mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    162
  • Helpfulness Votes
    184
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    27 February 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    73
  • Helpfulness Votes
    72
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    27 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    40
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 >>>
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
easy conversion for ahead stems for a good price
Posted27 February 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you want to be able to use ahead stems on a bike with an old school threaded fork this is one of the few options out there, so its a good job that its a well made bit of kit. I fitted it in a couple of minutes and while its not lightweight it seems very robust and the finish is pretty good for the price.
Overall its its a good value bit of kit, ."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Ronhill Aspiration Long Sleeve Tee is a lightweight and breathable long sleeve with a premium quality wicking treatment provided via vapourlite fabric.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted22 February 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife has been marathon training in this top over the winter and loves it. It fits well, looks good and provides just enough insulation to keep the chill at bay, without running the risk of overheating. It washes well too. So overall a fantastic purchase. It is a slightly relaxed fit, so if you like very close fitting tops then you may want to size down or try a different top."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great for preventing wetsuit rubs
Posted19 February 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This stuff is great for reducing the chafing from the neck of my wetsuit. It seems to stay put and works for the hour long swim that is my limit for open water swimming. The only negative is the cost."
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A super-stretch, lightweight arm warmer for extra coverage and support to your arm area. Dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure, hassle free fit between your arm, arm warmer and jersey. Perfect for the warmer seasons.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great fit and stay put
Posted19 February 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These arm warmers are a great fit, nice materials and the double sided grippers are effective in keeping the arm warmers in the right place. They are the perfect weight for late spring and early autumn, for the winter I'd go for the roubaix versions."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Get fully kitted out with the new dhb Zelos Ankle Length Run Socks. These performance socks are incredibly comfortable and functional, featuring COOLMAX yarns and reinforced zones to keep your feet cool and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great socks for the price
Posted19 February 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these after not getting on with a pair of X-Socks, the fit is true to size, they aren't too thick and the materials seem to be of a good quality. Having run in these for a few weeks they are wearing and washing well, they only issue that I encountered with them was when I put them on slightly twisted and the thicker achilles protection part rubbed, but that has been a one off occurrence on a long run."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bright, good value and no more batteries
Posted04 February 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"For the money you will struggle to find a rechargeable light set that is this powerful. They are bright enough to allow you to be seen during the day and the ability to independently select the mode of each of the two LEDs on each light gives you a lot of flexibility. They last an age on flashing mode and have lasted through some pretty unpleasant weather so far (having mudguards fitted keeps the worst of the rain off the lights).
The front light is not intended to be used for seeing by on unlit roads, but you could probably use it in an emergency to get home at night if your primary light failed mid ride."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The highly-acclaimed and extremely popular Speed One running sock has had a make-over, integrating the very latest X-SOCKS technologies.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted24 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This review is based on fit and materials only as I returned the socks. The sizing is accurate and the fit is good. However, they are pretty thick, so much so that they made my shoes too tight a fit and felt like they would be too hot for all but the coldest days. Overall they seem rather over-engineered and over-priced compared with my current socks."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Rubber Diaphragm for hope mini reservoir.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted24 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not much to say really, its a high quality replacement diaphragm for hope mini brakes. Decent price for an official product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great gels if you don't want to carry water
Posted18 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are great gels if you don't like the thick consistency of 'normal' gels or don't want to carry water, but need to take on energy during a run. They are slightly larger for the same energy content as regular gels and a lot runnier, I find them easier to take in and digest than other gels."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Long Finger Summer Road Glove is a stylish and technical cycling glove which features temperature regulating panels, a foam padded palm for enhanced comfort and absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted04 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a pair of the dhb windproof gloves last year, which are excellent, so I also bought a pair of the lightweight gloves for the summer. Although the palms are near identical the lightweight gloves feel much bigger and almost baggy on the hand for the same size of glove, so I would probably go down a size. The material is ok, nothing special, but for the price nothing to complain about, just be careful with the Velcro tab snagging the material on the back of the hand."
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
4 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
8 months ago
by
mike07
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
9 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

11 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
2 days ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
1 week ago
by
mike07
 
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

my height 174, weight 71. advise what size?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I'd probably go for the small, I am 172cm and 63kg and the small size is a bit long on me.
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

look compatability SPD SL CLEATS

Are these cleats compatable with the Look Keo classic pedals as I already have these on my other bike

many thanks S.P.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Afraid not, they only work with Shimano SL pedals.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

Can i use these cleats with look pedals?

Can i use these cleats with look pedals?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
No, these only work with shimano sl pedals, you need to order the look cleats that match your pedals.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
A high performance swimming goggle that uses Zoggs 4 Flexpoint TM Technology to allow a comfortable fit for a wide variety of faces. Ideal for swimmers who demand the highest of performance from their goggle.
 

Warranty on this goggles

I bought the Zoggs Predator flex about an year ago, and nose bridge just broke yesterday.
Considering i just swim only once a week, i see the quality as poor.
Is there a warranty on this product?
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I had the same problem with my goggles and contacted Zoggs customer services direct who sorted things out very quickly.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
 BBB BTL-18L Tools and Tube Storage Bottle (Large)
BBB BTL-18L Tools and Tube Storage Bottle (Large)
This storage water bottle, with screw on lid, is ideal to organise your inner tube, tools, Co2 inflator etc and fits neatly into your water bottle cage.
 

tubular tyre

Will a folded tubular tyre fit into this bottle?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I don't use tubs, but I have had a regular folding tyre in mine, but it wouldn't fit anything else in it.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07