JamesF
Top 500 Contributor
Share JamesF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JamesF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    36
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    13 October 2010
  • Last Review
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2010
  • Last Question
    24 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    13 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
JamesF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
A beautifully finished Multi-tool with 21 precision tool bits for any mid-ride repair/maintenance situation. With spoke keys, a chain tool, a range of hex, torx and screwdriver heads, the LifeLine 21 in 1 tool is indispensable for all high mileage rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Little Tool for Road Repairs
Posted27 June 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This tool works very well if you get stuck out on the road as it's got pretty much everything you need including a chain tool. There are three downsides. It's quite heavy but that's not as much of a concern if you're commuting or touring. It doesn't come with a pouch so it can rattle around in your bag and damage other things. Lastly, and this is the main thing, the tools are quite short so they'll all fit in, which means you occasionally have to take other bits off to get at the bit you want to fix."
Pros: Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Do What they Say on the, er, Bag
Posted27 June 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have written, it would be handy to have a zip loc bag or similar to store these in. I've got a Proofide tin that is almost finished so they'll go in there when it is. Other than that, it's a cable end cap and they fit brake and gear cables. There isn't much else to say!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Expensive at Full Price
Posted27 June 2014
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have to say that when you get these you wonder where money for them goes at full price. Having said that, at roughly half price they're reasonable value for money. I went for the blue cleats so there's only a degree of play either side. I've also spent quite a bit of time getting them lined up properly so hopefully my knees won't suffer. So far they seem to be set up about right. In line with others these seem to engage better than the yellows; they seem to catch at the front more positively and click in at the back more firmly."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product for Spring Mornings
Posted26 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this to complement a skull cap I use for winter. It keeps my ears warm without heating my head up too much so it works very well. It can get a bit rustly under a helmet but that's the Windtex for you!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nano Gel - 5L Bottle
Nano Gel - 5L Bottle
The Muc-Off Nano Gel has been specifically formulated to be safe on disc brake pads, anodising and paintwork while removing dirt, sand, traffic film, mud, insects, clay and oily road grime to leave your bike sparkling clean!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK but not Great after Morgan Blue
Posted25 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The positives of using the Nano Gel are that you're using something fully biodegradable and it's nicer to the bike. Ultimately, though, if you're after something that will keep your drive train absolutely clean then Morgan Blue just does a much better job. Used neat as a chain cleaner, the Nano Gel is really gloopy and seems to stay on the surface, being difficult to wash off. Start pouring it into a bottle to dilute it and it goes a bit too weak and it's a bit of a faff getting it in the bottle. Once it's there then it doesn't clean anywhere near as well as the Morgan Blue chain cleaner. OK, you pay more for Morgan Blue but you can cut it with window cleaner as the pro mechanics do to make it go further and it just does a far better job on drive trains. If I'm washing mud off then I'd much rather use a specific bike wash than something that's trying to be both a degreaser and bike cleaner. In summary, not terrible but not so great either; if you want something cheap and OK then this is it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric, refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling bib short without compromise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Value Short
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these for my regular commute and whilst they're not as comfy over longer distances as the more expensive shorts in the dhb range they're absolutely fine for the shorter distances (up to 20 miles each way) I do on my commute. No, you don't get all the fancy fabrics and pad. What you do get are shorts that are well put together and, so far, have lasted well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's Shimano; It "Just Works"
Posted20 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this cassette to match with a Shimano 105 derailleur and, true to form for 105, it just works. Shifting is not necessarily Di2 stellar, although it is rock solid. About the only negative thing you can say is that you have to assemble the cassette, spacers and all, which is a bit of a pain and it's a tight fit on a 105 freehub with the spacer in place. On sale it proved to be a real bargain!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Essential Rim Tape
Posted18 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a product that does what it says on the tin, hence the review title. At a few quid then it's hard to say much more! Fitted my 26" mountain bike wheels to perfection and it was nice to see the rim type mentioned on the description and the tape itself. This was to replace my old rim tapes and it's especially good to see it works for high pressure tyres, which means that I can run my slicks at 6atm."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Pad and Short, Colour doesn't Last
Posted30 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As suggested by the title, the pad on these shorts is excellent and the fit is good for me on an XL (6'4" and around 95kg). What lets this short down is that the black and white panel fades on only one wash, meaning that you get a grey'ish black and the colours aren't quite so bright. That's a shame as everything else about the shorts is great and so long as you don't mind that (use these for commuting so it's not an issue) they're very good value for money when they're on sale."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vaeon Roubaix Knee Warmers
Vaeon Roubaix Knee Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Knee Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Autumn/Spring Leg Warmer
Posted20 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these as I recently got hit by a car and my knees have been suffering when it's slightly cold. The warmers are a good fit and they do provide warmth but only down to about 10 degrees C, after which they struggle a bit. So, worth buying but bear in mind they only work to certain temperatures, after which longer super roubaix warmers would probably be better."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JamesF's Questions
 
The SRAM QuickView Computer Mounts features an all-new design optimized for off-road or road use while retaining the simple and secure 1/4 turn twist mount interface.
 

Does a Bryton Rider 40 fit into this bracket?

I *think* the Garmin mounts do but I'd rather check before investing. Looking for something more secure than the standard O ring mount supplied with all Bryton units.
9 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable – the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

Sizing Question (again!)

Similar to others who have asked. I'm 6'4" but slim so just have a 42" chest and 36" waist so whilst the XXL would work for height would they be far too baggy around the waist and chest?
 
Products related to my question
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
4.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 11 months ago
by
JamesF
 
JamesF's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
A beautifully finished Multi-tool with 21 precision tool bits for any mid-ride repair/maintenance situation. With spoke keys, a chain tool, a range of hex, torx and screwdriver heads, the LifeLine 21 in 1 tool is indispensable for all high mileage rides.
 

Can it replace chain by itself?

Could this tool replace a chain by itself without any need for other tools whilst out on a ride?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd say yes at a push although I haven't tried it. It's the reason why I got it as it avoids having to carry a chain tool as well.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
JamesF
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

What wrench to use?

What size wrench do I need to fit these?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You need a standard pedal spanner (15mm). If you're buying one to fit these, make sure you get a long handled one. My experience has been that even putting grease on when you fit these they're still tight to remove.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
JamesF
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Is this tape adhesive?

One of the reviewers suggested it is better to get the adhesive version. How does this attach to the rim if it is not adhesive?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The stuff I got wasn't. It fits tightly on the rim, and a combination of that and its width means that it stays put. It depends what you want. Some people on the CTC forum wouldn't have anything other than adhesive rim tape to make sure it stays in place and it doesn't crack. Personally, I haven't had either problem and I'd much rather not have to remove adhesive from the rim if I pop a new rim tape on.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
JamesF
 
Lifeline Essentials Rim-tapes are designed to be compatible with most road (700c) and MTB (26") wheels. Each available in two widths for both narrow and wide section rims.
 

Can I Please Know if this Tape has a Pressure Limit Marked on It ?

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The tape is marked as suitable for high pressure tyres. I'm running 26" slicks at 6atm and they seem to be fine. Not sure what would happen running higher pressures but the tape itself seems to be quite thick so I would imagine it would work fine.
10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

What temps are these gloves good for?

Are they warm enough to wear in 0 degrees C?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've used them down to -6 C, at which point I must admit I stop cycling ;-). I find for the first 10 minutes my fingers are a bit cold but then warm up.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Our 10/10 Amberley glove offers an articulated fit with waterproof protection, making it hugely versatile across the seasons.
 

Comparison to dhb Extreme Winter glove

Can anyone offer a comparison to the dhb Extreme Winter glove (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-extreme-winter-glove/)?

They seem to have to 2 similar products. Interested in differences in warmth & waterproofing.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I've been using my Amberley IIs down to -6 and my fingers have stayed warm and toasty once I've got through the first 10 minutes of warming up. I can't see a situation where I'd want to switch to the Extreme Winter gloves. I think at that point I just wouldn't be riding the bike ;-).
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Special chain required?

Do I need to use this with any particular chain or will any 8 speed chain do?
Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm just using a KMC rustless 8 speed chain and as I understand it the cassette will work with any 8 speed chain.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 

Usage and sizing.

Are these shorts suitable to use several times a week?

If so.. will they need washing after every use? And are they durable if washed regularly?

Also,

I'm 6 foot tall with a 32" waist - Can anyone suggest if large or medium be best suited?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They need washing after every use as sweat damages them. Personally, I'd go for a large. I'm 6'4" with a 35" waist and have gone for an XL that fits nicely.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
JamesF
 
Extreme weather tyre for use when ice is a possibility! For many of us who live in more temperate regions, the likelihood of a midday thaw followed by an overnight freeze means that ice may be frequently encountered.
 

How many studs are on these tyres?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
100 by the looks of Schwalbe's site - http://www.schwalbe.co.uk/spikes/snow-stud/.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 High Pressure Floor Pump
High Pressure Floor Pump
LifeLine High Pressure Floor Pump with High Mounted Gauge
 

How do I connect it to the tyre?

Having just purchased this pump can anyone tell me the correct way to attach this pump to the tyre without bending the valve!
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's a bit tricky to connect the first few times you use it. You need to make sure the head is pushed all the way onto the valve and then rotate the little plastic dot to the side of the head on the pump the valve is connected to. It's really easy to get this wrong (done it several times), in which case you wonder whether you need to push it on harder. It's also easy on presta valves not to push the head on far enough. Hope that helps.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
JamesF