mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    205
  • Helpfulness Votes
    262
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    22 February 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    74
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 August 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 >>>
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted22 February 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used this vest extensively over the summer and was really surprised how effective it was at keeping me less sweaty, which I always thought was a bit counter intuitive - wearing more to stay cooler... but it did seem to work, transferring more sweat to the outer layers. Its nice quality, but expensive for what it is and you'll get funny comments about string vests from non-cyclists..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted22 February 2016
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"According to my wife, who I bought these for (second pair), these are really nice shorts for running in, they aren't a really strong compressive fit, but offer good support for running. They wash really well and hold their shape and compression well.
They come up a little on the big side."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano 105 5800 Rear Dérailleur gives awesome shifting under all conditions. Increase rigidity and reliable long term quality with this 11 speed 105 wide link medium cage rear dérailleur.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted17 February 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great shifting, great price and looks fantastic. They don't look quite as smart as ultegra, but they shift almost as well and are much cheaper."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Produced in CAB as Chromoplastics these mudguards are highly resistant to corrosion and ultra violet radiation resulting in great flexibility and a virtually unbreakable product.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted17 February 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These mudguards are excellent. They provide great coverage, don't rattle and look fine in the matt black colour, blending in with the tyres pretty well. They are reasonably easy to fit, not as easy as Crud Roadracers, but once set up correctly they don't rub or make any noise."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Know your zone with the Garmin Forerunner 225 GPS watch with Integrated HRM. This is the first Garmin with an integrated wrist mounted heart rate monitoring and allows you to train more effectively using zone traning.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted17 February 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The wrist based HR monitor on the 220 has been a revelation, no more annoying HR strap moving around or slipping during a run. The watch is super accurate, easy to use, picks up satellites really quickly and provides all the data that you could want."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted17 February 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not the lightest tubes, nor the cheapest, but conti are reliable tubes with consistent quality. They make great training and day to day tubes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Stay fresh with the latest version of a new HILLY classic MONO SKIN sock. Containing a POLYGINE application to the fabric for an anti odour property, and an anitomical design makes this a great all rounder.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted17 February 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are my wife's go to long run and race socks that she keeps "for best". There are cheaper socks out there and much more expensive ones, but these are really hard to beat for comfort, longevity and fit, so overall great value for money.
Sizing is accurate."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
An ultralight Saddle-Bag with minimal dimensions. If all you need are the bare essentials, then grab the Saddle-Bag Micro and get on your bike. The roll closure with elastic bungees make it 100% waterproof. Two screws make for a simple fix.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you want a waterproof saddle bag that's securely attached then this is a very good option. It's not the most descrete pack, but not being attached to the seatpost it leaves lots of room for a light, clip on mudguard or whatever else you might want to strap onto your seatpost... The only thing that i'd like to add to the pack is a light loop, but its not a major showstopper."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano BB-R60 Ultegra 6800/105 5800 Hollowtech II bottom bracket uses a wider bearing placement and larger axle diameter for increased stiffness and efficiency.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a long lasting, great value, easy to fit BB, there isn't much not to like."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5800 Chain
Shimano 105 5800 Chain
Shimano 5800 11 speed Chain, 116 link. This new 11-speed chain uses previous years Dura Ace technology and Shimano's low friction surface treatment Sil-Tec, to reduce friction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted29 January 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Its a great value 11speed chain... what's not to like?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
1 year, 10 months ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

2 years, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute & tour. Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do these come with cleats and cleat nuts?

It says in the description that you need SH56 cleats, but often peddals come with a pair of cleats and nuts and I wanted to check before I bought a separate pair. Thanks.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes they come with cleats and mounting hardware
8 months ago
by
mike07
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
1 year ago
by
mike07
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
1 year ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
1 year, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
1 year, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
mike07
 
 LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07