krsl48
Top 50 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    98
  • Helpfulness Votes
    116
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    29 October 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    06 October 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 October 2017
  • Last Question
    01 October 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    01 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
A 9 speed chain that is compatible with all 9 speed drivetrain systems. Features include X-SP treatment, X-Bridge and Bull-Eye pin means a chain that is strong, durable giving great performance in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Chain For Low Price
Posted29 October 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Putting lower gearing on a bike required a longer chain and as it's for a winter bike I thought I'd save a few pounds and go with KMC instead of Shimano.
Chain comes with a missing link so no messing around with fitting a new pin and in operation is quiet, shifts smoothly and accurately and looks pretty good into the bargain. FTR, using with Sora R3000 nine speed shifters and mechs.
Based on the performance of this entry level chain I wouldn't hesitate to buy more KMC chains in future for my ten speed bike.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Frame Protection Kit is designed to subtly save frame paintwork and graphics from cable. Transparent and easy to apply with various sizes allow the user to save the appearance of the frame for years to come.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Save Your Frame
Posted03 October 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Despite the advances in bicycle design where we have hydraulic disc brakes, electronic shifting and ever more comfortable frames the designers are still baffled by brake or gear cable routing. In an era where you can tune your gears with an App we still have plastic cables rubbing away the paint on your frame where they touch it around the head tube.
Thankfully LifeLine produce this simple sheet of clear self adhesive patches to put between the paint and the cable and this keep it pristine. I especially like the larger patch which you can cut to your own size should you need to.
Until such time as designers decide those 2 seconds saved every 40 kilometres become secondary to routing the cables more efficiently LifeLine have the good looks of your frames finish covered.
"
Pros: simple
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A new and improved fit plus ultra hi-visibility finish and lightweight, breathable construction, the dhb Flashlight Windproof Gilet is perfect to keep you safe and seen on the roads in all light conditions. Ideal for those early starts or late finishes
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal For Dark Commutes
Posted03 October 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"My ride to and from work is less than two miles but my shifts mean that at this time of year it's done mostly in the dark.
I bought this gilet as an alternative to a workmen's high vis waist coat to wear over a perfectly good, but dark, jacket to help get me noticed. The cut is generous compared to the performance gilet I have which is great as it fits over the jacket easily.
A nice long tail should help with keeping spray off and the Flash Light detailing is well placed. Ideal for commuting but I'll also use it for dull day winter leisure riding.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very, Very Small Sizing!
Posted01 October 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been struggling to find new cycling shoes that fit and aren't too stiff for my ageing feet for a while so went for the Shimano RP5 as a compromise between full on racing shoe stiffness and something a bit more leisurely.
Based on having used Shimano RP3 and R0880 shoes I ordered my usual size 42.
I can't even get my feet in an RP5 size 42! Compared to the RP3 42 they're about 15mm shorter and my toes were trying to break the front of the shoe to get my heel in.
Needless to say I will be returning them.
Size aside they look like a nicely made shoe with a good ratchet and the versatility of both road and mtb cleat mounting.
Seriously consider ordering one size up from your usual with these, they really do come up small in my experience.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: lottery with the size and fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The X-Tool Nitrile glove is the perfect latex free mechanics glove for keeping your hands protected from any contaminants whilst working on bikes or machinery.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality Protection
Posted20 September 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Sold under the X Tools name but delivered in a generic box these great value gloves provide a barrier between myself and the multitude of substances I don't want on me whilst working on bicycles.
One time use per pair but plenty in a box.
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Helping to shield your face from both sun and showers, the Classic cycling cap is an indispensable part of your cycling kit that fits well under your cycling helmet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really Good Fit
Posted20 September 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The last remaining item in my cycling wardrobe that wasn't DHB was a standard issue cotton cycling cap, after all a cap is a cap is a cap...?
Leaving the existing cap at a coffee shop on first use this year (I just forgot it after months without needing it) prompted the need for a replacement so this one found its way into an order.
Putting it on and I'm instantly amazed by just how good the fit and shape is! It's snug without being tight and actually has the shape of a human head, so no excess material around the top. This one I won't feel the need to whip off as soon as I take my helmet off for fear of the ridicule my, with hindsight, poorly shaped previous version brought on.
Variety of colours available and I've no doubt the usual dhb durability on what is a very simple but essential item for cooler weather rides.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High Visibility with a tiny footprint. The LifeLine USB safety light set packs a bright 25 Lumen beam into a compact body, helping you stay safe and visible without adding bulk to your bike. Get a full charge anywhere with cable-free direct USB charging.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Small But Bright
