mike07
Top 25 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    130
  • Helpfulness Votes
    142
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    09 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    12 June 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    47
  • Helpfulness Votes
    52
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    01 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    23
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>>
 
Tubigrip provides tissue support in the treatment of strains and sprains, soft tissue injuries, general oedema and ribcage injuries.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted09 September 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"cheap, high quality tubigrip, not much more to say really... just make sure that you pick the right size and be aware of the length."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Zero the new great tasting electrolyte drink from High5, now comes with a caffeine kick (65mg) - about the same as a mild cup of coffee.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value with a little pep
Posted01 September 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are great value electrolyte tabs with a small amount of caffeine for an added kick. They taste good, although not as good as nuun ones in my opinion, and they seem to be effective in keeping cramp at bay in hot weather. For value for money they can't be beaten."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 11 speed chain is designed to run flawlessly with the Shimano's 11 speed Ultegra groupset. With outer plates design to reduce the chance of chain suck and inner plates developed to providing smoother shifting under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cracking shimano quality as per
Posted01 September 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not much to say really, its a good quality shimano chain that wiggle were stocking at a great price."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The sun is relentless, and any endurance athlete understands the need for head protection when competing and training under its glare.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Unisex visor that fits well and is good quality
Posted01 September 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Although the description says that this visor is for ladies, the black version is essentially unisex, its plenty large enough to fit my head and I would question whether it would go small enough for some ladies.
The quality seems good and its comfy even in hot weather."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Compressport R2 was the number one calf guard worn at the Ironman World Championships in Kona 2010. The Compressport R2 calf guard boosts your venous return, reducing the accumulation of toxins while increasing oxygenation to the muscles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
work for me
Posted03 August 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these in an attempt to try and address a recurring problem (cramp and knotted muscle) that I had in my calf, particularly following swimming. I have been wearing these following swimming, running and cycling and they seem to have had a really noticeable positive effect. I can't say whether its a psychological or physiological effect that they are having, or whether buying them has made me more aware of having a good post exercise routine, but the problem has been significantly reduced since starting to use them.
These calf guards are well made from what feels like quality materials, although having only washed them once I can't vouch for their longevity yet.
The sizing is accurate to give noticeable, but not constrictive compression.
I've been so impressed that I've bought another pair for my wife."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Asics Gel-Noosa Tri 9 trainer is specially engineered for triathlons and Ironman competition. Designed for breathability while still keeping your feet dry and comfortable with elastic laces for quick transitions.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Look awesome and run well with socks on
Posted02 August 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these to race triathlons in (and I loved the colour scheme), without socks. I had a couple of problems with the shoes. First the tongue has very little padding in it and has a tendency to curl up on itself making it really uncomfortable to run in without socks. Second the top three eyelets started to split when I first pulled the laces tight. Its a shame as the shoes felt really comfortable when properly adjusted, something that I don't have time for mid-race."
Cons: Low Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great non-spill design
Posted24 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As bottles go this has more features than most, the ability to lock the valve makes it great to avoid spills in a gym bag or general transportation and the valve prevents spills even when open making it easy to drink from on the bike or during a run.
The bottle opening isn't as big as others but its still easy to clean and fill with energy powder.
It is more expensive that std bottles, but on balance its worth it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Comfort and aerodynamics, a combination that rarely goes together, but 1000’s of km’s and prestigious world tour victories would confirm otherwise. The BodyFit Pro Classic Bibshort - Ride fast all day long!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent fit and surprising comfort
Posted13 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Review based on the xs size, I am 172cm tall, 28inch waist and 63kg.
Unpacking the shorts you notice 2 things straight away: the quality of the materials and the simplicity of the pad.
Pulling them on they area snug, compression fit, clinging like a second skin. The bibs/braces are a tight fit standing up, but in the riding position they are fine and I didn't really notice them, although I would have liked them to be a little wider.
The pad fits really well and much thinner than other shorts I've used, so I was a bit concerned about launching straight into a week in the Alps with them, where I used them every other day. Comfort was great, even on the Marmotte route 100+ miles and 4000m+ of climbing.
If they had slightly wider braces I'd give them a 5 without a second thought."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A pack of 100 alloy cable end caps to prevent the ends of your gear and brake cable inners fraying.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
they do the job for very little money
Posted12 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these end caps are cheap, do the job and the price for 100 of them, you can give them away to your mates and earn some brownie points as i could never find these little blighters in my tool box when I've lost them in the past..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Rego is specially formulated to improve recovery from exercise, helping you re-fuel, re-hydrate and repair muscle. Rego provides the nutrients your body needs to adapt and improve, so you can get more from your training and progress faster and further.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
tastes ok handy to have in the cupboard
Posted03 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The chocolate flavor is ok but it tastes/feels slightly gritty. As a preference I would rather have a bottle of milkshake, which is cheaper (depending on brand) and tastes miles better, however It is handy to have this in the cupboard or in the boot of the car to make up a recovery drink quickly. I can't really vouch for the effect that it has on recovery, so won't comment on that aspect of the product as there are proper studies that deal with that and also the comparison with 'normal' milkshakes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

