mike07
Top 50 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    99
  • Helpfulness Votes
    80
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    17 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    01 April 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    19
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    25 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    8
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
The Nike Tech Men's Running Shorts are made with sweat-wicking stretch fabric in a streamlined cut for a comfortable and supportive fit, mile after mile.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Posted17 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These shorts are nicely made, the fabric seems to be good quality. However, they are very baggy, particularly around the legs. I am 172cm tall, roughly 28inch waist and 64kg so I ordered the small size, but they would probably fit someone much bigger.
Its a shame that they didn't fit and i had to return them."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted01 April 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These cages are quality; great finish, they hold the bottle securely and they don't cost the earth."
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these as a slightly lower cost alternative to the nuun tabs that I've used over the last few years. The taste is good, but not as good as nuun (and there are fewer flavour options), however on a cost basis its a trade off that is worth it, in my opinion."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Nike Tech 2 Ladies Running Capris are made with sweat-wicking stretch fabric and strategically placed mesh panels for comfort and enhanced breathability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife has tried several different pairs of running tights over the last year (Asics and two different Adidas pairs) and found that the long versions of these were head and shoulders above the rest. The level of compression is perfect, they look good in an understated sort of way and have all the features that she wanted. So we have bought the capri (3/4 length) versions too and they are just as good.
The only thing to note is that they are slightly thicker than the other tights that she has had recently, so if you suffer from overheating they might be a little warm for you."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An excellent value set of 7 CO2 tyre inflator cartridges for use with all types of threaded CO2 inflators. LifeLine Cartridges are essential for quick and easy puncture repair on the move.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these for tri-racing, but couldn't help but have a go to familiarise myself with using them. There isn't much to say really, they fit the genuine innovations head unit well and easily fill a road tire."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Long Finger Windproof Cycling Glove is a stylish and technical glove which features temperature regulating and wind shield panels, a foam padded palm for enhanced comfort and an absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been using these for about a month now, in a range of conditions from 5 -15 degrees and overall I have been impressed. Initially they were rather stiff, but they have loosened up now. The fit is good and is true to my other large sized gloves. It would be nice to have a slightly snugger cuff and nicer toweling patch for snot and sweat wiping!
For me they are best suited to temperatures around 12 degrees, but I foresee them being my go to gloves over the spring, especially when its windy."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This Mesh bag is perfect for carrying all your training aids in. With its simple, spacious design the bag allows airflow and drainage for quick drying.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Essentially this is just a drawstring bag made of mesh, so on the face of it it's pretty expensive. But it feels robustly made, its a decent size and it does allow you to keep your kick board, fins etc in there and just hang it up somewhere suitable to dry.
Its a really good size, it will easily accommodate my wetsuit, so will be using it for the open water season as well as for pool swims."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are among the cheapest leg warmers I could find, but they fit well and stay up nicely (I am 172cm tall and 64kg), I have to pull them up to the tops of my thighs as they are quite long, but I don't mind that as the extra overlap with the shorts gives some extra warmth. They are just thick enough to take the chill off spring mornings and fit well into a pocket when they are no longer needed."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've found these gels really effecitve and pretty easy on the stomach (although I only tend to use 1 or 2 of them on 3 hour ride). There are better tasting gels out there, but none that come close value-wise when they are on buy one get one free.
The boxes I received had a good mix of flavors (and no banana ones thank goodness) and had about 12 months shelf life."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Great value warmer bundle from dhb. The anatomic Vaeon Arm and Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I love arm and leg warmers, they allow you to use summer shorts and jerseys into the spring and autumn, reducing the amount of clothing needed to cover all conditions. I bought these as they are about as cheap as you can find arm and leg warmers and the dhb Roubaix arm warmers that I bought several years ago are still going strong and fit well.
To help those wondering about sizing I am 172cm tall and 64kg and bought these in small size.
The leg warmers fit really well, the gripers hold them in place without being constrictive, although being short the tops come quite high up my thighs.
The arm warmers don't fit nearly so well, they are baggy around the upper arms and the grippers don't feel like they would stay up and I don't have skinny arms!
I ended up returning the double pack and bought the leg warmers on their own and bought some alternative arm warmers."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 

Do these come in pairs or are they sold as a single leg warmer?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
they come in pairs
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
mike07
 
The 2013 Racing 7 wheels are perfect for training/everyday use and are compatible with Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM drivetrains.
 

Will this wheel set fit my shimano tiagra 10 speed cassette?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I'm running a 10spd 105 cassette on my wheels, which I beleive is the same width as tiagra, so that should be fine. Really good wheelset.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
mike07
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

How well do the elasticated cuffs keep the wind and cold out?

How well do the elasticated cuffs keep the wind and cold out?

I would only want to get this jersey if I can wear it without arm warmers underneath. I measure my wrist at 180mm. For my height and chest size the size guide indicates a Large jersey.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The cuffs themselves are reasonably tight, once i have gloves on I don't get any draughts up the sleeve. As the windstopper material only covers the front of the arms there is a noticeable difference in temperature between the front and back of my arms in cold, windy weather, however once you get up to temperature and start working hard its actually quite nice to have the extra cooling.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
mike07
 
Great value warmer bundle from dhb. The anatomic Vaeon Arm and Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions.
 

Zip or Elastic on ankle?

Are the ankles elasticated or is there a zip?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The legs are slightly elasticated, there is no zip.

Hope that helps.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
mike07
 
Triple contour, dual compound brake pad inserts for the ultimate combination of precision, power, feel and durability.All LifeLine brake pads are manufactured for us by Ashima.
 

compatability

will these brake inserts fit my shimano 105 brake shoes
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yep they fit 105 break shoes, just be a bit careful removing the retaining screw, if its corroded they are easy to strip.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
The 2013 Racing 7 wheels are perfect for training/everyday use and are compatible with Campagnolo, Shimano and SRAM drivetrains.
 

tyres

What tyres would you recommend for these wheels?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I'm using vittoria rubino pros on my racing 7's. They are a reasonably light weight tire at an affordable price; they are pretty puncture resistant and hold up well to abuse.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides.(dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Sizing

I am 5 foot 8 inches tall, with 33-34 inch waist, and 30 inches inside leg, which size would you reccomend , small or medium?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I am 5 foot 8, 63kg, 28 inch waist and 29 inch inside leg and the small ones fit really well, perhaps a little tight in the legs, but I like the semi-compression feel.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
The Park Tools puncture kit includes glueless patch kit and 3 plastic tyre levers.
 

Are the levers the same as TL1C Tyre Levers

Are the levers the same as TL1C Tyre Levers that are sold separately?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
i've bought both the separate pack of levers and the pack with the patches and they are the same
4 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
The Park Tools puncture kit includes glueless patch kit and 3 plastic tyre levers.
 

Packaging

Hi this is for a present can you describe the packaging please. eg are they loose or in a blister pack? thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Mine came in a blister pack, clear plastic front and card back. Hope that helps
4 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
The Forerunner 910XT is the only all-in-one, GPS-enabled device that provides detailed swim metrics and tracks distance, pace, elevation and heart rate for running and cycling. It sports a sleek profile, comfy wristband and an easy-to-read display.
 

Training for a triathlon so garmin 610 or 910 xt for a bit extra?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
The extra functionality of the swim metrics have been invaluable to me during training, so if you swim regularly or want to track your swimming training I would pay the extra for the 910xt.

It is also nice to be able to use the same device for everything, both in training and when racing.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07