PaulH
Top 50 Contributor
Share PaulH's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
PaulH's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    82
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Review
    14 June 2009
  • Last Review
    07 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    24 July 2010
  • Last Question
    24 July 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    36
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    21 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    07 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
PaulH's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great cleats from Shimano
Posted07 October 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these to go with my Carbon 105 pedals. I have to walk my bike down an alley to get out, and this wears them, so i replace them about once every 2 years. They screw into the 3 hole system on the soles of most cycling shoes, and they give a wide contact patch that lets you get the power down. They float which is a little earie but you do get used to it. A very good product at a nice price in the sale."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Science in Sport GO Electrolyte is an ideal energy source during sports performance in the heat. Providing fast hydration and sustained energy before and during sport.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great on hot sunny days
Posted07 September 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I use this when its sunny and hot. I go faster. I sip it and take a swig before any big efforts on hills. It really works and i prefer it over High 5. It mixes up well, and tastes great. The tub is easy to access too. I use this a fair amount and would thoroughly recommend it and its available at a great price in the wiggle sale."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Go Energy is an ideal energy source for use during sports performance. It's unique composition is more effective at providing energy, is not as sweet as standard glucose and stays in the body for less time which means less stomach upset.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I use this a lot
Posted07 September 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great on Cloudy days for use pre / during / post ride. I sip it every 10 mins and before big climbs and it definitely helps you go faster. Very tasty and nice to mix and drink. I personally prefer this over High 5. And at a great price in Wiggles sale. Recommended."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The incredibly stylish but compact EL-135 measures just 2.5 x 3.5 x 9cm and weighs in at just 91g.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent day riding light
Posted15 July 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"My old one fell off and smashed when i hit a pot hole at speed. Since my crash in 2010 I always ride with lights on when i ride. This is an almost exact replacement however it seems brighter than the old model i had. Documents confirm a 50% increase that really helps you get seen when you are on the road and in the countryside. i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. If you want a proper night light you probably need to spend more than this."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cycling specific sock, with mesh construction cuff to keep you cool in the summer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very nice
Posted15 July 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I usually buy cheap socks to save money. This is the cheapest way to own Castelli. They matched my shorts and shirt so i bought them, although i thought them expensive for socks. They are soft and comfortable and are very light, so they are great in the summer but might be too thin for winter. I am not sure how long they will last as i have only used them 3 times so far. I would recommend them."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
light and comfy bib short
Posted24 June 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought 2 to replace aging DHB red bib shorts that have turned pink. They complement my 2 pairs of DHB Aeron PRO shorts well, being more comfortable over shorter distances, and lighter to boot as they also weigh about 24g less than the pro's. The leg length is slightly longer than the pro and the pad slightly thinner, so i use the Race for up to 30 miles, and the pro for over 30. They have been very comfortable so far on up to 22 miles, and fit me tightly and really well and i am 5' 11" and 14 stone and bought Medium. I got a 25% discount so buy some and you won't regret it."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact saddle bag with 0.7L of storage for spare tubes, multi-tools, energy bars, keys and mobile phones etc. With a water resistant PU coated construction and a velcro mounting, the Evoc saddle bag is ideal for days out on the roads and trails.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Good Small Saddle Bag
Posted04 June 2014
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been carrying a conti inner tube under my saddle and tools etc. in my pockets. So i upgraded to this Saddle Bag. Everything fits (Inner Tube, Gas Cylinder, Adaptor, Tyre levers, Multi tool and Garage forecourt Gloves) however there is not much room spare now. It attached to both rails and the seat post, and locates securley and firmly. It is a nice black with bold white lettering which may not suit everyone. I like it and would recommend it top you."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Unyielding performance and powerful braking are the hallmarks of the Racer kit. Designed specifically for road bikes the Racer kit will provide consistent & smooth shifting and amazingly powerful braking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great braking and better shifting
Posted01 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Fitted this to my Focus Cayo myself although i had to purchase the Jagwire Cable Cutting tool to do so. I also downloaded the 105 gear sheet from the shimano website so that i understood where the cables came out. One end of each cable is Shimano and the other is Campagnolo and you snip of the end you don't use. I attached dental floss for the through frame cable and it worked to draw the new teflon coated cable through. I ordered red to match the White & Red frame of my bike The braking is improved and the gear shifting improved and slicker. And it looks great on my bike to boot. Definately worth the time and cost involved."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, good colour choises
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Wahoo RFLKT+ is the worlds first iPhone-powered smart bike computer. All the power of your iPhone in the size of a sleek cycling computer. Keep your iPhone safely in your jersey pocket and access all of your cycling App data from your handlebars.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Record your ride like a Pro
Posted09 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Story: First ride this year and lost my IP4 on a pothole going downhill fast. Work replaced it with a IP5 so my ANT+ Case & Dongle wont fit now. What to do? IP5 Case or RFLKT+
Review: Bought the RFLKT+ based on the description. It mounts on the handlebar or stem, with both options in the box. It syncs via Bluetooth, and registers your ANT+ heart, speed & cadence sensors. The first few times i used it, it cut out during my ride so i only had GPS (probably due to low pockets on my fleece). I then tried 3 Turbo rides and it worked great, and on todays ride with my Jersey on it also worked flawlessly. I display the general screen, with Time, Speed, Distance, Heartrate & Cadence. Screen 2 is Speed based ans 3 is Altitude coz if you have an altimeter built in then why not use it. More screens are avavailable. Expensive but worth it to keep ypour phone safe?
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wet or Dry you stay upright
Posted17 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PaulH
fromHampshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great in rain and great when it's sunny. Using this in Spring and Autumn when the wheather is unpredictable. It has good grip and reasonable rolling resistance. When things get wet they are very surefooted, and have not slipped once yet, but i have not used them in driving or heavy rain. They are not as fast as the GP4000S i use in summer, but are great for training in the dark months. I will keep them handy in the summer just in case. And no punctures so far as they have great protection. Recommended. The 25mm soak up some of the road bumps too."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PaulH's Questions
 
