mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    198
  • Helpfulness Votes
    249
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    29 January 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    74
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 August 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 >>>
 
An ultralight Saddle-Bag with minimal dimensions. If all you need are the bare essentials, then grab the Saddle-Bag Micro and get on your bike. The roll closure with elastic bungees make it 100% waterproof. Two screws make for a simple fix.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you want a waterproof saddle bag that's securely attached then this is a very good option. It's not the most descrete pack, but not being attached to the seatpost it leaves lots of room for a light, clip on mudguard or whatever else you might want to strap onto your seatpost... The only thing that i'd like to add to the pack is a light loop, but its not a major showstopper."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano BB-R60 Ultegra 6800/105 5800 Hollowtech II bottom bracket uses a wider bearing placement and larger axle diameter for increased stiffness and efficiency.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a long lasting, great value, easy to fit BB, there isn't much not to like."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano 5800 11 speed Chain, 116 link. This new 11-speed chain uses previous years Dura Ace technology and Shimano's low friction surface treatment Sil-Tec, to reduce friction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Its a great value 11speed chain... what's not to like?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bar tape with a custom textured surface for a soft grippy feel and high-end looks. With a 2mm dual compound profile, LifeLine Professional Bar Tape offers cushioning comfort and a high quality finishing touch for your race machine.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used this tape on my winter training bike replacing the Deda tape that was on it. Compared with the Deda tape its much easier to fit, with no risk of tearing it and its got a decent amount of give to it. The tape is grippy, easy to clean and reasonably well padded, although I double wrap my bars and two layers of this is super comfortable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Essential Display Stand is great for display, storage or holding your bike at an event. Suitable for any type of bike that uses rim brakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This holds my road bike securely for storage and more usefully when I'm washing it. For the money it is hard to fault, although I'm not sure that I'd trust it to hold a heavy full sus/downhill bike..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Super lightweight and breathable sock with increased levels of support around the mid-foot and ankle. Low-level compression helps with blood circulation and reduces swelling over long distance races. Increased durability in the toe and heel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted19 December 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very comfortable socks and you get two pairs for the same price as one pair of many other socks. High quality material and wash well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Optional cromoly chain tool for use with the Ratchet Rocket RX tool.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted19 December 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great little tool to pop in your saddlepack, with a bit of tinkering you can turn it into a self contained chain tool rather than purely as an add on to one of the topeak tools.
Its well made and has saved my ride on more than one occasion."
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Marathoner™ is for the runner who wants a low-profile solution and minimalist storage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
superb
Posted19 December 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a brilliant running pack. It doesn't bounce or shift around even when fully loaded. The pockets are well thoughts through and well sized and positioned and there is just enough storage for a waterproof and some other small items of clothing in the pouch at the back, but this can easily be expanded by packing into a stuffsack and strapping it to the pack."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A convenient tool for undoing a variety of chain master-links enabling you to quickly remove your chain to clean or replace. Easy to use, just insert the tool within the master-link and squeeze to release.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted03 November 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"cheap, simple and work well for the few times a year that I need to use them!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted03 November 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There really isn't a better bottle out there and I have tried most of them! If I were to be picky, they are a little snug fitting in some cages, but if you are riding pave or potholed roads its not bad thing that they are hardtop get out!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
1 year, 8 months ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute & tour. Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do these come with cleats and cleat nuts?

It says in the description that you need SH56 cleats, but often peddals come with a pair of cleats and nuts and I wanted to check before I bought a separate pair. Thanks.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes they come with cleats and mounting hardware
6 months ago
by
mike07
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
9 months ago
by
mike07
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
9 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
10 months ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
10 months ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
11 months ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
11 months ago
by
mike07
 
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
1 year ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
1 year ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
1 year ago
by
mike07