JamesF
Top 250 Contributor
Share JamesF's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
JamesF's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    64
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    13 October 2010
  • Last Review
    25 April 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    23 January 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2010
  • Last Question
    21 May 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    13 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    23 June 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
JamesF's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pricey but Effective
Posted25 April 2016
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I got these as a replacement for some badly worn and aged original pads so perhaps this review is coloured by how bad those had got! Anyway, the Swiss Stop provided an immediate improvement in dry braking and whilst they are pricey they are very effective on the Tektro long reach brakes I have. I'd say if you're considering disks for a road bike then it's worth fitting these if you feel your existing rim brakes aren't performing well. My personal experience is that there is very little difference on either modulation or stopping power. As others have mentioned, you do get two pairs of pads in the pack so they're not *that* much more than standard pads for what you're getting."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tighten Carefully!
Posted19 February 2016
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Overall, these are good value skewers if you are after a bit more security for your wheels (tho bear in mind anyone with a 5mm hex key could get them off) or, as in my case, you need a bit more torque than a qr can deliver on the rear skewer due to horizontal dropouts. Given my wheels fell sort of inbetween sizes I ended up going for the largest size and trimming them down, which worked fine. When it came to tightening them, tho, it was tricky to get the right torque on them so the rear wheel held without breaking them. The max torque is 7Nm and it's just about enough. Any less and I was pulling the wheel across on sharp accelerations away from lights, etc. Any more and I'd risk a broken skewer. Note the packaging states 7ftlb as the max torque (or 9Nm); that will almost certainly break the skewer eventually and isn't necessary in any case. 5Nm is more than enough, IMHO, to hold a wheel in on an angled or vertical drop dropout and that's what's on the front. I've paired the skewers up with a Lifeline preset torque wrench and that's proved a good investment."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: torque sensitive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Kinesis Crosslight Disc V3 Road/CX Wheelset
Kinesis Crosslight Disc V3 Road/CX Wheelset
The Kinesis Crosslight Disc V3 Road/CX clincher Wheelset (3rd generation) are lighter & stronger than ever before, providing real advances on previous versions and superior braking, being disc. Highly adaptable for road riding and during cross events.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Value Wheelset for Discs
Posted04 February 2016
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these for a Surly Straggler build I was doing and they were a really good choice. They're strong and so far have suffered a reasonable amount of abuse on the commute without going out of true. Granted, the version I got are a bit old tech but at the same time you're not paying a massive amount. Good buy for a commuter or do it all bike."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Little Wrench
Posted04 February 2016
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this for some Halo hex wheel skewers and it's just the job. Compared to my torque wrench it seems to reliably tighten to 5Nm and about the only enhancement is to have a store for the spare bits, unless I'm missing something."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Morgan Blue Chain Cleaner - 1000ml Bottle with Spray Head
Morgan Blue Chain Cleaner - 1000ml Bottle with Spray Head
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components. This degreaser is used by several professional teams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing Chain Cleaner; Just not for Bearings
Posted27 January 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This stuff just works and if you want a shiny chain then it's for you. It is, however, VERY effective so keep it well away from bearings and paint and limit use to the greasiest grime on the bike or it can cause issues. It's also completely not biodegradable so be careful where you wash your bike. I have alternating black patches over the lawn from it dripping off!"
Pros: Great Value, effective
Cons: not bio
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Energy Bar
Posted27 January 2016
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got these based on a recommendation from a friend and it was a good one. The bars are substantial but not too difficult to eat on the bike and the flavours are natural. About the only thing they could change is to change the tear opening to the side rather than on top as it means a lot of faff on the bike. Having said that, snip the tops off them before they go in your pocket and they're ready to nibble as you go."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
They do the Job
Posted27 January 2016
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"About the most you can say about these is that they do the job very effectively and don't break readily. It always slightly bemuses me that anyone would make a chain without quick links and having spares means you can very easily repair a broken chain by the roadside."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Value Long Lasting Chain
Posted06 October 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I love the KMC chains as they change well, they're good value for money, they last well and the quick link is the final icing on the cake so they're easy to fit and remove. Not much more that can be said other than to leave cleaning the original grease off them for as long as possible to keep smooth changes. I use mine on a Shimano Ultegra 10 speed setup."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value and as Airtight as you can Get
Posted29 September 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As the title says, my experience with Schwalbe is that they are great value tubes that hold air well so you're not having to add more on a regular basis. The clear caps are a bit of a novelty item but nice all the same. Finally, they're not the lightest but they strike a good compromise and that slight extra heft helps with puncture protection. I got these for a new pair of 26" tyres that were narrower and they've held true to what I've experienced from Schwalbe to date."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Really Sticky Grease and Waterproof!
Posted29 September 2015
JamesF
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this because the existing grease I was using was not waterproof in bearings. This stuff definitely is and is very sticky to boot! About the only downside is that it's a creamy colour so if you like your grease clear this is not one for you! I tend to find that's only a problem on visible applications such as on pedal surfaces for cleats to slide in. Other than that, great value as the 455g tub should last for years unless you use loads!"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
JamesF's Questions
 
 

What Ferrules do I need to go with This

Preferably a link to a product that would work on the Wiggle site.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 GT Grade AL 105 2015
GT Grade AL 105 2015
For a comfortable and enjoyable set up that is primarily to get you from A to B fast whether it be gravel tracks or hard hitting roads then the new 2015 GT Grade AL 105 is the one for you.
 

