A good solid pair of pedals at a great price. I've used them for 9 months now cycling 100 + miles per week on my road bike and no problems. The option of the flats is really useful and once you get used to them they are really easy to just flip over. For the price no complaints at all."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Llamaman's Questions
 
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 

Another size question and the difference between S5 and S7?

Hi, I'm just over 6' 1", 34" waist, 40" chest around 80kg maybe a bit less. From the size charts it looks as though I need XL, is this right. My dhb bib shorts in L fir great.
Also,
What's the difference between the S5 and S7, really baffling for a relative beginner.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
 Castelli Sanremo Thermosuit
Castelli Sanremo Thermosuit
Ride through the winter with a similar lightweight feeling as your summer kit. The SanRemo Thermosuit combines a Trasparente Jersey, Sorpasso tights and the most advanced fabric technologies for full weatherproof coverage and total comfort.
 

What size should I buy?

I'm nearly 6' 2" around 80kg 34" waist 34" inside leg - never sure with castelli size guides as not only the gear comes up small but also the size guides! Do they make any of these with a long enough leg for me?
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Llamaman's Answers
 
 Sugoi Resistor Booties
Sugoi Resistor Booties
Keep your shoes protected on rough adverse weather rides with this lightweight, wind and water resistant overshoe from Sugoi.
 

What are they made from?

The listing states its made of "100% Polyamide(Nylon)", but down the page it then says they are made of "PU coated stretch Lycra". Which is correct?
I have the yellow version and I'm wondering if these are the same construction?
Whatever these are made from I found that they disintegrated pretty quickly and was very disappointed. I have found dhb overshoes a far better option.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
 

Size Advice For a Tall Person

Hello. This is my first purchase of any cycling tights and I'm struggling to pick out the most suitable size...

I am 6’4” tall, with a 34" inside leg, 36" waist and 42" chest.

It seems that to get something to suit my height, it will be much too big in the other areas. If I go for an XL size, will the elastic nature of the material help to bring the material in and keep it snug around my waist and chest?

Any help much appreciated, thanks.
I think that you'd be okay with a large. My inside leg is also 34" though I'm not as tall as you being just over 6' 1". The straps do have a little play in them. Also these are probably the best bib tights I have ever bought.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
 

I'm 6ft1in, 40" chest, 32" waist. Which size should I go for? Sizing chart indicates Large based on height but would waist be too baggy?

Definitely a large. I'm a similar size to you and a large fits perfectly.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Llamaman
Matlock, Derbyshire