PaulH
Top 50 Contributor
Share PaulH's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
PaulH's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    101
  • Helpfulness Votes
    27
  • First Review
    14 June 2009
  • Last Review
    18 April 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    01 August 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    01 August 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    24 July 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    37
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    21 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    22 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    4
 
 
PaulH's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>
 
The dhb Balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Basic but very good
Posted18 April 2016
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Keeps you warm. Wish it still came in white and i would have more than 2."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Torque york Bike
Posted18 April 2016
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Got a big one but it's minimum is 10NT/M so no use for my Bikes, so saw this and though why not. Used it to check the handlebar and stem bolts were 6NT/M and several were not done up properly. Tightened them and the squeaking stopped. Result. May not be 100% accurate but it is close and i would recommend it."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, nice case
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best tyres ?
Posted19 March 2016
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Cheaper buying 2 in a bundle so i did. The best tyre i have ever used and would not use anything else. Enough said."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The F2A aluminium wheelset from Fast Forward (FFWD) is light, responsive and of high quality. This is thanks to a combination of the renowned DT Swiss workmanship, as regards the 240S hubs and FFWD's expertise in producing high-end rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very good upgrade
Posted19 March 2016
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Got RS10 on my Cervelo R2. Screamed Upgrade. Bought these with 30% discount and because they weigh less than 1500g. Match the colours of my bike and easy to get GP4K2 on them. Bike felt instantly lighter, and acceleration, climbing and braking all improved. Laterally stiff and they come in a very nice double wheel bag. Probably not good enough to race on, but for my keep fit and sportive regime they are spot on."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB BCB-90B 5mm CableWrap Frame Protectors
BBB BCB-90B 5mm CableWrap Frame Protectors
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 5mm brake cables.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
protect your frame
Posted03 January 2016
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"these stop brake cable rub on your frame. Buy a 2K bike and that's important.. Slip it off the packaging, open it and slide it on, and then close it. Its simple. I line up the opening to the side, so it wont come off. recommended."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Wahoo Blue SC is the world's first Bluetooth Smart (4.0) cycling speed/cadence sensor made for the iPhone 4S or newer, iPad 3rd and 4th generation, iPad Mini, and select Android devices.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BlueTooth Speed & Cadence
Posted27 September 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought this for my R2 as I-Phone 5 is not Ant + and could not get my old sensor to register. First few rides i got either Speed or Cadence but could not adjust it to do both. Then spotted a small Hex nut where the arm joins. Undid it and moved the arm out before Tightening it up again. Next ride both working perfectly. Got a Wahoo RFLKT+ Cycle computer that blue-tooth's to the phone in my pocket, and then relays to the computer. Brilliant set up if like me you want to monitor Cadence (and Heart rate) and discover new routes yourself but don't want a Garmin. Recommended. Never skips a beat. Love it."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Conventional sock wisdom dictates that you can either have padding for protection and comfort, or 2 layers for reduced friction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great sock
Posted09 September 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Very comfortable sock and great for running. Helps with my Diabetes. When washed the 2 layers ruffle up but go back to normal when hand/foot inserted. Lasting well."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
More elasticity, more comfort and the highest shock absorbing properties thanks to Vibra Absorb.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
More comfort
Posted09 September 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Easy to fit. Helps limit vibration. Looks good in white on my Focus Cayo. White gets dirty quickly."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB BCB-90D 4mm CableWrap Frame Protectors
BBB BCB-90D 4mm CableWrap Frame Protectors
Rubber cable covers to protect the frame from the cables marking the headtube. Suitable for 4mm derailleur cables.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Protect you paint
Posted12 August 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought to protect the frame of my Cervelo R2. They come apart so you can wrap them around your cables either side of your steering head. They stop the cables rubbing on the paint. I was careful to line up the jaggedy slot at the side so it shouldn't come off. they are soft rubber and good, but quite expensive"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
light lights
Posted12 August 2015
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought as daytime running lights and because of their low weight. 3 modes are Bright, half and flashing, and one or both lights can be on. The more you use the shorter the life. Easy USB Charging too. You have to press the bulb to turn it on. Cars giving me lots of room yesterday, so definitely working. Not sure about nighttime as i don't ride then. Recommended."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PaulH's Questions
 
 Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Super lightweight SPD-SL road pedal for high performance road racing. Designed to match the 105 10-speed groupset.
 

will the cleats included fit DHB R1 shoes?

