JamesF
Top 250 Contributor
Share JamesF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JamesF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    53
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    13 October 2010
  • Last Review
    23 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    21 May 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    13 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    23 June 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
JamesF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost, with 16mm setback, is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Not that Great
Posted23 June 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'll start this review by saying that I've not had a great experience with this product and I accept it could be the frame it's in. I originally bought it for layback and on that score, it's fine. It also looks amazing when you first take it out of its bag. That was about the point the magic wore off. In the Ti frame I've got and with a Thomson clamp this thing slipped after only 20 miles. Given the original seat clamp, it didn't slip quite as much but only stopped slipping at 7Nm and even then it does a small amount. With carbon assembly paste, it grips but it also clicks and creaks. This is before adjusting the head for the saddle. I have no idea why people rave about the two bolt system. On this post, there isn't enough clearance for a standard torque wrench on the front bolt and Thompson insist on torquing it up to a very specific figure. Seat angle is also very limited so if you like running your saddle with more than a bit of downward tilt you're out of luck. If, on the other hand, you want the saddle tilted right back then you're in luck. Put it to the limit and I'd say your bike was unrideable. All this seems to be as a result of the layback being achieved by having a bend in the post. I really wanted to like this post and the accompanying seat clamp. I have to say I couldn't recommend either unless I'm missing something. Reading around on the web suggests there are others with similar issues."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Low Quality, Poor Fit, Unadjustable, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Piece of Kit
Posted23 June 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this on the basis of a review in a magazine and I have to say that it works better than I thought. I got the black so, as my wife puts it, I look like a fan at an 80s German soft metal concert; not exactly great in terms of sartorial elegance. In terms of performance, though, it wicks very well and surprised me how cool I felt when wearing it. It also works well on those marginal mornings where a short sleeve top on its own is not quite enough. So far it's been through a couple of washes and survived. About the only negative is that it is quite pricey for what you get if you don't get it on sale. I'm also not *that* convinced by the benefits of summer base layers that I'd get another one. I got a medium and I'm 6'4", around 80kg and a 40" chest and it fits well, staying close but not too close."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vulcanizing Patch Kit includes six thin and flexible patches with tapered edges to blend perfectly with the profile of the inner tube
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
They Work!
Posted23 June 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There's not much to say about a puncture repair kit other than if it doesn't work you're a bit stuffed. I've tried others and always come back to the Park one. Everything fits in a small box so it's easy to carry. The patches have chamfered edges so they blend onto the tube and hold. And more than anything else the patches stay stuck. Far better than buying a new tube every time you puncture."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PTFE coated stainless steel inner gear cable for the ultimate in smooth shifting performance, designed to complement the top-of-the-range Shimano Dura-Ace and XTR groupsets.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Just Works
Posted02 June 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's hard to get excited about cable. I swapped this out with a cable and inner that had both rusted and frayed inside the shifter and it's now a lot smoother shifting so the cable will have had something to do with that. Well worth while getting a decent set of cutters to go with this if you're re-fitting and the only other comment is that it may be worth getting a cable outer and inner as the outers often need replacing at the same time as the inners."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The name alone indicates how significant this new tyre is for Schwalbe. It is the fastest and at the same time most reliable competition tyre they have ever made thanks to their new OneStar compound with the added protection of V-Guard under the tread.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simply Amazing
