gedo
Share gedo's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gedo's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    20 November 2009
  • Last Review
    27 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    08 August 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    08 August 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    20 November 2009
  • Last Answer
    18 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
gedo's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Waterproof and windproof winter gloves with a silicone printed palm for increased grip. Featuring a reinforced thumb and reflective inserts for increased visibility. Ideal for cold, wet and windy weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Artic - never
Posted27 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"They come up a bit on the small side I ordered a large and they are quite tight, and my hands are by no means shovels! So I would think for the average guy I would suggest XL
Used them in temps of around +3 deg c to -1 deg c and let me tell you my fingers where numb after 3 miles. Could be down to them being a little tight, and of course don't forget the wind chill factor which will bring the air hitting the gloves down to around -20 c I have not yet found a cycling glove which keeps my hands warm at these temps. I even wear them with a pair of thin silk liner gloves but doesn't make a lot of difference. So if your looking for a warm pair of winter gloves keep looking!
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Revive and re-energize with this dual effect 99% natural Sports Spray before or during training sessions. Blend of natural ingredients delivers a cool blast on the skins surface followed by a light warmth. pH-balanced formula also conditions your skin.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good feeling
Posted21 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good product, my wife bought for me at Christmas, with the Natural Hero muscle rub another fine product.
This is just a light spray, bit of a luxury really but very nice if you've got it.Nice after a run or bike apply after your shower grab a coffee sit back, spray and relax..............
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hot Ginger Muscle Rub - 100ml
Hot Ginger Muscle Rub - 100ml
Ease fatigued muscles with this blend of premium grade ginger root, rosemary, starflower and sweet fennel essential oils. 98% natural warming and soothing cream combats muscle fatigue and the pH balanced formula conditions your skin and smells great.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works
Posted21 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Really good quality rub, much better than the high street popular one!
If it's not natural why put it on your skin, after all your skin is absorbent.
Just keep it away from sensitive areas!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good winter tyre
Posted18 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought them for the mountain bike for road use to and from work, so far so good, grip is much better in the wet weather and much less rolling resistance than the 2.1 knobblys I bought 1.9's.
Commute to work is mixture of road/off road trails covered with wet mushey leaves they dig right through and give a secure feeling. I have a set of Conti town and country's (2.1's) but these feel less prone to slide.
Probably stick with these for my winter commute, why change something that works!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adizero Adios 2 Run Shoes
Adizero Adios 2 Run Shoes
EXCLUSIVE TO WIGGLE! The world's fastest racing flat, made for adidas' top athletes. Snug micro-fit upper, grippy continental rubber outsole and a lively midsole compound for the best forefoot propulsion.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Will probably stick with this one
Posted15 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"First time I've used addidas (usually Brooks T7's) and very pleased with them. I'm a forefoot runner so being as these are not a heavily cushioned shoe suite a faster more efficent type of style. Used them for the recent Ironman ( Wales) with a thin pair of merino wool socks, and only got the start of a blister on the sole of the left foot. The best condition my feet have been in on a distance run. Think this was down to the shoes and possibly the fact I didn't use speed laces, the foot doesn't move around when secured with traditional laces. So if your an efficient fast'ish runner these are one of the best around. Will by them again. Not a training shoe. One point on size I'm usually a UK 8.5 sometimes an 8 depending on which brand of shoe, so bearing this in mind I went one size UP and use a size 9, fits perfect,"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
why spend any more
Posted02 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Use on aerobar forward mount, holds bottle very secure, but also easy to get in and out for drinking. One of the better bottle holders on the market."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Economical but high performing tubular tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Continental quality
Posted27 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Use as spare on Triathlon races, good tight fit to fit directly over the old tub tape and finish race. Remove and apply new tape/glue when return home."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a very competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric and refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling short without compromise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bullet proof
Posted26 January 2012
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bit unusual for this product but I have unfortunatly managed to come off on pavement twice within the last month. On each occasion loosing skin on my right knee and thigh areas. The thigh being more a nasty friction burn which is taking ages to heal. Anyhow to the point...................Not a mark on the shorts! how amazing is that. Oh and there comfey too, great quality equal to products costing twice this. Buy them.."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies ProGrid Jazz 13 TR Shoes SS11
Ladies ProGrid Jazz 13 TR Shoes SS11
The Jazz is the longest serving shoe in the Saucony range, and this off-road version has been winning plaudits for almost as long. The Jazz TR is an ideal off-road shoe as it's essentially a very simple construction with ProGrid in the heel and HRC in the forefoot providing the impact protection and...
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not for everyone
Posted15 March 2011
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Purchased these for my wife as an off roader/trail shoe. Feels very detached from the foot as opposed to the foot being encased within the shoe. She had blisters after 2miles on the treadmill. And made her feel awkward definatly not the shoe for her. She intends to stick with Saucony, just goes to show don't be swayed by price. Big thank-you to WIGGLE for the refund dispite not having the original box or tags and the fact they where acctually used even though on the treadmill"
Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Switch MTB Brake Cable Kit
Switch MTB Brake Cable Kit
The Switch series braided cable kits provide that high-tech look riders are looking for to compliment their bikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Topnotch cables
Posted21 November 2010
gedo
fromDevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Look great and smooth operation, why spend any more? Buy these..."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
gedo's Questions
 
