mike07
Top 10 Contributor
Share mike07's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
mike07's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    229
  • Helpfulness Votes
    280
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    13 February 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    11 December 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 April 2014
  • Last Question
    21 October 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    75
  • First Answer
    07 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 August 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    41
 
 
mike07's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 >>>
 
Shimano 105 double chainset, a Lightweight HollowTech II 105 11-speed chainset. HollowTech II allows the bottom bracket bearings to be spaced wider apart, enabling the use of larger bearings and an increased axle diameter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted13 February 2017
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"super quality at a decent price. the shifting is great and the semi-compact size is perfect."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted12 February 2017
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great shimano quality and performance, sometimes its worth paying a little bit extra for some thing that you know is going to last...."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ride in comfort through unpredictable weather conditions with dhb's Aeron Rain Defence Leg Warmers. A must-have for autumn, winter and spring rides, they provide shower protection, warmth and breathability to keep you riding to your best.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted12 February 2017
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The rain defence fabric is superb, its a bit less thick than some of the the other rain resistant arm and leg warmers, which makes them much more suitable for a greater range of temperatures in my opinion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With a mixture of spectacular views leg-pumping climbs and historical scenery the Wiggle Jurassic Beast Sportive has become a must do ride.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted12 February 2017
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Excellent route with beautiful scenery and quiet roads, it is very hilly and the additional mileage of the longer route isn't as good as that of the shorter route."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
the dhb Windslam Neck Tube provides a warm and cosy wind-blocking seal around the neck on the coldest of winter rides. You can even use it as a face mask due to the mesh panel allowing for easy breathing with the extra coverage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted12 February 2017
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"In the past I used to wear a buff over my mouth and nose to keep the cold off. This had a few drawbacks: it would get wet quickly through the moisture in my exhaled breath, which would then get cold; when travelling slowly it would cause my glasses to fog; it would get sucked onto my nose,restricting breathing. These are all problems solved by this neck tube. the mesh area is really effective at letting warm moist air out while keeping your face warm. There are a couple of minor improvement that could be made, it could do with being a couple of cm longer and slightly tighter around the face as it can slip down (easily overcome by tucking it into a skull cap.
Overall this is an outstanding piece of kit at a great price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed to keep thorns, bracken and debris out of your shoes, the Inov-8 Debris Gaiter™ 32 is perfect for orienteering.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted27 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these after returning the more expensive inov8 gaiters as the fit was a bit odd and I'm glad I did. These are very low tech socklike material, which might sound rubbish, but given the abuse that they get on the trail its a good choice and so far they have worn and washed well. The only downsides of the gaiters are that they absorb a fair bit of water, but you only really notice that when you take them off and I think that the rubber underfoot strap will eventually, but you can order rubber O-rings that are roughly the same size."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deore XT Shadow rear derailleur delivers reliable and precise shifting with a stiff and lightweight open design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted27 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is another example of shimano's excellent no nonsense quality and great value. Shifting is superb and its really well made."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This is Campagnolo's super strong long lasting tyre lever used for clincher tyres. Punctures are a problem for every cyclist and Campagnolo have designed this lever to help you get back on the road again in no time at all.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
perfect for deep section wheels
Posted17 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There is nothing worse than trying to change a tyre or repair a puncture with rubbish tyre levers! I have been a long time fan of Park's seemingly indestructible tyre levers, but they don't work well with deep section carbon wheels. I was recommended these by a friend and despite the high cost bought a couple and having used them a few times now I can safely say that they are worth every penny. The shape means that you can get a decent amount of leverage without making contact with the aero section of the wheel and potentially damaging it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Inov-8 Race Ultra Gaiter (AW16)
Inov-8 Race Ultra Gaiter (AW16)
A lightweight water-resistant gaiter that keeps debris out of the shoe. Clips into on-the-shoe attachment points found on all race ultra shoes roclite 295, 280 and x-talon 212.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"the fit of these is slightly odd, the are tight around the shoe itself, but baggy around the ankles, with the ankle cuff not forming an affective seal around the leg.
The pair I was sent seemed to be from two different sizes, so I returned them and opted for the cotton type gaiters from inov-8, which are great"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria Corsa CX branded belt is exclusively made with their famous Corsa CX tread pattern.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Posted05 September 2016
mike07
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"as a belt its ok, but the black version looks much nicer than the white, which always looks a bit dirty. The review comments and other sites indicated that this came with a water bottle tool caddy, but the one I was sent didn't."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
mike07's Questions
 
Alloy S-bend extensions for the interval or prologue time trial bar platforms.
 

Are bar end plugs included?

