mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    148
  • Helpfulness Votes
    163
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    14 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    67
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    14 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    36
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 >>>
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
cheap, but not as good as shimano
Posted14 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These cleats were much cheaper than the official Shimano versions and they work ok. The engagement into the pedals is nowhere near as positive as Shimano ones so sometimes I'm not sure if I've clipped in correctly. Its worth noting that the attachment bolts are much longer than the official ones and were too long for my Shimano shoes, so I reused the ones from my previous cleats.
Unless you are on a real budget I would pay the extra money and buy Shimano cleats"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great resistance, with a great, road like feel
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The first fluid 2 that I received made an odd clicking noise, vibrated badly at low revs and didn't have much resistance, so it was returned for a replacement. The replacement fluid 2 is a revelation compared to the magnetic trainer that it replaced, the resistance builds progressively with rpm in a natural feeling way to some serious leg burning levels. The unit is very stable and the clutch system that moves the roller onto the tire is a clever system to make sure that you get the right level of friction between the two."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Science in Sport Go Hydro Tablets - 20 Tablets
Science in Sport Go Hydro Tablets - 20 Tablets
A low calorie electrolyte supplement for optimum hydration and fluid replacement in hot and humid environments. SiS GO Hydro contains precise levels of sodium & other electrolytes to hydrate you during intense exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good value when on offer
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"these are cracking value if you buy them when they are on offer. They work as well as nuun tabs, which are my favorite hydration tablets, but don't taste quite as good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Letho Run Tight
dhb Women's Letho Run Tight
Ideal for running in all seasons, the dhb Women's Letho Run Tight features flat seams, an ergonomic fit and ventilating mesh panels to enhance your comfort during running sessions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cracking value running tights
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are a great value, no nonsense pair of tights, they fit well, wash well and are very comfortable. They are slightly shiny in a retro 80's kind of way, which goes against the trend for matte fabrics at the moment, but for the money its not a big deal. Overall these are excellent value fr money."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Powerguard Compression Tight
dhb Women's Powerguard Compression Tight
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Women's Powerguard Compression Tight offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
medium level compression for a good price
Posted13 November 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife has been using these since the start of the autumn and they are now her go to tights for colder runs as they are slightly thicker than the dhb letho tights. The compression is not as severe as some other brands so they are suitable not just for recovery but also running, cross training etc. The fit is excellent and they are washing well, even after some filthy off road runs."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 14cm Light Weight Socks
dhb 14cm Light Weight Socks
Get kitted out with the newest 14cm unisex cycling socks from dhb. Available in 3 colours these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice fit ,great price
Posted13 November 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These socks fit really well and are true to the sizing chart, they are a nice weight for summer riding and for autumn with overshoes or toe covers. So far they have washed well and still look as good as new."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Flashlight Socks
dhb Flashlight Socks
With a high visibility design and multipanel, ergonomic construction, the dhb Flashlight Socks are perfect to keep you safe and seen on the roads in low lighting conditions. Ideal for everyday commuting and leisure bike rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
amazingly bright, but big socks
Posted30 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these to add a bit of extra visibility to my evening club rides and commutes and they certainly deliver. According to my club mates they are really noticeable both at dusk and at night under their lights.
While they fit me well (i'm an EU42) if they were any bigger they would be too large so if you are at the bottom end of the size range i would go down a size."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb 12cm Thermo Cycling Sock
dhb 12cm Thermo Cycling Sock
Heavy weight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibres aimed to keep your feet as warm as possible, in colder conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
surprisingly warm
Posted21 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"When I tried these on I was a bit skeptical about how warm these would be, as they are pretty thin, but getting out on the bike with temperatures below 10 degrees the socks did a nice job of keeping my toes warm.
The sizing is accurate and so far they have washed well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nike Women's Lightweight Tech Run Glove - SU14
Nike Women's Lightweight Tech Run Glove - SU14
The Ladies Lightweight Tech Run Glove from Nike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
keeps the chill off without overheating
Posted21 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've only used them in the autumn so far, so can't comment on how effective they are in the really cold weather, but so far they have been great for keeping the chill off your fingers, while not ending up with overly sweaty hands.
The materials are good, the sizing accurate and the reflective stripes are good for visibility."
Pros: Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedo Boys Seasquad Hot Tot Suit SS14
Speedo Boys Seasquad Hot Tot Suit SS14
The Speedo Boys Seasquad Hot Tot Suit is designed to protect little ones from the harmful effects of the sun; providing an ultra violet protection factor of 50+. Tested against European and Australian approved standards.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
bright design and good quality
Posted21 October 2014
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My kids have all used hot tots suits while learning to swim and this is the best looking suit to date, really nice and bright colours. The suits are well made and last well (our youngest is still using one that has been used weekly by his siblings over the last five years!). The extra warmth that they provide is welcome in the pool and and I'm sure that the extra buoyancy helps them a bit while learning."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
 Ritchey Pro Road/TT S-Bend Extensions
Ritchey Pro Road/TT S-Bend Extensions
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
1 month, 1 week ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g
Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Powerguard Compression Short
dhb Powerguard Compression Short
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

7 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Float of linelife cleats

What is the float of the lifeline cleats?
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I don't know what it is in degrees, but they feel very similar to the float on the yellow tabbed shimano cleats
2 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Do I need the adapter for my size of wheel?

