martinwoo
Share martinwoo's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
martinwoo's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    11 October 2011
  • Last Review
    11 October 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 August 2012
  • Last Question
    16 August 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    11 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    11 October 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
martinwoo's Reviews
 
A highly versatile 3 season windproof jacket ideal for variable weather conditions. Easily transforms from long sleeve to short sleeve.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
great multi-purpose jacket
Posted11 October 2011
martinwoo
fromCambridgeshire UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"As a born-again cyclist not wanting to spend an arm and a leg on gear, I chose the Altura Transformer for it's dual roles; windproof jacket and short sleeved shirt combined.
It performs both functions absolutely fine, but in a slightly surprising way that doesn't come across in the product decsription or photos.
The 'shirt' part of the combo has a windproof front with a highly breathable back that works a treat. Stick a base-layer t shirt on under on colder days, or use it on its own when it's warm - either way it works fine.
The 'jacket' bit is what surprised me - it's just two long sleeves joined together, like a tiny bolero jacket. I was expecting 2 zip-off sleeves, but in fact the bolero approach works very well indeed.
It attaches by a zip either side, that runs from the top of your shoulder to just in front of your armpit. There's also a plastic press-stud that joins the short sleeve into the long sleeve - one of which doesn't work at all on mine, and it doesn't seem to matter.
Taking the long sleeves off is simple, and could be done whilst riding, at a push. Getting them back on again absolutely couldn't - the sleeves are a tight fit, especially under the arms, and involve a fair amount of wriggling to get into. Then there's the zips to do up...
The long sleeves are made of the same windproof stuff as the front of the jacket, so in long-sleeve mode you are windproof (and I guess shower-resistant) everywhere except for your back.
Any negatives? Well if I'm picky, the partly-opened front zip managed to dramatically unzip itself right to the bottom during a fast downhill, and although the zip held, the sides ballooned out around me like a bat-cape. Also one of the reflective strips has peeled off slightly.
I can live with those, this is a great jacket that will suit a wide range of riding conditions.
Gear falls into 2 categories for me - stuff that gets replaced because I've found something better, and stuff that gets worn until it's worn out.
The Altura Transformer is firmly in the latter category.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
martinwoo's Questions
 
GU Brew Electrolyte Tablets are fortified with a unique blend of electrolytes, making them a better form of hydrating than water alone. Electrolytes are important as they act to help your body retain fluid necessary for muscles to work properly.
 

how many tabs per tube, and what volume of drink does each tab make?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
martinwoo
Cumbria, UK
 
Zero the new great tasting electrolyte drink from High5, now comes with a caffeine kick (65mg) - about the same as a mild cup of coffee.
 

how many tabs per tube, and what volume of drink does each tab make?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
martinwoo
Cumbria, UK
 
martinwoo's Answers
 
A highly versatile 3 season windproof jacket ideal for variable weather conditions. Easily transforms from long sleeve to short sleeve.
 

I've heard these jackets come up up small. How do they compare with the Night Vision range, where Large fits me perfectly?

Hi Ninja,

I can't compare, not having tried a Night Vision jacket, but I'd say that the Large fits me fine but is a little tight under the arms with the long sleeves on. I suspect that this is where the 'come up small' comments come from - the sleeve zip at the front takes away the 'give' from the fabric and makes them feel a bit tight. With the long sleeves off, it's a great fit.

Once I'm riding I don't notice the tightness, maybe when in position the problem goes away?

Try before you buy, I'd say - hope this helps!
3 years, 1 month ago
by
martinwoo
Cambridgeshire UK