cyclopropane
Share cyclopropane's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
cyclopropane's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    27 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 November 2010
  • Last Question
    26 October 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    19 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    27 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
cyclopropane's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A perfect short for changeable but milder weather conditions where water resistance is a real bonus when showers strike. Keeps you drier and maintains comfort for longer when getting in the hard miles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great water resistant bibtight
Posted27 October 2014
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The new Nanoflex bib short is as good as its predecessor the padding is comfy ,water resistance is good and the added coloured cuff on the outside leg adds a touch to the look .Yellow colour is quite fluorescent so an added extra."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile Midweight Baselayer that incorporates arm warmers for use under a short sleeve jersey. The stretchy sleeves roll up when the temperature rises and lighter weight fabric sit under your bib straps for an even fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good all in one feature
Posted28 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Excellent base layer for cooler days ,snug fit, arm warmer like sleeves can be rolled up when the going gets tough.
Expensive
"
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm up rub for cold, wet, windy conditions - the more used, the hotter it gets - winter training has never been so comfortable!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tub
Posted12 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Warms you up in no time . not much required.be sure to wash your hands after application"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Leg warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wind and water resistant
Posted11 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Had these for some time now they are a great pieace of kit wind proof and water resistant"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Siberian Bike Gloves
Craft Siberian Bike Gloves
Wind and waterproof cycling gloves with a fleece lining for insulation and comfort. Craft Siberian gloves feature a velcro cuff closure and a weather proof shell to seal out the elements on sub-zero winter training rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted08 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent Glove
However i bought size XL according to sizing chart and they just fit would advise to size up.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Sottile Waterproof Vest
Sottile Waterproof Vest
Essential in changing weather conditions, the Sottile Jacket gives you waterproof protection in a lightweight package that fits easily into a jersey pocket.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal British summer rain kit
Posted19 July 2011
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is the best piece of kit I have bought to protect me from the typical british summer of showers and wind .Ideal to begin an early morning start as a warm up garment.
Good ventilation so you dont get soaked internally.
You will not notice you are wearing it and will scrunch up to nothing in your rear pocket.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Risvolto Winter Cap
Risvolto Winter Cap
Warmer Fabric Warmer is more than a name, it's exactly what the fabric delivers during workouts. Its fleecy inside keeps you warm, while 100% polyester fibres quickly wick sweat away. It's the fabric of choice when thermal insulation is equally important as moisture management.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted09 December 2010
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good looking comfortable hat.
Nice and warm, wind resistant
Nice stiff peak which stays in position .
The ear cover part of the hat could be a little longer though for us guys with larger ears, every time i raise my eye brows it flips over the ear lobes.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: ear cover needs to be longer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
Tarmac NPU Road Overshoes
For the coming season the PRO overshoe range has been completely revamped and is bigger and better than ever. Innovative features, great designs, and excellent media reviews make PRO overshoes the obvious choice.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted09 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The overshoes do what is said on the tin
functional and well made ,only used twice and it has not rained yet but they keep your feet nice and cosy.
They could make a larger size as i have size 46 and the xxl is a struggle to get on.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fondo Bib Tight
Fondo Bib Tight
The ideal choice for those who live in chilly areas and need all-day warmth. With our Thermoflex fabric, you get a stretchy layer of cold-weather protection with a fleecy inside that traps a layer of warm air next to your skin. Thermoflex Thermoflex gives you a stretchy layer of cold weather protection. Its fleecy inside traps a layer of warm air next to your skin, while its high stretch gives you an aerodynamic fit. Kiss 3 Seat Pad The kiss3 seat pad aims to incorporate as many of the features and comfort as the top-of-the-line progetto x2 seat pad but at a more affordable price. 1. Seamless skin care layer A super soft, brushed microfiber top that maximizes comfort and fit. Seamlessly engineered to eliminate chafing and abrasion. Flexible to move with you. Bacteriostatic treatment to avoid saddle sores and infection. 2. Continuously variable thickness Dual density and infinitely variable thickness gives you the perfect cushioning for every part of the pad. Maximum thickness and density in the ischial zone, tapering to moderate thickness in the perineum, and minimum thickness at the perimeter. 3. Anatomical shape Comfort is further enhanced by creating a perfect interface to your body during every pedal stroke.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted18 November 2010
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Good functional tights from castelli as with all their clothing would go up a size.
Not worn much yet but winter will judge the tights.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, good value in sale
Cons: tight fit would go up a size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Short Sleeve Compression Base Layer SS11
Short Sleeve Compression Base Layer SS11
Utilising our exclusive 50D/CK fabric we have combined a 50 denier Lycra together with a revolutionary circular high knit gauge construction, which provides the most compressive fabric on the market.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted19 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cyclopropane
fromTaunton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Excellent compression top.
Robust keeps its shape .
Only problem its a bit too tight around the rear of the shoulder near the arm pit and digs in a bit .
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
cyclopropane's Questions
 
