PeteHu
Share PeteHu's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
PeteHu's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    29 August 2009
  • Last Review
    13 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    20 January 2011
  • Last Question
    13 May 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    11 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    04 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
PeteHu's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Zecto Drive front LED light sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great light for when you just want to be visible
Posted13 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was looking for something for use in failing light, where I didn't necessarily need to illuminate the road, but I did want to be visible to other road users. Aside from this, I wanted to light to have as small a footprint as possible.
The Zecto fits the bill very well. The LEDs throw out some serious light which will make me visible, but at the same time the unit itself is about the same size as my wristwatch.
I'm would not choose this light when I did need to illuminate the road - I already spent £250 on a light for this - but certainly as regards the "be seen" aspect I am very impressed."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos faceMask_S7
Assos faceMask_S7
Full head, face and neck protection / insulation for the harshest winter days. the faceMask S7 is made out of fleecy RXQ fabric and a double-layered section of strataGon airBlock fabric on the forehead area for windproofing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Typical Assos quality....and price
Posted19 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Typical Assos really. Can't fault the quality, and warm enough to use on my daily commute throughout the UK winter.
Bit pricey but well-fitting and gives me good visibility on the bike (which is the major plus on the Buff I used to wear)"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerTabs Tube - 10 x 12g Tabs
PowerTabs Tube - 10 x 12g Tabs
Isostar power tabs make a refreshing isotonic sports drink that is high in energy and low in calories (44 kcal per 250ml).
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not for me
Posted19 September 2012
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got a couple of these because my usual (Nuun) were out of stock.
When made up to the spec, both flavours tasted sickly-sweet to me. These tabs contain sugar and are bulkier than other tabs I've tried."
Cons: Bulky, too sweet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Sceptical at first, but it does work
Posted19 September 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was a bit sceptical of this at first, but using one of these things is far less hassle than taking the chain off so I thought I'd give it a go.
It won't take a chain back to "brand new" condition, but its certainly good at taking excess muck off. More of a time-saving device for regular cleans than a miracle cure.
Felt a bit "plasticky" but rigid enough to do the job. The supplied cleaner was very good, enough for two chains."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The best selling lube in the White Lightning range, Epic Ride is the perfect all-year, all-conditions lube that satisfies the demands of road and off-road riders.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product
Posted19 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There are so many lubes out there that its impossible to say how this lube stacks up against others. However from personal experience I've been using Epic Ride for a couple of years now and it ticks all my boxes. Its lightweight and great for the summer - keeps everything moving freely, and the whole drivetrain stays clean. I also use the heavier Epic Ride for the winter - that's great too."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies X-Sight Goggles AW10
Ladies X-Sight Goggles AW10
This goggle combines the flexible Thermo Plastic Rubber (TPR) unibody frame with the comfort of neoprene gaskets and a flexible nose bridge design. These ultra smooth Glideskin neoprene gaskets reduce skin marks and create an excellent fit. The non-surround suspended lenses provide for light absorption and a wider field of vision. The lenses are optical grade polycarbonate and are anti-fog and UV protected. The headstrap is durable split TPR.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good
Posted29 April 2011
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Got these for my daughter who was initially a bit put off by the amount of blue in them! However once she'd worn them she soon changed her tune. In fact the blue lenses give nice underwater vision (in a swimming pool), plus the goggles are a really good fit."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zoggs Cottesloe Hip Racer features a solid allover colour print. Manufactured from resistant, yet flexible Aqualast fabric.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Unflattering
Posted29 April 2011
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These trunks are well enough made and quite stylish, so I can't complain. But they're definitely a bit snug, I bought the same waist as my normal trousers, but really should have gone up a size.
Anyone (like me) with a bit of a tummy should tread carefully with these, you'll certainly end up showing off your muffin top!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedo's stylish leisure watershorts are perfect for the pool, beach and holiday wear. Quick-drying and comfortable with a fully elasticated waist, they feature water-repellent fabric for active wear in and out of the water.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal
Posted29 April 2011
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When looking for some swimwear I was initially put off by these shorts because they were considerably cheaper than other shorts in other shops. £150 shorts have got to be better than £15 shorts, right?
Wrong. If anything all it does is prove the "designer" culture we live in. These shorts are a really good material and are a great fit. More expensive designer shorts might have nice, exclusive logos on them but if you're purely after good swimming shorts, these are ideal.
And fair play to Wiggle who seems to have kept all the fancy designer swimwear off their site in favour of more functional items."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Single Padded Bike Bag
Single Padded Bike Bag
Well designed and padded bike bag for protection during transportation.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Agree
Posted20 April 2011
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Same comments as other reviewers, really. Easily contained my 54cm road bike, all I needed to remove were the wheels and the seat post.
I mainly got the bag for transporting the bike in the back of the car, and for this it was perfect. The bag is certainly carryable if you wanted to put your bike onto a plane or something, but as other reviewers have said it may be wise to invest in some bubblewrap as well.
But definitely useable and very good value for money."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: could use better padding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
superb tyres
Posted14 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PeteHu
fromNew Forest, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've now ridden these tyres in all conditions from sunshine to snow, quite simply they are the best I've ridden. In wet and icy weather they have held the ground no worse than any other tyre I've owned. In dry weather I go like **** off a shovel (am I allowed to say that in a review?).
Unsurprisingly its best to keep them pumped up at the correct pressure to feel the full benefit.
In the 4 months I've been riding on these tyres I've had just a single puncture, which is no better or worse than other tyres I've ridden. I bought the 26" version and had no trouble getting the tyre on the wheel. It is a tight fit but by no means impossible.
I think for the price these are a superb buy."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, fast
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PeteHu's Questions
 
