JamesF
Top 500 Contributor
Share JamesF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JamesF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    40
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    13 October 2010
  • Last Review
    26 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2010
  • Last Question
    24 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    13 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
JamesF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Shorts although Pad is an Acquired Taste
Posted26 January 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Overall, these shorts represent amazing value for money given the pad that they ship with; it's one of the best Cytech do. The variable padding on the foam is also very noticeable and should be more comfortable. So far, though, the abiding impression of them is that the pad feels a bit odd and so does riding in these shorts. There's something about where the padding is and the elastic interface that makes it feel as if it's not doing its job and yet I've done a 30 mile ride and they've been absolutely fine. So, I'd recommend them but caution that they do feel a bit odd compared to other shorts when you wear them. Beyond that, the design may polarise opinion; I got the black one, which at least doesn't stand out too much."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Jersey Let down by Quality
Posted15 January 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The Clip is a really good Spring/Autumn jersey and it was a pleasant surprise that even the arms just about fit, given I'm 6'4" and very long armed! The only thing that's proved disappointing is that the stitching has started to come loose on one sleeve. So far it's only cosmetic so I'll see how it goes before sending it back but it's a real shame as everything else is great and if it's on offer it's an absolute bargain."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tight
Posted06 January 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have commented, these seem to have been developed with an unusual rider in mind as they're both very tight at the top and bottom and incredibly long. I'm 188cm tall and 80-85 kg and went for a medium; previously I thought I'd got long thin legs ;-). As noted by another review I end up with a 'muffin top' at the top of my leg and the ankles grip tightly. They also come all the way up my legs. Having said all that, they don't slip down (!?) and stretching them a bit means that they gradually get less tight. They also do the job perfectly, staying warm and the tightness I noticed when I first put them on goes away only a few minutes into the ride."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Basic but Good
Posted25 November 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got the clear version of these and whilst they are fairly basic in the materials used they just work. They stay on your face nicely, the anti fog vents mostly work (the only time they've struggled is when it was tipping it down with freezing rain and that would be a challenge for any glasses) and they shed water reasonably well. For the money they're an absolute bargain and, as some have commented, even if you destroy them it's not a huge amount to buy a new pair."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Little Tool for Road Repairs
Posted27 June 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This tool works very well if you get stuck out on the road as it's got pretty much everything you need including a chain tool. There are three downsides. It's quite heavy but that's not as much of a concern if you're commuting or touring. It doesn't come with a pouch so it can rattle around in your bag and damage other things. Lastly, and this is the main thing, the tools are quite short so they'll all fit in, which means you occasionally have to take other bits off to get at the bit you want to fix."
Pros: Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Do What they Say on the, er, Bag
Posted27 June 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have written, it would be handy to have a zip loc bag or similar to store these in. I've got a Proofide tin that is almost finished so they'll go in there when it is. Other than that, it's a cable end cap and they fit brake and gear cables. There isn't much else to say!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Expensive at Full Price
Posted27 June 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have to say that when you get these you wonder where money for them goes at full price. Having said that, at roughly half price they're reasonable value for money. I went for the blue cleats so there's only a degree of play either side. I've also spent quite a bit of time getting them lined up properly so hopefully my knees won't suffer. So far they seem to be set up about right. In line with others these seem to engage better than the yellows; they seem to catch at the front more positively and click in at the back more firmly."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windproof Windtex Headband
dhb Windproof Windtex Headband
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product for Spring Mornings
Posted26 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this to complement a skull cap I use for winter. It keeps my ears warm without heating my head up too much so it works very well. It can get a bit rustly under a helmet but that's the Windtex for you!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Gel - 5L Bottle
Nano Gel - 5L Bottle
The Muc-Off Nano Gel has been specifically formulated to be safe on disc brake pads, anodising and paintwork while removing dirt, sand, traffic film, mud, insects, clay and oily road grime to leave your bike sparkling clean!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK but not Great after Morgan Blue
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The positives of using the Nano Gel are that you're using something fully biodegradable and it's nicer to the bike. Ultimately, though, if you're after something that will keep your drive train absolutely clean then Morgan Blue just does a much better job. Used neat as a chain cleaner, the Nano Gel is really gloopy and seems to stay on the surface, being difficult to wash off. Start pouring it into a bottle to dilute it and it goes a bit too weak and it's a bit of a faff getting it in the bottle. Once it's there then it doesn't clean anywhere near as well as the Morgan Blue chain cleaner. OK, you pay more for Morgan Blue but you can cut it with window cleaner as the pro mechanics do to make it go further and it just does a far better job on drive trains. If I'm washing mud off then I'd much rather use a specific bike wash than something that's trying to be both a degreaser and bike cleaner. In summary, not terrible but not so great either; if you want something cheap and OK then this is it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Value Short
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these for my regular commute and whilst they're not as comfy over longer distances as the more expensive shorts in the dhb range they're absolutely fine for the shorter distances (up to 20 miles each way) I do on my commute. No, you don't get all the fancy fabrics and pad. What you do get are shorts that are well put together and, so far, have lasted well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JamesF's Questions
 
 

Does a Bryton Rider 40 fit into this bracket?