Posted20 September 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've taken to riding with lights on the bike all the time to give the motoring public a fighting chance of noticing me but admit I really don't like the look of 'big' lights on my carbon bike and the small ones I've encountered aren't bright enough.
Browsing the LifeLine range here on Wiggle I noticed this set of USB 'emergency' lights and for £16 I took a punt.
Out the box they seem well made with a mounting system to suit all handlebar/seat post options plus a built in clip for rucksacks or a belt. They are small, marginally bigger than a match box but are impressively bright given the size. Four modes in total with varying battery run times (pulse will get the nod from me) with the 'high beam' mode providing a focused, bright light!
Built in USB charging adds to the versatility of this excellent product. Staying visible and retaining the 'race' looks of my bike mean these little lights do everything I bought them for.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice Looking With Fit And Build Quality Issues
Posted17 September 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a pair of the original dhb road shoes and have been waiting for the brand to release a new range for some time. Fair to say I was pretty excited when I saw they were available and it took all of ten minutes to place an order for the Aeron ATOP Dial version in black.
First impression out the box was of a light, well constructed shoe with a shiny carbon weave sole. I like the 'indented' dhb branding and the overall aesthetic is far more high end than the asking price suggests.
The description of the shoe states that the toe box has been 'enlarged' to encompass more foot shapes and boy, dbh aren't joking here! (See photo for comparison in length to a Shimano shoe, both size 42). My size 42 have a toe box I could fit an extra toe in and I perhaps should have bought a 41? This is of course a problem when buying any clothing untried online. Toe area aside the rest of the shoe fits reasonably well but I just can't help thinking one size down would have given me the 'snug' feeling I'm more used to and I wouldn't be tugging on those straps quite so hard?
First ride revealed an incessant 'creak' or 'click' sound when pushing beyond glass cranking or out of the saddle. Post ride investigation with the inner sole removed showed the glued liner above the cleat mounting area 'popped' up and down with any pressure applied. I admit a modification that will prevent any return of the product has cured the pop but should I have had to even do that on a £100 item?
My experience so far is that the fit has been compromised to suit more foot shapes and I think dhb would have been better to offer a normal or wide style as Shimano do. At £100 I'm not inclined to order a pair of size 41s to see if there's an improvement, especially as curing the click noise has certainly 'damaged' mine beyond return.
I could have just got a rogue pair of course but having used £40 shoes and not had to modify them to stop a noise I'm slightly disappointed in the construction.
Overall, a great looking pair of cycling shoes but I'm not convinced by the sizing or build and I'm rather disappointed.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit, creaking inner sole
+33points
33of 33voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 is a completely redesigned front derailleur for use with Ultegra ST6800 shifters only for optimum shifting performance
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Slick Shifting
Posted22 August 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having swapped an Ultegra 6800 group set from an outgoing frame to a new one I was left without a front mech (original band on, new braze on) so I used a Tiagra 4700 I had thinking it wouldn't make a lot of difference.
After a few rides feeling the front shifting was compromised and with Wiggle selling the Ultegra braze on so cheaply I couldn't resist any longer. The front shift is now back to its light and positive best with the 6800 levers. It's not really until you experience the difference that you can fully appreciate it and while the Tiagra mech worked, it wasn't optimum. A marginal gain perhaps but for less than £30 one I'm happy to accept.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, best with 6800 levers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Rear Mudguard is a quick & easy solution to protecting your rear from road spray. Compatible with all two railed saddles the LifeLine Rear Mudguard can be fitted in a matter of seconds with no additional tools needed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It Actually Stays Put!
Posted10 August 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've lost three of the original makers version of this simple product (can't say who as the review will be rejected for inappropriate language) on rides so plumped for the cheaper LifeLine version this time. On a Prologo Kappa 3 saddle it is a massive improvement fit wise, I really can't imagine this one flying off mid ride.
Obviously it's no substitute for full mudguards but as a simple to fit, discreet way to keep your posterior dry it's ideal.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
A classical-looking shoe with the adjustability that only laces can offer. The dhb Dorica MTB Shoe adds a touch of class to your kit-list and delivers outstanding comfort and versatility
 

Size compared to Veron D?

Hello everyone, how does the sizing of these compare to the road Veron D? Are they the same upper? I had to get one size down from my usual in the Veron and would like to know if I should do the same with these?
Many thanks,
K
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

How wide are these shoes and how do they compare width-wise to dhb's previous shoes? Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are completely different from previous dhb shoes so I wouldn't use them as a reference.
I think they are wider than a standard shoe but not as wide as a shoe manufactured to be wide, between the two.
My experience was that I needed one size down from my usual 42 to get the right fit. This was compared to Shimano shoes and my work/casual shoes.
Really nice shoe, well made, good looking!
Hope this helps?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex