cyclopropane
Share cyclopropane's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
cyclopropane's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    05 December 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 November 2010
  • Last Question
    26 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    19 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    27 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
cyclopropane's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
New name but the performance you love, the Gabba long sleeve becomes the Perfetto long sleeve because that is what these garments are - perfect! This jersey offers so much adaptability in one garment you really could use it all year round.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wind proof ,water resistant ,stylish
Posted05 December 2017
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Excellent piece of kit best on the market wind proof, very water resistant and you don't get that boiled in a bag feeling . as with all Castelli tops remember to take the next size up."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Functional brakepads
Posted14 November 2017
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good pads ,do their job well at a good price . better than cheaper alternatives"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The SuperGel is the most shock absorbing glove in the range, featuring high end materials and 6mm DoctorGel padding. These gloves offer maximum protection against hand fatigue and are the perfect choice for riders who suffer from numbness on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fingers fell apart after 3 rides
Posted30 June 2017
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Unfortunately these gloves fell apart after three rides which is a shame as they were very comfortable
Wiggle refunded the money no quibbling excellent customer care
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket AW15
Gore Bike Wear Oxygen 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket AW15
The finest GORE-TEX® Active waterproof jacket GORE BIKE WEAR® have made to date. Leaning on almost 30 years of experience in performance outerwear. This jacket mixes the lightest fabric, 3 dimensional ergonomic cut and the latest technologies.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Waterproof & windproof
Posted07 January 2016
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Fit is Good, sleeves long enough when on the drops without annoying gaps. at the wrist and drop back stays in place.
the Gore Fabric definitely works.
In the rain the waterproofing is solid, although I have owned this jacket for only a short period with the current UK weather it has been put to the test. windproof and waterproof
Only problem is its not really easy to stuff in a back pocket like the old oxygen jackets so loses a star.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Bulky, Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
K-EDGE GO BIG Handlebar Mount is designed to lock your GoPro™ camera securely on your handlebars with rock solid reliability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Sturdy
Posted08 February 2015
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The handle bar mount is a well finished product which is a lot more robust than the one supplied by Gopro.
The only issue is as with the Go pro mount there is a lot of judder on filming which shows on playback.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Gabba 2 Long Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Gabba 2 Long Sleeve Jersey
A protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Originally developed by the Cervelo Test Team, the Gabba jersey was and still is a breakthrough in comfort and wet weather protection
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Jersey out there
Posted27 November 2014
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you are going to buy one jersey than its got to be this one ,especially living in damp old England windproof ,highly water resistant and i have not overheated in it at any stage.and it washes as new every time.
Dries overnight. combined with a longsleeve baselayer you cannot go wrong.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Exclusive Pro Edition Nanoflex Bib Short
Castelli Exclusive Pro Edition Nanoflex Bib Short
A perfect short for changeable but milder weather conditions where water resistance is a real bonus when showers strike. Keeps you drier and maintains comfort for longer when getting in the hard miles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great water resistant bibtight
Posted27 October 2014
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The new Nanoflex bib short is as good as its predecessor the padding is comfy ,water resistance is good and the added coloured cuff on the outside leg adds a touch to the look .Yellow colour is quite fluorescent so an added extra."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Feroce Midweight Base Layer
Castelli Feroce Midweight Base Layer
A versatile Midweight Baselayer that incorporates arm warmers for use under a short sleeve jersey. The stretchy sleeves roll up when the temperature rises and lighter weight fabric sit under your bib straps for an even fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good all in one feature
Posted28 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Excellent base layer for cooler days ,snug fit, arm warmer like sleeves can be rolled up when the going gets tough.
Expensive
"
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm up rub for cold, wet, windy conditions - the more used, the hotter it gets - winter training has never been so comfortable!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tub
Posted12 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Warms you up in no time . not much required.be sure to wash your hands after application"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wind and water resistant
Posted11 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Had these for some time now they are a great pieace of kit wind proof and water resistant"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
cyclopropane's Questions
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 

are these shoes spd-sl compatible?

Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Winter Road Cycling Boot
7 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 Garmin GB Discoverer™ 1:50k All of Great Britain Card
Garmin GB Discoverer™ 1:50k All of Great Britain Card
Full 1:50k scale Ordnance Survey coverage for the whole of Great Britain on a single preprogrammed microSD™/SD™ card
 

I want to buy this product

But is it the correct choice for cycling and is it compatable with the garmin edge 705?
5 years, 1 month ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 

sizing

Does the sizing chart accurately apply to these gloves by castelli ,as i take a large for most companies in jerseys but always have to size up to a x large with castelli ,does the same apply to their gloves?
Thanks Rick
5 years, 1 month ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
cyclopropane's Answers
 
 Castelli Exclusive Pro Edition Nanoflex Bib Short
Castelli Exclusive Pro Edition Nanoflex Bib Short
A perfect short for changeable but milder weather conditions where water resistance is a real bonus when showers strike. Keeps you drier and maintains comfort for longer when getting in the hard miles.
 

Size – 5’7” 70kg 98 chest

What size is correct for 5’7” 70kg and 98 chest? I wear Assos in Small. Is this bib short a relaxed, comfort or competitive fit?
I am 5' 10" 74 kg i have bought the XLs which fit fine i could get into a large but i reckon you would suit a medium.
3 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 Castelli Exclusive Pro Edition Nanoflex Bib Short
Castelli Exclusive Pro Edition Nanoflex Bib Short
A perfect short for changeable but milder weather conditions where water resistance is a real bonus when showers strike. Keeps you drier and maintains comfort for longer when getting in the hard miles.
 

How does the fit compare to last years nanoflex bib with the Kiss3 pad?

I wear the castelli aero race bin in XL. I have the older (non-pro?) castelli nanoflex in XL and they are two large (longer leg is good, but too loose at the hip). Is this _new_ pro nanoflex bib cut like the older one, or smaller?
They are very much the same
3 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 Castelli Gabba 2 Long Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Gabba 2 Long Sleeve Jersey
A protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Originally developed by the Cervelo Test Team, the Gabba jersey was and still is a breakthrough in comfort and wet weather protection
 

Is this a jersey or a jacket- and what really is the difference?

How would this compare with the Gore Xenon Windstopper Softshell, which is sold as a jacket?
Personally i use them as a jersey or jacket combine them with a merino base layer and they are as good as any jacket being highly water resistant and windproof .Much better than the gore xenon which i also have .
3 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 

Could you wear these under bib tights?

In need of additional warmth under bib tights for deep winter conditions, would these be appropriate or make the tights too tight?
Also how far up the thigh do they come?
Theoretically you could wear theses under bibtights they are quite thin but are water resistant and windproof and the tights would slide up over them
They go right up to the top of your thighs being very stretchy.
3 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 

Whats the correct size?

Hi ,

Im 6ft, 82kg, 33inch waist and 32inch inside leg.
What is the correct size for me?

Thanks
I am 5"11 and buy the large size i could get away with a medium as strangely for castelli its quite big so would be fine for you
3 years, 1 month ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Leg Warmers
Gore Bike Wear Universal Softshell Leg Warmers
Insulating leg warmers with a windproof membrane for cold and light rain protection. Featuring an anatomic construction and gripper cuff elastic for a close race fit as you speed though the crisp winter air on your favourite training rides.
 

Alternative use...

I'm struggling to find base layer leggings to go over my shorts and under my DHB winter tights. It occurred to me that these might do the trick?

Does anybody wear leg warmers under tights or even have an opinion on whether it is possible?

Thanks
Hi Seems a bit strange this suggestion but its an old army trick we used to wear silk stockings underneath our combats to keep warm . suits you sir i hear you say .
However you can buy silk socks etc which have the same effect much like wearing silk glove liners under a pair of winter gloves.
Try it and see
Rick
4 years, 11 months ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 Short Sleeve Compression Base Layer SS11
Short Sleeve Compression Base Layer SS11
Utilising our exclusive 50D/CK fabric we have combined a 50 denier Lycra together with a revolutionary circular high knit gauge construction, which provides the most compressive fabric on the market.
 

What base layer should i buy?

Hi I am a new cyclist and looking for some extra warmth in winter and was suggested I should buy a bas layer and then people started about compression base layers. I have good arm warmers so looking for a t-shirt only style. Was looking at your 2XU Short sleave compression layer. Would you recommend this as the best alternative. Also wondering if the 2XU leggings we a good idea for recovery
Hi I wouldnt go for a compression top for a base layer . I would look at Craft base layers and Castelli .They have a full range of base layers for all types of conditions and believe me you need them over here in England.
 
Products from my answer
Zero Extreme WindStopper Base Layer AW10
4.8 out of 5(78)
 
 
 
 
Craft Zero Extreme Wind Stopper Base Layer - 2010 SS10
4.7 out of 5(62)
 
 
 
 
 
7 years, 1 month ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton