mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    155
  • Helpfulness Votes
    176
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    24 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    70
  • Helpfulness Votes
    68
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    36
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 >>>
 
Rubber Diaphragm for hope mini reservoir.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted24 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not much to say really, its a high quality replacement diaphragm for hope mini brakes. Decent price for an official product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great gels if you don't want to carry water
Posted18 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are great gels if you don't like the thick consistency of 'normal' gels or don't want to carry water, but need to take on energy during a run. They are slightly larger for the same energy content as regular gels and a lot runnier, I find them easier to take in and digest than other gels."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Long Finger Summer Road Glove is a stylish and technical cycling glove which features temperature regulating panels, a foam padded palm for enhanced comfort and absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted04 January 2015
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought a pair of the dhb windproof gloves last year, which are excellent, so I also bought a pair of the lightweight gloves for the summer. Although the palms are near identical the lightweight gloves feel much bigger and almost baggy on the hand for the same size of glove, so I would probably go down a size. The material is ok, nothing special, but for the price nothing to complain about, just be careful with the Velcro tab snagging the material on the back of the hand."
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A technical core top for training or high-intensity runs. The dhb Women's Zelos Long Sleeve Run Top features an ergonomic and supportive fit, naturally wicking fabric properties and underarm mesh panels for your enhanced comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality running top for chilly runs
Posted13 December 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife absolutely raves about this top, its provides just the right amount of insulation for slightly chilly (late autumn/early winter) runs. The material and finish seems to be good and so far is washing well. The colour and styling is nice and the fit is good, between relaxed and race fit."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great performance, but pricey
Posted13 December 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Given the importance of being able to clip in and out easily and transfer power efficiently to the pedals, good cleats are essential and these do the job brilliantly. Its just a shame that they are expensive for what is essentially a piece of molded plastic. The only issue that I've had is that the yellow rubber blocks come off eventally, but by that point its usually time for a new pair anyway."
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Outboard bottom bracket bearing cups for use with Tiagra FC4600, FC4603 and Compact FC4650 2-piece cap-free design chainsets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and smooth running so far
Posted12 December 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I thought that I would take a punt on a slightly cheaper bottom bracket than usual, and after two months riding in some pretty terrible conditions its still as smooth as when new, so far so good..."
Pros: Great Value
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Sporting many features from pro-level equipment, this 2-piece cap-free design Tiagra chainset offers unbeatable performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great value, great performance, looks terrible
Posted29 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is an absolute bargain, its performance is excellent, with crisp shifting and smooth under load. Its on a par with 105 from a couple of years ago. Downsides are weight and it looks like it fell out of the ugly tree, but on a winter or commuter bike I would buy this any day."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Unattractive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
cheap, but not as good as shimano
Posted14 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These cleats were much cheaper than the official Shimano versions and they work ok. The engagement into the pedals is nowhere near as positive as Shimano ones so sometimes I'm not sure if I've clipped in correctly. Its worth noting that the attachment bolts are much longer than the official ones and were too long for my Shimano shoes, so I reused the ones from my previous cleats.
Unless you are on a real budget I would pay the extra money and buy Shimano cleats"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great resistance, with a great, road like feel
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The first fluid 2 that I received made an odd clicking noise, vibrated badly at low revs and didn't have much resistance, so it was returned for a replacement. The replacement fluid 2 is a revelation compared to the magnetic trainer that it replaced, the resistance builds progressively with rpm in a natural feeling way to some serious leg burning levels. The unit is very stable and the clutch system that moves the roller onto the tire is a clever system to make sure that you get the right level of friction between the two."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Science in Sport Go Hydro Tablets - 20 Tablets
Science in Sport Go Hydro Tablets - 20 Tablets
A low calorie electrolyte supplement for optimum hydration and fluid replacement in hot and humid environments. SiS GO Hydro contains precise levels of sodium & other electrolytes to hydrate you during intense exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value when on offer
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these are cracking value if you buy them when they are on offer. They work as well as nuun tabs, which are my favorite hydration tablets, but don't taste quite as good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
3 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
7 months ago
by
mike07
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
7 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

9 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
1 day ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
1 day ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

my height 174, weight 71. advise what size?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I'd probably go for the small, I am 172cm and 63kg and the small size is a bit long on me.
1 day ago
by
mike07
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

look compatability SPD SL CLEATS

Are these cleats compatable with the Look Keo classic pedals as I already have these on my other bike

many thanks S.P.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Afraid not, they only work with Shimano SL pedals.
1 week ago
by
mike07
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

Can i use these cleats with look pedals?

Can i use these cleats with look pedals?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
No, these only work with shimano sl pedals, you need to order the look cleats that match your pedals.
1 week ago
by
mike07
 
A high performance swimming goggle that uses Zoggs 4 Flexpoint TM Technology to allow a comfortable fit for a wide variety of faces. Ideal for swimmers who demand the highest of performance from their goggle.
 

Warranty on this goggles

I bought the Zoggs Predator flex about an year ago, and nose bridge just broke yesterday.
Considering i just swim only once a week, i see the quality as poor.
Is there a warranty on this product?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I had the same problem with my goggles and contacted Zoggs customer services direct who sorted things out very quickly.
1 week ago
by
mike07
 
 BBB BTL-18L Tools and Tube Storage Bottle (Large)
BBB BTL-18L Tools and Tube Storage Bottle (Large)
This storage water bottle, with screw on lid, is ideal to organise your inner tube, tools, Co2 inflator etc and fits neatly into your water bottle cage.
 

tubular tyre

Will a folded tubular tyre fit into this bottle?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I don't use tubs, but I have had a regular folding tyre in mine, but it wouldn't fit anything else in it.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
Outboard bottom bracket bearing cups for use with Tiagra FC4600, FC4603 and Compact FC4650 2-piece cap-free design chainsets.
 

Does ths BB come with spacers?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one I received didn't, but I didn't need any to fit it to my bike.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Frame mount

Does the hose fit on the frame mount or will you have to carry it separately?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The hose is stored inside the pump.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Apart from size, do the small and medium sized pumps work the same?

Just wondering whether to go for the small or medium sized pump. Is the smaller pump harder to use?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
As far as I understand it the bigger ones have a greater volume per stroke. I have the small one and its great, very easy to use and the smaller size means that it will fit in a back pocket or tool bottle
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07