Cerv
Share Cerv's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Cerv's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    09 October 2010
  • Last Review
    06 April 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    31 January 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    31 January 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    04 December 2013
  • Last Question
    04 December 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    09 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    06 April 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Cerv's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Forerunner 910XT is the only all-in-one, GPS-enabled device that provides detailed swim metrics and tracks distance, pace, elevation and heart rate for running and cycling. It sports a sleek profile, comfy wristband and an easy-to-read display.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than the 310XT
Posted06 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"very good watch, slightly thinner than the 310xt, with a better swim function. Functions are the same as the 310 but I find the battery life longer and it picks up satellite signal quicker and keeps it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Powerbeam Pro 3.0 Trainer Plus Joule 3.0 & DVD
Powerbeam Pro 3.0 Trainer Plus Joule 3.0 & DVD
When someone calls you a control freak, you consider it high praise. CycleOps designed the PowerBeam Pro for the most demanding riders on earth.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Most expensive disappointment
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Having spent a small fortune I expected much better from the flagship of the Cycleops turbo fleet.
What i got was a rowing boat in comparison. I appreciate some people have found this great. It was set up in minutes and very easy to. It runs quiet and there are mountains of data to be taken from the Joule 3.0 which is excellent.
Well, i say excellent, for the 3 times I used it before it broke. Returned to wiggle who returned it to the supplier. 5 weeks later they could not fix it.
Got my money back but if it breaks in a year, what then? Its a lot of money to find your unit broken. Too much of a gamble.
And no DVD in mine, apparently these were not added in all the units. I contacted Cycleops in November who said they would send one out.
Surprise surprise its nearly February and after 3 reminders, 2 promises NOTHING. Make your own mind up but save your money and look elsewhere.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, poor customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bushido Wireless Ergo Turbo Trainer 2012
Bushido Wireless Ergo Turbo Trainer 2012
The world's first wireless ergo trainer. The Bushido is the newest ergo trainer by Tacx and by far the most advanced available today. Its technically revolutionary design only goes to confirm why Tacx leads the way in the world of trainers.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
A lot of money but lacks explanation
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This will break the bank and i would expect more for the price. Setting up was simple enough but it felt like TACX either forgot to include or ran out of paper once you got it together. No explanation or instructions on the computer even though it has shed loads of uses and data. No real advice on how to set up the system.
I expected more for a top end turbo. Confusing to anyone not adept at turbo's and their use. Looking for any after purchase advice and it was lacking on the TACX website or forum. I would avoid to be honest.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, lack of instructions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent kit
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Had no problems with this. Fitted in seconds and stays in place. I have one on every bike and had no problems with any of them in a year."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Premium Heart Rate Monitor Soft Strap
Premium Heart Rate Monitor Soft Strap
The new HRM soft strap, which is rugged enough to withstand swimming.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Garmin chest band
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The older version was uncomfortable but Garmin seemed to have improved this.
I do find sometimes the HR can be erattic so make sure the band is wet before you start. Saying this, I had worse problems with polar and still am pleased with the Garmin band.
Easy to remove and put on and plenty of adjustment.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A neat short cable rear light which does't need batteries. The RedEye attaches to any helmet light, and is powered using Smart Port Technology.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Small but very bright
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"easy to use, clips and and plugs into existing Exposure front helmet light. Excellent."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant kit
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have had various computers but this one has never had any issues at all. Reliable and accurate, easy yo set up and easy to use and review. What more can you ask for?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MuleBar believe there is no energy like natural energy which is why MuleBar is made from 100% natural, seriously tasty ingredients.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tasty on the move
Posted30 January 2012
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great taste and moist making them ideal for long rides"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Add some flavour
Posted29 January 2011
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Tired of training with just water. A tab of these gives a little taste, especially good on long rides. If you prefer a stronger taste, pop another in your bottle. Will be using these for IM races."
Pros: Great Value
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
few problems to overcome
Posted30 November 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cerv
fromstevenage
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Had the 1st generation which lasted years. Got the 'upgrade'. It looked easier to afix but I found the nut too soft a metal and easily threaded. This led to my first purchase being wasted and I have a whole rear guard without the locking nut. Bought a second and it nearly happened again.
When it's on its great. Getting there is a saga.
"
Pros: Adjustable
Cons: Poor Quality, Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cerv's Questions
 
Fulcrum believes in the 29" wheel and demostrates it by creating a new wheel that significantly improves performance with respect to the previous version
 

Red Metal 29XL in a Fulcrum CX 700c bike

Can I use these wheels in my Fulcrum cx 2.0 700c cyclocross bike? it has 6 bolt rotors.
I will be using clincher wheels for training
10 months ago
by
Cerv
stevenage
 
Cerv's Answers
 
The Forerunner 910XT is the only all-in-one, GPS-enabled device that provides detailed swim metrics and tracks distance, pace, elevation and heart rate for running and cycling. It sports a sleek profile, comfy wristband and an easy-to-read display.
 

does the 910XT work with the Garmin GSC 10 wireless Speed/Cadence sensor?

If not apart from Garmin vector what other cadence sensors will it work with?
Yes I am currently using mine with a variety of GSC 10's on different bikes, no issues
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Cerv
stevenage
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 

Can the seat post bracket be fitted without removing the post and will it fit a 32.4 diam post?

Yes it can, an advantage over the previous model and it comes with 3 thickness ad ons to cater for most seat post diameters
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Cerv
stevenage
 
 Race Guard Rear Mudguard
Race Guard Rear Mudguard
Catches any loose mud that gets flicked up from the rear wheel and keeps your back clean.
 

Does this mud guard attach to the seat post?

Yes, fits on the seatpost
4 years ago
by
Cerv
 
 Race Guard Rear Mudguard
Race Guard Rear Mudguard
Catches any loose mud that gets flicked up from the rear wheel and keeps your back clean.
 

would this mudguard fit a giant ocr 4 road bike?

Best answer
Use the road version, much better for road bikes and the guards hug the tyre. Very little spray and you still get the road bike look without the large mudguards
4 years ago
by
Cerv