I am thinging of bying these for my new cayo 105
6 years, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
PaulH's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Wahoo RFLKT+ Computer for iPhone and Android
Wahoo RFLKT+ Computer for iPhone and Android
The Wahoo RFLKT+ is the worlds first smart phone powered bike computer. All the power of your smart phone in the size of a sleek cycling computer. Keep your phone safely in your jersey pocket and access all of your cycling App data from your handlebars.
 

Does this have to use a phone?

As it's the RFLKT+ and has ANT+ connectivity, can I connect this up with the Wahoo Blue SC and just use the two to show me speed, distance and cadence? Or does it have to have an iPhone in the system somewhere?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Works using bluetooth. I start my phone (I_Phone 5) and turn off the screen and put it in my pocket, and RFLKT+ displays the info you select whilst you ride. It makes you look like a Pro with a small computer in front of your bars. Great. Fiddly when changing the battery though.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

from 12-30 to 12-23 chain length problem?

Hi!

I'm currently running a 12-30t ultegra, planning to buy a 12-23t for fast flat group rides.

Will I need to remove few chain links everytime I change cassettes? What is the minimum cog size should I use if I would like to use a smaller cassettes without adjusting the chain length (12-25, 12-27, 11-28)? But I prefered 12-23t.

Thanks for your answer!
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have a 12-23 on my Cole Wheels with GP4000S 23mm tyres, and the 12-30 on my training/Winter Ultegra wheels with 4 Seasons 25mm tyres, and i can swap them whenever i like or the weather changes without changing the chain at all. The only problem i have is that the brakes rub the rims on the Ultegras as they are wider so i have to let them out a bit. Shortening chains is only necessary when you change the front chainrings from pro to compact or visa versa. The 12-23 is great as it has 16 & 18 tooth gears which help keep leg speed up on the less steep hills. I can get over 15.4% Conholt in the 21 and i am now 55. Buy it and enjoy it. I have used mine since may and love it.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

I'm running 2013 Ultegra di2. Is it compatible with the 12-30 cassette?

Would it require a longer chain, or new mech?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It depends on the size of your Derailleur. I have this on my wheels and my Ultegra 6700 medium cage works (i set my fastest time on Coombe Gibbet with it). A short cage would not work.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Can this be fitted without breaking the chain?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately no. If you do break the chain be sure to by a quick link as this makes it easy to take the chain off when you clean it etc.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

8 speed compatability

Hi Wiggle tech crew. a quick question if don't mind... I need to replace an 8 speed Sora rear derailleur and cassette. Could you confirm if the SL 6600 short cage derailleur would be compatible with the following 8 speed SRAM PG850 cassettes: 11-28, 11-30 and 11-32? I'm running a 53/39 chainset.

Many thanks.
Best answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The short cage won't work with the cassette range you quote. It's for a racing close ratio gearbox like 11-23, So get the GS with its longer cage and you will be fine. I run 12-30 with mine with no issues.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Compatibility with 11-28 rear cog

Would this rear mech be compatible with an 11-28 rear cog using a double front?
Thanks.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You need the GS with its longer cage. I run a 11-28 and a 12-30 with mine with no issues.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Whats included in the box?

Hi there,
Can you advise if the bracket the Derailleur is mounted on (via dropout tab) is also included in this kit?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately it's just the derailleur. The screw at the top screws into the dropout on your bike, so if you don't have one you need to purchase it seperately.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

What size with the following Ultegra parts?

Hi,

I am running a Shimano Ultegra 6700 10 Speed Cassette (12-25) and am about to upgrade my Crankset to Shimano Ultegra 6750 Hollowtech II Compact Chainset 50/34T 172.5mm Grey.

What size derailer will i need?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
i run a 50/34 and a rear cassette of 12-23. I also have a 12-30 for Sportives. Get the longer cage as it will allow you to run a wider cassette when you need to.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Is this compatible with triple chain set up 175mm and rings 22,32,44
Rear cassette will be 9spd 11-21
I understand i need a medium cage but will the range suffice for this set up?

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I believe it will work. The rear isn't affected by the number of rings on the front. It's definatley better than the 105 unit as well.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The Cateye front and rear light set using 2AA batteries in the front lamp and 2 AAA batteries in the rear lamp. There the perfect safety light to help you be seen in dull or dim conditions.
 

What size handle bar does the front light fit up to?

My handle bar is 32mm
Best answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Mine is 31.8 and there is lots more adjustment available. You slide the strap around your bar and into the nut and tighten using the provided turner nut. Its easy peasy. And they are brilliant saftey lights. and they last for ages. I use rechargable batteries and charge them twice a year and ride 7 hrs a week.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire