JamesF
Top 500 Contributor
Share JamesF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JamesF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    32
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    13 October 2010
  • Last Review
    25 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2010
  • Last Question
    24 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    13 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    18 October 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
JamesF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Muc-Off Nano Gel has been specifically formulated to be safe on disc brake pads, anodising and paintwork while removing dirt, sand, traffic film, mud, insects, clay and oily road grime to leave your bike sparkling clean!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK but not Great after Morgan Blue
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The positives of using the Nano Gel are that you're using something fully biodegradable and it's nicer to the bike. Ultimately, though, if you're after something that will keep your drive train absolutely clean then Morgan Blue just does a much better job. Used neat as a chain cleaner, the Nano Gel is really gloopy and seems to stay on the surface, being difficult to wash off. Start pouring it into a bottle to dilute it and it goes a bit too weak and it's a bit of a faff getting it in the bottle. Once it's there then it doesn't clean anywhere near as well as the Morgan Blue chain cleaner. OK, you pay more for Morgan Blue but you can cut it with window cleaner as the pro mechanics do to make it go further and it just does a far better job on drive trains. If I'm washing mud off then I'd much rather use a specific bike wash than something that's trying to be both a degreaser and bike cleaner. In summary, not terrible but not so great either; if you want something cheap and OK then this is it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric, refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling bib short without compromise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Value Short
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these for my regular commute and whilst they're not as comfy over longer distances as the more expensive shorts in the dhb range they're absolutely fine for the shorter distances (up to 20 miles each way) I do on my commute. No, you don't get all the fancy fabrics and pad. What you do get are shorts that are well put together and, so far, have lasted well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's Shimano; It "Just Works"
Posted20 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this cassette to match with a Shimano 105 derailleur and, true to form for 105, it just works. Shifting is not necessarily Di2 stellar, although it is rock solid. About the only negative thing you can say is that you have to assemble the cassette, spacers and all, which is a bit of a pain and it's a tight fit on a 105 freehub with the spacer in place. On sale it proved to be a real bargain!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26”) wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Essential Rim Tape
Posted18 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a product that does what it says on the tin, hence the review title. At a few quid then it's hard to say much more! Fitted my 26" mountain bike wheels to perfection and it was nice to see the rim type mentioned on the description and the tape itself. This was to replace my old rim tapes and it's especially good to see it works for high pressure tyres, which means that I can run my slicks at 6atm."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Pad and Short, Colour doesn't Last
Posted30 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As suggested by the title, the pad on these shorts is excellent and the fit is good for me on an XL (6'4" and around 95kg). What lets this short down is that the black and white panel fades on only one wash, meaning that you get a grey'ish black and the colours aren't quite so bright. That's a shame as everything else about the shorts is great and so long as you don't mind that (use these for commuting so it's not an issue) they're very good value for money when they're on sale."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Knee Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Autumn/Spring Leg Warmer
Posted20 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these as I recently got hit by a car and my knees have been suffering when it's slightly cold. The warmers are a good fit and they do provide warmth but only down to about 10 degrees C, after which they struggle a bit. So, worth buying but bear in mind they only work to certain temperatures, after which longer super roubaix warmers would probably be better."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
All new Rubino Pro features available with a slick tread pattern!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Must Buy for Commuting
Posted20 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These tyres are, without a doubt, one of the best items you'll buy if you have a mountain bike you use for commuting. They grip really well, the high thread count means they flex around broken road surfaces and the high pressures and hard centre ridge of rubber means that they roll really well, increasing your speed. Oh, and they haven't punctured yet so I'm assuming the puncture resistance works well. Don't be thrown by them being slick; the grip is excellent in both the wet and the dry. Highly recommended."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ceramic Wet is so unique and leading edgeits been patented! Breakthrough ceramic-bonding technology that coats your chain to prevent wear and corrosion and then cushions it chain with a blanket of pure synthetic racing oil.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic Lube
Posted02 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you've got the kind of commute I have, which is through country lanes, mostly in the wet and the snow then this is the stuff to have. It sticks and it lasts but it's important to use it sparingly or you end up with gunge very quickly (which, to be fair, is the same as most wet lubes). I'd give it the edge over the standard Finish Line wet lube as it does seem to give a smoother transmission for longer. Got it whilst it was cheap so excellent value for money."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Tech Bike Cleaner buy 1 get 1 free
Nano Tech Bike Cleaner buy 1 get 1 free
Buy one litre of Muc-Offs Nano Tech Bike Cleaner and get another FREE to remove double the dirt and grime with even less effort at the same great price.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Gentle Bike Cleaner
Posted01 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like Muc-Off because it works and it's quite a gentle cleaner. I've tried others such as the Park degreaser and they're much more effective at removing chain gunk but they are a lot harsher on everything else. If you're after a gentle cleaner that will get most of the gunk off in the first go then this is for you. If it doesn't clear everything first time then use it again."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All you Need
Posted01 May 2013
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's hard to argue with the logic of buying these pedals if you run SPDs. At their current price they're only a fiver more than buying fresh cleats so when you replace your cleats you might as well have a fresh pair of pedals. They're so cheap that they've become disposable and I don't even bother servicing the things as they work up to the point where I need to buy new cleats. They work in snow, mud, pretty much anything you can throw at them. They're not particularly light but if you're on SPDs, I'd argue that you're mostly not *that* bothered about a light pedal, you'd like reliability more. Which brings me to the final point that these things just work and they're very simple to adjust."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JamesF's Questions
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

Does a Bryton Rider 40 fit into this bracket?

