JimW
Top 1000 Contributor
Share JimW's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JimW's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    27 September 2010
  • Last Review
    14 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    12 August 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    12 August 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    02 September 2009
  • Last Question
    12 November 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    27 September 2010
  • Last Answer
    14 July 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
JimW's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
This alloy 11 speed chainring is designed for use with Athena alloy crankarms and is ideal when you old chainring has become worn out or damaged.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hard wearing but it's not forever...
Posted14 July 2014
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"If you use the Campag compact drivechain then you will need to replace parts eventually. But the wear rate is good for this alloy component so it represents excellent value for money. It's also a good time to replace the chain as well."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long seatpost for compact frames
Posted16 June 2014
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I needed a long seatpost for my new frame. This does the job; it fits perfectly and is long enough for even the most conpact of road frames."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stylish and secure bottle holder
Posted09 June 2014
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought 2 to use on a Verenti Insight frame. Look great, hold the bottles securely yet allow easy access when you need it."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Athena black band-on front derailleur retains all the technical and performance characteristics of the 2011 all silver version. The new Athena front derailleur is compatible with both standard and Compact cranksets.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent shifting performance
Posted26 May 2014
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I needed this for the Verenti carbon frame. It had the right downtube diameter and the shifting works flawlessly. Better than the braze on front mech I have on my Ti bike."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Insight Frameset 2013
Insight Frameset 2013
The Insight is the new carbon platform from the 2013 line, and is the foundation of the range. Verenti 2013 - A new Range, a new Vision.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well designed frameset that is a delight to ride
Posted10 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"As a 6 footer, I ordered the medium frameset and built it up with the Campag Athena groupset and Fulcrum Racing Quatro wheels.
After taking my first ride, I can only say that I am delighted with the performance of this frameset. I fitted the bike with a Fulcrum Quatro wheelset and transferred the Campag Centaur groupset from a accident damged bike. This ride was around Roadford Lake in west Devon and involves hills and flatter sections with the added 'feature' of some potholed road surfaces. The frame handled everything with aplomb. A nice combination of a fast and comfortable ride having minimal flex when powering up hills out of the saddle and spot-on steering. A terrific frameset IMO. The only issue I had was that the frame does not include a front mech hanger. I ordered a Campag Athena Black 11 Speed Band-On Front Derailleur with clamp size 35mm which is ideal. Just factor that extra item if you need it. FWIW, the frame manufacturer is Ridley.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: no front mech hanger
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 9000 brakes
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
They fit and they work
Posted28 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"There's not much you can say about replacement brake blocks. They fit correctly into the brake enclosures and, after adjustments for correct alignment, they do the job as intended. Good solid product. I anticipate a lengthy working life."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
More compact than the original
Posted20 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"My original Road Morph finally failed after several years of use. I ordered a replacement and it's slightly lighter and smaller. But it retains all the advantages of the original (though more strokes will be needed of course).
I've always liked the Road Morph as it works well and having a pressure gauge removes the guesswork. This model is an improvement on the original.
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Vredestein Fortezza Quattro TriComp Folding Tyre
Vredestein Fortezza Quattro TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza Quattro TriComp Specialist four season tyre for training and sportive events features excellent grip in cold wet conditions while sacrificing very little in the dry.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great tyre for all year use
Posted20 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Reliable, fast and high quality. A great tyre for all year round use."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
What Mountain Bike's Gold Award winner, Green Oil wet chain lube is suitable for all riding conditions, whether riding over rocks, or just to the shops. Destroy limits, not nature!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works well
Posted17 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"It does the job - keeps the chain in good order and ecological too."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A sleek, lightweight aero shaped wedge pack with the easy to use Topeak quick-release mounting system.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Be careful of the sizing
Posted17 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
JimW
fromLifton
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The reason I gave 4 stars is because I have the same bag that is even smaller on another bike. When it arrived, I realised there was a size mismatch. I've kept it because this "small" is also useful. But if you want a really small bag (just for tools, spare tube and levers) then you need the micro size."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JimW's Questions
 
 IZONE Arc 600 Rechargeable Front Light
IZONE Arc 600 Rechargeable Front Light
This rechargeable front light offers outstanding performance in a compact, lightweight and affordable package. It utilises a dual density heat sink and exhaust system to draw heat away and protect the lights electronics.
 

