smidge
Share smidge's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
smidge's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    17 February 2010
  • Last Review
    21 June 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    3.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    11 May 2010
  • Last Question
    15 October 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    None
  • Last Answer
    None
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
smidge's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Lumen Road Helmet - 2012
Lumen Road Helmet - 2012
With 22 high volume, internally channeled vents, a dial-to-fit GPS fit system and great graphics, the Lumen is officially one of the brightest buys in the entire Bell range.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great helmet
Posted21 June 2011
smidge
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Very comfortable. Have not noticed getting too hot. I take comfort from knowing that it passes the more stringent US safety standard."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Park Tools Master Link Pliers are designed to help remove and replace master links in modern chain systems, although not needed when new they are invaluable on a used chain which can become 'stubborn' when attempting to separate the joining link
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job perfectly
Posted10 June 2011
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"KMC quicklink proved totally impossible to undo manually despite having only just installed it and not even ridden the bike. These pliers make it a 2 second job. Expensive for what they are though."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Clean Ride is Cycling's Only Self-Cleaning Lubricant. Clean Ride literally sheds dirt and grime while you ride, keeping your bike running smoothly.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not convinced
Posted02 September 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"I used this on a new bike for a couple of months (wiping and reapplying after every ride). From the start I noticed a little bit more transmission noise than I would have expected and spent time trying to tune it out but with no success. I then tried some old Finish line dry that i had kicking around from my commuter hack and the noise disappeared immediately. I dont want to overstate this - the noise wasnt substantial but it was there with Clean ride and gone with Finish line dry
Clean ride is clean - but i would rather put up with a bit more black goo to clean up and a quieter transmission."
Pros: clean
Cons: noisy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Look Keo Classic Pedals
Look Keo Classic Pedals
The Keo Classic pedal that has been produced directly from the Keo and the Keo HM pedals. The Keo Classic has been developed with strength and lightness in mind as well as high performance and durability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted02 September 2010
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"My first foray into road oreinted pedals. It takes a lot more effort to get into than double sided SPDs and it is only slowly getting easier with more experience. You start to really hate getting stuck at red lights as the struggle to get clipped in takes time during which the cars a racing past your elbow as you wobble along. However the power transfer is remarkable in general and especially when out of the saddle. I had worried about float and impact of feeling clamped to the pedal but there is no problem. The Looks have plenty of float and feel very comfortable. Getting unclipped is also very easy as the clipping action is so definitive - I have had no problems at all (and it was a big source of fear for me to start with).
These have made a huge impact on my speed and I have no regrets about moving up from SPD's, but Iwouldnt want to use them for city commuting...."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted02 September 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"I dont have anything up to date to compare it to, but fit is good, after 350 miles there are no wear issues and its comfortable. Cant really ask for anything more"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Basic Bottle Cage
Basic Bottle Cage
One piece injection moulded construction bottle cage
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
It fell apart
Posted02 September 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"It split apart on the 4th outing. It might be cheap and basic but should still be fit for purpose. Very poor value for money"
Cons: Poor Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
brittle junk
Posted18 August 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Broke the first time i tried to change the lenses. I had read reviews suggesting you needed to be gentle with them, so i was very careful. They snapped like a thin dry twig. This is inexcusable at any price. The fact they are cheap does not justify the fact that i have only used them 3 times. Wiggle really need to get on top of their own brand quality problems or will damage their brand, being cheap doesn't justify selling rubbish (i had the same issue with a lifeline bottle cage). I cant be bothered with the hassle of posting it bacl"
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, breaks very easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Poor build and corroded
Posted11 May 2010
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"My skewer was badly corroded and unuseable straight out of the box. Wiggle sent a replacement skewer immediately with no questions asked. Then I tried to use it....... Cap that cups the skewer had not been properly attached in the factory (hidden restraining screw missing) and fell apart - and cannot now be reattached as it is bent. Shame as it looks like a good product. I guess mine was made by someone on work experience and then stored in a damp wharehouse for months..."
Cons: Poor Quality, Low Quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A highly versatile 3 season windproof jacket ideal for variable weather conditions. Easily transforms from long sleeve to short sleeve.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb design
Posted29 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Combination of full zip, removeable arms (that fit easily into a backpocket) windproof front and very breathable back makes it extremely versatile in lots of different conditions - with exception of prolonged rain (but why go cycling in prolonged rain?). If you buy it very slightly large then wearing a thin long sleeve fleece under it will do you down to almost freezing, yet with just a light short sleeve under it can go comfortably up into the teens. I cant understand why the windproof front and entirely breathable back design has fallen out of fashion - 20 years ago that was all there was and its a perfect set up for cycling.
Im 6 feet, 42 inch chest and the extra large works well for me (albeit very slightly big). Large was a bit tight around the shoulders and underarm."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Lightweight, Versatile
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
 
 750ml Water Bottle
750ml Water Bottle
Wiggle's very own 750ml water bottle
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Does the job, but not attractive
Posted29 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
smidge
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Works as well as any, but given it only costs £1 more to get something more attractive, now that I see it on my new shiny bike I regret the purchase."
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
smidge's Questions
 
A highly versatile 3 season windproof jacket ideal for variable weather conditions. Easily transforms from long sleeve to short sleeve.
 

Where can i buy replacement arms

I have lost the arms for my red xl jacket. Is thereanywhere i can get replacements? thanks
3 years, 11 months ago
by
smidge
London
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 

Do they work with 25mm tyres?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
smidge
London
 
 Look Keo Classic Pedals
Look Keo Classic Pedals
The Keo Classic pedal that has been produced directly from the Keo and the Keo HM pedals. The Keo Classic has been developed with strength and lightness in mind as well as high performance and durability.
 

Do the supplied cleats have float - and are the pedals compatible with the Look Keo Grip cleats

4 years, 4 months ago
by
smidge
London
 
smidge's Answers
 
smidge has not submitted any answers.