mike07
Top 25 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    124
  • Helpfulness Votes
    129
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    24 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    12 June 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    44
  • Helpfulness Votes
    51
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    22
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>>
 
The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great non-spill design
Posted24 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As bottles go this has more features than most, the ability to lock the valve makes it great to avoid spills in a gym bag or general transportation and the valve prevents spills even when open making it easy to drink from on the bike or during a run.
The bottle opening isn't as big as others but its still easy to clean and fill with energy powder.
It is more expensive that std bottles, but on balance its worth it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Comfort and aerodynamics, a combination that rarely goes together, but 1000’s of km’s and prestigious world tour victories would confirm otherwise. The BodyFit Pro Classic Bibshort - Ride fast all day long!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
excellent fit and surprising comfort
Posted13 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Review based on the xs size, I am 172cm tall, 28inch waist and 63kg.
Unpacking the shorts you notice 2 things straight away: the quality of the materials and the simplicity of the pad.
Pulling them on they area snug, compression fit, clinging like a second skin. The bibs/braces are a tight fit standing up, but in the riding position they are fine and I didn't really notice them, although I would have liked them to be a little wider.
The pad fits really well and much thinner than other shorts I've used, so I was a bit concerned about launching straight into a week in the Alps with them, where I used them every other day. Comfort was great, even on the Marmotte route 100+ miles and 4000m+ of climbing.
If they had slightly wider braces I'd give them a 5 without a second thought."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A pack of 100 alloy cable end caps to prevent the ends of your gear and brake cable inners fraying.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
they do the job for very little money
Posted12 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these end caps are cheap, do the job and the price for 100 of them, you can give them away to your mates and earn some brownie points as i could never find these little blighters in my tool box when I've lost them in the past..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Rego is specially formulated to improve recovery from exercise, helping you re-fuel, re-hydrate and repair muscle. Rego provides the nutrients your body needs to adapt and improve, so you can get more from your training and progress faster and further.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
tastes ok handy to have in the cupboard
Posted03 July 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The chocolate flavor is ok but it tastes/feels slightly gritty. As a preference I would rather have a bottle of milkshake, which is cheaper (depending on brand) and tastes miles better, however It is handy to have this in the cupboard or in the boot of the car to make up a recovery drink quickly. I can't really vouch for the effect that it has on recovery, so won't comment on that aspect of the product as there are proper studies that deal with that and also the comparison with 'normal' milkshakes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to protect your thermal mug, this jacket will also improve the thermal properties of your mug by adding another layer of insulation. Tests have shown an increase in heat retention of up to 25%.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
good insulation, but rather large
Posted28 June 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This does a great job of adding additional insulation to the already good thermal properties of the flask. However, this comes at the expense of bulk, this turns a pocketable flash into something that takes up a lot of room in a pack. However it does have a large Velcro strap that allows you to attach the pouch to a belt or other straps on your pack."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo TurboDive Placement Panel Aquashort SS13
Speedo TurboDive Placement Panel Aquashort SS13
Designed to last longer, Endurance®+ is an exclusive Speedo fabric which is 100% chlorine-resistant and resists snagging, and fading 20 times longer than any other swim fabric.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
grest fit and material, terrible graphics
Posted28 June 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Pros:
Great fit, they are a nice half way house between jammers and budgie smugglers.
Great material, you can't beat endurance+ for longevity.
Con's:
The graphics are terrible, but the funny patterned panel is only on one side and as I bought these on pricedrop for a bargain price to wear under my wetsuit, I'm not to concerned!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
super small waterproof
Posted24 June 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a nice little, low cost waterproof. It packs down very small, easily fits in a rear pocket with room to spare for a few gels. The cut is snug and sizing is true to other dhb clothing that I have (size small and I'm 172cm tall, 28" waist and 36" chest), its tight across the shoulders and loose around the waist (it would be nice if it was a little tighter around the waist)."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 IZONE Pulse Front Light
IZONE Pulse Front Light
These bright, stylish compact lights are designed for urban use. They quickly mount on and off your bike using a simple rubber "o"-ring and slip easily into a pocket or a bag when not in use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
nice little light
Posted24 June 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a great attention getting light, with better side visibility than many other lights of this type. It is light weight easy to switch on and off, although I've not tried with winter gloves yet. The elastic o ring mounts are a tight fit (the fatter of the two is almost impossible to get on the mount) so I can't see myself taking it on and off very often, not a problem for me but might be for commuters that need to remove everything when parked up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 The North Face Enduro Belt 1
The North Face Enduro Belt 1
The North Face Enduro Belt 1 is a minimalist .5 L bottle carrying waist pack with a zippered pocket for runner’s essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cracking bottle carrier for longer runs
Posted22 June 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a great bottle carrier for longer runs, it holds the bottle securely so no annoying bouncing around and there is enough room in the pocket for gels and other small items, if you are broad hipped you could probably fit an iPhone in there, if not the curvature of the straps may make it a little difficult. The belt is well ventilated and the offset buckle is a clever design feature, it has plenty of adjustment for different sized waists.
Other reviews have mentioned that the bottle isn't very good, but so far I've had no problems with it at all. The only change that I would make is the addition of a waterproof pocket for cash or a small phone, but this is easily overcome by a sandwich bag."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
A great value jersey with a full feature set. Constructed from high wicking fabrics with a soft finishing treatment, the Section Jersey features mesh vent panels, a silicone hem gripper and a slim fit. Ideal for sportives, training and leisure cycling.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cheap, OK fit and OK materials
Posted18 June 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought the xs size, I'm 172cm tall, 36" chest and 28" chest and it's still pretty big, but for the money on pricedrop it's difficult to fault it. It has good sized pockets and the zipped one is a real winner."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Extreme, zero or other???

