OrangeAddict
Share OrangeAddict's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
OrangeAddict's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    21
  • First Review
    21 October 2009
  • Last Review
    20 February 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    7 December 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    20 February 2018
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    18 September 2010
  • Last Answer
    12 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
OrangeAddict's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Schwalbe Inside tyre has been designed specifically for use with turbo trainers and rollers (not for riding on the open road). The compound has a much lower internal resistance thus making it particularly suitable for roller training.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it's supposed to
Posted20 February 2018
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" Intensly blue, robust and after 200kms it still shows no sign of "squaring off"
Getting this to fit my wheel was hard work and I would only recommend it if - like me - you are going to leave it on a spare wheel that's going to be used on your turbo
Summary: it's a hard-wearing turbo tyre "
Pros: Attractive, Durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Powerbox combines trusted FSA Chainset Technology with Power2Max power functionality to give you all the data you need.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
The price is just the begining... don't buy
Posted20 February 2018
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" I purchased this meter in October 2017 because I wanted left-right balance as part of a re-hab programme following a spine injury. At the time the firmware upgrade was promised in November and no mention of charges being levied for it.
Step one was getting it fitted - so a new BB required because it wasn't compatible with my existing FSA Mega (Requires BB86 or BB30) : £50
Step two was paying the bike shop to fit it ... you could skip this but I'm wary of playing around with the BB on a carbon frame : £80
Step three was waiting three months for the firmware upgrade to be released because it kept getting delayed
Step four really annoyed me - they firmware upgrade comes in four parts each requiring an additional €50 fee respectively for Bluetooth, L/R Power, Smoothness and Torque. Take them all and you've just spent another €200
By this time you've spent more than the cost of the Garmin pedals and in my case I'm struggling to work out how to actually transmit the firmware update to the powermeter. There seem to be no step-by-step guides and the Android App (no IOS yet) is a Beta version that causes the App to flash dire warnings at you before downloading
It may eventually be a good product but at present I am finding it very hard to live with and the FSA/Saxonar support woeful "
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
 
RollerBoys (jockey Wheels) equipped with low friction ceramic bearings for ultra-smooth glide and exceptional durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Use and forget
Posted12 November 2014
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Put these on my Orange Five three years ago - still going strong! "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Deore BB51 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Shimano Deore BB51 Bottom Bracket Cup Set
Genuine Shimano HollowTech II bottom bracket assembly
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good at the price
Posted26 June 2014
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" Feels lovely and smooth at present. Previous one lasted 24 months of regular, heavy weekend use ... at the end of which it felt as if I had rubble round my cranks. Much soul searching on buying a top end replacement as I have in my trail centre bike and which has proved bombproof... but at four times the price I guess I can afford to change it every couple of years. "
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Race King 29er MTB Tyre
Continental Race King 29er MTB Tyre
When its dry, the Race King 29er is faster, cleaner and safer with a rolling resistance is almost on a par with semi-slick tyres. Now available in 29er size.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smooth
Posted26 June 2014
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" Slightly tricky getting on - very tight bead, but rolling resistance is perceptibly lower than the Maxis high roller knobblies that came off. "
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted23 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" Not the easiest of tools to use and I expect a bke shop old have somehing better but a the prce it's fine or ome use "
Pros: Great Value
Cons: fiddly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench
A 1/4" drive torque wrench and 7 precision sockets. For use on bike components that require accurate setting. Ideal for fitting stems, levers, chainsets and handlebars, etc. A must have addition to any enthusiasts tool kit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted20 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" I'm a private user maintaining mine and my wife's mountain bikes. For this limited amount of use this product is more than up to the job and after some original misgivings generated by other reviews I have to say after buying and using it I would have no hesitation about recommending it. "
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light
Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light
With 5 superbright LEDs, the Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light will make you easily visible to other road users from every angle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bright, Light, Easy to use
Posted6 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" Easy to fit (put two on different bikes in less than ten minuts), and the unit takes a couple of seconds to detach from it's mounting bracket if you don't want to leave it on the bike. Braket comes with a bunch of spacers to allow it to fit a varity of sizes of seatposts.
Easy to use - a simple press and release button that sequntialy goes through continuous, flash and chaser modes of operation.
Not yet used a full set of batteries so time will tell how much power it uses - but it's LEDs so shouldn't be too hungry.
Appears reasonably water tight although doesn't have rubber seals etc I don't anticipate water ingress as quite tightly put together. "
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Craft Rain Bootie Overshoes
Craft Rain Bootie Overshoes
Insulating overshoes designed to offer the best protection against wind and rain together with a secure fit.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not for Mountain Biking
Posted18 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
" If you are a roadie these are fine
MTB'ing in the wet at my home in the Cotswolds means constantly hoping on and off your MTB on muddy trails. In that environment I find the toe keeps riding up leaving the front of my shoe exposed to the weather and getting cold and wet "
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Waist Buckle
Waist Buckle
Replacement buckle for Camelback hydration systems
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job ....
Posted5 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromOxford
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" Unfortunately not the job I was after it to do!
Buckle is about 40mm top to bottom and comes with adjustable straps which each have a velcro fastening loop on the end so will attach to the bottom of your shoulder straps without the need for any tedious sewing.
If a waist belt and buckle is what you want it's just the job.
Unfortunately I wanted a replacement chest strap
Pros: robust good quality and easy to attach
Cons: None really
"
Pros: Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
OrangeAddict's Questions
 
