krsl48
Top 250 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    54
  • Helpfulness Votes
    36
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    07 December 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    16 March 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long Term Protection
Posted07 December 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've tried many different chamois creams over the years with mixed results. I didn't realise that Muc Off made one so decided to give it a go and I'm very impressed. Good consistency means it lasts for even longer rides and as I've had no reaction to it I guess it's good for sensitive skin types.
As you don't need to use a lot the tub will last many months!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfort And Good Looks
Posted14 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Apart from a brief experiment with Kask, I have worn Giro helmets the entirety of my adult cycling life. Feeling my rather expensive Synthe was a bit over the top for commute and shopping rides I bought the white Savant at a good price from Wiggle.
It features the same Roc Loc 5 fitting system as the Synthe and is equally as comfortable. To my mind it looks the part and is a welcome addition to my cycling wardrobe.
If you wanted to nit pick by comparing it to a helmet costing £150 more you could possibly say the straps weren't as soft...but only if you really wanted to find something 'wrong'.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Now That's Better
Posted11 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The original dhb skull cap I purchased last year was consigned to the waste bin after one ride. It was a good fit, perfectly warm enough but had one massive flaw. The perforations in the material that covered the ears generated so much wind noise I couldn't hear my ride partner beside me, let alone the traffic. The irony was the perforations were supposed to enhance hearing.
Delighted to see the 2017 offering has done away with that feature so now I can keep my bald head snug and not be deafened by wind noise at anything over walking pace.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Autumn Warmers
Posted11 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Personally I feel the cold and will be wrapped in winter gear while my contemporary's are still sweating buckets in summer kit. Needing a pair of 'intermediate' gloves (something between mitts and full winter jobs) I opted for dhb as I've found the quality and price to be unbeatable.
These gloves are no exception being comfortable, well made and offering my lizard like body temperature regulating system a fighting chance as the mercury drops to single figures.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Low Slung Garmin
Posted11 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The ability to adjust the length of this LifeLine out front Garmin mount is its stand out feature so if you have a 20 or 1000 it will extend or retract to accommodate it.
The head unit 'snaps' into place with a far more definitive click than the Garmin originals giving peace of mind on bumpy roads or trails.
Not the lightest mount you can buy but the solid construction and excellent price tag more than negate the few extra grams.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit, Great Value
Cons: too heavy for weight worriers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Nano Tech Bike Cleaner 1 Litre Bottle with Spray
Muc-Off Nano Tech Bike Cleaner 1 Litre Bottle with Spray
Muc-Off have now added Nano technology to their award winning cleaning formula. So why is Muc-Off with Nano better? Because the Nano sized particles contained in our revolutionary formula will remove dirt and grime with even less effort!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Still The Best
Posted10 October 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have tried three alternative products for bike cleaning out of simple curiosity and still find Muc Off to be the best."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple Joining
Posted06 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The single time I experienced breaking a chain on a ride was when it had been joined using the pin provided by Shimano and I'm not alone in that respect. So I always use a quick link and KMC's product works very well indeed. I use versions to cover all chain widths from 7 to 11 speed and they've never let me down.
Reusing is advised against but I've done so several times with no issues although I do swap them after two joinings on 11 speed.
"
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Extravagant But Glorious
Posted06 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The on thing my Number One bike lacked was really good pedals, not that Shimano R550's are a bad pedal, they just seemed out of place on a carbon everything bike.
These Ultegra's are really an extravagant purchase, bike bling at its best but if you're looking for more legitimate reasons to buy them, they're light and have beautifully smooth bearings.
In all honesty I don't notice any difference clipping in or out compared to R550's but they look great and are definitely the finishing touch to my bike.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works Very Well
Posted06 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Purchased for an adventure bike I was gifted with cable disc brakes. Unwilling to spend a lot on cables in case I didn't like the bike these ticked the box and have improved the performance of the brakes over what it was originally supplied with.
Just ordered a second set for a winter road bike!
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smooth braking
Posted06 October 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As good as anything I was paying £5 for in my local bike shop."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
krsl48 has not submitted any questions.
 
krsl48's Answers
 
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex