mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    222
  • Helpfulness Votes
    277
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    17 September 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    75
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 August 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 >>>
 
This is Campagnolo’s super strong long lasting tyre lever used for clincher tyres. Punctures are a problem for every cyclist and Campagnolo have designed this lever to help you get back on the road again in no time at all.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
perfect for deep section wheels
Posted17 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There is nothing worse than trying to change a tyre or repair a puncture with rubbish tyre levers! I have been a long time fan of Park's seemingly indestructible tyre levers, but they don't work well with deep section carbon wheels. I was recommended these by a friend and despite the high cost bought a couple and having used them a few times now I can safely say that they are worth every penny. The shape means that you can get a decent amount of leverage without making contact with the aero section of the wheel and potentially damaging it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight water-resistant gaiter that keeps debris out of the shoe. Clips into on-the-shoe attachment points found on all race ultra shoes roclite 295, 280 and x-talon 212.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"the fit of these is slightly odd, the are tight around the shoe itself, but baggy around the ankles, with the ankle cuff not forming an affective seal around the leg.
The pair I was sent seemed to be from two different sizes, so I returned them and opted for the cotton type gaiters from inov-8, which are great"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria Corsa CX branded belt is exclusively made with their famous Corsa CX tread pattern.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"as a belt its ok, but the black version looks much nicer than the white, which always looks a bit dirty. The review comments and other sites indicated that this came with a water bottle tool caddy, but the one I was sent didn't."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A combined Lens cleaner and antifog solution, Zoggs Fogbuster Lens Cleaner is designed for use on both the inside and outside of goggle lenses. Easy to use, fast acting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This actually works! I've used this both for open water and pool swimming and it really does stop goggles steaming up! You do need to reapply it every other swim, but there is quite a lot in the pen... and its worth it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The PC-951 9 speed chain is SRAM's most economical PowerChain while still maintaining their high standards of quality. Like all PowerChain II chains, the PC-951 uses chrome hardened rivet pins for increased durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheap, reliable, hard wearing.... what's not to like?
Great chain, good shifting and god value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ultimate thermal protection for open water swimming, the Zone3 Neoprene Swim Cap provides warmth while maintaining good hydrodynamics through the water.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I liked the idea of having an adjustable chin strap as the one on my blue seventy one was a little uncomfortable. But you end up having to tighten this one up similarly tight to keep it securely fitted to your head and the blue seventy cap actually fits better.
Note that these seem to come up large, I take a medium cycle hat, but needed a small in this cap."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Deda Zero 1 is a stylish, functional and strong addition to any road bike. Made from a 6061 light alloy, 3D forged, and embossed with the Deda "D" logo.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"it might be cheap, but its light weight, well finished and looks fantastic!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant, resists snagging, and is 20 times more fade resistant than any other swim fabric. Featuring 4 way stretch technology for added softness and comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are excellent jammers, the fabric seems utterly unaffected by chlorine, washing and pretty much anything else that you throw at it. They aren't the most exciting shorts, but there are no graphics or logos to peel off, which has been a problem on some other shorts.
Fit is pretty much spot on and the size chat is accurate."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Roubaix Softshell Gilet
dhb Aeron Roubaix Softshell Gilet
If you're in need of a little extra warmth this autumn, the dhb Aeron Roubaix Softshell Gilet will give you that core protection against the cold. It has been constructed from a fleecy roubaix fabric which has excellent thermal properties.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a cracking gilet, the material is brilliant quality and keeps the wind and rain off very well. The cut is on the small side, particularly around the armholes, which are snug, but that does stop the wind getting in!
It is definitely a cold weather piece of kit, so not something to wear on milder days."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb ASV Windslam Thermal Gilet
dhb ASV Windslam Thermal Gilet
Add warmth to your winter training wardrobe with the ASV Thermal Gilet which combines highly technical fabrics and striking graphics for a premium winter gilet.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ordered this and the dhb softshell gilet and ended up going with the softshell as the fit was better and materials higher quality. I found the cut of this a bit too relaxed and wasn't over keen on the graphics."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
2 years, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Powerguard Compression Short
dhb Powerguard Compression Short
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

2 years, 5 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute & tour. Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do these come with cleats and cleat nuts?

It says in the description that you need SH56 cleats, but often peddals come with a pair of cleats and nuts and I wanted to check before I bought a separate pair. Thanks.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes they come with cleats and mounting hardware
1 year, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
 Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Pack of 2 dome head M3 x 8mm screws.
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
1 year, 5 months ago
by
mike07
 
 Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Pack of 2 dome head M3 x 8mm screws.
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
1 year, 5 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
1 year, 6 months ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
1 year, 6 months ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
mike07
 
 LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
mike07