What is the length and front diameter of this light?

10 months ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
 Saetta Race Cut Frameset 2013
Saetta Race Cut Frameset 2013
This monocoque carbon frame has been designed for the advanced amateur cyclist and is adapted for internal cable routing in case of assembly with an electronic groupset.
 

Sizing for the Saettee Race Cut Frameset

I'm 6ft (in old money) and am looking to replace my aging Raleigh 853 frame with the Saette Race Cut frameset. The Raleigh measures ~550mm on both top and seat tubes. What is the best equivalent sizing for the Saette frame?
On another topic, the Raleigh is kitted out with Campag Athena 11. Will I need new parts? I guess a new seatpost and steering clamp(1 1/8" instead of 1")? Anything else?
1 year ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
 Cayo Expert Campa 2009
Cayo Expert Campa 2009
Comprising of Campagnolo’s well respected Chorus 11 speed components, Fulcrum’s Carbon cranks and Racing 5 wheels, this bike is a race-ready machine or a Sunday best bike which offers exceptional pound for pound value.
 

What is the rear cassette cog range for the Focus Cayo Expert Campa 2009?

5 years ago
by
JimW
 
JimW's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
This alloy 11 speed chainring is designed for use with Athena alloy crankarms and is ideal when you old chainring has become worn out or damaged.
 

Is this a compact chainring (i.e. campy "110" BCD)?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes it is and normally complemented with a 34T for the inner chainring.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 

Dose this seatpost come with a clamp? Quick release or hex key adjustment?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
My mistake - wiggle andy is right - the clamp is supplied and It has a hex key clamp.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 

Dose this seatpost come with a clamp? Quick release or hex key adjustment?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No - the clamp needs to added and have the width of the outer diameter of the seat tube. You can choose whether to use a quick release clamp or hex key clamp as needed. FWIW, I use a quick release clamp because it allows easier fine-tuning adjustments when out riding.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Will this pump fit in the back of a jersey?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Not unless you have a very, very deep pocket!! This pump is best mounted on the frame. Smaller pumps can be found that are intended for pocket use.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Can anybody recommend a bracket which allows this pump to sit with a bottle cage?

The pump is excellent and I have tried attaching it to the cross-bar using the cable ties; however it slips around a bit.

I use two water bottles so am after a bracket which I can use in conjunction with a bottle cage.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The supplied cable ties are *very* strong and can be tightened with sufficient pressure to keep the bracket in place. Use pliers if you cannot get sufficient pressure by hand.
BTW - the best place *is* the underside of the top tube - the pump is narrow enough not to clip your knees and the top tube location is less likely to accumulate road muck.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

is the valve connector suitable for auto tyres?

I need a decent reliable pump for motoring, and I'm tired of all the poor quality products produced for cars! Thanks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No. It will fit only the innrer tubes of schrader or presta cycle tyres
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
 Insight Frameset 2013
Insight Frameset 2013
The Insight is the new carbon platform from the 2013 line, and is the foundation of the range. Verenti 2013 - A new Range, a new Vision.
 

Does this frame come with a headset? What diameter seatpost does it need?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, the headset is included. The headtude diameter is 30mm.
The seatpost is 31.6mm. I had a 30.9mm seatpost and used a USE 30.9 internal shim.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
 Vredestein Fortezza Quattro TriComp Folding Tyre
Vredestein Fortezza Quattro TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza Quattro TriComp Specialist four season tyre for training and sportive events features excellent grip in cold wet conditions while sacrificing very little in the dry.
 

Are these tubeless capable with sealant?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They are not tubeless
6 months ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
Quick release chainlink suitable for use with Campagnolo, Shimano 11 speed and Sram 11 drive systems.
 

Is the 11 speed missing link reusable?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hmmm, it looks possible though I haven't tried. But Campag 11 chains seem to be more reliable than of old and I've only ever had to use it just once in several years with lots of mileage.
11 months ago
by
JimW
Lifton
 
Quick release chainlink suitable for use with Campagnolo, Shimano 11 speed and Sram 11 drive systems.
 

Is this the correct link for 11 speed Campagnolo? Thank you.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes. The link is made by KMC, but it does fit a Campag 11 chain.
11 months ago
by
JimW
Lifton