Grony
Share Grony's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Grony's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    04 June 2012
  • Last Review
    28 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    11 April 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    11 April 2015
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    04 June 2012
  • Last Answer
    07 February 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Grony's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Gore WINDSTOPPER Active shell protection with the ergonomic fit of a racing Jersey. The Xenon 2.0 Softshell Jersey offers brilliant windchill defence with a soft feel, ideal layered up on chilly spring rides or a few peaceful miles at sunset or sunrise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good performer
Posted28 March 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a very versatile jersey, I have worn it with a base layer in temperatures close to zero but works equally well up to 15 deg. It's been perfect for chilly spring evening rides. Breathes really well, I have worn it for XC racing and it kept me warm enough standing around for 15 mins in the cold on the start grid, but I didn't once think about whether I was too hot or cold during the race. Fit wise, it's quite long (body and arms). Zipper pocket is useful."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight and packable waterproof MTB shorts that keeps tights and seat insert dry when the rain falls. Small in packing size, it's a standard piece for multiple day trips.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but perfect
Posted07 February 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These perform really well in terms of providing a waterproof but breathable outer layer. My only slight gripe is the adjustable waistband just doesn't work very well."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight, waterproof and extremely breathable MTB jacket engineered for tours and enduro events. The Gore-Tex Active shell construction provides complete weather protection with a zip-off hood, slim fit and performance features.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent piece of kit
Posted07 February 2015
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Love this jacket, it's totally waterproof but very breathable at the same time. Good fit for MTB, not too baggy and flappy. Arms are quite long for me, but otherwise fit is excellent. Hood comes in handy when really wet and cold. Only improvement would be a second waterproof pocket on the back."
Pros: High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A simple and strong, classic designed bottle cage constructed from alloy.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No frills
Posted28 December 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sorry to use a cliche but "it does what it says on the tin"."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent Value
Posted02 November 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not the warmest, but enough to take the chill off."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
It's just a sock right? Wrong! Now is a good time to upgrade your sock drawer and experience the revolutionary comfort of a Castelli cycling sock. A 6cm Cuff sock with the superior quality and style you expect from the Castelli Rosso Corsa Blood line
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Mixed experience
Posted29 July 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought two pairs of these (one white, one black). The white pair are great really comfortable, breathable and stay dry. The black pair, however, just don't fit comfortably, the seam around the toes is too narrow (and I've got narrow feet) and tends to rub making them uncomfortable."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The CamelBak® Podium® bottle incorporates Jet Valve, a revolutionary self-sealing valve with a high flow rate. A wide-mouth opening for easy filling and removable Jet Valve for ease of cleaning clean.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quality product
Posted29 July 2014
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These bottles look great and certainly work well. Only reason it's not 5 stars is on this newer design the mouthpiece is much broader, whilst this helps with the drinks flow, it does tend to get a fair bit of muck in there if on a mountain bike."
Pros: Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 RPM-X Waterproof Shorts
RPM-X Waterproof Shorts
With excellent waterproof qualities, this short is ideal for hard rides in challenging weather conditions. Adjustable lower leg fit enables you to get the best free flowing movement.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great functional shorts
Posted08 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Lightweight, comfortable, waterproof, sensible sizing; what else can I say?"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 ProGel Comp Bib Shorts 2013
ProGel Comp Bib Shorts 2013
The ultimate in all day riding comfort, ProGel Comp Bib Shorts feature a gel seat pad for even pressure distribution and vibration absorption on long rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent value bibs
Posted28 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had these for about a year now and have been very pleased with them. Tend to only wear them on shorter rides (under an hour and a half) and they are pretty comfy. Fit well and have washed well."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Garmin International is pleased to announce the new FR70, which sports a fresh new look and colours, improved button functionality and restyled, robust wristbands.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Avoid
Posted28 June 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Grony
fromIpswich
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I won a number of Garmin products, most of which are very good. This however is not good, the buttons were always difficult to press, they are now almost impossible, in particular the mode button (the most used obviously) barely works at all.
Shame as otherwise it would be good, but I am afraid the buttons render is useless."
Cons: Unattractive, Low Quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Grony's Questions
 
Grony has not submitted any questions.
 
Grony's Answers
 
A lightweight, waterproof and extremely breathable MTB jacket engineered for tours and enduro events. The Gore-Tex Active shell construction provides complete weather protection with a zip-off hood, slim fit and performance features.
 

How warm is this jacket?

Looking for a more waterproof version of the Gore Phantom and wondered if this is as warm as the Phantom.
Definitely not as warm as the Phantom, but totally waterproof. On a really cold day I wear it with base and mid layer and it provides a perfect windproof outer.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 

Sizing advice

My feet have 29 cms. Currently I'm using Shimanos R088 size 47, and while there are a bit too big with thin summer socks (although not uncomfortably so - I don't notice it while riding at all), they fit perfectly with thicker winter ones.

Which Fahrenheir size should I get then? I'm leaning toward 46 - would that be a good choice?
Smaller feet.
6 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 

What is the is product like in summer conditions.. too hot?

Not sure why one would want to wear it in the summer, but in answer to the question, I suppose you could as it is not terribly warm to wear.
6 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
An ultra light sports pack for the fast-footed athlete where every gram counts. Experience virtual weightlessness when mountain running, ski tour racing, cycling marathons, Nordic walking or even when sprinting to catch that last bus.
 

Will this rucksack machine wash?

If so what temperature and would it require using something like Tech Wash?
I tend to get covered in mud on my off road rides and I would want to be able to use it for other jobs other than mountain biking.
I've bunged mine in on a rinse cycle, without detergent, comes out clean as a whistle.
9 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
The Altura Transformer Windproof Jacket is a versatile windproof jacket that easily transforms between a long sleeve windproof to a short sleeve jersey to match your riding conditions.
 

Temperature and Windstopping

Is the wind stopping material just to the front of the body or is it to the arms and back.?

What temperature range is this recommended for? Down to 2 degrees?
I happily wear mine with a base layer down to about 6 deg, any cooler and something thicker comes out.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
 Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
Northwave Fahrenheit GTX (Gore-Tex) Winter Road Shoes
The first Gore-Tex shoes launched exclusively by Northwave guarantees all-out water protection combined with excellent breathablilty. Suitable for riding in temperatures from -10° - +15°C.
 

Buying these for a present. He is normally a size 8 uk size so should I get a 42?

I am normally a size 9, I bought 43, these were too small so I exchanged for a 44 which are better.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich
 
An ultra light sports pack for the fast-footed athlete where every gram counts. Experience virtual weightlessness when mountain running, ski tour racing, cycling marathons, Nordic walking or even when sprinting to catch that last bus.
 

Could it hold a laptop?

Best answer
A laptop no, a tablet maybe but it is lightweight with no padding.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Grony
Ipswich