gedo has not submitted any questions.
 
gedo's Answers
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

I am confussed about tyre sizes, what is the diff between 1.5 & 1.9

I have a mountain bike but I am riding more on roads and Toe paths these days so i want to change my tyres to slicks. I want a tyre that will go faster on roads but have some grip on Toe paths. My wheels are 26 x 1.5 and my current MTB tyres are 26.*1.9 . Will this tyre in size 26 * 1.5 fit my wheel or do i need the 26* 1.9, also which size is faster on the road. I have also looked at the Schwalbe City Jet MTB Tyre but this is only available in size 26*1.5, will this fit my wheel and would it have enough grip on a wet Toe path ?
1.5 is slightly narrower then 1.9, generally the narrower the tyre the faster it is, I use the land cruiser tyre (1.9) for my work commute, mixture of road and trails. They're the best by far good grip on wet roads and leaf trails. They will fit your rims.
Good luck
6 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Tire Size?

My tires are 26x2.35 on a 26x1.5/1.95 Rim - Will these tyres fit?
Yes
6 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

What width are these tires?

I'm confused by the notation used - is 1.9 = 19mm?
The Conti Podium tubular comes in one size which is 19mm
4 years, 2 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

What size is a 27x3/4 Continental Podium Tubular ?

What is its ISO size, would it be the same as my Tufo 28x21mm ?
Thanks, Jamie
Best answer
27x3/4 = 700x19
4 years, 2 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Podium Tubular Tyre
Podium Tubular Tyre
The Podium is a Time Trialists dream. Natural rubber gives the best grip on wet tarmac, and is very durable.
 

Is the 27" the same as 700c?

Yes, that's what I fitted to my Hed Stinger 60's
User submitted photo
4 years, 2 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Cayo Ultegra 2009
Cayo Ultegra 2009
The Cayo Ultegra Compact has a superb carbon-fibre monocoque frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra Ice components & Mavic wheels, which makes this a fast and capable ride!
 

what is the main difference in performance of the Ultegra gear on this bike over the 105 gears, is it smoother or lighter or really not much in it?

Main difference is weight, you probably wouldn't notice any shifting difference.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
 Cayo Ultegra 2009
Cayo Ultegra 2009
The Cayo Ultegra Compact has a superb carbon-fibre monocoque frame with a mix of Shimano Ultegra Ice components & Mavic wheels, which makes this a fast and capable ride!
 

I have a Focus Cayo 105 2009 54", and want to order a new seatpost - could you let me know what diameter I should get? Thanks

Unfortunately I'm at the other end of the country fromt he bike at the moment so can't measure the existing post.
27.2mm
4 years, 4 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
Mudguards
Mudguards
 

Can you recommend a pair of mudguards for a Specialized Crosstrail Comp

I need a pair of mudguards for my daily commute. I have a crudcatcher but I really need something a little more effective!
Check out SKS products, top knotch stuff
4 years, 4 months ago
by
gedo
Devon
 
SRAM's unique, tool-free PowerLock connecting pin is light, quick, and easy to use.
 

Are these easily removable for periodic chain cleaning?

Yep, do it every couple of weeks, and have been doing for the past year or so. Makes is so much easier the clean. And so much better job than a in situ chain cleaner gizmo!
4 years, 8 months ago
by
gedo
Devon