Sycle
Share Sycle's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Sycle's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    5 February 2010
  • Last Review
    30 June 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    17 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    14 April 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Sycle's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for hot days
Posted30 June 2018
fromCheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Great cap, comfortable and keeps sweat out of your eyes very well. The mesh keeps your head cooler and makes the cap a great option for summer. The only thing I'd say is it's only one to wear under a helmet. On its own you like like you work behind a supermarket cheese counter, especially the white one! "
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Wahoo ELEMNT is a real game changer. With integrated GPS and so many features, it shouldn't be this easy to use. Just download the free ELEMNT app, pair with your smartphone in seconds and you're ready to ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
In my elemnt
Posted4 April 2016
fromCheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" What a great bike computer. The screen is excellent, the nav is great and I love the programmable LEDs up the side. However the best thing about the elemnt is its seamless integration with apps like Strava. It took literally seconds to pair my strava account and the sensors on my bike. You can plan a ride on strava and it instantly appears on the elemnt and once you get home from a ride, it just uploads your ride (over wifi).
I haven't got much experience of the newer Garmin offerings but I think Wahoo have really nailed it. "
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful No-Rain Bib Tights
Sportful No-Rain Bib Tights
Sportful No-Rain bib tights are your ticket to a season of autumn and winter training. No-Rain fabric has a Silicone Nano treatment on the surface that sheds water so you stay warm, dry and comfortable in blustery winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good in the cold and rain, watch sizing
Posted29 January 2016
fromCheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" M? L? XL? In the weird and wonderful world of cycle clothing who knows what size you are. I'm a medium in DHB so as Sportful is Italian like Castelli (in which I'm a large), I opted for large... Ah.
Squeezing in to them I looked like a badly packed sausage and was in danger of doing my dangly bits permanent damage, XL it is then.
New depressingly XL sized bibs in hand, to my relief, they were a perfect fit and have performed faultlessly on the bike. There's a good level of wind protection and they've kept me warm in the recent cold snap and drier in a few deluges. Just be prepared to go up a size or even two. By way of comparison, I'm 6ft and weigh 80kg. I'm not a lightweight but I'm not exactly carrying a huge amount of extra insulation either "
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A simple water resistant pouch that can be used to carry your cycling essentials. With room for a spare tube, multi-tool and smart phone the Caddy Sack fits in your jersey pocket for convenient and organised storage.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good alternative to saddle bag
Posted13 October 2015
fromCheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
" I've been using this for about 6 months now and find it is a really handy alternative to a saddle bag. I can get a spare tube, repair kit, tool, tyre levers, tyre inflator and spare canister in with no probs. Then I just pop it in a rear pocket. If you want to keep your bike looking clean and uncluttered, it's great.
It's especially useful if you're swapping between two bikes. It's fully waterproof too. My only gripe would be you have to pack it carefully - keeping everything together with an elastic band helps - to avoid any lumps or sharp edges sticking in your back! "
Pros: Good Fit, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Sottile Due Rain Jacket AW13
Castelli Sottile Due Rain Jacket AW13
A see through raincape, but with features far surpassing what you'd expect from one. Stretchable for better fit, with mesh panel arm pits and breathability. Compact enough to fit in a jersey pocket with room to spare.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lightweight and dependable
Posted25 June 2014
fromGloucester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" This jacket fits perfectly in a back pocket which was exactly what I was looking for. It's so light that I have to admit that I had my doubts if it would stand up to the elements, however, on the dragon ride I got caught in a heavy downpour on the descent of black mountain and it performed admirably. Kept me dry and warm when others were shivering! I'm 6ft 80kg and a large is a good snug fit. "
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A durable, weather resistant saddle bag with room for your cycling essentials. The large version offers 0.95L of storage for spare tubes, tools and even a pack jacket. Straps provide secure fitting without the need for tools or mounting brackets.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Terrible, unusable zips
Posted25 June 2014
fromGloucester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" I'm a big fan of lezyne lights and expected this to be of a similar high quality. In many respects it is, however, the zips are very poor. They feel like they're going to break. In fact, mine did on only the second or third time of opening!
It's a real shame as it's a good sized saddle bag with some neat touches like an internal tool pouch but the zips are horribly cheap. I've replaced mine with a specialized bag which offers similar space but with much much better zips. Come on lezyne, you can do better "
