Guinness
Share Guinness's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Guinness's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    12 June 2009
  • Last Review
    10 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 December 2009
  • Last Question
    15 December 2009
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    04 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    17 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Guinness's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Bib Shorts+
Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Bib Shorts+
The Oxygen bibshorts are designed for maximum comfort and protection. Both lightweight and stretchy, they are also optimised for excellent moisture management providing up to 4 hours of riding comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive but, quality bib shorts.
Posted10 June 2014
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been using Gore bib shorts for many year & recently decided to try the Oxygen bibs. They are a great fit, very comfortable in the riding position & look great! I have the plain black with red stripe running across the back. I've always found Gore products hard wearing & these will hopefully be the same. They also work really well in hot weather teamed with the Oxygen Short sleeve jersey. Not cheap but a great product!!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality bib tights.
Posted17 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Decided to buy these as I've always been impressed with Gore bib shorts. The fit is great as is the quality. Good price too... forgot to mention they are plenty warm enough."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Aireator D-Logo Cycling Socks
DeFeet Aireator D-Logo Cycling Socks
As the 'original air-flow design sock', the Aireator is the sock that kicked off the air-flow rage years ago. D-Logo Aireator's are made to raise the level of your racing and training outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great summer socks!!
Posted11 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great fit, keep your feet dry, look good, wash well,."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Femto Drive LED Light Pair 2013
Lezyne Femto Drive LED Light Pair 2013
NEW Compact, bright safety light: The ideal durable commuter light. Durable CNC machined aluminium body with high grade clear and red lens optics. Easy, large button operation. Five light modes. Simple "no tools required" fitting.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quality lights at a good price.
Posted03 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great back up lights! Well made, choice of colours, don't take up much room on the bars / seat post. Unobtrusive design doesn't look ugly on the bike. Very easy to fit. The only downside is that they are not visible from the side! Why are so many lights designed this way?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Dura Cycling Gloves
DeFeet Dura Cycling Gloves
A versatile seamless, full-fingered glove with a close fit for just about any cold-weather activity. Dura gloves can be worn as a glove liner in cold conditions or alone on mild morning rides. A year-round essential.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
A bit disappointed, really..
Posted03 January 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I can't imagine these would be any good on anything but the mildest days as the wind seems to cut straight through them. The fit is not great either as they seem too baggy around the palms. Good grip on the bars & they do look smart, especially in black. Despite their short comings I can see they will get a lot of use in spring & early autumn."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Alloy Bottle Cage
LifeLine Alloy Bottle Cage
A simple and strong, classic designed bottle cage constructed from alloy.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sturdy bottle cage.
Posted08 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this for the wife's commute bike. Does the job well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Power WINDSTOPPER Softshell Gloves - 2012
Power WINDSTOPPER Softshell Gloves - 2012
High quality, windproof gloves for ambitious road riders. The WINDSTOPPER Softshell fabric construction provides compact and breathable, weather-proofing with a padded palm and silicone print for comfort and control on chilly winter training rides.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great winter gloves.
Posted04 January 2012
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Happy with these gloves. Good fit, I have quite small hands but needed size 'L' windproof & warm enough at about 4 degrees on the short but cold 20 miles I just rode. Breath well so hand don't sweat & then get cold. Some very warm gloves I've had have been too warm causing a problem with this issue. I've had many Gore product over the year & they always been hard wearing (apart from their awful overshoes) & see no reason why these gloves shouldn't be the same."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
 