I *think* the Garmin mounts do but I'd rather check before investing. Looking for something more secure than the standard O ring mount supplied with all Bryton units.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable – the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

Sizing Question (again!)

Similar to others who have asked. I'm 6'4" but slim so just have a 42" chest and 36" waist so whilst the XXL would work for height would they be far too baggy around the waist and chest?
 
Products related to my question
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
4.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 4 months ago
by
JamesF
 
JamesF's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 

warm?

hi,
I want to ask how much warm is that jersey? Will be enough for late autumn season like now? This jersey + dhb Turbulence? Will be good set? :)
Thanks,
merlin
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I ride in this with a base layer down to about 6 degrees centigrade although it is getting chilly at that point if I'm cruising and I'm quite hardy! I'd suggest that for most once it gets below 10 you'd be looking for something a bit thicker.
2 weeks ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Can it replace chain by itself?

Could this tool replace a chain by itself without any need for other tools whilst out on a ride?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd say yes at a push although I haven't tried it. It's the reason why I got it as it avoids having to carry a chain tool as well.
7 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

What wrench to use?

What size wrench do I need to fit these?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You need a standard pedal spanner (15mm). If you're buying one to fit these, make sure you get a long handled one. My experience has been that even putting grease on when you fit these they're still tight to remove.
7 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Is this tape adhesive?

One of the reviewers suggested it is better to get the adhesive version. How does this attach to the rim if it is not adhesive?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The stuff I got wasn't. It fits tightly on the rim, and a combination of that and its width means that it stays put. It depends what you want. Some people on the CTC forum wouldn't have anything other than adhesive rim tape to make sure it stays in place and it doesn't crack. Personally, I haven't had either problem and I'd much rather not have to remove adhesive from the rim if I pop a new rim tape on.
7 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Can I Please Know if this Tape has a Pressure Limit Marked on It ?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The tape is marked as suitable for high pressure tyres. I'm running 26" slicks at 6atm and they seem to be fine. Not sure what would happen running higher pressures but the tape itself seems to be quite thick so I would imagine it would work fine.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

What temps are these gloves good for?

Are they warm enough to wear in 0 degrees C?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've used them down to -6 C, at which point I must admit I stop cycling ;-). I find for the first 10 minutes my fingers are a bit cold but then warm up.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Comparison to dhb Extreme Winter glove

Can anyone offer a comparison to the dhb Extreme Winter glove (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-extreme-winter-glove/)?

They seem to have to 2 similar products. Interested in differences in warmth & waterproofing.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've been using my Amberley IIs down to -6 and my fingers have stayed warm and toasty once I've got through the first 10 minutes of warming up. I can't see a situation where I'd want to switch to the Extreme Winter gloves. I think at that point I just wouldn't be riding the bike ;-).
1 year, 11 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Special chain required?

Do I need to use this with any particular chain or will any 8 speed chain do?
Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm just using a KMC rustless 8 speed chain and as I understand it the cassette will work with any 8 speed chain.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Usage and sizing.

Are these shorts suitable to use several times a week?

If so.. will they need washing after every use? And are they durable if washed regularly?

Also,

I'm 6 foot tall with a 32" waist - Can anyone suggest if large or medium be best suited?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They need washing after every use as sweat damages them. Personally, I'd go for a large. I'm 6'4" with a 35" waist and have gone for an XL that fits nicely.
2 years ago
by
JamesF
 
 Schwalbe Snow Stud Performance Kevlar Rigid MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Snow Stud Performance Kevlar Rigid MTB Tyre
Extreme weather tyre for use when ice is a possibility! For many of us who live in more temperate regions, the likelihood of a midday thaw followed by an overnight freeze means that ice may be frequently encountered.
 

How many studs are on these tyres?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
100 by the looks of Schwalbe's site - http://www.schwalbe.co.uk/spikes/snow-stud/.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
JamesF