Designed for the coldest cycling conditions. The Estremo Glove is constructed from a Windstopper® X-Fast fabric combined with a fleecy material on the palm, covered with silicone texture for grip and durability. Essential for deep winter training.
 

sizing

Does the sizing chart accurately apply to these gloves by castelli ,as i take a large for most companies in jerseys but always have to size up to a x large with castelli ,does the same apply to their gloves?
Thanks Rick
2 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
Full 1:50k scale Ordnance Survey coverage for the whole of Great Britain on a single preprogrammed microSD™/SD™ card
 

I want to buy this product

But is it the correct choice for cycling and is it compatable with the garmin edge 705?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 

are these shoes spd-sl compatible?

Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Winter Road Cycling Boot
4 years ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
cyclopropane's Answers
 
Warm breathable Leg warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. Nano Flex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 

Whats the correct size?

Hi ,

Im 6ft, 82kg, 33inch waist and 32inch inside leg.
What is the correct size for me?

Thanks
I am 5"11 and buy the large size i could get away with a medium as strangely for castelli its quite big so would be fine for you
3 weeks, 5 days ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
Insulating Leg warmers with a Windproof Membrane for breathable chill and light rain protection. Featuring an anatomic construction and gripper cuff elastic for a close race fit as you speed though the crisp winter air on cycle training rides.
 

Alternative use...

I'm struggling to find base layer leggings to go over my shorts and under my DHB winter tights. It occurred to me that these might do the trick?

Does anybody wear leg warmers under tights or even have an opinion on whether it is possible?

Thanks
Hi Seems a bit strange this suggestion but its an old army trick we used to wear silk stockings underneath our combats to keep warm . suits you sir i hear you say .
However you can buy silk socks etc which have the same effect much like wearing silk glove liners under a pair of winter gloves.
Try it and see
Rick
1 year, 11 months ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton
 
 Short Sleeve Compression Base Layer SS11
Short Sleeve Compression Base Layer SS11
Utilising our exclusive 50D/CK fabric we have combined a 50 denier Lycra together with a revolutionary circular high knit gauge construction, which provides the most compressive fabric on the market.
 

What base layer should i buy?

Hi I am a new cyclist and looking for some extra warmth in winter and was suggested I should buy a bas layer and then people started about compression base layers. I have good arm warmers so looking for a t-shirt only style. Was looking at your 2XU Short sleave compression layer. Would you recommend this as the best alternative. Also wondering if the 2XU leggings we a good idea for recovery
Hi I wouldnt go for a compression top for a base layer . I would look at Craft base layers and Castelli .They have a full range of base layers for all types of conditions and believe me you need them over here in England.
 
Products from my answer
Zero Extreme WindStopper Base Layer AW10
4.8 out of 5(78)
 
 
 
 
Zero Extreme Wind Stopper Base Layer - 2010 SS10
4.7 out of 5(62)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 1 month ago
by
cyclopropane
Taunton