I *think* the Garmin mounts do but I'd rather check before investing. Looking for something more secure than the standard O ring mount supplied with all Bryton units.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
JamesF
 
 Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable – the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

Sizing Question (again!)

Similar to others who have asked. I'm 6'4" but slim so just have a 42" chest and 36" waist so whilst the XXL would work for height would they be far too baggy around the waist and chest?
 
Products related to my question
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
4.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 7 months ago
by
JamesF
 
JamesF's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26”) wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Can I Please Know if this Tape has a Pressure Limit Marked on It ?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The tape is marked as suitable for high pressure tyres. I'm running 26" slicks at 6atm and they seem to be fine. Not sure what would happen running higher pressures but the tape itself seems to be quite thick so I would imagine it would work fine.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

What temps are these gloves good for?

Are they warm enough to wear in 0 degrees C?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've used them down to -6 C, at which point I must admit I stop cycling ;-). I find for the first 10 minutes my fingers are a bit cold but then warm up.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

Comparison to dhb Extreme Winter glove

Can anyone offer a comparison to the dhb Extreme Winter glove (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-extreme-winter-glove/)?

They seem to have to 2 similar products. Interested in differences in warmth & waterproofing.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've been using my Amberley IIs down to -6 and my fingers have stayed warm and toasty once I've got through the first 10 minutes of warming up. I can't see a situation where I'd want to switch to the Extreme Winter gloves. I think at that point I just wouldn't be riding the bike ;-).
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Special chain required?

Do I need to use this with any particular chain or will any 8 speed chain do?
Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm just using a KMC rustless 8 speed chain and as I understand it the cassette will work with any 8 speed chain.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 

Usage and sizing.

Are these shorts suitable to use several times a week?

If so.. will they need washing after every use? And are they durable if washed regularly?

Also,

I'm 6 foot tall with a 32" waist - Can anyone suggest if large or medium be best suited?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They need washing after every use as sweat damages them. Personally, I'd go for a large. I'm 6'4" with a 35" waist and have gone for an XL that fits nicely.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Extreme weather tyre for use when ice is a possibility! For many of us who live in more temperate regions, the likelihood of a midday thaw followed by an overnight freeze means that ice may be frequently encountered.
 

How many studs are on these tyres?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
100 by the looks of Schwalbe's site - http://www.schwalbe.co.uk/spikes/snow-stud/.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
JamesF
 
LifeLine High Pressure Floor Pump with High Mounted Gauge
 

How do I connect it to the tyre?

Having just purchased this pump can anyone tell me the correct way to attach this pump to the tyre without bending the valve!
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's a bit tricky to connect the first few times you use it. You need to make sure the head is pushed all the way onto the valve and then rotate the little plastic dot to the side of the head on the pump the valve is connected to. It's really easy to get this wrong (done it several times), in which case you wonder whether you need to push it on harder. It's also easy on presta valves not to push the head on far enough. Hope that helps.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 

Full suspension MTB compatibility.......

Will they fit my full suspension MTB style Bike with 26" "V" brakes?How do they attach to front forks?I have no fork fixing point except wheel spindle nut...Thanks...Andy.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Andy, I've got front suspension forks and I'm going to use zip ties and the mounting point on the brace between the forks. Technically, you're not supposed to fit a front guard to suspension forks. Apparently ;-).

More information on how at http://www.cyclingcrowd.com/Uwe/Forum.aspx/uk-bicycle/6666/Mudgaurd-brackets-for-front-suspension-forks.

Not too sure what you've got on the rear suspension so can't help you on that one.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Super soft, ultra warm, there will be no stopping the momentum! Mid-weight slim fitting, fully featured cycling jersey.
 

What's my size?

I've read some complaints that you need one number bigger than your actual. But, I have opposite problem.
I'm 194cm tall (arm span 200cm), 109cm chest, 88cm waist. What size should I go for?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I am around the same dimensions as you and went for an XL. That allows me to get a base layer underneath it and it's a snug fit so if you want a looser fit or to put more clothing underneath I'd say go for the XXL.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
JamesF
 
LifeLine High Pressure Floor Pump with High Mounted Gauge
 

How do i stop the air coming out when finished pumping up?

Seem to get to 120 psi, then when you release it, a big puff of air comes out which you seem to loose?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
That happens to me too but your tyre is still at 120 psi. It's just one of the features of pumps and comes from the air pressure needed to push the valve down for air to go into the tyre. Hope that helps.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
JamesF