How do I remove the 105 5700 10 speed set from my existing wheel?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You will need a cassette tool and chain whip. There are loads of good "how to" videos on you tube that will guide you through the process.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
mike07
 
The sun is relentless, and any endurance athlete understands the need for head protection when competing and training under its glare.
 

Only for woman?

In the description is clasified as a woman product, but looking on 2xu website it appear that is unisex. It's an error on wiggle description?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I bought the black "ladies" visor and it fits me fine (with plenty of room to make it bigger) and there is nothing to indicate that its a ladies version, I think that it must just be the colours that make it the ladies version.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
mike07
 
The sun is relentless, and any endurance athlete understands the need for head protection when competing and training under its glare.
 

How does the visor tighten at the back - is it a velcro strap?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Yep its a Velcro strap adjustment
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Extreme, zero or other???

I've used zero a while now and seem to get on with them. I tried the extreme the other day during a 70 mile ride during which I found much harder than usual.

Is it possible that the caffeine caused a spike too quick and left me wanting mid-ride? Should extreme only be used for short sprints / end of sportive pick me up?

Also, are there better drinks during sportives to take which provide same electrolyte replacements but with increased energy delivery?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You could try SIS GO electrolyte, which combines an energy drink with electrolytes, although i'm not sure how the levels of salts etc compare.

I've not had a problem with caffeine in energy products, it is a relatively mild dose of caffeine after all, but it might be worth looking for some peer review studies of caffeine supplements in sport.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
Comfort and aerodynamics, a combination that rarely goes together, but 1000’s of km’s and prestigious world tour victories would confirm otherwise. The BodyFit Pro Classic Bibshort - Ride fast all day long!
 

Size – 5’7” 70kg 98 chest

What size is correct for 5’7” 70kg and 98 chest? I wear Assos in Small. Is this bib short a relaxed, comfort or competitive fit?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'd go for the small, I'm about the same height as you and 63kg, but tried out and was torn between the S and XS, I went for the XS in the end and they fit really well, but I'm at the upper end of fit for them.

I'd say that they are a tight (slight compression fit) competition fit.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
Go Energy (previously PSP22) is an ideal energy source during sports performance. Its unique composition provides more energy than isotonic solutions of lower molecular weight glucose polymers.
 

Mix with Electrolyte Tablet?

I know you can buy SIS GO Electrolyte but was wondering if it is possible to combine the energy benefits and electrolyte anti cramping by just dropping a tablet in with this?
Dont really want to buy 2 types of powder plus 80% of my rides are electrolyte tabs only anyhow.
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I can't see why not, but double check that Go Energy doesn't already have the salts in it (from memory i don't think it does).

The only other thing to consider is that you'll end up with a rather strong/strange tasking mixture so you might be better off finding a recipe for a tasteless electrolyte mix to combine with the GO or just use the electrolyte version of the product all the time.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Size

I am 5ft6 with a 34inch waist, what size is right for me?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'd probably go for small, i'm 5ft8 (172cm) and the legs are a little long for me, so i would have thought that a medium would be to long for you in the legs. I'm a 28" waist and they fit me well, but they stretch a fair bit so might be ok around the waist... Hope that helps
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
A great value jersey with a full feature set. Constructed from high wicking fabrics with a soft finishing treatment, the Section Jersey features mesh vent panels, a silicone hem gripper and a slim fit. Ideal for sportives, training and leisure cycling.
 

XS too small?

I am a 82-84cm chest, 77cm waist and around 168cm tall - is the XS fit going to be too tight on me?
Thanks
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'm 172cm tall and 91cm chest and the Jersey is still pretty big on me. So it should be fine for you.
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 

Size question

I'm 168,5 cm tall, waist 83 cm and chest 88 cm. By my lenght and chest I'm S, but from waist M. Should I go S or M?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'm 172cm tall, 28inch waist and 36inch chest and found the smalls fit well apart from the legs which were a bit baggy.
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Does it need any other part to fit my RS11 Shimano rear wheel?

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Provided that you are replacing a 10speed cassette with another 10speed cassette you shouldn't need anything else (other than a chain whip and lock ring tool).
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07