JamesF
Top 250 Contributor
Share JamesF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JamesF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    46
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    13 October 2010
  • Last Review
    25 February 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2010
  • Last Question
    17 February 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    13 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
JamesF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Stylish upgrade of the top selling Mini, same great features as the Mini DX with a built-in gauge for perfect inflation every time. Ideal for road or mtb's, capable of inflating upto 120psi.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK Mini Pump if you want sth with Pressure Gauge
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this for my road bike in the event of emergencies and it's great for that. The chuck works with multiple valves and is easy to secure. Where it doesn't score and this applies to most mini pumps I've tried is that it's a real trial getting the tyre up to a reasonable pressure and the gauge is indicative rather than definitive. Add onto that the difficult of reading the gauge and it's worth noting what the pressure reading is at home for when you're out on the road. That all said, it's not massively expensive and the bracket for it is very neat. It'll also secure under a seat bag if need be although it is quite long for that."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for the removal and installation of Shimano chainrings and self-extracting crank caps. One end has pegs to hold the back of chainring bolts, and the other has pegs that locate into the self-extracting bolts.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Works OK for What it is
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have commented, if you have low expectations of this product then it'll be OK and there is an element of it suffering from the design of chainring bolts. It will sort of grip onto them if you have it at the right angle but not particularly securely and there is an element of it being only marginally better than using your finger to hold onto the bolt or a large screwdriver. Having said that, if you have issues with getting bolts tight enough or loosening them off then this is the tool for you and it isn't that expensive, although there is an argument that it's just pressed steel so probably costs pennies to make."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Day Bag
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I spent a while looking for bags that I could use if I was doing day long sportives and this one is just about perfect. The fact it expands means you can use it for a full day event if you want whilst keeping it down to essentials for shorter rides. It has elastic bands underneath for storing a micro pump if you don't have space next to the bottle cage. The rear opens up wide to take everything in and has a nice mesh pocket for keys and a multi tool. It's secured by three separate straps so even if one fails you have the other two to get you home (notably not the case on the quick fit version) and there is versatility for it to fit to any saddle. It is slim enough that it doesn't interfere with pedaling and appears to be waterproof so far. Finally, I can fit a couple of 700x28c tubes in here, a puncture repair kit, tyre levers, a couple of chocolate bars, a multi-tools and keys with room spare for gels if I want. A rather sarcastic friend said I'd probably also have room for a sandwich ;-). About the only down side with it is that the seatpost strap is, I think, made big enough for aero posts so if you have a standard post there is a lot of strap left. If you're really picky the rear loop for the light can also potentially angle your rear light very slightly down if you have the bag very full."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Packaged in sets of three, the Park Tool Tire Levers are made of glass-injected nylon to ensure long life and damage-free operation. The unique design of the TL-1 actually lifts the tire away from the rim and keeps the tube from being pinched.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value for Money and Nearly Unbreakable
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"In my time with these I've only managed to break one once and that was on a tyre where I hadn't quite positioned it right. These things are rugged! They've also got everything you need in a tyre lever so they clip together nicely to avoid rattling around, they have hooks that easily reach the spokes and then stay on there and the lip to grab the tyre bead is just right for getting under it."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just Works
Posted25 February 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Whilst you can get other chain cleaners, these things are rugged and keep on going, even when bits get broken or fall off. I got this one to replace another I'd used every week on two bikes for several years. They're quite pricey so it's worth getting one in the sale. Another couple of things worth mentioning are that they're only as good as the cleaner inside them and the magnet at the bottom is great for keeping metal fragments in the cleaner and off the chain."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Bracket for Cateye Front Lights
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this as I needed a spare bracket for my wife's bike. The things work with most Cateye lights (I've got a Volt 1200 amongst others) and they stay in position. The only minor gripe is that after a while they do develop some play in tandem with the bracket on the light but it's taken years for my original Cateye (a TL-EL530) to get to that stage."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With high visual impact and ultimate performance, the Shard Bib Short offers regular and professional cyclists an extremely lightweight and breathable technical bib short with a Performance Carbonium Pad for those long, warm summer rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Shorts although Pad is an Acquired Taste
Posted26 January 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Overall, these shorts represent amazing value for money given the pad that they ship with; it's one of the best Cytech do. The variable padding on the foam is also very noticeable and should be more comfortable. So far, though, the abiding impression of them is that the pad feels a bit odd and so does riding in these shorts. There's something about where the padding is and the elastic interface that makes it feel as if it's not doing its job and yet I've done a 30 mile ride and they've been absolutely fine. So, I'd recommend them but caution that they do feel a bit odd compared to other shorts when you wear them. Beyond that, the design may polarise opinion; I got the black one, which at least doesn't stand out too much."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Jersey Let down by Quality
Posted15 January 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The Clip is a really good Spring/Autumn jersey and it was a pleasant surprise that even the arms just about fit, given I'm 6'4" and very long armed! The only thing that's proved disappointing is that the stitching has started to come loose on one sleeve. So far it's only cosmetic so I'll see how it goes before sending it back but it's a real shame as everything else is great and if it's on offer it's an absolute bargain."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A super-stretch, thermal leg warmer for extra insulation and support. A pre-contoured construction and dual-face silicon elastic grippers ensure a secure and comfortable fit between your leg, leg warmer and cycling shorts. Perfect for the colder seasons.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tight
Posted06 January 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have commented, these seem to have been developed with an unusual rider in mind as they're both very tight at the top and bottom and incredibly long. I'm 188cm tall and 80-85 kg and went for a medium; previously I thought I'd got long thin legs ;-). As noted by another review I end up with a 'muffin top' at the top of my leg and the ankles grip tightly. They also come all the way up my legs. Having said all that, they don't slip down (!?) and stretching them a bit means that they gradually get less tight. They also do the job perfectly, staying warm and the tightness I noticed when I first put them on goes away only a few minutes into the ride."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now available in a choice of three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Basic but Good
Posted25 November 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got the clear version of these and whilst they are fairly basic in the materials used they just work. They stay on your face nicely, the anti fog vents mostly work (the only time they've struggled is when it was tipping it down with freezing rain and that would be a challenge for any glasses) and they shed water reasonably well. For the money they're an absolute bargain and, as some have commented, even if you destroy them it's not a huge amount to buy a new pair."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JamesF's Questions
 