Do these come supplied with bar end plugs?
2 years, 5 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
dhb Minima S Waterproof Jacket 2013
Teflon coated, fully taped, waterproof and breathable rain shell Jacket. Excellent rain protection in a tiny package!
 

packed size

What are the dimensions of this jacket when packed down into its stuff sack?

Thank you
2 years, 9 months ago
by
mike07
 
Body Glide is the perfect skin protection balm and ideal for everyday work, travel & fitness activities including running. The balm is designed to protect you from chafing & skin irratation where clothing comes into close contact with skin.
 

Roughly how long does a stick last for?

If I swim once a week in the lake and only lube up my neck (the only place that my wetsuit chafes), how long should a stick last?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
mike07
 
 dhb Powerguard Compression Short
dhb Powerguard Compression Short
Effective for both extra support during exercise or to aid muscle recovery, the dhb Powerguard Compression Short offers an impressive compression effect and outstanding freedom of movement.
 

Does this pair of shorts have a key pocket?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
mike07's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Ideal as a first clipless pedal due to the adjustable cleat tension, this means you can start off with loose tension for extra easy engagement & release, & turn up the tension as you progress.
 

Do these come with cleats and cleat nuts?

It says in the description that you need SH56 cleats, but often peddals come with a pair of cleats and nuts and I wanted to check before I bought a separate pair. Thanks.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Yes they come with cleats and mounting hardware
1 year, 7 months ago
by
mike07
 
 Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Pack of 2 dome head M3 x 8mm screws.
 

will these fit hope minis?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
They fit the mini's that I bought in 2001ish...
1 year, 10 months ago
by
mike07
 
 Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Hope Torx Dome Head Screws
Pack of 2 dome head M3 x 8mm screws.
 

Are these screws used for bolting rotors on to hubs?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Nope they are for attaching the top cap of the brake reservoir
1 year, 10 months ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

does this trainer require a riser block and is it essential to have a specific turbo trainer rear tyre

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Its a good idea to have a riser block to keep your posture the same as it would be on the road, I just use a piece of wood under the front wheel.

Regarding turbo tyres, I have a spare wheel that I use on the turbo that I got with an old tyre that is too worn or damaged to use on the road...
1 year, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
ZERO is the UK’s leading electrolyte sports drink tab. It produces a clean-tasting and highly refreshing drink with zero calories. The tabs contain light natural flavours with no artificial colours or preservatives.
 

Can I ate the zero high 5 tablet without diluting it?

I like the glucose tablets in energy drink but i always struggle to drink the full bottle of water. Can i eat the tablet without diluting it to give me a quicker boost of energy without me having to consume lots of liquid.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The high 5 zero tabs don't contain any calories as far as I'm aware, so you won't get any benefit from eating them, from an energy perspective
1 year, 11 months ago
by
mike07
 
Threadless conversion for threaded forks allowing a larger range of modern stems to be fitted to older bikes. Converts a 1" quill stem bike to accept 1-1/8" threadless stems.
 

Fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer?

Is this converter will allow me to fit a 1" threadless stem to a 1" threaded steerer, to replace my existing quill stem?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
If just fitted one of these to my old road bike and its designed for a 1 1/8th inch theadless stem. Hope that helps.
2 years ago
by
mike07
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 

Does this pump come with a bracket mount, or do I need to buy one separately?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
yep it comes with a bracket to attach to the bottle bosses.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
 LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
LifeLine USB LED Double Beam Light Set
USB rechargeable double front and rear light set. With six lighting modes, a water resistant casing and simple operation, the LifeLine Double Beam LED is an ideal light for dark commute lighting conditions and night riding.
 

Can the rear light be fitted to a saddle bag?

I have a scicon elan saddle bag. I have just discovered that it obscures my rear light at a drivers eye level so am looking for a rear light that will fit on the light clip. Is this light suitable? Or do I need something more light weight? Can you recommend a suitable light? Thank-you
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The light isn't really intended to be fitted to a light loop on a saddle pack as there isn't a clip on the light itself only the rubber strap to attach the light to the seatpost.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Clutch knob

Does this have the "clutch knob" resistance unit adustment that clicks when the unit is the correct tightness on the tyre? The latest models appear to have these according the the cycleops home page. It looks like it was introduced round Dec 2013 judging from the press.
Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
The one that i received has the clutch knob fitted, which is great to take the guess work out of setting it up.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
mike07
 
If it's important to you to make every workout count, the Fluid2 trainer is the most valuable weapon you can add to your indoor training arsenal.
 

Installatin and left bolt

The left bolt needs to be adjusted - but how? The manual says pull and twist, but the unit is so tight this is impossible. Am I missing something?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
It should just slide out, mine was a snug fit but has freed up over time.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
mike07