Posted02 June 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got the 28mm version of these and they absolutely transform the ride of my bike. On a wide rim, I've got them at around 85 psi and not only do they roll very smoothly and quickly, they are incredibly comfortable. I've only had one foray off road with them in the Tour of the Black Country although that threw a mix of gravel, rough cobbles and even dirt at them and didn't phase them at all; they were completely stable and meant I could go over gravel at 25-30 with no issues at all. I don't ride these often as they're on my best wheels so it's hard to comment on puncture protection and longevity. Going back to the Tour, though, there were many with punctures at the side of the road and I didn't have any. I'd really recommend these. I was sceptical of whether the extra would be worth it over my other training tyres but it definitely is."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Thomson are famous for their strong, reliable and lightweight stems and seatposts.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Looks Great. Didn't work for Me
Posted02 June 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As mentioned by other reviewers this product looks great when you get it and take it out of its little bag. Unfortunately for me that was the best experience of it! I used it with a Thomson Elite seatpost in a Ti frame and had slipping from day one regardless of what torque was used (up to the maximum allowed) and having followed all the instructions. I'd also have issue with anything that requires a torque of up to 2.8Nm; most torque wrenches are simply not *that* accurate. Given the price, a disappointing experience."
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
For the Price; Amazing
Posted15 May 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm not entirely sure what is in this stuff but suffice to say that using it gave me wings! I'm not normally a big proponent of high tech drinks as they seem to be more marketing flannel than anything else. For me, this one really works, giving more energy over the ride and meaning I don't have to carry anywhere near as much food. It's also great post ride and in the summer fruits flavour I've got it's not too heavy. At a discounted price it's well worth buying!"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stylish upgrade of the top selling Mini, same great features as the Mini DX with a built-in gauge for perfect inflation every time. Ideal for road or mtb's, capable of inflating upto 120psi.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK Mini Pump if you want sth with Pressure Gauge
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this for my road bike in the event of emergencies and it's great for that. The chuck works with multiple valves and is easy to secure. Where it doesn't score and this applies to most mini pumps I've tried is that it's a real trial getting the tyre up to a reasonable pressure and the gauge is indicative rather than definitive. Add onto that the difficult of reading the gauge and it's worth noting what the pressure reading is at home for when you're out on the road. That all said, it's not massively expensive and the bracket for it is very neat. It'll also secure under a seat bag if need be although it is quite long for that."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for the removal and installation of Shimano chainrings and self-extracting crank caps. One end has pegs to hold the back of chainring bolts, and the other has pegs that locate into the self-extracting bolts.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Works OK for What it is
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have commented, if you have low expectations of this product then it'll be OK and there is an element of it suffering from the design of chainring bolts. It will sort of grip onto them if you have it at the right angle but not particularly securely and there is an element of it being only marginally better than using your finger to hold onto the bolt or a large screwdriver. Having said that, if you have issues with getting bolts tight enough or loosening them off then this is the tool for you and it isn't that expensive, although there is an argument that it's just pressed steel so probably costs pennies to make."
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Day Bag
Posted25 February 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I spent a while looking for bags that I could use if I was doing day long sportives and this one is just about perfect. The fact it expands means you can use it for a full day event if you want whilst keeping it down to essentials for shorter rides. It has elastic bands underneath for storing a micro pump if you don't have space next to the bottle cage. The rear opens up wide to take everything in and has a nice mesh pocket for keys and a multi tool. It's secured by three separate straps so even if one fails you have the other two to get you home (notably not the case on the quick fit version) and there is versatility for it to fit to any saddle. It is slim enough that it doesn't interfere with pedaling and appears to be waterproof so far. Finally, I can fit a couple of 700x28c tubes in here, a puncture repair kit, tyre levers, a couple of chocolate bars, a multi-tools and keys with room spare for gels if I want. A rather sarcastic friend said I'd probably also have room for a sandwich ;-). About the only down side with it is that the seatpost strap is, I think, made big enough for aero posts so if you have a standard post there is a lot of strap left. If you're really picky the rear loop for the light can also potentially angle your rear light very slightly down if you have the bag very full."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JamesF's Questions
 
