rickyg
Share rickyg's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
rickyg's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    17 October 2009
  • Last Review
    01 February 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    17 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    01 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
rickyg's Reviews
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good value winter gloves, comfortable
Posted01 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Pretty good in 'normal' winter conditions. Not too bulky and the quality is good so far. They do get wet through if it's really raining hard, but cope with showers ok."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Roubaix (fleeced) Lycra padded bib tight with enhanced visibility 3M detailing for cold dark commutes. Brand new for dhb 2012.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value, but let down by padding placement
Posted10 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Comfortable and warm, but the seat pad is positioned strangely (in common with some other DHB longs). The pad is positioned too far to the rear and leaves your 'lunch box' unprotected and allows the cold breeze through, and challenges your modesty when off the bike."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM PG950 9 Speed Cassette with Power Glide II Technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good value, no issues
Posted21 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Functions perfectly well with a SRAM 9 sp chain, smooth and quiet transmission, seems to be lasting quite well too. Nothing to mark it down."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies FR Carbon Jacket
Ladies FR Carbon Jacket
Wind stopping jacket with light weight and breathable material in the areas not requiring wind protection, for the best of both worlds. Women specific riding position fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent quality, good look and fit.
Posted14 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought this for my wife and she is very pleased with it, at the discounted Wiggle price this was a very good deal. Great quality and good fit, warm but not bulky. Can't fault it."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ergofit Long Sleeve Jersey
Ergofit Long Sleeve Jersey
This jersey is the perfect all rounder; under a waterproof, combined with a gilet or as a comfortable outer layer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good value, good fit
Posted30 December 2011
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I use this jersey regularly for commuting or on longer night rides where the yellow helps with being seen. Jersey is relatively light weight, comfortable and a good fit. Excellent for temps of 5C or more but you'd probably need something heavier for truly cold weather."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm, good-looking, good value
Posted19 October 2011
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a warm and well-fitting jersey for colder weather (I'd say from 3C to 10C, maybe not for mid-winter). Looks good and is a well cut for road riding. Does as good a job as many jerseys 2 or 3 times the price."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Joystick MaXx 2 Wiggle Front Light
Joystick MaXx 2 Wiggle Front Light
The limited edition Wiggle Joystick MaXx still boasts the impressive spec of the standard Joystick MaXx, but is anodised in a Wiggle orange finish to make it stand out from the crowd.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
compact, powerful
Posted17 October 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
rickyg
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I use this light for 3 hour night-time road rides. It's compact and powerful with a very bright beam on highest setting. It won't quite last 3 hours on highest setting but this isn't an issue as it goes into 'reseve' mode and will always get you home. Very neat and secure handlebar mounting. Recommended, if you're prepared to spend over £100 on a decent light."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
rickyg's Questions
 
rickyg has not submitted any questions.
 
rickyg's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 

Bonjour , est ce que ces leviers sont compatibles avec un dérailleur et une cassette 9 Vit. Campagnol? Merci!

Non.
8 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

How waterproof are these gloves?

They cope with showers quite well, but continuous rain does soak through after about an hour.
8 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
Roubaix (fleeced) Lycra padded bib tight with enhanced visibility 3M detailing for cold dark commutes. Brand new for dhb 2012.
 

6'2" / 34" waist / 40" chest - sizing advice (L or XL)

Seem to be between sizes, which side of the line do you recommend I fall?
I'm 6'1 and 12.5 stone, needed an XL.
10 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
SRAM PG950 9 Speed Cassette with Power Glide II Technology.
 

Is a 12-32T or 12-34T compatible?

I have a 9 speed Ultegra groupset from a couple years ago on my bike. I'm doing a tour of the Pyrenees this summer from Perpignan to Biarritz and was wondering if either of these ratios would be compatible with my current rear derailleur, which is used with an 11-26T cassette? I've cycled the Pyrenees and Alps before but never with the touring load. I'll also be using a compact chainset, but I've been assured that the front derailleur for my current double will suffice.
No, a standard Ultegra rear mech will not cope with 32T or 34T sprockets. You'd need a 'long cage' version.
11 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
SRAM PG950 9 Speed Cassette with Power Glide II Technology.
 

Can l replace a 8speed with a 9speed?

I have a 8 speed cassette on my wheel can l replace it with the scram pg950 9 speed cassette?
No, you would need to change your levers and rear mech to 9sp too.
11 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
SRAM PG950 9 Speed Cassette with Power Glide II Technology.
 

Sora 9 speed compatibility

Hi,

I have a Specialised Allez Sport Compact with 9 speed Sora drivetrain.

Will this 11-26 cassette fit OK?

I want to keep the original 12-25 on my Winter wheels, and fit a 11-26 to my Summer wheels to give me a bit more top speed, plus extra help up the hills...

I don't want to start messing around with new derailleurs etc., so will this be a straightforward fit?

Thanks very much,

Paul
Yes, this cassette is compatible with Shimano 9sp hubs.
11 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

Hi, Im 6ft 4, 34in waist, arm length is usally short, what size would you recommend? as tight a fit as possible. X or XL?

I'm 6'1 and slim build. The L is about right for me, so I would suggest going XL for your height. The fit is quite slim.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
Cassette combinations of 12-23, 12-25, 13-26 and 13-29.
 

Do i need to buy a locking ring or is it included ?

i intent to fix them on my new campy sirocco cx wheelset.
Lock ring not included.
3 years ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey - 2012
This jersey offers greater warmth provided by the internal checked fleece.
 

im 6ft 2 but really skinny what would be best medium or large,i like a close fit

I'm a similar build, large is fine, it's not baggy as it's cut for road riding.
3 years ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh
 
 

my old raleigh has snapped the fitting for leversdo these come with new brackets to braze to frame

No, they don't
5 years ago
by
rickyg
Edinburgh