krsl48
Top 100 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    85
  • Helpfulness Votes
    58
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    17 July 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    05 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>
 
A quality brake cable outer casing for effective and responsive braking. Compatible with both Road and Mountain Bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Tiny Bit Draggy
Posted17 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Only possible issue is that the rear brake of the bike I put this is on doesn't feel quite as positive as it did with slightly more expensive outer. Used with a LifeLine Performance inner cable it just feels like there's a bit of friction that's preventing smoother operation. That said, at the price it's fine!
Rear brake has internal routing using a full length of outer which may also contribute to the draggy feeling?
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your drivetrain and bottom bracket from chain-drop. The Brand-X chain catcher helps prevent your chain dropping below the inner chain ring when shifting on uneven terrain. Shift quickly and confidently on pave roads and cyclocross courses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does The Job
Posted17 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Identical product to the chain catcher formerly known as LifeLine. Installed on a bike that routinely chucks its chain off the inner ring (despite numerous adjustments) and stops it happening. Perfect."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium handlebar tape with a matte velvet perforated finish for secure grip on the drops and flats. With a 2mm thick profile and a gel component, LifeLine Bar Tape provides increased cushioning and comfort on endurance road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Elegance Without The Premium Price Tag
Posted17 July 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This product is very similar to bar tapes from other brands costing four times as much but seemingly indiscernible in quality. It has a really nice soft touch and does help reduce road buzz somewhat. Visually very appealing too.
Like its more expensive premium brand brethren it is tricky to wrap due to almost non-existent stretch in the tape, especially when doing the figure of eight round the shifters. Unlike the 'Physic' equivalent it doesn't rip if pulled tightly so you can be quite forceful with the wrapping.
Worth noting it appears to be supplied in a shorter length than other LifeLine tapes, I had just enough to do 42cm bars with a 50/50 wrap.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, slightly tricky to wrap
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Lifeline Stash Saddle Bags are available in four sizes and are the ideal companion for a ride. Made from a tough rain and wear resistant 600D Polyester and PVC material and with reflective strips the bags are hard wearing and packed with features.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TARDIS Saddle Pack
Posted13 July 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having discarded saddle packs in favour of stuffing my jersey pockets with ride essentials to foolishly appease the Velominati and consequently suffered asphyxiation issues as my collar was pulled ever tighter round my throat I decided it was time to revert to the traditional, if non pro, method of carrying stuff.
No hesitation in buying a LifeLine branded stash bag, Wiggle's own brand routinely delivers the goods, and delighted with the product. In true TARDIS fashion it can hold a lot more than its size suggests (I ordered a small), the construction is top notch and joy of joys it doesn't rub on the back of thighs as I pedal as so many others have done!
Size small comfortably holds 2 700c tubes, 2 Co2 cannisters plus LifeLine actuator and tyre levers. If you want to get a multi tool in as well I suggest going to the medium size.
LifeLine products tend to sell and go out of stock quickly so snap one up soon and breathe freely while the Rule Makers choke on their collars ;-)
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, no thigh rub!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Light and reliable, now with a wide rim for improved ride quality and comfort the Aksium Wheelset is Mavic's entry level wheelset giving you access to the road performance akin to the Mavic brand.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mavic on a Budget
Posted20 June 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a Boardman which I wanted to upgrade to eleven speed. The stock wheel set wasn't compatible and as I'd put Aksium discs in my winter disc brake bike it was an easy choice to go with these.
They're not the Elite versions so slightly heavier and don't have the 'on trend' wide rim for balloon tyres but the weight isn't noticeable as they roll nicely and provide a comfy ride even on rough roads.
I've found tyre choice can have a critical effect on how wheels feel so for the record mine are shod with Vittoria Zaffiro Pro 25C.
Overall quality of what you'd expect from Mavic at a price you can pay for very budget looking & feeling wheels.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Genuine replacement 9 speed cassette featuring a sprocket ratio of 11-34 tooth.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Heavy Bike Made Easier To Ride Uphill
Posted04 June 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Purchased for a 10.1kg alloy disc brake road bike with the sole intention of providing a low gear to use to drag it up the many hills in my area.
Works perfectly with the Sora R3000 rear mech and has done exactly what I bought it for.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine ANT + Speed and Cadence sensor allows you to track more metrics with higher accuracy so you can really maximise your performance on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Inexpensive Speed Accuracy
Posted04 June 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Purchased more for the ANT+ speed sensor than the cadence. GPS can struggle to maintain accurate speed readings, either dropping out altogether in some conditions or reading excessively. I'd love to have clocked 135kph down Leith Hill but I think it was unlikely.
The Garmin sensors are considerably more expensive than the LifeLine which does the same job. As it uses magnets rather than accelerometers to measure wheel speed it is a more involved task to fit to your bike and perhaps a little unsightly. Once installed and paired you can forget about it until the battery needs replacing.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dhb's Classic Bib Shorts are designed for all levels of cyclists and for all cycling activities from cafe runs to GranFondos. Elegant design and top performance evolved from dhb's own Aeron Race shorts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superior Comfort
Posted26 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Budget restrictions mean that the money I've lavished on designer bib shorts in the past is no longer available and with the said designer shorts looking threadbare after a year's use it was time to purchase new ones. I've been mightily impressed with my other dhb sport purchases so it was an easy decision to buy the Classic bib shorts.
First ride today. Inside the first 10km I'm thinking, er, exactly why I have I spent so much on bib shorts in the past!? These dhb ones fit incredibly well, are properly supportive and the pad is luxurious, a feeling strengthened at the end of the three hour ride.
Personally I also like that fact that front of the shorts features a higher insert than most which provides a far more acceptable level of modesty when walking into crowded coffee stops on route.
I won't ever be buying Scorpions or Le Mountain shorts again, three pairs of these is a far wiser investment imho.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The world of sports nutrition can be quite daunting – there are so many different products, brands and varieties to choose from. So to make it as simple as possible, we’ve put together the SiS Training Supplements Intro Pack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SiS Taster
Posted25 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A great value pack to try out a few of the SiS products. Even if the energy products turn out to be not your cup of tea, so to speak, you get a free bottle to use."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Durable bar tape with a soft, grippy and breathable feel. With a 2mm thick profile, LifeLine Essential Bar Tape offers light cushioning, moisture management and easy installation thanks to an adhesive backing strip and stretch characteristics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tape
Posted25 March 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I expected this product to be the usual stiff, uncomfortable, hard to fit well and poor grip tape I'd come to expect from cheap bar tape. What I got was something akin to other brands expensive double gel luxury tape. Originally bought as something to finish off a cheap rebuild for a friend it now adorns the bars of a far more expensive bike and isn't out of place.
Easy to fit due to its stretch it has a generous amount of gel and is comfortable to grip providing excellent shock absorption.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
krsl48 has not submitted any questions.
 
krsl48's Answers
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
6 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
6 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex