Tyreless
Share Tyreless's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Tyreless's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    12 March 2010
  • Last Review
    13 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    20 May 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    20 May 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    22 October 2010
  • Last Question
    22 June 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    02 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Tyreless's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A performance sports nutrition program for endurance events. The High5 Race Pack includes everything you need to stay fuelled, hydrated and focussed on race day.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Value
Posted13 December 2013
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a bargain at the reduced price. The individual items would cost a lot more.
The gels, especially the caffeine + ones, are great for stuffing in jersey pockets for that boost when energy starts to drop or for that hill you when you want a little extra.
"
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Transfil is situated in the heart of France, at the base of the volcanoes where nature thrives in splendour. This region is also a genuine ground for innovation and know-how.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Well priced fly by wire technology!
Posted13 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These cables are a fraction of some of the others available and work just fine.
I would just recommend keeping a check on them - My last rear derailleur cable lasted 3,700 miles (however many gear changes that is) but then snapped at the shifter with no warning.
I guess this would be similar for other makes.
"
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The ultralight windproof gilet is a super compact gilet designed to take the chill off your core body in cool spring/summer conditions. A perfect accessory for the back pocket of your jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light weight and windproof
Posted31 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a fantastic gilet for keeping the chilly air off the body for those early starts. I wore it on the Wiggle Wye Valley Warrior for the first 30 miles and it was great.
It packs up very small and fits in a jersey pocket with plenty of space to spare.
I'm 6'1", 38" chest and the medium fitted fine over a base and a summer jersey, with enough room to fit over bulging jersey pockets. If it was a couple of inches longer it would be perfect.
Some have said that it flaps around the neck at speed but this is minimal when it does happen."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Airstream Mitts Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Airstream Mitts Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Versatile cycling gloves with modern styling and a breathable mesh/lycra back for a close fit and cool feel. The hard wearing synthetic leather palm adds grip and protection with padding to help absorb vibration from the roads.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Updated and downgraded.
Posted18 May 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these to replace some old Airstream mitts. These aren't as good as the old ones.
The gel padding areas have been reduced significantly meaning that there now isn't enough to fully protect the whole ulna and palm area. I've found the pressure points are now either right on the edge of, or off, the padding. riding on the hoods and the padding just isn't there.
The little tags to pull the gloves on are gone, as are the loops on the fingers to help you get them off.
Updated maybe, improved definitely not. I'm disappointed.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Not Enough Features, Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Patches that work!
Posted16 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Does as advertised - it patches punctures!
These patches work better than most of the other patches I've tried. As long as you clean the tube they stick really well and stay stuck!
Brilliant!
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dhb form fit, Roubaix Lycra jersey with windproof front membrane and ventilation zippers. Designed for long hard riding in colder winter temperatures.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
OK but could be a lot better
Posted09 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to wear as an alternative to a completely windproof jacket.
From the description I expected it to be reasonable thickness roubaix with good thermal properties but it's actually thinner than a cheaper grid style (non-windpoof) roubaix top that I have.
The windproofing works well enough but due to the relative thinness and mesh on the back I got gradually colder during a 56 mile ride as the dampness built up. I was wearing a HH short sleeve and a merino longsleeve underneath which, with afore mentioned cheap grid style roubaix proved very comfortable.
The moisture barrier pocket would be ok but
1. It's not attached at the bottom/inside the main pocket so comes out easily/turns inside out.
2. It's got an MP3 player earphone hole (and in the main jacket) - Who would listen to music in the ear when on the road? - you need full awareness of your surroundings if you want to stay alive (apart from the possible cycling without due care and attention charge).
The jersey is very long at the back (strange design) but ok.
Mine had a stitcging issue on both sleeves in virtually the same place, where the quality/line of stitching resulted in the what looks like pulled threads that I will need to fix to be confident.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, not as warm as expected
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Tough and lightweight the Ronhill Classic Tracksters Running Tight allows for great comfort and performance as the Exertech 100 fabric moves with you. Improved waistband design and internal fob pocket for small necessities.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Versatile
Posted05 January 2012
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not as good as the old Ron Hills, being looser and baggier (even though these are the same 'size' I've always used). I wish Ron Hill would realise that people can have long legs without having large waists! Having said that, they do the job - a versatile tracksuit style bottom for climbing, walking, running etc."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Unattractive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice but flawed
Posted20 September 2011
User submitted photo
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've had two pairs in two years and both have broken! The lugs on the lenses that fit into the frame eventually crack and break. This isn't from overuse, I didn't change the lenses for several months and then...
The first pair were replaced by Wiggle (great service, although it seems that you can't get spare lenses) but now?...
The lenses don't fit well in the frame, and can pop out in the middle if you aren't careful.
The lenses/frames are too shallow, so with the head down you'll often find yourself looking over the top of the lenses. Also, the mirrored lenses aren't great in sunlight - yes they cut out some of the sun but it's still difficult to see clearly so not great."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tastes Great
Posted28 April 2011
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After trialling a few I bought the berry flavour. It's refreshing, tastes great and it doesn't adversely affect the stomach unlike some products.
The tube is a convenient size for putting in your back pocket, for top ups while out.
The only downside is that with few calories you'll need something else to deliver the energy for longer rides.
"
Pros: Lightweight, great tasting
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For 50 years Transfil has created, developed, tested and manufactured brake and gear systems for your bike in conformity with the leading bike and component manufacturers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says
Posted16 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyreless
fromYeovil
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"All you need to replace your gear cables in one handy pack.
You'll need some sharp cutters, especially for the outer cable casing which can squash, but fitting is simple.
It actually works out a little more expensive than buying the bits seperately, the opposite to what you'd expect, hence only 4 for value"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tyreless's Questions
 
Avid's unique formulated disc brake pads fit Code disc brakes. These excellent pads are so easy to install and replace with great performance right out of the package.
 

Which type of pads?

I have Avid juicy 3's on 160mm rotors on a 2009 Rockhopper. comp disc. Which type of pad is the direct replacement - Sintered, Organic, Organic with Alu back plate? The Specialized spec. just says 'alloy backed disc pads'
4 months ago
by
Tyreless
Yeovil
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 

Why don't you have a simple size guide for these?

I've noticed people having to ask lots of questions about sizing.
A simple size chart is needed
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Tyreless
Yeovil
 
MTB Inner Tubes
MTB Inner Tubes
 

Do you sell inner tubes for kids bikes?

My son's bike has 20x2.125 tyres, I need a replacement inner tube to fit.
4 years ago
by
Tyreless
Yeovil
 
Tyreless's Answers
 
 Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Short and Bib Tight
Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Short and Bib Tight
A high quality cycle legwear bundle with a 30% saving on full retail price. Made from a warm, fleecy and high stretch lycra fabric, dhb Vaeon Roubaix shorts and tights offer the thermal coverage you need to keep up your mileage over autumn and winter.
 

Are both these items the padded versions?

Are both these items the padded versions? or is the bib tight unpadded?
Both padded.
The clue is in the descriptions!

dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Short,
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Tyreless
Yeovil
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

Can you buy replacement lenses for the Pro Triple glasses?

NO. I asked similar and was told no. I hadn't had mine long, and the lugs on the lenses, that hold them in the frame, were breaking. Luckily Wiggle replaced them.
My latest pair have done the same, I won't be buying again.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Tyreless
Yeovil