mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    141
  • Helpfulness Votes
    152
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    55
  • Helpfulness Votes
    56
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    04 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    26
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 >>>
 
Heavy weight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibres aimed to keep your feet as warm as possible, in colder conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
surprisingly warm
Posted21 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When I tried these on I was a bit skeptical about how warm these would be, as they are pretty thin, but getting out on the bike with temperatures below 10 degrees the socks did a nice job of keeping my toes warm.
The sizing is accurate and so far they have washed well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
keeps the chill off without overheating
Posted21 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only used them in the autumn so far, so can't comment on how effective they are in the really cold weather, but so far they have been great for keeping the chill off your fingers, while not ending up with overly sweaty hands.
The materials are good, the sizing accurate and the reflective stripes are good for visibility."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedo Boys Seasquad Hot Tot Suit is designed to protect little ones from the harmful effects of the sun; providing an ultra violet protection factor of 50+. Tested against European and Australian approved standards.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bright design and good quality
Posted21 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My kids have all used hot tots suits while learning to swim and this is the best looking suit to date, really nice and bright colours. The suits are well made and last well (our youngest is still using one that has been used weekly by his siblings over the last five years!). The extra warmth that they provide is welcome in the pool and and I'm sure that the extra buoyancy helps them a bit while learning."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Girls Allover Rippleback Swimsuit SS14
Speedo Girls Allover Rippleback Swimsuit SS14
Designed for a close, comfortable fit and featuring soft, durable fabrics, the Speedo Girls Allover Rippleback Swimsuit is ideal for racing and training. Features an exciting, colourful heart graphic on the front panel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted08 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a well made suit that my daughter thinks looks really good. She has worn this weekly since we purchased it and it is wearing really well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Nike Mens LightWeight Tech Run Glove is made with Dri-FIT fabric for enhanced moisture management and including touch screen compatible thumb for convenient use on the go
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent autumn gloves
Posted08 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I suffer from very cold fingers when running, even in early autumn. In the past I have worn lightweight fleece gloves, but have found that they tend to get a bit sweaty and uncomfortable on longer runs or high intensity sessions.
Having worn these for a few weeks now, I am amazed at how good they are at keeping the windchill off my fingers but without overheating. The fit is good, I found the thumb a little long, but seeing that I find that on most gloves, I guess its my hands that are an odd design rather than the gloves! The touchscreen compatible material on the thumb works well and the key pocket is an interesting feature that i'm not convinced about the utility of and I haven't used it yet so I may be wrong."
Pros: High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Boys Essential Suntop SS14
Speedo Boys Essential Suntop SS14
Maximum fun, minimum fuss! Ideal for sunny beach holidays, the Speedo Boys Essential Suntop's UV protective fabric helps protect shoulders and tummies against the sun’s rays, and its stretchy fit ensures your little one can splash around in comfort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great value unisex rash top
Posted04 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought on pricedrop, these represented great value for money, they are a nice thick material and are well made. The colours are bright and would be suitable for either a boy or a girl."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A super-stretch, lightweight knee warmer for extra coverage and support to your knee area. Dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure, hassle free fit between your thigh, knee warmer and cycling shorts. Perfect for the warmer seasons.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Stay up well and warm enough for early autumn
Posted04 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've had a couple of pairs of leg warmers before and they all suffered from the same problem of wriggling down during the course of a ride. The double sided silicone grippers seem to have solved this problem, based on the 5 times that I've worn them so far. I would like them to be a bit tighter around the thigh, but overall the fit is good (I'm 64kg and 172cm and bought the small size). Its worth noting that they are quite long, they almost reach the tops of my socks. If you are shortish like me this is either a good thing (you don't need to buy full leg warmers) or a bad thing (they aren't really knee warmers!).
The material seems to be good quality, although it would have been nice to have had some reflective detailing on them.
There are better quality knee/leg warmers out their, but for more money, so overall I would recommend them from a value for money perspective."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 blueseventy TX1000 Singlet - Exclusive
blueseventy TX1000 Singlet - Exclusive
This Men's TX1000 Tri Singlet is a wiggle exclusive featuring a flattering generous cut and fashionable colour combinations designed to make you look good and perform great when you take on your challenge.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
for the money a cracking buy
Posted03 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this on price drop to use as a multi use top (cycle undershirt, running top as well as a tri-suit top). Fit is true to the sizing chart and the materials feel good, although I've not swum in it yet. For the money its a bargain!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Engineered with Speedo BioFuse technology to perform in harmony with the body, these short fins can be used to improve lower body fitness, leg strength and ankle flexibility.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good option for kids with small feet
Posted27 September 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My daughter needed a set of fins for her swimming lessons, but she has very small feet and these were pretty much the only option that I could find that would fit her. I was a bit sceptical about the comfort and security of the open heel, but she seems to do absolutely fine in them and hasn't complained about them being uncomfortable.
Its worth pointing out that my daughters narrow feet do tend to slide further forward in the toe box than I would have thought normal.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheap and functional
Posted24 September 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these to replace an end plug on my flat bar commuter bike. They won't win any style awards, but they are cheap, fit well and stay put."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
3 days ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
4 months, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

6 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch gives you feedback whilst you train; featuring distance, pace, heart rate and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 

Can the sport mode be changed to bike?

