mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    152
  • Helpfulness Votes
    170
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    13 December 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    64
  • Helpfulness Votes
    67
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    13 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    36
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 >>>
 
 dhb Women's Zelos Long Sleeve Run Top
dhb Women's Zelos Long Sleeve Run Top
A technical core top for training or high-intensity runs. The dhb Women's Zelos Long Sleeve Run Top features an ergonomic and supportive fit, naturally wicking fabric properties and underarm mesh panels for your enhanced comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality running top for chilly runs
Posted13 December 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife absolutely raves about this top, its provides just the right amount of insulation for slightly chilly (late autumn/early winter) runs. The material and finish seems to be good and so far is washing well. The colour and styling is nice and the fit is good, between relaxed and race fit."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great performance, but pricey
Posted13 December 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Given the importance of being able to clip in and out easily and transfer power efficiently to the pedals, good cleats are essential and these do the job brilliantly. Its just a shame that they are expensive for what is essentially a piece of molded plastic. The only issue that I've had is that the yellow rubber blocks come off eventally, but by that point its usually time for a new pair anyway."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4600 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Shimano Tiagra 4600 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Outboard bottom bracket bearing cups for use with Tiagra FC4600, FC4603 and Compact FC4650 2-piece cap-free design chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and smooth running so far
Posted12 December 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I thought that I would take a punt on a slightly cheaper bottom bracket than usual, and after two months riding in some pretty terrible conditions its still as smooth as when new, so far so good..."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4650 Hollowtech II 10 Spd Compact Chainset
Shimano Tiagra 4650 Hollowtech II 10 Spd Compact Chainset
Sporting many features from pro-level equipment, this 2-piece cap-free design Tiagra chainset offers unbeatable performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value, great performance, looks terrible
Posted29 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is an absolute bargain, its performance is excellent, with crisp shifting and smooth under load. Its on a par with 105 from a couple of years ago. Downsides are weight and it looks like it fell out of the ugly tree, but on a winter or commuter bike I would buy this any day."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Unattractive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
cheap, but not as good as shimano
Posted14 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These cleats were much cheaper than the official Shimano versions and they work ok. The engagement into the pedals is nowhere near as positive as Shimano ones so sometimes I'm not sure if I've clipped in correctly. Its worth noting that the attachment bolts are much longer than the official ones and were too long for my Shimano shoes, so I reused the ones from my previous cleats.
Unless you are on a real budget I would pay the extra money and buy Shimano cleats"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great resistance, with a great, road like feel
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The first fluid 2 that I received made an odd clicking noise, vibrated badly at low revs and didn't have much resistance, so it was returned for a replacement. The replacement fluid 2 is a revelation compared to the magnetic trainer that it replaced, the resistance builds progressively with rpm in a natural feeling way to some serious leg burning levels. The unit is very stable and the clutch system that moves the roller onto the tire is a clever system to make sure that you get the right level of friction between the two."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Science in Sport Go Hydro Tablets - 20 Tablets
Science in Sport Go Hydro Tablets - 20 Tablets
A low calorie electrolyte supplement for optimum hydration and fluid replacement in hot and humid environments. SiS GO Hydro contains precise levels of sodium & other electrolytes to hydrate you during intense exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value when on offer
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these are cracking value if you buy them when they are on offer. They work as well as nuun tabs, which are my favorite hydration tablets, but don't taste quite as good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Letho Run Tight
dhb Women's Letho Run Tight
Ideal for running in all seasons, the dhb Women's Letho Run Tight features flat seams, an ergonomic fit and ventilating mesh panels to enhance your comfort during running sessions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cracking value running tights
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a great value, no nonsense pair of tights, they fit well, wash well and are very comfortable. They are slightly shiny in a retro 80's kind of way, which goes against the trend for matte fabrics at the moment, but for the money its not a big deal. Overall these are excellent value fr money."
Pros: Great Value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Powerguard Compression Tight
dhb Women's Powerguard Compression Tight
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Women's Powerguard Compression Tight offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
medium level compression for a good price
Posted13 November 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife has been using these since the start of the autumn and they are now her go to tights for colder runs as they are slightly thicker than the dhb letho tights. The compression is not as severe as some other brands so they are suitable not just for recovery but also running, cross training etc. The fit is excellent and they are washing well, even after some filthy off road runs."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 14cm Light Weight Socks
dhb 14cm Light Weight Socks
Get kitted out with the newest 14cm unisex cycling socks from dhb. Available in 3 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice fit ,great price
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These socks fit really well and are true to the sizing chart, they are a nice weight for summer riding and for autumn with overshoes or toe covers. So far they have washed well and still look as good as new."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
 Ritchey Pro Road/TT S-Bend Extensions
Ritchey Pro Road/TT S-Bend Extensions
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
6 months ago
by
mike07
 
 Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g
Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
6 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Powerguard Compression Short
dhb Powerguard Compression Short
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

8 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
 BBB BTL-18L Tools and Tube Storage Bottle (Large)
BBB BTL-18L Tools and Tube Storage Bottle (Large)
This storage water bottle, with screw on lid, is ideal to organise your inner tube, tools, Co2 inflator etc and fits neatly into your water bottle cage.
 

tubular tyre

Will a folded tubular tyre fit into this bottle?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I don't use tubs, but I have had a regular folding tyre in mine, but it wouldn't fit anything else in it.
4 days ago
by
mike07
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4600 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Shimano Tiagra 4600 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Outboard bottom bracket bearing cups for use with Tiagra FC4600, FC4603 and Compact FC4650 2-piece cap-free design chainsets.
 

Does ths BB come with spacers?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one I received didn't, but I didn't need any to fit it to my bike.
5 days ago
by
mike07
 
 Lezyne HP Drive ABS Pump
Lezyne HP Drive ABS Pump
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Frame mount

Does the hose fit on the frame mount or will you have to carry it separately?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The hose is stored inside the pump.
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
mike07
 
 Lezyne HP Drive ABS Pump
Lezyne HP Drive ABS Pump
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Apart from size, do the small and medium sized pumps work the same?

Just wondering whether to go for the small or medium sized pump. Is the smaller pump harder to use?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
As far as I understand it the bigger ones have a greater volume per stroke. I have the small one and its great, very easy to use and the smaller size means that it will fit in a back pocket or tool bottle
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
mike07
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4650 Hollowtech II 10 Spd Compact Chainset
Shimano Tiagra 4650 Hollowtech II 10 Spd Compact Chainset
Sporting many features from pro-level equipment, this 2-piece cap-free design Tiagra chainset offers unbeatable performance.
 

Upgrading my FSA omega crankset, what crank length?

It's on a M/L Giant Defy 2 2012, just need to know do i need the 170mm or 175mm?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It depends on your leg length and what cranks you currently run, which should be stamped on the inner side of the crank arms
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
mike07
 
 Shimano Tiagra 4650 Hollowtech II 10 Spd Compact Chainset
Shimano Tiagra 4650 Hollowtech II 10 Spd Compact Chainset
Sporting many features from pro-level equipment, this 2-piece cap-free design Tiagra chainset offers unbeatable performance.
 

Can this chainset be used with a FSA MEGA EXO BB?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I don't believe so, I swapped my FSA bottom bracket for a shimano one when I replaced the cranks, for the small amount of money a shimano bb costs I'd just buy one to go with it, they last better than the FSA ones
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
mike07
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Float of linelife cleats

What is the float of the lifeline cleats?
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I don't know what it is in degrees, but they feel very similar to the float on the yellow tabbed shimano cleats
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
 CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Do I need the adapter for my size of wheel?

Will I need to purchase the separate adapter based on the below specifications of my wheels? The bike is a cannondale caad8.
Maddux RS 3.0, 32 hole
Front Hub Cannondale C4
Rear Hub Cannondale C4
Tyres Schwalbe Lugano, 700x23c
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It will work fine with your wheels without an adapter.
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
 CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

•1 x QR skewer

Hi
The CycleOps Fluid 2 includes: •1 x QR skewer; is it necessary to buy one before using the Trainer, or does the standard CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer include all that is needed for it actually to be used within the box?
Thank you.
Lucy
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The trainer comes with all the basics that you need to use it, including a specific quick release for your wheel.
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
 Garmin Forerunner 220 GPS Watch with Premium HRM
Garmin Forerunner 220 GPS Watch with Premium HRM
The Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch gives you feedback whilst you train; featuring distance, pace, heart rate and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 

Can the sport mode be changed to bike?

I've got another forerunner model that has the option of changing the sport mode to bike. Does this? If not, can you advise which models do please. Thanks
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope, sadly not , the Garmin 310, 910 or 920 are the multisport watches
2 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07