OrangeAddict has not submitted any questions.
 
OrangeAddict's Answers
 
 Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light
Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light
With 5 superbright LEDs, the Cateye TL-LD600 LED Rear Light will make you easily visible to other road users from every angle.
 

Aero seat post fit

Will the Cateye ld600 fit a planet x stealth aero seat post with a diameter of 135mm?
Yes - it comes with a glorified tiewrap fitting that will fit just about anything
4 years ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench
A 1/4" drive torque wrench and 7 precision sockets. For use on bike components that require accurate setting. Ideal for fitting stems, levers, chainsets and handlebars, etc. A must have addition to any enthusiasts tool kit.
 

is the wrench a 2-way wrench??

my bike has left and right hand threads that need to be correctly torqued
Yes
4 years, 7 months ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench
A 1/4" drive torque wrench and 7 precision sockets. For use on bike components that require accurate setting. Ideal for fitting stems, levers, chainsets and handlebars, etc. A must have addition to any enthusiasts tool kit.
 

Is it possible to recalibrate this tool? What is the accuracy?

/M
No, and I don't know. For home use it is fine and has done a good job.. if you are genuinely worried about accuracy you probably need to buy a more expensive bit of kit
4 years, 7 months ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
The Joe Blow Max II is a great performing track pump that is superb value for money. providing efficiency and accuracy throughout its pressure range, the whole way up to 120 psi.
 

Once pumped, is the pump easy to disconnect from the inner tube valve?

I currently have a pump which is very hard to disconnect after pumping and it is ripping my inner tubes apart when i have to yank it off once its pumped. Plus it means my hand flies into the spokes which are bladed and this is not a pain free experience.
Have had a Joe Blow stirup pump for about 18 months without ever having the problem you describe .... and I've had a fair few punctures in that time!

Hope that's helpful - in gen my experience is it's a good solid pump replacing one that was frankly cheap rubbish. I've no regrets on my purchase and would buy another
6 years, 5 months ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
 Waist Buckle
Waist Buckle
Replacement buckle for Camelback hydration systems
 

I've got a MULE with a small buckle around my chest and a wider buckle around my waist. Is this buckle the larger or smaller buckle?

Larger
6 years, 7 months ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
 Topeak Pocket Shock DXG Shock Pump with Gauge
Topeak Pocket Shock DXG Shock Pump with Gauge
Precision, compact suspension fork and shock pump.
 

Any idea if this will fit Fox Float R and/or Marzocchi Bomber EXR?

Yes on the Fox Float
7 years, 5 months ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
 Topeak Pocket Shock DXG Shock Pump with Gauge
Topeak Pocket Shock DXG Shock Pump with Gauge
Precision, compact suspension fork and shock pump.
 

what is the length of this product ?

About 10"
7 years, 5 months ago
by
OrangeAddict
Oxford
 
 Joystick MaXx 2 Wiggle Front Light
Joystick MaXx 2 Wiggle Front Light
The limited edition Wiggle Joystick MaXx still boasts the impressive spec of the standard Joystick MaXx, but is anodised in a Wiggle orange finish to make it stand out from the crowd.
 

Jockstick Headband stability

Have the Maxx2 Joystick already and am considering using it for a bit of night time running.

Anyone used the elastic headband for this, is it stable enough for off-road running (and leaping)?

Cheers.
Use it for steady cross-country running and it works absolutely fine ... still think it's a bit over-priced though
8 years, 2 months ago
by
OrangeAddict