Is there clearance for mudguards AND 35c tyres?

The reason I ask is that I'd like to run Schwalbe Marathon winter tyres (with spikes) so I can use this all the way through winter. They're 35c so from what I've read they'd fit without mudguards but that'd mean getting wet when it rains :-(.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Does a Bryton Rider 40 fit into this bracket?

I *think* the Garmin mounts do but I'd rather check before investing. Looking for something more secure than the standard O ring mount supplied with all Bryton units.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
JamesF
 
 Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable – the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

Sizing Question (again!)

Similar to others who have asked. I'm 6'4" but slim so just have a 42" chest and 36" waist so whilst the XXL would work for height would they be far too baggy around the waist and chest?
 
Products related to my question
Merston Unpadded Bib Tights
4.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
6 years, 3 months ago
by
JamesF
 
JamesF's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 

what is size and quality of tyre boot?

I want a tyre boot patch - this entire set is much cheaper than the cheapest tyre boot patch I can find.... is the tyre boot patch in this set good quality and large enough?! (why so cheap??)
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
As I remember, the tyre boot is a piece of cardboard. It'll do but I'd personally prefer an old bit of tyre or a piece of duct tape stuck on my pump and there's even an argument the case this comes in, suitably trimmed, would do a better job! Re size, if you go much bigger than the boot then I think you're pretty much stuffed anyway!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Does this product contain the scoop required to measure the powder?

HI I just purchased one of these of Wiggle and it did not come with a measuring scoop....is it supposed to ?

if not where can I get one?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Mine contained a scoop but it was buried in the powder so it's worth having a look for it!
1 year, 6 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 dhb Clip Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Clip Long Sleeve Jersey
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 

warm?

hi,
I want to ask how much warm is that jersey? Will be enough for late autumn season like now? This jersey + dhb Turbulence? Will be good set? :)
Thanks,
merlin
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I ride in this with a base layer down to about 6 degrees centigrade although it is getting chilly at that point if I'm cruising and I'm quite hardy! I'd suggest that for most once it gets below 10 you'd be looking for something a bit thicker.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 LifeLine Professional 21-in-1 Multi-Tool
LifeLine Professional 21-in-1 Multi-Tool
A beautifully finished Multi-tool with 21 precision tool bits for any mid-ride repair/maintenance situation. With spoke keys, a chain tool, a range of hex, torx and screwdriver heads, the LifeLine 21 in 1 tool is indispensable for all high mileage rides.
 

Can it replace chain by itself?

Could this tool replace a chain by itself without any need for other tools whilst out on a ride?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'd say yes at a push although I haven't tried it. It's the reason why I got it as it avoids having to carry a chain tool as well.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

What wrench to use?

What size wrench do I need to fit these?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You need a standard pedal spanner (15mm). If you're buying one to fit these, make sure you get a long handled one. My experience has been that even putting grease on when you fit these they're still tight to remove.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Is this tape adhesive?

One of the reviewers suggested it is better to get the adhesive version. How does this attach to the rim if it is not adhesive?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The stuff I got wasn't. It fits tightly on the rim, and a combination of that and its width means that it stays put. It depends what you want. Some people on the CTC forum wouldn't have anything other than adhesive rim tape to make sure it stays in place and it doesn't crack. Personally, I haven't had either problem and I'd much rather not have to remove adhesive from the rim if I pop a new rim tape on.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Can I Please Know if this Tape has a Pressure Limit Marked on It ?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The tape is marked as suitable for high pressure tyres. I'm running 26" slicks at 6atm and they seem to be fine. Not sure what would happen running higher pressures but the tape itself seems to be quite thick so I would imagine it would work fine.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
JamesF
 
 

What temps are these gloves good for?

Are they warm enough to wear in 0 degrees C?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've used them down to -6 C, at which point I must admit I stop cycling ;-). I find for the first 10 minutes my fingers are a bit cold but then warm up.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Comparison to dhb Extreme Winter glove

Can anyone offer a comparison to the dhb Extreme Winter glove (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-extreme-winter-glove/)?

They seem to have to 2 similar products. Interested in differences in warmth & waterproofing.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I've been using my Amberley IIs down to -6 and my fingers have stayed warm and toasty once I've got through the first 10 minutes of warming up. I can't see a situation where I'd want to switch to the Extreme Winter gloves. I think at that point I just wouldn't be riding the bike ;-).
3 years, 10 months ago
by
JamesF
 
 

Special chain required?

Do I need to use this with any particular chain or will any 8 speed chain do?
Thanks.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm just using a KMC rustless 8 speed chain and as I understand it the cassette will work with any 8 speed chain.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
JamesF