gedo
Top 1000 Contributor
Share gedo's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gedo's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    23
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    20 November 2009
  • Last Review
    20 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    08 August 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    08 August 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    20 November 2009
  • Last Answer
    20 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
gedo's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
A top quality bicycle stand for safe and convenient bike maintenance and repair. Lightweight, stable and packed with features, the Professional workstand is essential for high mileage riders and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for home use
Posted20 March 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Really good stand so much better than messing around at ground level. Good quality, and easy to use. Buy one and save your back!!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent value SPD-SL compatible road bike pedals for a secure interface with your cycling shoes. Supplied with 6° float cleats and sporting a wide profile, Shimano PD-R540 are the perfect introduction to performance road cycling pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shimano quality
Posted20 March 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Fitted them to my commuter, similar to ultegra or Dura Ace, slightly more weight. Even came with cleat's couldn't find a better price either. Free delivery very quick a usual with WIGGLE."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Aspire suit has been the best selling Zone3 wetsuit since its famous 10/10 review in 220 Triathlon Magazine. No other wetsuit has ever achieved a full marks review which makes this a great choice for any swimmer or triathlete.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Looks the Bizz
Posted29 January 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Only tried on at the moment, but quality is A1 and feels just great looking fwd to swimming in the briney come summer, ye'har"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The 50NTA offers the superb Up & Down fitting system, excellent ventilation and sleek good looks for comfort and performance on every ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic value
Posted23 October 2014
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Looks good on and fit is very comfortable. Nice colour scheme, goes with my BMCTT02 (black&red) Haven't actually used it yet, bought it as a race helmet in place of a full TT helmet (long tail) quite sure it aint going to make much difference to an Ironman distance bike leg unless you can stay in the full aero position for 5 plus hours!
Really top class helmet better than some costing a lot more.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works for me
Posted29 September 2014
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"One of the better ones on the market, have used other High Five products over the years and never had any digestive issues during racing. Pretty good ingredients too."
Pros: works well for me at least easy on stomach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Moon Comet Rear Light
Moon Comet Rear Light
The Comet rear features a 1 piece COB LED that generates 30 lumens of light. This innovative light delivers a type of light that is really visible. The rear light comes as standard with seat post and saddle rail bracket.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best rear light ever
Posted25 September 2014
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is a must by had mine for well over a year and feel so safe with it. Just make sure you fit the usb port cover to keep weather out, and you won't have any corrosion problems some others seem to have. A really high quality light. Buy it!!!"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Waterproof and windproof winter gloves with a silicone printed palm for increased grip. Featuring a reinforced thumb and reflective inserts for increased visibility. Ideal for cold, wet and windy weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Artic - never
Posted27 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"They come up a bit on the small side I ordered a large and they are quite tight, and my hands are by no means shovels! So I would think for the average guy I would suggest XL
Used them in temps of around +3 deg c to -1 deg c and let me tell you my fingers where numb after 3 miles. Could be down to them being a little tight, and of course don't forget the wind chill factor which will bring the air hitting the gloves down to around -20 c I have not yet found a cycling glove which keeps my hands warm at these temps. I even wear them with a pair of thin silk liner gloves but doesn't make a lot of difference. So if your looking for a warm pair of winter gloves keep looking!
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Natural Hero Cool Peppermint Muscle Spritz - 100ml
Natural Hero Cool Peppermint Muscle Spritz - 100ml
Revive and re-energize with this dual effect 99% natural Sports Spray before or during training sessions. Blend of natural ingredients delivers a cool blast on the skins surface followed by a light warmth. pH-balanced formula also conditions your skin.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good feeling
Posted21 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good product, my wife bought for me at Christmas, with the Natural Hero muscle rub another fine product.
This is just a light spray, bit of a luxury really but very nice if you've got it.Nice after a run or bike apply after your shower grab a coffee sit back, spray and relax..............
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hot Ginger Muscle Rub - 100ml
Hot Ginger Muscle Rub - 100ml
Ease fatigued muscles with this blend of premium grade ginger root, rosemary, starflower and sweet fennel essential oils. 98% natural warming and soothing cream combats muscle fatigue and the pH balanced formula conditions your skin and smells great.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works
Posted21 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Really good quality rub, much better than the high street popular one!
If it's not natural why put it on your skin, after all your skin is absorbent.
Just keep it away from sensitive areas!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good winter tyre
Posted18 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought them for the mountain bike for road use to and from work, so far so good, grip is much better in the wet weather and much less rolling resistance than the 2.1 knobblys I bought 1.9's.
Commute to work is mixture of road/off road trails covered with wet mushey leaves they dig right through and give a secure feeling. I have a set of Conti town and country's (2.1's) but these feel less prone to slide.
Probably stick with these for my winter commute, why change something that works!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
gedo's Questions
 
