Trichilling
Share Trichilling's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Trichilling's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    05 March 2010
  • Last Review
    24 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    13 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Trichilling's Reviews
 
The all new Blaze rear light combines the fully rechargeable internal battery technology characteristic of the Exposure range with the Flare to offer an awesome high powered, long burntime rear light.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent light
Posted24 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Trichilling
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"This is a great bit of kit, really solid build, light weight, really easy to operate and charging is a doddle.
Would have liked a wall charger for the price (only USB supplied) but not a show stopper if you have other Exposure products like the joystick as the chargers are the same.
The rubber band attachment is marginally fiddly to get on and off, especially with gloves on, and there is the potential to lose it, if not careful, when not attached to the seat post of your bike.
These are minor points, to be aware of and careful about, but unless you don't have a computer to charge it up or the ability to take care with the rubber band when not on the bike, i'd highly recommend.
The beam is excellent, the brightness has three adjustable settings, High - which is great in the fog (like this morning for me), Medium - which is excellent for commuting and low which is good for group rides or when you need the battery to last for ages 48hrs apparently (Flash mode in Low setting). I also really like that the lights intermittent mode is a pulse not flash, i.e. the light doesn't flash on and off, it is always on low with a pulse of high. I think this is a great feature, especially in traffic, as it isn't as aggressive or annoying to motorists but easily attracts their attention just as well as flashing lights in my opinion.
I know there are many cheaper lights out there but this is really solid light, that is light weight, easily rechargeable and provides superb flexibility of lighting options."
Pros: Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic Swim watch!
Posted13 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Trichilling
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you are looking for a watch that will sit in your swim bag and only be used in the pool to help count lengths then I'd buy the obvious competition to this watch, the version without wireless transfer of data and costs around £60 from memory, however if you want a watch that looks great, has an alarm, a backlight and syncs to garmin connect so easily for a wealth of online analysis then this is a brilliant watch. I also particularly like the data I can see mid swim like last interval time, overall session time, number of lengths and a few other customisable fields. Its a great watch, has been 100% accurate for me so far and is great for wearing day to day also."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
The LED is angled by 20 degrees to avoid dazzling people behind you. Designed as an affordable plug-in rear light for the Joystick the Micro is a must have accessory for all Joystick MaXx-2 owners.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great addition to Joystick
Posted30 December 2011
Trichilling
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Very bright and a superb addition to a helmet mounted joystick.
I sometimes struggle to see which way the 20% angle is so I'm never quite sure Ive got it in the right position.
It does bug me ever so slightly that (may be operator error here but its certainly not obvious what I'm doing wrong) the redEye stays on very low even when the Joystick is switched off. The problem with this is that it encourages me to remove the RedEye and I'm now paranoid I'll lose it.
On the pro side though and this is a major bonus, it really doesn't seem to drain the battery of the joystick much, I've not tested it exactly, but the couple of near three hour night rides I've done didn't leave me without main beam power. So it appears to be very efficient."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 ALP X III WINDSTOPPER Glove
ALP X III WINDSTOPPER Glove
Alp X windstopper gloves combine insulation, protection and padding for comfort in cold and windy riding conditions. The WINDSTOPPER softshell construction shields you from the cold and the gel padded palm absorbs some road vibration for long distances.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great gloves but come up small
Posted30 December 2011
Trichilling
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great gloves, windstopper fabric is brilliant, they breath quite well also. Not for deep Winter but have been perfect for the 3 -4 degree temperatures I've been cycling in recently.
Only real snag is the sizing, I'm a medium generally, sometimes small, I ordered Medium and had to exchange for large, even this size has my forefinger pressing on the end of the finger tip when riding on the hoods.
Measuring from the tip of my forefinger to the crease right in the centre of my wrist below the fat(ish) thumb muscle is 7 inches or just under 18 cm"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mens 226 Tri Top
Mens 226 Tri Top
The Orca 226 Tri Top is designed for those who want to train or race without compromise in a garment that has sleeves for increased protection from the elements. Three technical fabrics have been used in the construction for an ideal balance of performance, comfort, fit, breathability and durability...
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Sleeves more hindrance than help!
Posted05 June 2011
Trichilling
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Comfortable on the body, good quality fabrics, as you'd expect, but sleeves are not good.
Firstly they rub while swimming in a wetsuit they also rub during the run and to cap it all off, on me it made me look like I had 80s style shoulder pads!!
Worn once never again!"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Unattractive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The SoftFibre Trek Towel is the softest travel towel available. As well as being ultra soft it is also highly absorbent and very compact. The Trek Towel is ideal for travel, outdoors and sports.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just the job
Posted15 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Trichilling
fromAylesbury, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Highly absorbant and a fraction of the size (in bulk) than I thought it was going to be. Therefore fits in my rucksack really easily along with bike kit, run kit and change of clothes for the office.
As others have said dabbing is the way forward as rubbing isn't so stright forward but this a brlliant bit of kit overall and the large size is just big enough to wrap around my waist (32") and tuck in."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos Early Winter 851 Winter Cycling Gloves
Assos Early Winter 851 Winter Cycling Gloves
A lightweight high quality Spring/Autumn weight glove which are ideal for cool weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Be careful before purchasing
Posted05 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Trichilling
"These are one of the most expensive pair gloves available and I have to say they haven't really blown me away with innovative features or performance.
Firstly I disagree with one of the reviews saying these gloves are good in the cold. When they arrived the temperature range they are suitable for is emblazoned on the back 6 - 12 degreed C. This appears bang on to me, I used them in close to 0 and had cold hands within 15 mins and I don't consider myself to have poor circulation.
They also seem to be poorly designed wth a seam running along the pad of your thumb making it quite uncomfortable to cycle on the brake hoods and as others have noted the material is uncomfortable to use to wipe your nose!!
In summary for me these are very expensive gloves that are low on useful features"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Trichilling's Questions
 