Ultegra rear derailleur with wide link design gives quick accurate shifts and excellent drivetrain efficiency.
 

Compatibility with RD-6600?

Am I correct in saying I should be able to just swap out an RD-6600 for this one, and not have to replace any other part of the mech?
5 months, 1 week ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 Single Padded Bike Bag
Single Padded Bike Bag
Well designed and padded bike bag for protection during transportation.
 

realistically, how much disassembly of the bike is required to fit it into this bag?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
PeteHu's Answers
 
Ideal for Single ring use, 6-9 speed compatible as well
 

Would this chainring fit a Charge Plug.?

Yes. I put a 48T on my Charge Plug to replace the factory-fitted Sugino 44T ring. Pretty good too. Don't forget your chain will need to be longer too!
2 years ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

what type of inner tube valves does it fit

definitely presta, I'm pretty sure schrader too.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
Speedo's stylish leisure watershorts are perfect for the pool, beach and holiday wear. Quick-drying and comfortable with a fully elasticated waist, they feature water-repellent fabric for active wear in and out of the water.
 

Hi. What are the waist measurement ranges for each size? Thanks.

eg: Small fits 30 to 32 inch waist, medium fits 32 to 34 inch waist, etc
I can only speak for myself but I am a 34" waist and the Medium size fit me perfectly.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
Highly puncture resistant training/commuting tyre with unique grippy winter compound tread.
 

What inner tubes supplied by wiggle will fit this tyre?

I suspect there are many, but just flicking through the MTB inner tubes, there are some Conti tubes that are 1.1-1.3 which would be ideal for this tyre.

Continental Quality MTB Inner Tube
Presta 42mm 26x1.1-1.3 (Opt-C) @ £4.99

I bet there are others, its the width that is key.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 Single Padded Bike Bag
Single Padded Bike Bag
Well designed and padded bike bag for protection during transportation.
 

Do you know whether this Pro bike bag bag can accommodate more than one pair of wheels?

If not, can you suggest a bike bag that can take a bike plus two pairs of wheels please?
You might be lucky here. I have a 54cm road bike and having packed the bike into the bag, it still seemed quite roomy.

Note though that I have not tried two sets of wheels, so this is just a guess. And don't forget that this bag is generally quite light on padding.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 Single Padded Bike Bag
Single Padded Bike Bag
Well designed and padded bike bag for protection during transportation.
 

How small can this bag be reasonably folded when empty?

Not particularly small, I get the feeling that this wasn't high on their design priorities. Mine just site in a pile in the corner when not in use, there is no obvious way of folding it down
3 years, 5 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 Single Padded Bike Bag
Single Padded Bike Bag
Well designed and padded bike bag for protection during transportation.
 

How large is the bag internally?

Is a roadbike with an integrated seatpost likely to fit?
I ride a 54cm road bike and find it easier just to take the seat post out, however I'm pretty sure I'd be able to leave it in, as long as I were prepared to put the seat down as low as possible.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 MT Cargo Hip Bag
MT Cargo Hip Bag
Hip bag with all the accessory pockets you'll ever need, made from ballistic nylon, can take your VCR's, digital camera with ease
 

Would an iPad fit into this bag?

The measurements say yes but I am keen to be sure before ordering, thanks.
I very much doubt it.

My bag is sitting in front of me and I reckon I could get my wife's Kindle into it, but probably no bigger.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

Are C02 pumps a single use product? i.e. does the cartridge need to be replaced after every use?

Innovations Ultraflate Plus Pump
Best answer
No. I have a CO2 pump and I just use as much out of the cartridge as I feel I need. Its like squirting a soda syphon. The pump I use has a lock on it to prevent gas from being accidentally released.

Be aware though that open cartridges are bound to leak over time.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
PeteHu
New Forest, England