DarthMTB
Top 1000 Contributor
Share DarthMTB's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
DarthMTB's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    30 June 2009
  • Last Review
    22 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 March 2011
  • Last Answer
    17 October 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
DarthMTB's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Ripcord housing is the flagship of Jagwire's housing lineup.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best MTB Gear Inners & Outers On the market
Posted22 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have used many gear cable inners and outers and this is by far the best.
It does the job and is very durable, hardly any stretch in the cable and the outers look great too. The finishing of the ferrels etc are top class.
Highly recommend"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ready for 2012, For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fast to make, great tasting
Posted17 October 2013
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to make, great tasting (banana flavour) for help post ride.
I have used a few different protein drinks for immediatley after my rides and this one is the best.
It is easy to make, fully measured for you and it taste greats. Easy to mix, no issues of getting bits not broken up etc."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, taste great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deda design for great performance at an affordable price. Made from 6061 light alloy (3D forged) and features embossed D logo and flip-flop graphics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great priced stem
Posted17 October 2013
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this stem for my winter hack. My summer bike as Deda stems and they look great and fit great.
This is a great priced stem and still looks great,"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic for price, looks and performance
Posted17 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this jacket for when I MTB on the moors in cold days. I generally prefer to wear base layers, jerseys & a gillet, but this is just perfect for that added protection.
The look of it (I got the red one) is great. It isnt too thick to over heat, and isnt too thin to be no use.
It has a great collar to keep you a bit warm when you're not working as hard and cuff straps to keep the cold out too.
The rear pocket is a handy addition too (I dont ride with a pack) so its easier as you're not having to lift your jacket up whilst riding to get gels or bars.
Highly recommended"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Ultra light 100% Nylon micro ripstop wind protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product at a great price
Posted09 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to keep the chill off on a morning when it wasnt too cold for a full jacket.
I normally ride with a gillet and a long sleeve base and warm warmers but that was a pain at cafe stops, now I just wear this with or without arm warmers underneath.
The Red colour is brilliant and it looks great. It isnt as breathable as the other jackets but for the price you expect this.
A great budget jacket."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Pedro’s Chainj has been engineered to provide superior wear protection and lubrication under high load with increased performance in wet conditions, reducing wear to drivetrain components.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Lube Ive Used
Posted27 March 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is quite simply the best lube I have used.
I commute 5 times a week in all weathers and this has done my commuter a proud job. In the wetest of weathers I just add a little more lube but thats me being paranoid.
I use it on my road & MTB and never had a problem at all. Both chains run fine"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Standard Tubeless Kit
Standard Tubeless Kit
Stan's tubeless system converts your existing wheel set to tubeless. Allows you to use either standard or tubeless tyres. Saving hundreds of dollars and weight over purchasing other Tubeless Systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple Easy To Use WIth Clear Instructions
Posted02 August 2011
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought the standard kit for my wheels and its very easy to use with clear instructions. The website is good to see what rims are compatible.
It is expensive however for what it is."
Pros: Durable, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Laczem MTB City Tyre
Laczem MTB City Tyre
A new commuter tyre that is also at ease on hard-packed unpaved tracks.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Brilliant Budget Slick
Posted01 August 2011
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these for my gfriend to use on the Way of the Roses ride on her MTB.
They were easy to get on and have been used for a lot more rides and are still going very strong!
These would be ideal for a budget commute tyre."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Compact version of the Metropolis, designed to carry all of the daily essentials and more.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Commuter Bag with Bags of Room
Posted27 July 2011
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been using this bag now for 6 months and its brilliant.
The bag is very durable and the should strap is adjustable to get it comfortable depending on the load you have. It also has a stabalising strap too for bulky loads. The flap has a very waterproof cover on and is very durbable.
The internal compartment is brilliant. It has two compartments shut off also if you have wet gear and want it separating.
There are also compartments for keys, phone, pens, tools etc. I have managed loads including my laptop, shoes, clothes, lunch, documents. With no problems at all.
It is pricy, however you do get what you pay for."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Muc-Off Chain Cleaner Aerosol rapidly removes heavy chain grime quickly and safely and is also bio-degradable. It breaks down oil, grease and grim, leaving the chain containment free.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quick cleaner
Posted27 July 2011
DarthMTB
fromLeeds, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you are after a quick chain cleaner to get grease and dirt off your chain I would recommend this. I have used this directly onto the chain or with a chain cleaning kit. Both work very well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
DarthMTB's Questions
 
DarthMTB has not submitted any questions.
 
DarthMTB's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention.X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drastically enh...
 

Can you tell me how many links these chains have? I need 116, and most 9 speed chains seem to come as 114 links.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
116 IIRC
6 months ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
Deda design for great performance at an affordable price. Made from 6061 light alloy (3D forged) and features embossed D logo and flip-flop graphics.
 

Hi there. Do you know if this stem will fit the Giant Defy range? I'm using a Defy 1. Thanks.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
6 months ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Back of jacket

What does the back of this jacket look like?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It has a rear pocket and looks nice.
6 months ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

Can you clarify the promise date?

I would like to order the red M or L jacket but i would like to know when it will be with me. I recently had a pannier off you but there were supplier problems and it took 3 months to arrive.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Bought mine, took 2 days to arrive.

I assume the Pannier wasnt in stock.
6 months ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
 Standard Tubeless Kit
Standard Tubeless Kit
Stan's tubeless system converts your existing wheel set to tubeless. Allows you to use either standard or tubeless tyres. Saving hundreds of dollars and weight over purchasing other Tubeless Systems.
 

I want to convert some Alex rims XD-Lites that are running Shrader valves, will this kit work with the big hole in the rim?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Check the website out here - http://www.notubes.com/SelectingRimStrip.aspx

The kit comes with a strip with built in presta valve and should seal the hole sufficiently enough to have no air leaks.

Most, if not all Alex rims are compatibile.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
 Standard Tubeless Kit
Standard Tubeless Kit
Stan's tubeless system converts your existing wheel set to tubeless. Allows you to use either standard or tubeless tyres. Saving hundreds of dollars and weight over purchasing other Tubeless Systems.
 

So if I do get a puncture with tubeless tires how do I repair them? Thanks you.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Depends on the puncture.

If its a small hole i.e from a thorn or a nail it should autoseal.

If its a side wall fail, youll need a tube and new tyre.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
 SLX M660 9 Speed Rapidfire Pods
SLX M660 9 Speed Rapidfire Pods
Tough, aggressive and light weight All-Mountain SLX Rapidfire shift levers with 2-way release function. 2-way release allows shifting from various riding positions; the upper lever still performs the same shift function, but it can now swing in either direction allowing it to be released by the thum...
 

Compatability

I need replacements for my Deore SL-M510 shifters for a 9 speed. Are these compatible?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, I did the same and very happy I did
3 years, 1 month ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention.X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drastically enh...
 

Is this compatible with 9-speed Deore HG50 cassette?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
3 years, 1 month ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention.X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drastically enh...
 

Missing link means tool-free installation?

Is the "missing link" the same as the ones you can buy individually? That is, does it function in a similar way to the SRAM powerlink?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
3 years, 1 month ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention.X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drastically enh...
 

Do you need a connecting pin?

I've looked and can't find any info, but do you need a mushrooming connecting pin (like you would with a shimano chain) when splitting and rejoining this chain? I'd imagine not, but the KMC website suggests that the pins mushroom out, which would be removed when you remove the pin.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
All KMC Chains come with a powerlink.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
DarthMTB
Leeds, UK