Cons: Low Quality, rubbish zips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light Loaded
Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light Loaded
The Super Drive XL is a very powerful single light unit that works brilliantly as a road or MTB handlebar light. The Loaded has a extra battery and helmet mount kit included in a composite box fitted with precision cut foam to protect your investment.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great light let down by mounting bracket
Posted10 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
fromGloucester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" This is a great front light for riding at night. I've been happily whiz zing around pitch black Cotswold lanes with this. On overdrive you get a really wide bright beam. With the spare battery you can get a good 3 hour ride on full power! The other modes are good too . Like all lezyne products it is really well made. My only quibble is the handlebar bracket, it's awkward to get the light in and out, in comparison to the quality of the light, it's not great. Having said that, once the light is in, it appears secure, it hasn't failed me yet! All in all a good, solid light for getting out there in the dark this winter! "
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Slice 30L Rucksack
The big brother of the dhb SLICE pack family. This fully featured 30L pack suits the rider who carries everything, everywhere!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great bag for my commute
Posted19 September 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromGloucester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Bought this to replace my deuter airback rucsack which died. I use it for my commute to work which is quite hilly so lots of in and out of the saddle riding. It's really good: stable and comfortable on your back. There's plenty of room for clothes, shoes etc; Loads of useful pockets for keys and wallets. Plus a really bright green rain cover. Great for visibility on murky mornings
It was an absolute bargin in the wiggle sale. I'd say it performs just as well as rucksacks two or three times the price. "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Northwave Fighter Road Shoes 2013
Northwave Fighter Road Shoes 2013
The fighter raises the bar for sport level road shoes with an impressive palette of features from higher up the Northwave range. A 3 strap ventilated upper provides a secure fit while NRG carbon reinforced sole gives excellent power transfer.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
strong and light at the right price
Posted13 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromGloucester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" What can I say? I bought these to replace an entry level pair of shimanos, which had started to die after much abuse.
These shoes look great, are really light and the sole is very stiff giving you a good platform to pedal on. They're well ventilated, in fact, I did a ride in our unseasonal May weather and wished I'd had overshoes on such was the gale numbing my toes.
Overall, a really classy shoe at a very competitive price. "
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Bryton Rider 50 is a GPS cycling computer designed for cyclists of all levels. You can personalise your preferred settings with 33 options of display information. High sensitivity GPS, barometer and thermometer.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good once you get started
Posted17 September 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
fromGloucester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Overall the Bryton gives you all the features of a Garmin but for less dosh. However, it's not straightforward to set up or particularly intuitive.
I had to download and install google chrome, then bryton bridge, then connect the bryton to my computer and install an update to the operating system, then transfer maps from dvd to the sd card!
Now all that is done, it's great! I've planned routes on the Bryton website and followed them. There are loads of training plans and options. It's rugged too, surviving torrential rain in the Lakes and the battery lasts for ages. No automatic upload to strava yet which is a pain but overall it's got a lot of features for the money. "
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: confusing set up
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Sycle's Questions
 
Sycle has not submitted any questions.
 
Sycle's Answers
 
The Wahoo ELEMNT is a real game changer. With integrated GPS and so many features, it shouldn't be this easy to use. Just download the free ELEMNT app, pair with your smartphone in seconds and you're ready to ride.
 

Will this fit on a standard garmin mount

Hi

Does the unit fit to garmin and other standard mounts? I use the sram and Kedge mounts

Thanks
I don't think it does. It comes with an out front mount, aero mount and stem mount. DC Rainmaker did say you could file down the plastic bits to get it to fit a Garmin style mount.
http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2016/03/wahoo-elemnt-gps-bike-computer-in-depth-review.html
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Sycle
Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
 
 Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Rider 50 GPS Cycle Computer
Bryton Rider 50 is a GPS cycling computer designed for cyclists of all levels. You can personalise your preferred settings with 33 options of display information. High sensitivity GPS, barometer and thermometer.
 

Prices for maps

Is it true that all maps for the Bryton 50 is free to download and free to use.
No, you get to choose one free map when you buy your Bryton then you have to pay for others.
6 years, 2 months ago
by
Sycle
Gloucester