PaulH
Top 50 Contributor
Share PaulH's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
PaulH's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    88
  • Helpfulness Votes
    23
  • First Review
    14 June 2009
  • Last Review
    24 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    24 July 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    37
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    21 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    22 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
PaulH's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
A great cycling glove for everyday riding. Stylish and available in three colours, it features a Clarino palm with gel padding and a cool mesh back of hand with added reflective piping.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Glove
Posted24 May 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Tight on, Tight off. Fits very well and are so comfortable. Did 100Km yesterday and didn't know i had them on. Class from Castelli as expected. Recommended."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ceramic Wet is so unique and leading edge its been patented! Breakthrough ceramic-bonding technology that coats your chain to prevent wear and corrosion and then cushions it chain with a blanket of pure synthetic racing oil.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant wet lube
Posted14 May 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Used this all spring. Very good lube and chain runs near silent. Stays put too despite the wet roads. Easy to apply but you must wipe off eccess. Recommended."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Be King of the Mountain with the polka dot'original air-flow design' Aireators, the sock that kicked off the air-flow range years ago.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cool polka dot socks
Posted14 May 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"bought these to match my TDF Polka Dot 100th Jersey. They match it well, are comfortable, easy to get on and off and cool on sunny days. May in time get loose around the ankle but only time will tell. Recommended if you own the Shirt too."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Heavyweight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibers aimed to keep you as warm as possible, in crisp cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Warm toes
Posted10 May 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Comfortable, easy to get on/off and they keep your toes nice and warm. what more could you want?"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These 5mm titanium (Y-cut axle) skewers feature the unique Shark Tail handle and are very lightweight (51g per set). 5 colour options available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tiny QR
Posted10 May 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very small and light. Less than 1/2 the weight of Ultegra. Took the precaution of soaking the ends in GT85 PTFE before use. Attached with no issues at all, and i set 14 PR's both up hill and down dale on my first ride. My only criticism is the White/Grey/Red sticker on the end looks odd, and does not match the brass ferule, which matches the spoke ends on my Cole wheels. Very good though and recommended."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Windslam Jacket is a warm soft shell jacket suitable for dry cold rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Jacket
Posted22 December 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"For cold days i recommend this Jacket. Fits me well and keeps out the cold. What more do you want? It does resist the rain but is not waterproof, so i use it on chilly sunny days in Winter."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great cleats from Shimano
Posted07 October 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these to go with my Carbon 105 pedals. I have to walk my bike down an alley to get out, and this wears them, so i replace them about once every 2 years. They screw into the 3 hole system on the soles of most cycling shoes, and they give a wide contact patch that lets you get the power down. They float which is a little earie but you do get used to it. A very good product at a nice price in the sale."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Science in Sport GO Electrolyte is an ideal energy source during sports performance in the heat. Providing fast hydration and sustained energy before and during sport.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great on hot sunny days
Posted07 September 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this when its sunny and hot. I go faster. I sip it and take a swig before any big efforts on hills. It really works and i prefer it over High 5. It mixes up well, and tastes great. The tub is easy to access too. I use this a fair amount and would thoroughly recommend it and its available at a great price in the wiggle sale."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SiS GO Energy can be consumed as part of your carbohydrate loading strategy in the days and hours prior to your training or race whereby 48 grams of carbohydrate are delivered per serving.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I use this a lot
Posted07 September 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great on Cloudy days for use pre / during / post ride. I sip it every 10 mins and before big climbs and it definitely helps you go faster. Very tasty and nice to mix and drink. I personally prefer this over High 5. And at a great price in Wiggles sale. Recommended."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The incredibly stylish but compact EL-135 measures just 2.5 x 3.5 x 9cm and weighs in at just 91g.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent day riding light
Posted15 July 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My old one fell off and smashed when i hit a pot hole at speed. Since my crash in 2010 I always ride with lights on when i ride. This is an almost exact replacement however it seems brighter than the old model i had. Documents confirm a 50% increase that really helps you get seen when you are on the road and in the countryside. i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. If you want a proper night light you probably need to spend more than this."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PaulH's Questions
 
 Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Super lightweight SPD-SL road pedal for high performance road racing. Designed to match the 105 10-speed groupset.
 

will the cleats included fit DHB R1 shoes?

I am thinging of bying these for my new cayo 105
4 years, 10 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
PaulH's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Wahoo RFLKT+ is the worlds first smart phone powered bike computer. All the power of your smart phone in the size of a sleek cycling computer. Keep your phone safely in your jersey pocket and access all of your cycling App data from your handlebars.
 

