RichyS
Share RichyS's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RichyS's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    30 October 2011
  • Last Review
    13 May 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    10 August 2012
  • Last Answer
    10 August 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
RichyS's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Premium handlebar tape with a matte velvet perforated finish for secure grip on the drops and flats. With a 2mm thick profile and a gel component, LifeLine Bar Tape provides increased cushioning and comfort on endurance road rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bit jazzy looking for my tastes!
Posted13 May 2018
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
RichyS
fromRoyal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm normally a straight down the road regular Cinelli cork guy, but thought I might get something a bit more shock absorbing for a London to Paris ride. The tape isn't too thick and is relatively easy to fit (not quite as stretchy as the Cinelli cork). The surface is slightly suede effect and a touch on the shiny side for my tastes. Hopefully it'll do the trick for Paris, then back to good old cork for me!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lifeline Stem Faceplate mount is a incredibly neat, all in one solution for mounting your Garmin Edge GPS and an action camera.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice mount
Posted14 April 2018
RichyS
fromRoyal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Nice little mount for Garmin and GoPro. It comes with several different length allen bolts, so should fit most stem face plates (so long as you have two top bolts).
Once fitted, it securely holds the Garmin -- slightly angled up (rather than inline with the stem), which is helpful. The GoPro mount firmly grips my GoPro Session cage -- unlike some other cheap metal mounts I've bought.
Only downside is the slightly naff graphics. These come off fairly easily though!
All in all, a good mount. Not too heavy, and nicely cleans up the cockpit. Recommended!"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: naff graphics
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The classic top trumps game you love but with the best in 2017 cycling legends. A great gift idea for any cycling fanatic
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic artwork -- really high quality
Posted12 December 2017
RichyS
fromRoyal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought a pack of these originally at one of the London Freecycle stands -- mostly because my son loves Top Trumps and cycling (he's 8). Loved them so much I not only bought more packs, but bought a couple of custom A2 posters of my children from the guys at Pro Cycling Trumps.
The artwork is fantastic. Very stylised, but somehow captures the essence of your favourite riders. Brilliantly done. Great stats that someone has clearly put a lot of thought into so that you can actually have a good game of Top Trumps. And the card stock itself is of a very high quality, so the cards keep looking good even after many intensive gaming sessions!"
Pros: Attractive, contains your favourite pros!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shimano have developed the RT82 sole to offer the stiffness and sleek profile of a road shoe with convenience of an SPD design. This creates a lightweight, road style shoe perfect for high mileage touring and recreational applications.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted28 July 2015
RichyS
fromRoyal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I'm normally a size 45, but had to go 46 due to my wide (G fitting) feet. These shoes aren't Italian narrow, but neither are they snow shoes!
I was a little concerned that they wouldn't be very stiff compared to the carbon fibre soled Nikes these are replacing (it's very hard to get 2 bolt road shoes these days). But, I needn't have worried. Plenty stiff enough for good power transfer.
The shape of the soles and recessed cleats make these very easy to walk in (thus pub/cafe compliant).
Ratchet seems well made. Good and breathable (a little chilly in cold weather, if anything).
Only possible downside is that these aren't the lightest shoes in the world. OTOH, there are plenty of other places I can lose weight first!"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Great Value, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Lightweight Long Finger Road Gloves
dhb Lightweight Long Finger Road Gloves
The dhb Long Finger Summer Road Glove is a stylish and technical cycling glove which features temperature regulating panels, a foam padded palm for enhanced comfort and absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent spring/autumn gloves for the money
Posted10 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
RichyS
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good lightweight(isn) gloves for the money. I was a little worried that the velco closure would fall apart pretty quickly (the loop end is sewn directly onto the lightweight mesh backing); but it appears to be holding up fine.
For me the gloves work across a decent temp. window: 6deg to 14/15deg.
The gloves are quite roomy (could easily be used with liners for colder days). Fingers seem odd lengths (though could be me!). Very long index finger, and quite short little finger. Certainly not an issue I have with other gloves, but then I suppose"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Clean Ride is Cycling's Only Self-Cleaning Lubricant. Clean Ride literally sheds dirt and grime while you ride, keeping your bike running smoothly.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great lube -- dirty drivetrain a thing of the past
Posted20 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
RichyS
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Okay, it's a bit of a hassle getting your chain properly grease free and dry (white spirit is your friend!), but once you have tha lube keeps things running very smoothly, and genuinely muck and grime free. Brilliant stuff!"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Shoddy bearings
Posted14 July 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
RichyS
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The bearings on both sides are shot after 6 months of commuting 12 miles each day (less than1500 miles).
Doing some research suggests I'm not alone. Annoyingly the GXP system that SRAM use for their cranks mean that there are very few BB options out there. Won't be buying STAM kit again..."
Pros: cheap
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Hope Steel Rod MTB Quick Release set is designed to reduce weight and look amazing on your bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautifully made,works flawlessly
Posted1 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RichyS
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Incredibly well made. Uses brass washers instead of plastic, so that the cam closing works flawlessly (unlike many similarly priced QRs).
The only thing that would make it perfect is if the lettering on the rear QR was the other way around. Right now 'Hope' reads upside down if your QR lever is pointing in the right direction, as per "The Rules"!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
dhb Long Sleeve Momentum Jersey
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent kit at an excellent price
Posted6 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
RichyS
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been very impressed with DHB tops, and this is no exception. Good, thick, warm material that is well made. Nice and warm down to low single figure temps (with a base layer, natch).
Centre rear pocket has a handy headphone hole for your iPhone. Two additional capacious pockets hold gels/food and spares securely. A final handy zipped pocket works for cash for the mandatory tea and date slice stop.
Only downside for me is that the arms could be a bit closer fitting. Or maybe I just need to bulk up a bit..."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, warm
Cons: slightly i'll fitting arms
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not up to DHB's usual standard
Posted10 August 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
RichyS
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this to replace a DHB Knowle top (which sadly got wrecked in a gravel heavy crash!). It really isn't up to the same standard. The material is significantly flimsier, and the fit not nearly so good. The Knowle fitted me perfectly, but the Trace in the same notional size was too tight around the chest, yet baggy on the arms.
I found the zip too small and fiddly (and a little short for a racing top), and the cloth a little on the thin side.
I've returned mine, and hoping to find the DHB Chevron a little closer to the Knowle in terms of quality. Why DHB stopped making the Knowle is beyond me..."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RichyS's Questions
 
RichyS has not submitted any questions.
 
RichyS's Answers
 
 dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Trace Short Sleeve Jersey
The Trace jersey uses a polyester fabric treated with an anti bacterial process and has natural wicking properties. Also, buy the Trace Bibshort to complete the outfit.
 

Does this jersel have a zipped pocket

No, just 3 open pockets along the back. I think the DHB Chevron has a central zipped pocket though.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
RichyS
London, UK