mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    214
  • Helpfulness Votes
    263
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    21 May 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    74
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 August 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 >>>
 
If you're in need of a little extra warmth this autumn, the dhb Aeron Roubaix Softshell Gilet will give you that core protection against the cold. It has been constructed from a fleecy roubaix fabric which has excellent thermal properties.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a cracking gilet, the material is brilliant quality and keeps the wind and rain off very well. The cut is on the small side, particularly around the armholes, which are snug, but that does stop the wind getting in!
It is definitely a cold weather piece of kit, so not something to wear on milder days."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Add warmth to your winter training wardrobe with the ASV Thermal Gilet which combines highly technical fabrics and striking graphics for a premium winter gilet.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ordered this and the dhb softshell gilet and ended up going with the softshell as the fit was better and materials higher quality. I found the cut of this a bit too relaxed and wasn't over keen on the graphics."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"this is great for keeping the chain in place while cleaning the bike. I have used it when transporting the bike too, but would probably use a full dummy axle in future too protect the rear triangle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The competition nose clip is ideal for both racing and training due to its memory plastic frame it offers optimum fit and its soft silcone pads ensure maximum comfort. The nose clip also comes with a handy reusable case for safe storage and travel.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I chose this over the other nose clips available as it was for my young daughter and thought that the ability to bend it to fit her small nose would be useful. While you can adjust it doesn't keep its shape very well and doesn't grip the skin particularly well, so we have abandoned it and are now using a plastic clip, which is much better, even on her small nose."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Tacx Booster Ultra High Power folding magnetic trainer uses a super smooth 2kg fly wheel, has 10 levels of resistance and comes supplied with a front wheel support. Great trainer for warm-ups and powerful indoor training
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this as I wanted a low cost, high resistance trainer to build my power and this really delivers. I might be cheap and cheerful, but it is a great value way of getting a leg busting resistance, its not too noisy either."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano 105 5800 STI levers, feature ergonomically designed 11 speed 105 dual control levers. These levers come complete Polymer coated cables and silicon greased outer casing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Shifting is superb, its not quite as crisp as ultegra, but for the money the 105 shifters are a bargain!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Comfort, support and stability for flexible, speed orientated cyclists. With lightweight titanium rails, minimal cushioning and a flat profile, the TI Sprint saddle excels on time trials, tri stages and high intensity road rides.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was looking for a saddle with a narrow nose and this looked like it would fit the bill.
+'ves - light, cheap, looks good and is well made
-'ves - it is very firm (there is limited padding and little flex in the shell)
Having ridden the saddle for a couple of months I have found that its fine for short rides <1.5hrs, but beyond that it gets a bit uncomfortable. I've now put it onto my commuter bike and bought a more endurance orientated saddle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A brush designed to get into all those small areas that the hand can't reach. Ideal for cleaning under the plates of the rear mech, in and around the front mech.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's a brush.... but its a brilliant brush, after seeing youtube clip of a pro mechanic using one it looked like it would be handy addition to my cleaning kit (an old washing up brush, sponge, bucket and some rags) and it is great, you can clean all the places that are a pain otherwise, hubs, spokes, under the brake calipers etc...."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Convenient support for your road or mountain bike, ideal for storing your bike at home or supporting it at events or races. It cradles your bike frame from the rear-stays lifting the rear wheel, enabling easy and precise gear truing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to hold the bike while washing it after a ride and it fulfills that purpose perfectly. It's also good for adjusting your gears, but as other reviews have said its not really stable enough for anything more demanding than that as it's may fall over.
The legs can be removed easily so its a piece of cake to put in the car and take along to events for any last minute adjustments and so that you don't end up leaning the bike against your car."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted22 February 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I used this vest extensively over the summer and was really surprised how effective it was at keeping me less sweaty, which I always thought was a bit counter intuitive - wearing more to stay cooler... but it did seem to work, transferring more sweat to the outer layers. Its nice quality, but expensive for what it is and you'll get funny comments about string vests from non-cyclists..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
1 year, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Powerguard Compression Short
dhb Powerguard Compression Short
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

2 years, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders who commute & tour. Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do these come with cleats and cleat nuts?

It says in the description that you need SH56 cleats, but often peddals come with a pair of cleats and nuts and I wanted to check before I bought a separate pair. Thanks.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes they come with cleats and mounting hardware
9 months ago
by
mike07
 
 Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Pack of 2 dome head M3 x 8mm screws.
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
1 year ago
by
mike07
 
 Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Pack of 2 dome head M3 x 8mm screws.
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
1 year ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
1 year, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
1 year, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
 LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
mike07