I've used zero a while now and seem to get on with them. I tried the extreme the other day during a 70 mile ride during which I found much harder than usual.

Is it possible that the caffeine caused a spike too quick and left me wanting mid-ride? Should extreme only be used for short sprints / end of sportive pick me up?

Also, are there better drinks during sportives to take which provide same electrolyte replacements but with increased energy delivery?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
You could try SIS GO electrolyte, which combines an energy drink with electrolytes, although i'm not sure how the levels of salts etc compare.

I've not had a problem with caffeine in energy products, it is a relatively mild dose of caffeine after all, but it might be worth looking for some peer review studies of caffeine supplements in sport.
5 days ago
by
mike07
 
Comfort and aerodynamics, a combination that rarely goes together, but 1000’s of km’s and prestigious world tour victories would confirm otherwise. The BodyFit Pro Classic Bibshort - Ride fast all day long!
 

Size – 5’7” 70kg 98 chest

What size is correct for 5’7” 70kg and 98 chest? I wear Assos in Small. Is this bib short a relaxed, comfort or competitive fit?
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'd go for the small, I'm about the same height as you and 63kg, but tried out and was torn between the S and XS, I went for the XS in the end and they fit really well, but I'm at the upper end of fit for them.

I'd say that they are a tight (slight compression fit) competition fit.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
mike07
 
Go Energy (previously PSP22) is an ideal energy source during sports performance. Its unique composition provides more energy than isotonic solutions of lower molecular weight glucose polymers.
 

Mix with Electrolyte Tablet?

I know you can buy SIS GO Electrolyte but was wondering if it is possible to combine the energy benefits and electrolyte anti cramping by just dropping a tablet in with this?
Dont really want to buy 2 types of powder plus 80% of my rides are electrolyte tabs only anyhow.
Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I can't see why not, but double check that Go Energy doesn't already have the salts in it (from memory i don't think it does).

The only other thing to consider is that you'll end up with a rather strong/strange tasking mixture so you might be better off finding a recipe for a tasteless electrolyte mix to combine with the GO or just use the electrolyte version of the product all the time.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
mike07
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Size

I am 5ft6 with a 34inch waist, what size is right for me?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'd probably go for small, i'm 5ft8 (172cm) and the legs are a little long for me, so i would have thought that a medium would be to long for you in the legs. I'm a 28" waist and they fit me well, but they stretch a fair bit so might be ok around the waist... Hope that helps
3 weeks, 5 days ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Section Short Sleeve Jersey
A great value jersey with a full feature set. Constructed from high wicking fabrics with a soft finishing treatment, the Section Jersey features mesh vent panels, a silicone hem gripper and a slim fit. Ideal for sportives, training and leisure cycling.
 

XS too small?

I am a 82-84cm chest, 77cm waist and around 168cm tall - is the XS fit going to be too tight on me?
Thanks
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'm 172cm tall and 91cm chest and the Jersey is still pretty big on me. So it should be fine for you.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 

Size question

I'm 168,5 cm tall, waist 83 cm and chest 88 cm. By my lenght and chest I'm S, but from waist M. Should I go S or M?
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I'm 172cm tall, 28inch waist and 36inch chest and found the smalls fit well apart from the legs which were a bit baggy.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Does it need any other part to fit my RS11 Shimano rear wheel?

Best answer
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Provided that you are replacing a 10speed cassette with another 10speed cassette you shouldn't need anything else (other than a chain whip and lock ring tool).
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

Sizing

What size would you recommend? I am 1.70 m, chest 93 cm and waist 84 cm. A base layer has to fit underneath.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi, I'm 170cm, 64kg, 94cm chest and 74cm waist and have the small size jersey, which fits perfectly.

Hope that helps.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

What range of temperature is this jersey rated for?

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
I don't think that there is a particular rating for the jersey, but from my experiences its best from about 5 degrees Celsius (with a base layer underneath) up to about 15 degrees if its windy. I've worn it when its been around 0 degrees with a long sleeve base layer and arm warmers on a short high intensity ride and been fine. Its a pretty versatile jersey and I would definitely recommend it.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
The Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter road rides.
 

Sizing

173cm (5ft 8in), 69kg, 32in waist, 38in chest, unsure if small or medium will be best, after a snug but comfortable fit. Have never purchased dhb, wear a small in endrua clothing.
Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
Hi there, I am 172cm, 64kg, 28" waist, 37" chest and bought the small. It is a good fit for me with a base layer underneath, its snug but not tight. The area that has least leeway is across the shoulders, but even there its still a good fit.

I've been delighted with the jersey, its great for windy days in early spring and late autumn.
2 months ago
by
mike07