Trichilling has not submitted any questions.
 
Trichilling's Answers
 
The all new Blaze rear light combines the fully rechargeable internal battery technology characteristic of the Exposure range with the Flare to offer an awesome high powered, long burntime rear light.
 

Will this light fit onto an eoro seat post?

Hi, I want a good rear light to fit to an aero seat post. The seat post in question has a front-back measurement of about 45mm and a side-side measurement of about 23mm. What I need to know is whether the mounting band of this unit will allow it to be properly fitted without it being overstretched, or is the mount only suitable for standard round seat post mounting as it looks rather small. Another option would be an alternative mounting band should this be necessary, if one were available. Thanks in advance.
I don't think this will work with an aero seat post. 1 - because the mounting bracket is designed for a round seatpost and 2 the band would never reach.
I have seen people doing TTs with the exposure Flare (the point here is they use the same rubber band) attached between the seat rails underneath their saddle but I haven't looked in detail how they managed this!
11 months ago
by
Trichilling
Aylesbury, UK
 
The all new Blaze rear light combines the fully rechargeable internal battery technology characteristic of the Exposure range with the Flare to offer an awesome high powered, long burntime rear light.
 

Mounting Options - Seatstay?

I have a carbon frame Beone Diablo Race road bike and it has fairly small diameter seat-stays (approx the size of a 5p coin). Will this light be suitable for mounting to such seat-stays or does it have to be to a seat-post?
It doesn't have to be the seat post but it does need to be attached to something of similar size and shape. I therefore wouldn't think this will work well on the seat stay I think it will be too small to get a great fit that won't slip.
11 months ago
by
Trichilling
Aylesbury, UK
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Can the watch be used as a stop watch also with lap times

Yes while swimming but the standard stopwatch feature for use outside of the pool doesn't have laps. Look up the DCrainmaker product review on the internet for all the details.
2 years ago
by
Trichilling
Aylesbury, UK