For use with 1.2mm gear wires and SP41 sealed outer caps
 

What Ferrules do I need to go with This

Preferably a link to a product that would work on the Wiggle site.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
JamesF
 
 GT Grade AL 105 2015
GT Grade AL 105 2015
For a comfortable and enjoyable set up that is primarily to get you from A to B fast whether it be gravel tracks or hard hitting roads then the new 2015 GT Grade AL 105 is the one for you.
 

Is there clearance for mudguards AND 35c tyres?

The reason I ask is that I'd like to run Schwalbe Marathon winter tyres (with spikes) so I can use this all the way through winter. They're 35c so from what I've read they'd fit without mudguards but that'd mean getting wet when it rains :-(.
6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

Does a Bryton Rider 40 fit into this bracket?

I *think* the Garmin mounts do but I'd rather check before investing. Looking for something more secure than the standard O ring mount supplied with all Bryton units.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable – the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

Sizing Question (again!)

Similar to others who have asked. I'm 6'4" but slim so just have a 42" chest and 36" waist so whilst the XXL would work for height would they be far too baggy around the waist and chest?
 
Products related to my question
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
4.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 11 months ago
by
JamesF
 
JamesF's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Six glueless patches held in a low-profile pouch for easy storage.
 

what is size and quality of tyre boot?

I want a tyre boot patch - this entire set is much cheaper than the cheapest tyre boot patch I can find.... is the tyre boot patch in this set good quality and large enough?! (why so cheap??)
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
As I remember, the tyre boot is a piece of cardboard. It'll do but I'd personally prefer an old bit of tyre or a piece of duct tape stuck on my pump and there's even an argument the case this comes in, suitably trimmed, would do a better job! Re size, if you go much bigger than the boot then I think you're pretty much stuffed anyway!
2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 

Does this product contain the scoop required to measure the powder?

HI I just purchased one of these of Wiggle and it did not come with a measuring scoop....is it supposed to ?

if not where can I get one?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Mine contained a scoop but it was buried in the powder so it's worth having a look for it!
3 months, 1 week ago
by
JamesF
 
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 

warm?

hi,
I want to ask how much warm is that jersey? Will be enough for late autumn season like now? This jersey + dhb Turbulence? Will be good set? :)
Thanks,
merlin
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I ride in this with a base layer down to about 6 degrees centigrade although it is getting chilly at that point if I'm cruising and I'm quite hardy! I'd suggest that for most once it gets below 10 you'd be looking for something a bit thicker.
7 months ago
by
JamesF
 
A beautifully finished Multi-tool with 21 precision tool bits for any mid-ride repair/maintenance situation. With spoke keys, a chain tool, a range of hex, torx and screwdriver heads, the LifeLine 21 in 1 tool is indispensable for all high mileage rides.
 

Can it replace chain by itself?

Could this tool replace a chain by itself without any need for other tools whilst out on a ride?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'd say yes at a push although I haven't tried it. It's the reason why I got it as it avoids having to carry a chain tool as well.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

What wrench to use?

What size wrench do I need to fit these?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You need a standard pedal spanner (15mm). If you're buying one to fit these, make sure you get a long handled one. My experience has been that even putting grease on when you fit these they're still tight to remove.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Is this tape adhesive?

One of the reviewers suggested it is better to get the adhesive version. How does this attach to the rim if it is not adhesive?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The stuff I got wasn't. It fits tightly on the rim, and a combination of that and its width means that it stays put. It depends what you want. Some people on the CTC forum wouldn't have anything other than adhesive rim tape to make sure it stays in place and it doesn't crack. Personally, I haven't had either problem and I'd much rather not have to remove adhesive from the rim if I pop a new rim tape on.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Can I Please Know if this Tape has a Pressure Limit Marked on It ?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The tape is marked as suitable for high pressure tyres. I'm running 26" slicks at 6atm and they seem to be fine. Not sure what would happen running higher pressures but the tape itself seems to be quite thick so I would imagine it would work fine.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

What temps are these gloves good for?

Are they warm enough to wear in 0 degrees C?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've used them down to -6 C, at which point I must admit I stop cycling ;-). I find for the first 10 minutes my fingers are a bit cold but then warm up.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

Comparison to dhb Extreme Winter glove

Can anyone offer a comparison to the dhb Extreme Winter glove (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-extreme-winter-glove/)?

They seem to have to 2 similar products. Interested in differences in warmth & waterproofing.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've been using my Amberley IIs down to -6 and my fingers have stayed warm and toasty once I've got through the first 10 minutes of warming up. I can't see a situation where I'd want to switch to the Extreme Winter gloves. I think at that point I just wouldn't be riding the bike ;-).
2 years, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Special chain required?

Do I need to use this with any particular chain or will any 8 speed chain do?
Thanks.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm just using a KMC rustless 8 speed chain and as I understand it the cassette will work with any 8 speed chain.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
JamesF