For a comfortable and enjoyable set up that is primarily to get you from A to B fast whether it be gravel tracks or hard hitting roads then the new 2015 GT Grade AL 105 is the one for you.
 

Is there clearance for mudguards AND 35c tyres?

The reason I ask is that I'd like to run Schwalbe Marathon winter tyres (with spikes) so I can use this all the way through winter. They're 35c so from what I've read they'd fit without mudguards but that'd mean getting wet when it rains :-(.
1 week, 3 days ago
by
JamesF
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

Does a Bryton Rider 40 fit into this bracket?

I *think* the Garmin mounts do but I'd rather check before investing. Looking for something more secure than the standard O ring mount supplied with all Bryton units.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable – the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

Sizing Question (again!)

Similar to others who have asked. I'm 6'4" but slim so just have a 42" chest and 36" waist so whilst the XXL would work for height would they be far too baggy around the waist and chest?
 
Products related to my question
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
4.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 5 months ago
by
JamesF
 
JamesF's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 

warm?

hi,
I want to ask how much warm is that jersey? Will be enough for late autumn season like now? This jersey + dhb Turbulence? Will be good set? :)
Thanks,
merlin
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I ride in this with a base layer down to about 6 degrees centigrade although it is getting chilly at that point if I'm cruising and I'm quite hardy! I'd suggest that for most once it gets below 10 you'd be looking for something a bit thicker.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
JamesF
 
A beautifully finished Multi-tool with 21 precision tool bits for any mid-ride repair/maintenance situation. With spoke keys, a chain tool, a range of hex, torx and screwdriver heads, the LifeLine 21 in 1 tool is indispensable for all high mileage rides.
 

Can it replace chain by itself?

Could this tool replace a chain by itself without any need for other tools whilst out on a ride?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'd say yes at a push although I haven't tried it. It's the reason why I got it as it avoids having to carry a chain tool as well.
8 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

What wrench to use?

What size wrench do I need to fit these?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You need a standard pedal spanner (15mm). If you're buying one to fit these, make sure you get a long handled one. My experience has been that even putting grease on when you fit these they're still tight to remove.
8 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Is this tape adhesive?

One of the reviewers suggested it is better to get the adhesive version. How does this attach to the rim if it is not adhesive?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The stuff I got wasn't. It fits tightly on the rim, and a combination of that and its width means that it stays put. It depends what you want. Some people on the CTC forum wouldn't have anything other than adhesive rim tape to make sure it stays in place and it doesn't crack. Personally, I haven't had either problem and I'd much rather not have to remove adhesive from the rim if I pop a new rim tape on.
8 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Can I Please Know if this Tape has a Pressure Limit Marked on It ?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The tape is marked as suitable for high pressure tyres. I'm running 26" slicks at 6atm and they seem to be fine. Not sure what would happen running higher pressures but the tape itself seems to be quite thick so I would imagine it would work fine.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

What temps are these gloves good for?

Are they warm enough to wear in 0 degrees C?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've used them down to -6 C, at which point I must admit I stop cycling ;-). I find for the first 10 minutes my fingers are a bit cold but then warm up.
2 years ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

Comparison to dhb Extreme Winter glove

Can anyone offer a comparison to the dhb Extreme Winter glove (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-extreme-winter-glove/)?

They seem to have to 2 similar products. Interested in differences in warmth & waterproofing.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've been using my Amberley IIs down to -6 and my fingers have stayed warm and toasty once I've got through the first 10 minutes of warming up. I can't see a situation where I'd want to switch to the Extreme Winter gloves. I think at that point I just wouldn't be riding the bike ;-).
2 years ago
by
JamesF
 
Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Special chain required?

Do I need to use this with any particular chain or will any 8 speed chain do?
Thanks.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm just using a KMC rustless 8 speed chain and as I understand it the cassette will work with any 8 speed chain.
2 years ago
by
JamesF
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics, contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface Giro Air chamois.
 

Usage and sizing.

Are these shorts suitable to use several times a week?

If so.. will they need washing after every use? And are they durable if washed regularly?

Also,

I'm 6 foot tall with a 32" waist - Can anyone suggest if large or medium be best suited?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They need washing after every use as sweat damages them. Personally, I'd go for a large. I'm 6'4" with a 35" waist and have gone for an XL that fits nicely.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
JamesF
 
 Schwalbe Snow Stud Performance Kevlar Rigid MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Snow Stud Performance Kevlar Rigid MTB Tyre
Extreme weather tyre for use when ice is a possibility! For many of us who live in more temperate regions, the likelihood of a midday thaw followed by an overnight freeze means that ice may be frequently encountered.
 

How many studs are on these tyres?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
100 by the looks of Schwalbe's site - http://www.schwalbe.co.uk/spikes/snow-stud/.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
JamesF