I've got another forerunner model that has the option of changing the sport mode to bike. Does this? If not, can you advise which models do please. Thanks
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope, sadly not , the Garmin 310, 910 or 920 are the multisport watches
2 weeks, 6 days ago
by
mike07
 
The Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch gives you feedback whilst you train; featuring distance, pace, heart rate and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 

Weight

Could you tell me how much this watch weighs? Just want to compare it to the very bulky looking 910XT.
Thanks
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi,

The 220 is 41g according to the Garmin website and the 910xt is 72g.

I own the 910xt and my wife owns the 220, there is a significant difference in the bulk of the two watches. If you are a triathlete, duathlete or do several different sports and don't want to buy a specific watch for each of them I'd go for the 910 any day of the week, its the best training aid I've ever bought.

The new Garmin 920 might be worth a look if you are concerned about bulk, but want the functionality of the 910, as its a fair bit smaller and lighter.
2 weeks, 6 days ago
by
mike07
 
A super-stretch, lightweight knee warmer for extra coverage and support to your knee area. Dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure, hassle free fit between your thigh, knee warmer and cycling shorts. Perfect for the warmer seasons.
 

this thing is on sale in couple or on one?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They come as a pack of 2.
2 weeks, 6 days ago
by
mike07
 
 blueseventy TX1000 Singlet - Exclusive
blueseventy TX1000 Singlet - Exclusive
This Men's TX1000 Tri Singlet is a wiggle exclusive featuring a flattering generous cut and fashionable colour combinations designed to make you look good and perform great when you take on your challenge.
 

Pool swim leg of a Tri

Hi, would this top be suitable / allowed to be worn during the pool swim leg of a triathlon, don't want a full tri suit as i have padded tri shorts already.

Thanks
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Personally I would go for a tri-suit for a pool swim as they tend to be less draggy. However the pockets on this suit are covered by a flap so they shouldn't be too bad.
3 weeks, 1 day ago
by
mike07
 
Engineered with Speedo BioFuse technology to perform in harmony with the body, these short fins can be used to improve lower body fitness, leg strength and ankle flexibility.
 

Are the fins designed to fit on top of rubber foot wear, and would they suit this fitting, or are thy to fit the bare foot

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Most fins are intended to be used on bare feet and I don't think that these are any different. My daughter uses hers on bare feet and gets on with them really well.
3 weeks, 6 days ago
by
mike07
 
The Fluro Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter low lighting road rides.
 

How breathable is it?

I just purchased the http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-minima-s-waterproof-jacket/ for the winter season and it's great for keeping out the rain and wind, but the breathability is terrible, so I'm soaking anyway.

Is this more breathable - I'm hoping to find a hi vis windbreaker to use as the outer layer.

Cheers

-A
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The windproof material is only on the front panels of the arms and body, so you get pretty good breathability on your back. The front can get a bit sweaty if you are riding hard or its warm, but you can always open it to vent it. It is quite a heavyweight fleece, so better suited to colder weather.

I love the one that i bought and used it all last autumn winter for training rides.

If you are worried about breathability you may be better with a pertex shell or a sleeveless windproof gilett.
1 month ago
by
mike07
 

What size bars do they fit? thanks

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I have used them on both mountain bike and road bike bars of standard diameter (at the grips)
1 month ago
by
mike07
 

A pair or individul price ?

$0.74 is for a pair of end plugs or a single end plug... ?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They come as a pair
1 month ago
by
mike07
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

How do I remove the 105 5700 10 speed set from my existing wheel?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
You will need a cassette tool and chain whip. There are loads of good "how to" videos on you tube that will guide you through the process.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
The sun is relentless, and any endurance athlete understands the need for head protection when competing and training under its glare.
 

Only for woman?

In the description is clasified as a woman product, but looking on 2xu website it appear that is unisex. It's an error on wiggle description?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I bought the black "ladies" visor and it fits me fine (with plenty of room to make it bigger) and there is nothing to indicate that its a ladies version, I think that it must just be the colours that make it the ladies version.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07