 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Super lightweight SPD-SL road pedal for high performance road racing. Designed to match the 105 10-speed groupset.
 

will the cleats included fit DHB R1 shoes?

I am thinging of bying these for my new cayo 105
4 years, 2 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
PaulH's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

from 12-30 to 12-23 chain length problem?

Hi!

I'm currently running a 12-30t ultegra, planning to buy a 12-23t for fast flat group rides.

Will I need to remove few chain links everytime I change cassettes? What is the minimum cog size should I use if I would like to use a smaller cassettes without adjusting the chain length (12-25, 12-27, 11-28)? But I prefered 12-23t.

Thanks for your answer!
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have a 12-23 on my Cole Wheels with GP4000S 23mm tyres, and the 12-30 on my training/Winter Ultegra wheels with 4 Seasons 25mm tyres, and i can swap them whenever i like or the weather changes without changing the chain at all. The only problem i have is that the brakes rub the rims on the Ultegras as they are wider so i have to let them out a bit. Shortening chains is only necessary when you change the front chainrings from pro to compact or visa versa. The 12-23 is great as it has 16 & 18 tooth gears which help keep leg speed up on the less steep hills. I can get over 15.4% Conholt in the 21 and i am now 55. Buy it and enjoy it. I have used mine since may and love it.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 

I'm running 2013 Ultegra di2. Is it compatible with the 12-30 cassette?

Would it require a longer chain, or new mech?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It depends on the size of your Derailleur. I have this on my wheels and my Ultegra 6700 medium cage works (i set my fastest time on Coombe Gibbet with it). A short cage would not work.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Can this be fitted without breaking the chain?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately no. If you do break the chain be sure to by a quick link as this makes it easy to take the chain off when you clean it etc.
9 months ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

8 speed compatability

Hi Wiggle tech crew. a quick question if don't mind... I need to replace an 8 speed Sora rear derailleur and cassette. Could you confirm if the SL 6600 short cage derailleur would be compatible with the following 8 speed SRAM PG850 cassettes: 11-28, 11-30 and 11-32? I'm running a 53/39 chainset.

Many thanks.
Best answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The short cage won't work with the cassette range you quote. It's for a racing close ratio gearbox like 11-23, So get the GS with its longer cage and you will be fine. I run 12-30 with mine with no issues.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Compatibility with 11-28 rear cog

Would this rear mech be compatible with an 11-28 rear cog using a double front?
Thanks.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You need the GS with its longer cage. I run a 11-28 and a 12-30 with mine with no issues.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Whats included in the box?

Hi there,
Can you advise if the bracket the Derailleur is mounted on (via dropout tab) is also included in this kit?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately it's just the derailleur. The screw at the top screws into the dropout on your bike, so if you don't have one you need to purchase it seperately.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

What size with the following Ultegra parts?

Hi,

I am running a Shimano Ultegra 6700 10 Speed Cassette (12-25) and am about to upgrade my Crankset to Shimano Ultegra 6750 Hollowtech II Compact Chainset 50/34T 172.5mm Grey.

What size derailer will i need?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
i run a 50/34 and a rear cassette of 12-23. I also have a 12-30 for Sportives. Get the longer cage as it will allow you to run a wider cassette when you need to.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Is this compatible with triple chain set up 175mm and rings 22,32,44
Rear cassette will be 9spd 11-21
I understand i need a medium cage but will the range suffice for this set up?

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I believe it will work. The rear isn't affected by the number of rings on the front. It's definatley better than the 105 unit as well.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
The Cateye front and rear light set using 2AA batteries in the front lamp and 2 AAA batteries in the rear lamp. There the perfect safety light to help you be seen in dull or dim conditions.
 

What size handle bar does the front light fit up to?

My handle bar is 32mm
Best answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Mine is 31.8 and there is lots more adjustment available. You slide the strap around your bar and into the nut and tighten using the provided turner nut. Its easy peasy. And they are brilliant saftey lights. and they last for ages. I use rechargable batteries and charge them twice a year and ride 7 hrs a week.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire
 
 Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra SL 6600 8/9/10 Speed Rear Derailleur
A light and durable Ultegra SL rear derailleur for top level road use.
 

how can this derailleur handle 8/9/10 but others can't?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
It has a wide range of adjustment. It is very good.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
PaulH
Hampshire