gedo has not submitted any questions.
 
gedo's Answers
 
A top quality bicycle stand for safe and convenient bike maintenance and repair. Lightweight, stable and packed with features, the Professional workstand is essential for high mileage riders and mechanics.
 

Would it hold aero frames and seat tube such as the felt Ar3 ??

I've have a felt ar3 and it has an aero frame and an aero seat post will this work stand be able to hold such a bike ??
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes hold my BMC TT02 top tube which is an unusual shape. Would hold seat post also (which is Aero) but wouldn't recommend clamping down tight on the latter, I've heard stories of cracking to carbon seatposts.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

I am confussed about tyre sizes, what is the diff between 1.5 & 1.9

I have a mountain bike but I am riding more on roads and Toe paths these days so i want to change my tyres to slicks. I want a tyre that will go faster on roads but have some grip on Toe paths. My wheels are 26 x 1.5 and my current MTB tyres are 26.*1.9 . Will this tyre in size 26 * 1.5 fit my wheel or do i need the 26* 1.9, also which size is faster on the road. I have also looked at the Schwalbe City Jet MTB Tyre but this is only available in size 26*1.5, will this fit my wheel and would it have enough grip on a wet Toe path ?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
1.5 is slightly narrower then 1.9, generally the narrower the tyre the faster it is, I use the land cruiser tyre (1.9) for my work commute, mixture of road and trails. They're the best by far good grip on wet roads and leaf trails. They will fit your rims.
Good luck
1 year, 4 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Tire Size?

My tires are 26x2.35 on a 26x1.5/1.95 Rim - Will these tyres fit?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
1 year, 4 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

What width are these tires?

I'm confused by the notation used - is 1.9 = 19mm?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Conti Podium tubular comes in one size which is 19mm
5 years ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

What size is a 27x3/4 Continental Podium Tubular ?

What is its ISO size, would it be the same as my Tufo 28x21mm ?
Thanks, Jamie
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
27x3/4 = 700x19
5 years ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

Is the 27" the same as 700c?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, that's what I fitted to my Hed Stinger 60's
User submitted photo
5 years ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Cayo Ultegra 2009
Cayo Ultegra 2009
The Cayo Ultegra Compact has a superb carbon-fibre monocoque frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra Ice components & Mavic wheels, which makes this a fast and capable ride!
 

what is the main difference in performance of the Ultegra gear on this bike over the 105 gears, is it smoother or lighter or really not much in it?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Main difference is weight, you probably wouldn't notice any shifting difference.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Cayo Ultegra 2009
Cayo Ultegra 2009
The Cayo Ultegra Compact has a superb carbon-fibre monocoque frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra Ice components & Mavic wheels, which makes this a fast and capable ride!
 

I have a Focus Cayo 105 2009 54", and want to order a new seatpost - could you let me know what diameter I should get? Thanks

Unfortunately I'm at the other end of the country fromt he bike at the moment so can't measure the existing post.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
27.2mm
5 years, 2 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
Mudguards
Mudguards
 

Can you recommend a pair of mudguards for a Specialized Crosstrail Comp

I need a pair of mudguards for my daily commute. I have a crudcatcher but I really need something a little more effective!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Check out SKS products, top knotch stuff
5 years, 2 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
SRAM's unique, tool-free PowerLock connecting pin is light, quick, and easy to use.
 

Are these easily removable for periodic chain cleaning?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yep, do it every couple of weeks, and have been doing for the past year or so. Makes is so much easier the clean. And so much better job than a in situ chain cleaner gizmo!
5 years, 6 months ago
by
gedo
Devon