Grony
Share Grony's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Grony's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    16
  • First Review
    04 June 2012
  • Last Review
    23 August 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    11 April 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    11 April 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    04 June 2012
  • Last Answer
    07 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Grony's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 dhb Reflective Buff®
dhb Reflective Buff®
Help to improve your visibility with this genuine dhb reflective Buff®.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Every bit as good as the original
Posted23 August 2016
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Comfy, warm but breathable. Added bonus of reflective strip. Good value too."
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice but pricey
Posted19 February 2016
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's a nice light and comfortable jersey, but really difficult to justify the price for what is just a polyester long sleeved t-shirt."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Reliable effective brakes
Posted14 November 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Reliable and effective in all conditions. Pads last ages. Significant upgrade on the brakes my bike came with. Just as good as XT version I have on my other bike."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fresh smelling bibs
Posted24 August 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this after reading about bacteria surviving in your short's chamois after washing with normal detergent at low temperatures. This stuff apparently deals with that bacteria. Certainly washing smells fresh afterwards."
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Softshell Long Sleeve Jersey
Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Softshell Long Sleeve Jersey
Gore WINDSTOPPER Active shell protection with the ergonomic fit of a racing Jersey. The Xenon 2.0 Softshell Jersey offers brilliant windchill defence with a soft feel, ideal layered up on chilly spring rides or a few peaceful miles at sunset or sunrise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good performer
Posted28 March 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a very versatile jersey, I have worn it with a base layer in temperatures close to zero but works equally well up to 15 deg. It's been perfect for chilly spring evening rides. Breathes really well, I have worn it for XC racing and it kept me warm enough standing around for 15 mins in the cold on the start grid, but I didn't once think about whether I was too hot or cold during the race. Fit wise, it's quite long (body and arms). Zipper pocket is useful."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Alp-X 3.0 Gore-Tex Active Shorts
Gore Bike Wear Alp-X 3.0 Gore-Tex Active Shorts
Lightweight and packable waterproof MTB shorts that keeps tights and seat insert dry when the rain falls. Small in packing size, it's a standard piece for multiple day trips.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but perfect
Posted07 February 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These perform really well in terms of providing a waterproof but breathable outer layer. My only slight gripe is the adjustable waistband just doesn't work very well."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Alp-X 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Alp-X 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
A lightweight, waterproof and extremely breathable MTB jacket engineered for tours and enduro events. The Gore-Tex Active shell construction provides complete weather protection with a zip-off hood, slim fit and performance features.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent piece of kit
Posted07 February 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Love this jacket, it's totally waterproof but very breathable at the same time. Good fit for MTB, not too baggy and flappy. Arms are quite long for me, but otherwise fit is excellent. Hood comes in handy when really wet and cold. Only improvement would be a second waterproof pocket on the back."
Pros: High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No frills
Posted28 December 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sorry to use a cliche but "it does what it says on the tin"."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent Value
Posted02 November 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not the warmest, but enough to take the chill off."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Mixed experience
Posted29 July 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought two pairs of these (one white, one black). The white pair are great really comfortable, breathable and stay dry. The black pair, however, just don't fit comfortably, the seam around the toes is too narrow (and I've got narrow feet) and tends to rub making them uncomfortable."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Grony's Questions
 
Grony has not submitted any questions.
 
Grony's Answers
 
 Gore Bike Wear Alp-X 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Gore Bike Wear Alp-X 2.0 Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
A lightweight, waterproof and extremely breathable MTB jacket engineered for tours and enduro events. The Gore-Tex Active shell construction provides complete weather protection with a zip-off hood, slim fit and performance features.
 

How warm is this jacket?

Looking for a more waterproof version of the Gore Phantom and wondered if this is as warm as the Phantom.
Definitely not as warm as the Phantom, but totally waterproof. On a really cold day I wear it with base and mid layer and it provides a perfect windproof outer.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 

Sizing advice

My feet have 29 cms. Currently I'm using Shimanos R088 size 47, and while there are a bit too big with thin summer socks (although not uncomfortably so - I don't notice it while riding at all), they fit perfectly with thicker winter ones.

Which Fahrenheir size should I get then? I'm leaning toward 46 - would that be a good choice?
Smaller feet.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 

What is the is product like in summer conditions.. too hot?

Not sure why one would want to wear it in the summer, but in answer to the question, I suppose you could as it is not terribly warm to wear.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 

Will this rucksack machine wash?

If so what temperature and would it require using something like Tech Wash?
I tend to get covered in mud on my off road rides and I would want to be able to use it for other jobs other than mountain biking.
I've bunged mine in on a rinse cycle, without detergent, comes out clean as a whistle.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
The Altura Transformer Windproof Jacket is a versatile windproof jacket that easily transforms between a long sleeve windproof to a short sleeve jersey to match your riding conditions.
 

Temperature and Windstopping

Is the wind stopping material just to the front of the body or is it to the arms and back.?

What temperature range is this recommended for? Down to 2 degrees?
I happily wear mine with a base layer down to about 6 deg, any cooler and something thicker comes out.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 

Buying these for a present. He is normally a size 8 uk size so should I get a 42?

I am normally a size 9, I bought 43, these were too small so I exchanged for a 44 which are better.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 

Could it hold a laptop?

Best answer
A laptop no, a tablet maybe but it is lightweight with no padding.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich