gedo
Top 1000 Contributor
Share gedo's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gedo's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    32
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    20 November 2009
  • Last Review
    08 June 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    08 August 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    08 August 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    20 November 2009
  • Last Answer
    20 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
gedo's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Genuine replacement Ultegra FC-6800 4-bolt inner chainrings. For best shifting performance please take a note of the matching outer rings these inner rings need to be paired with.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
53-36
Posted08 June 2016
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought this to try out with a 53 big ring, I'd read some stuff saying might have trouble. Even on the Shimano site they recommend not going above a 16 tooth difference. Works a treat with 105 (5800) 11 speed absolutley perfect shifts. So much cheaper than getting a new chain set (£72 ish and that's discounted) Shimano must build in a safety margin, 17 teeth I.e. 53-36 works just the same as 39-53. only soo much better on the hills.
Ultegra to boot.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Blok Macro Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Blok Macro Roubaix Long Sleeve Jersey
Add colour to your Winter Cycling kit with the new dhb Blok Roubaix Jersey. Finished with the dhb Blok Macro print, this warm, fleeced jersey is breathable and wicking, making it ideal for training and spotives through the cooler months.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really good jersey
Posted01 May 2016
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This stuff is very good quality especially considering the price point. Nice and soft, just ordered another for my wife (blue with pink starts across the shoulders) I know she will love it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The GP1 series of grips offer maximum comfort and the best possible pressure distribution. Great for better hand comfort, hand position especially over long distances onroad or offroad.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No more achey wrists
Posted15 November 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought them for my wife, always complaining of achey hands/wrists after about 10 miles, (flat bar) used to think she just didn't ride enough! Anyhow bought these; as a, may as well try them (to get some peace!) hay-presto no more complaints she just loves them. What a difference."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SKS QUALITY
Posted21 August 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"The only guards to fit, quality made would use anything else"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Scirocco 35 features a new 35mm deep section rim that is aerodynamic and yet easy to handle in a strong cross wind. This set has been specifically designed for use during cyclocross events so to withstand the rougher ground you'll compete over.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic value
Posted21 August 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Brill wheels, strong light and little bit aero, can't go wrong i use the CX on training bike really good, would buy them again"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Double sided mountain bike pedal. The MT Lite features a wide steel cage which offers excellent support and durability.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Seem good for the price
Posted06 August 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"basic pedals, bought for the wife for here new London flat bar cyclocross bike, couldn't persuade her to go with clip ins!!
Time will tell but seem to be good quality and small enough.
Not as smooth running as my ultegra's but you are talking two different ends of the market, will up date after some time using them,
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Look S-Track pedal is a light weight, compact pedal that has a injected composite body with composite deflectors. With a chromoly axle with a large contact surface for maximum power transfer and optimum mud evacuation thanks to DCS Cleats.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice to use
Posted30 July 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Quick engage/disengage, good quality and price from Wiggle, looks like they will last."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb R2.0C Carbon Road Cycling Shoe
dhb R2.0C Carbon Road Cycling Shoe
Pull away with the R2.0C Road Cycling shoe from dhb! Pure Carbon fibre sole, adjustable ratchet top strap, Injection molded heel counter and lightweight synthetic upper with advanced inner quad core mesh.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why spend more?
Posted30 July 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Quality is on par with shoes costing 2/3 times this price, very comfortable, I'm a UK 8.5 ordered the EU44 and there perfect.
Buy them, really good quality highly recommend.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
When you're out training every mile counts, so why not count every mile? Now you can capture each one with the new Forerunner 10, Garmin's simplest GPS running watch. It accurately tracks how far and how fast you run, as well as your calories.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant, buy it
Posted03 June 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought for my wife. didn't want anything to complicated she loves it, would highly recommend,"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Professional Workstand
LifeLine Professional Workstand
A top quality bicycle stand for safe and convenient bike maintenance and repair. Lightweight, stable and packed with features, the Professional workstand is essential for high mileage riders and mechanics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great for home use
Posted20 March 2015
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Really good stand so much better than messing around at ground level. Good quality, and easy to use. Buy one and save your back!!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
gedo's Questions
 
gedo has not submitted any questions.
 
gedo's Answers
 
 LifeLine Professional Workstand
LifeLine Professional Workstand
A top quality bicycle stand for safe and convenient bike maintenance and repair. Lightweight, stable and packed with features, the Professional workstand is essential for high mileage riders and mechanics.
 

Would it hold aero frames and seat tube such as the felt Ar3 ??

I've have a felt ar3 and it has an aero frame and an aero seat post will this work stand be able to hold such a bike ??
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes hold my BMC TT02 top tube which is an unusual shape. Would hold seat post also (which is Aero) but wouldn't recommend clamping down tight on the latter, I've heard stories of cracking to carbon seatposts.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre (2015)
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre (2015)
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

I am confussed about tyre sizes, what is the diff between 1.5 & 1.9

I have a mountain bike but I am riding more on roads and Toe paths these days so i want to change my tyres to slicks. I want a tyre that will go faster on roads but have some grip on Toe paths. My wheels are 26 x 1.5 and my current MTB tyres are 26.*1.9 . Will this tyre in size 26 * 1.5 fit my wheel or do i need the 26* 1.9, also which size is faster on the road. I have also looked at the Schwalbe City Jet MTB Tyre but this is only available in size 26*1.5, will this fit my wheel and would it have enough grip on a wet Toe path ?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
1.5 is slightly narrower then 1.9, generally the narrower the tyre the faster it is, I use the land cruiser tyre (1.9) for my work commute, mixture of road and trails. They're the best by far good grip on wet roads and leaf trails. They will fit your rims.
Good luck
2 years, 7 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre (2015)
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre (2015)
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Tire Size?

My tires are 26x2.35 on a 26x1.5/1.95 Rim - Will these tyres fit?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes
2 years, 7 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

What width are these tires?

I'm confused by the notation used - is 1.9 = 19mm?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Conti Podium tubular comes in one size which is 19mm
6 years, 3 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

What size is a 27x3/4 Continental Podium Tubular ?

What is its ISO size, would it be the same as my Tufo 28x21mm ?
Thanks, Jamie
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
27x3/4 = 700x19
6 years, 3 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

Is the 27" the same as 700c?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, that's what I fitted to my Hed Stinger 60's
User submitted photo
6 years, 3 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Cayo Ultegra 2009
Cayo Ultegra 2009
The Cayo Ultegra Compact has a superb carbon-fibre monocoque frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra Ice components & Mavic wheels, which makes this a fast and capable ride!
 

what is the main difference in performance of the Ultegra gear on this bike over the 105 gears, is it smoother or lighter or really not much in it?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Main difference is weight, you probably wouldn't notice any shifting difference.
6 years, 5 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Cayo Ultegra 2009
Cayo Ultegra 2009
The Cayo Ultegra Compact has a superb carbon-fibre monocoque frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra Ice components & Mavic wheels, which makes this a fast and capable ride!
 

I have a Focus Cayo 105 2009 54", and want to order a new seatpost - could you let me know what diameter I should get? Thanks

Unfortunately I'm at the other end of the country fromt he bike at the moment so can't measure the existing post.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
27.2mm
6 years, 5 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
Mudguards
Mudguards
 

Can you recommend a pair of mudguards for a Specialized Crosstrail Comp

I need a pair of mudguards for my daily commute. I have a crudcatcher but I really need something a little more effective!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Check out SKS products, top knotch stuff
6 years, 5 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
SRAM's unique, tool-free PowerLock connecting pin is light, quick, and easy to use.
 

Are these easily removable for periodic chain cleaning?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yep, do it every couple of weeks, and have been doing for the past year or so. Makes is so much easier the clean. And so much better job than a in situ chain cleaner gizmo!
6 years, 9 months ago
by
gedo
Devon