Does this have to use a phone?

As it's the RFLKT+ and has ANT+ connectivity, can I connect this up with the Wahoo Blue SC and just use the two to show me speed, distance and cadence? Or does it have to have an iPhone in the system somewhere?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Works using bluetooth. I start my phone (I_Phone 5) and turn off the screen and put it in my pocket, and RFLKT+ displays the info you select whilst you ride. It makes you look like a Pro with a small computer in front of your bars. Great. Fiddly when changing the battery though.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

from 12-30 to 12-23 chain length problem?

Hi!

I'm currently running a 12-30t ultegra, planning to buy a 12-23t for fast flat group rides.

Will I need to remove few chain links everytime I change cassettes? What is the minimum cog size should I use if I would like to use a smaller cassettes without adjusting the chain length (12-25, 12-27, 11-28)? But I prefered 12-23t.

Thanks for your answer!
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have a 12-23 on my Cole Wheels with GP4000S 23mm tyres, and the 12-30 on my training/Winter Ultegra wheels with 4 Seasons 25mm tyres, and i can swap them whenever i like or the weather changes without changing the chain at all. The only problem i have is that the brakes rub the rims on the Ultegras as they are wider so i have to let them out a bit. Shortening chains is only necessary when you change the front chainrings from pro to compact or visa versa. The 12-23 is great as it has 16 & 18 tooth gears which help keep leg speed up on the less steep hills. I can get over 15.4% Conholt in the 21 and i am now 55. Buy it and enjoy it. I have used mine since may and love it.
8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

I'm running 2013 Ultegra di2. Is it compatible with the 12-30 cassette?

Would it require a longer chain, or new mech?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It depends on the size of your Derailleur. I have this on my wheels and my Ultegra 6700 medium cage works (i set my fastest time on Coombe Gibbet with it). A short cage would not work.
11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Can this be fitted without breaking the chain?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately no. If you do break the chain be sure to by a quick link as this makes it easy to take the chain off when you clean it etc.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

8 speed compatability

Hi Wiggle tech crew. a quick question if don't mind... I need to replace an 8 speed Sora rear derailleur and cassette. Could you confirm if the SL 6600 short cage derailleur would be compatible with the following 8 speed SRAM PG850 cassettes: 11-28, 11-30 and 11-32? I'm running a 53/39 chainset.

Many thanks.
Best answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The short cage won't work with the cassette range you quote. It's for a racing close ratio gearbox like 11-23, So get the GS with its longer cage and you will be fine. I run 12-30 with mine with no issues.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Compatibility with 11-28 rear cog

Would this rear mech be compatible with an 11-28 rear cog using a double front?
Thanks.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You need the GS with its longer cage. I run a 11-28 and a 12-30 with mine with no issues.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Whats included in the box?

Hi there,
Can you advise if the bracket the Derailleur is mounted on (via dropout tab) is also included in this kit?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately it's just the derailleur. The screw at the top screws into the dropout on your bike, so if you don't have one you need to purchase it seperately.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

What size with the following Ultegra parts?

Hi,

I am running a Shimano Ultegra 6700 10 Speed Cassette (12-25) and am about to upgrade my Crankset to Shimano Ultegra 6750 Hollowtech II Compact Chainset 50/34T 172.5mm Grey.

What size derailer will i need?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
i run a 50/34 and a rear cassette of 12-23. I also have a 12-30 for Sportives. Get the longer cage as it will allow you to run a wider cassette when you need to.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Is this compatible with triple chain set up 175mm and rings 22,32,44
Rear cassette will be 9spd 11-21
I understand i need a medium cage but will the range suffice for this set up?

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I believe it will work. The rear isn't affected by the number of rings on the front. It's definatley better than the 105 unit as well.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The Cateye front and rear light set using 2AA batteries in the front lamp and 2 AAA batteries in the rear lamp. There the perfect safety light to help you be seen in dull or dim conditions.
 

What size handle bar does the front light fit up to?

My handle bar is 32mm
Best answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Mine is 31.8 and there is lots more adjustment available. You slide the strap around your bar and into the nut and tighten using the provided turner nut. Its easy peasy. And they are brilliant saftey lights. and they last for ages. I use rechargable batteries and charge them twice a year and ride 7 hrs a week.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire