mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    172
  • Helpfulness Votes
    199
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    25 April 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    77
  • Helpfulness Votes
    74
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    25 April 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 >>>
 
The dhb Flick is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted25 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Pro's: nice fabric and styling.
Con's: the fit is a bit odd; the sleeves are very long and the fit around the front of the body is a bit strange, I can't put my finger on exactly what it is about the fit that didn't work for me.
If the fit works for you it would be a great jersey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Featuring flat seams, fabric with wicking properties, reflective tabs and mesh panels for breathability, the dhb Letho Capri has been designed for comfort when training in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted25 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife has the full length letho tights and loves them so now its getting warmer I bought her a pair of these and she loves them just as much. They are good value, well made and wash well. There isn't much not to like."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A super-stretch, hi-vis arm warmer which offers additional warmth and enhanced visibility while on work-out and training sessions. Constructed from the tried and tested Lombardia Italian brushed Roubaix fabric.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cracking pair of hi-viz arm warmers, they stay up well, provide a good level of warmth and are seriously bright.
They are rather long, so if you have short arms you may wish to look elsewhere (I'm 172cm tall and the small long on me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Inov-8 Race Elite™ Windshell Full Zip is ideal for a winter race day - stay light, warm and fast in howling winds. The windshell FZ tailors Pertex Quantum® windproofing to the areas most affected, while delivering maximum breathability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is an amazingly light weight windproof that does a great job keeping the worst of the weather off on a run or bike. A really nice feature of the zip is that you can open the zip from the bottom allowing it to vent without flapping all over the place.
i had to go up a size from the guide as it fitted slightly tight under the arms"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Featuring flat seams, fabric with wicking properties, reflective tabs and mesh panels for breathability, the dhb Letho Run Tight has been designed for comfort when training in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted21 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The tights are made of nice material and the fit up to the mid-thigh is great, but they are to baggy for my liking around the top of the thigh and crotch. Oddly my wife's version of these tights fit me much better!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
These shoe covers are extremely tough and will keep your foot insulated and your shoes protected from adverse weather. The industrial strength full length zipper won't let you down and the reflective detailing will help you stay visible at night.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
brilliant overshoes
Posted21 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have used these overshoes on every ride over the winter and for the price its hard to fault them.
They offer a decent level of warmth and while not completely waterproof they are fine in all but the heaviest rain. I had some concerns that they would rip or fall apart but even after an off they are going strong, the zips are robust and the velcro fastening under the shoe means that you can put them on before putting your shoes on and then slip them over the top of your shoes, which reduces the stress on the seams etc."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Recommended and used by the elite cyclist, Professional strength GT85 is the everyday essential for riders of all levels and abilities.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted07 April 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"great as a water dispersant after a wet ride and much cheaper than wd40 as a general purpose spray lubricant... just don't be tempted to use it as a chain lube"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted24 March 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"They are much better than the stock bolts that came with the brakes.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted24 March 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I really like these gels, they are runnier than a lot of others, which makes them easier to take in and they don't require water to be taken with them, which makes them perfect for long runs."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Fruit flavoured carbohydrate gel for an instant energy boost whilst on the move. Gentle on the stomach, easy to use and available in a choice of two great tasting flavours, blackcurrant and orange.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great value and sit well in the stomach
Posted24 March 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"For the money these gels are hard to fault, yes there are tastier options out there, but they taste fine and suit well in the stomach."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
6 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
10 months ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
10 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

1 year ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
1 day ago
by
mike07
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
1 day ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

my height 174, weight 71. advise what size?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I'd probably go for the small, I am 172cm and 63kg and the small size is a bit long on me.
3 months ago
by
mike07