Will I need to purchase the separate adapter based on the below specifications of my wheels? The bike is a cannondale caad8.
Maddux RS 3.0, 32 hole
Front Hub Cannondale C4
Rear Hub Cannondale C4
Tyres Schwalbe Lugano, 700x23c
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It will work fine with your wheels without an adapter.
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
mike07
 
 CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

•1 x QR skewer

Hi
The CycleOps Fluid 2 includes: •1 x QR skewer; is it necessary to buy one before using the Trainer, or does the standard CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainer include all that is needed for it actually to be used within the box?
Thank you.
Lucy
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The trainer comes with all the basics that you need to use it, including a specific quick release for your wheel.
2 weeks, 1 day ago
by
mike07
 
 Garmin Forerunner 220 GPS Watch with Premium HRM
Garmin Forerunner 220 GPS Watch with Premium HRM
The Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch gives you feedback whilst you train; featuring distance, pace, heart rate and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 

Can the sport mode be changed to bike?

I've got another forerunner model that has the option of changing the sport mode to bike. Does this? If not, can you advise which models do please. Thanks
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope, sadly not , the Garmin 310, 910 or 920 are the multisport watches
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 Garmin Forerunner 220 GPS Watch with Premium HRM
Garmin Forerunner 220 GPS Watch with Premium HRM
The Forerunner® 220 GPS running watch gives you feedback whilst you train; featuring distance, pace, heart rate and connected features like automatic uploads to Garmin Connect™.
 

Weight

Could you tell me how much this watch weighs? Just want to compare it to the very bulky looking 910XT.
Thanks
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi,

The 220 is 41g according to the Garmin website and the 910xt is 72g.

I own the 910xt and my wife owns the 220, there is a significant difference in the bulk of the two watches. If you are a triathlete, duathlete or do several different sports and don't want to buy a specific watch for each of them I'd go for the 910 any day of the week, its the best training aid I've ever bought.

The new Garmin 920 might be worth a look if you are concerned about bulk, but want the functionality of the 910, as its a fair bit smaller and lighter.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Regulate Light Knee Warmers
dhb Regulate Light Knee Warmers
A super-stretch, lightweight knee warmer for extra coverage and support to your knee area. Dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure, hassle free fit between your thigh, knee warmer and cycling shorts. Perfect for the warmer seasons.
 

this thing is on sale in couple or on one?

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They come as a pack of 2.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 blueseventy TX1000 Singlet - Exclusive
blueseventy TX1000 Singlet - Exclusive
This Men's TX1000 Tri Singlet is a wiggle exclusive featuring a flattering generous cut and fashionable colour combinations designed to make you look good and perform great when you take on your challenge.
 

Pool swim leg of a Tri

Hi, would this top be suitable / allowed to be worn during the pool swim leg of a triathlon, don't want a full tri suit as i have padded tri shorts already.

Thanks
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Personally I would go for a tri-suit for a pool swim as they tend to be less draggy. However the pockets on this suit are covered by a flap so they shouldn't be too bad.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
mike07
 
 Speedo Biofuse Fitness Fin
Speedo Biofuse Fitness Fin
Engineered with Speedo BioFuse technology to perform in harmony with the body, these short fins can be used to improve lower body fitness, leg strength and ankle flexibility.
 

Are the fins designed to fit on top of rubber foot wear, and would they suit this fitting, or are thy to fit the bare foot

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Most fins are intended to be used on bare feet and I don't think that these are any different. My daughter uses hers on bare feet and gets on with them really well.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey Fluoro
dhb Windslam Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey Fluoro
The Fluro Windslam Roubaix Jersey offers effective windchill defence, added warmth and all the features you need whilst out on your bike, making it the perfect layer for those cold Autumn/Winter low lighting road rides.
 

How breathable is it?

I just purchased the http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-minima-s-waterproof-jacket/ for the winter season and it's great for keeping out the rain and wind, but the breathability is terrible, so I'm soaking anyway.

Is this more breathable - I'm hoping to find a hi vis windbreaker to use as the outer layer.

Cheers

-A
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The windproof material is only on the front panels of the arms and body, so you get pretty good breathability on your back. The front can get a bit sweaty if you are riding hard or its warm, but you can always open it to vent it. It is quite a heavyweight fleece, so better suited to colder weather.

I love the one that i bought and used it all last autumn winter for training rides.

If you are worried about breathability you may be better with a pertex shell or a sleeveless windproof gilett.
2 months ago
by
mike07
 
 M:Part Plastic Road Handlebar End Plugs
M:Part Plastic Road Handlebar End Plugs
Plastic bar end plugs.
 

What size bars do they fit? thanks

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I have used them on both mountain bike and road bike bars of standard diameter (at the grips)
2 months ago
by
mike07