 Oxygen III SO WINDSTOPPER Cycling Jacket AW10
Oxygen III SO WINDSTOPPER Cycling Jacket AW10
A slim fit WINDSTOPPER® jacket with a cut for speed and aerodynamics on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great soft shell jacket.
Posted26 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great fitting, versatile, warm, comfy soft shell. Have worm this for road rides at -3 with just a warm LS base layer & was very suprised at how warm it kept me. If you do a lot of stop / start riding you might need something warmer. Kept all wind chill out & I guess would feel great next to the skin when conditions permit. 3 rear pocket & 2 mesh side pocket give enough room for your phone, pump, gels, tool etc... very versatile"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Woolie Boolie Cycling Socks
DeFeet Woolie Boolie Cycling Socks
The true workhorse of the DeFeet wool posse, the versatility of the Woolie Boolie is mind boggling - from riding to running to kayaking to sleeping in them.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Woolie feet
Posted26 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great socks! Bought these based on reviews I'd read. Very pleased with them so far. Used them for a 1 hr ride at -3. toes did get cold but, nothing that was uncomfortable. Can't ask for more really."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Contest II SO WINDSTOPPER Jacket - AW11
Contest II SO WINDSTOPPER Jacket - AW11
A breathable windproof soft shell jacket with a slim fit in the cycling position. The contest II is a versatile all-rounder that suits the high mileage commuter, road rider or cross country mountain biker.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Wind stopper jacket
Posted26 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Guinness
fromLincolnshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was expecting this jacket to be quite close fitting, it isn't. Would be a good mtb jacket but, for me it was not fitted enough for the road. However the quality as with other Gore products was first class. I returned this & got a Gore Oxygen SO jacket. For me this is a much better fit."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Guinness's Questions
 
 Edge 705 MTB Performance Package - Free Jersey
Edge 705 MTB Performance Package - Free Jersey
Fully detailed maps included with the Edge 705 MTB. Special Promotion - includes a limited edition Pearl Izumi Garmin shirt
 

Are these jerseys sold separately?

5 years ago
by
Guinness
Lincolnshire
 
Guinness's Answers
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

What size should I get my husband? He's 5ft 8 with 34 waist

Depends on his build. I'm 5'10" 34" waist 32" inside leg & have size L. These fit me fine. Forgot to say I'm fairly slim with skinny legs..
1 year ago
by
Guinness
Lincolnshire
 
 Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Gore Bike Wear Power 2.0 Thermo Bibtights Plus AW13
Insulating road cycling bibtights with a brushed fabric construction. Featuring a Power seat pad for low bulk cushioning over medium to long distances and a back mesh insert for optimum ventilation. Ideal for cold weather rides/training sessions
 

Help with sizing please?

I'm 6ft2, have an inside leg of 33/34 inches, a chest of 39/40 inches, and waist of 31 inches. I seem to be an odd shape according to the size chart. Would a medium or large be best? My legs are pretty skinny and I am slim so I'm concerned of anything too baggy on the legs.
Thanks!
I'm 5'10 32" inside leg. Average build but skinny legs. I have size L & the fit is perfect for me. Hope this is of some use.
1 year ago
by
Guinness
Lincolnshire
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers 2013
Castelli Thermoflex Knee Warmers 2013
Rather than overcomplicating things, Castelli stuck with the basics of great fabric and functional construction for the Thermoflex Knee Warmers.
 

good for running too?

The price is for a pair or for one piece only? Are they good for running too or they will fall down because a different, stronger movement of the legs?
Price is for a pair. Don't think they'd be any good for running, too warm.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Guinness
Lincolnshire
 
 DeFeet Dura Cycling Gloves
DeFeet Dura Cycling Gloves
A versatile seamless, full-fingered glove with a close fit for just about any cold-weather activity. Dura gloves can be worn as a glove liner in cold conditions or alone on mild morning rides. A year-round essential.
 

Size-information

Hie.
I wonder if the sizes only vary in width, or if the also vary in length? I measured 23cm around my hand palm, so I guess I am L-size, but my fingers are long and thin...Should I go for a XL?
I have quite small hands & have the 'M' size. they are only just long enough in the fingers but, seem quite baggy around the palms. If this helps?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Guinness
Lincolnshire
 
 Castelli Thermoflex Arm Warmers SS13
Castelli Thermoflex Arm Warmers SS13
Anatomic cut arm warmers for a close fit that does not constrict you when riding.
 

What size should I go for?

My arm length (from wrist to shoulder) is 20 Inches however my bicep width is 8-9 inches. I'd like them to fit the whole length of my arm but not slip down aswell.
Best answer
I have a pair of Castelli arm warmers in size M. I have quite long slim arms (like the Schlecks). The silicone grippers do a great job of keeping them in place. Never had a problem with slippage. They don't make me climb like the Schlecks though :-/
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Guinness
Lincolnshire