mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    181
  • Helpfulness Votes
    210
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    28 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    77
  • Helpfulness Votes
    74
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    25 April 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 >>>
 
The Shimano 105 5880 cassette is a high performance road cassette with hyperglide EV sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration. These have contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 July 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"For the price you can't beat 105 and the cassette is no different. I bought this to go on my training wheels and there is little difference in weight compared with the ultegra version, although shifting performance isn't quite as smooth and the shiny finish not quite as nice looking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental quality road long valve inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 July 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great quality tubes, they are a heavier than the supersonic version, but they are fine for day to day use and are a bit more forgiving and less likely to pinch puncture when fitting them on tight fitting tyre/rim combinations."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Vulcanising Solution for vulcanisation of tube patches, valve patches and rubber base valve repairs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 July 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is the best vulcanising solution out there, not much more to say than that really..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute and tour.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great pedals for commuting
Posted28 July 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these for my wife to use on her bike around town. She was a bit nervous about using clipless pedals so these provide a great compromise, allowing her to clip in on longer stretches of road and the flat side in traffic and around town.
These seem a lot grippier and better made than the newer version of the pedals, however they are a fair git heavier."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Inov-8 Race Elite™ Softshell Pro is designed to keep you warm and protected in low temperatures and biting winds. Constructed with Pertex® Equilibrium DWR for warmth and Pertex Quantum® DWR for protection of the vital body organs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted16 June 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a fantastically designed jacket packed with useful features. It is perfect for running in very cold and inclement weather, however I've also been using it as a shell walks and road biking and just to wear round town.
The fabrics are great quality, fit good and it looks fantastic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Professional Road Brake Shoes and Inserts 4 Pack
LifeLine Professional Road Brake Shoes and Inserts 4 Pack
Pro level holders and triple contour, dual compound brake pad inserts for the ultimate combination of precision, power, feel and durability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted16 June 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having ridden these through the winter I think that they are great value brake pads and shoes that brake and wear well (although not as well as ultegra pads)."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano's R107 road cycling shoes are lightweight and offer great performance making them perfect for any club racers and enthusiasts seeking great durability, strength and great value.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Nice shoes, but not enough adjustment
Posted16 June 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are nicely made shoes that deliver good power transfer to the pedals, and they are a bit more understated than a lot of shoes out there. However the range of adjustment in the straps is insufficient for my feet, in particular the ratchet strap does not have sufficient range to prevent heel lift and ensure a secure fit."
Cons: Poor Fit, Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A fresh new style for all riders, the Giro Foray helmet takes the bold design language of the premium Synthe helmet, offering many of Giro's best features including the ROC LOC 5 fit system with two-way fit adjustment all at a superb price
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
brilliant helmet regardless of its price
Posted16 June 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had no particular budget in mind and tried helmets from £40 through to £180 and this blew me away in terms of build quality, fit, comfort and looks. In use its well vented, light and comfy. You pay more and go lighter or more aero, but for me averaging ~20mph over 30-40miles its not worth the extra money.
Its so good and low cost that I'm considering getting the high-viz version just to use at night and for commuting."
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted26 May 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality replacement jockey wheels, they aren't as smooth as ultegra versions, but are much cheaper and do the job."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Flick is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted25 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Pro's: nice fabric and styling.
Con's: the fit is a bit odd; the sleeves are very long and the fit around the front of the body is a bit strange, I can't put my finger on exactly what it is about the fit that didn't work for me.
If the fit works for you it would be a great jersey."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
9 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
1 year, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
3 months ago
by
mike07
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
4 months ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
4 months ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
5 months ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
6 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
6 months ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

my height 174, weight 71. advise what size?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I'd probably go for the small, I am 172cm and 63kg and the small size is a bit long on me.
6 months ago
by
mike07