krsl48
Top 250 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    63
  • Helpfulness Votes
    36
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    05 January 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    05 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
the dhb Windslam Neck Tube provides a warm and cosy wind-blocking seal around the neck on the coldest of winter rides. You can even use it as a face mask due to the mesh panel allowing for easy breathing with the extra coverage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Mouth Mesh!
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Stand out feature of this neck tube is the mesh that covers your mouth and nose. This simple feature prevents a) glasses steaming up and b) the inside of your neck tube becoming really rather gross from facial exhalations.
On really cold days (-2C or lower) I do put it on backwards as the mesh doesn't provide enough protection to stop face freeze but thankfully that's rare.
Another great dhb product!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bottle Holder Supreme
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"We don't have much in the way of cobbled roads where I live but that's more than compensated for by lanes that have been dug up, repaired and ravaged by winter reducing them to trails mtb'ers would fear to ride.
I have seen multiple bottles ejected whilst negotiating said lanes but not from my bike or anyone else using Elite's venerable Custom Race cage.
In enough colour ways to suit just about bike this really is the number one bottle cage on the market.
"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, many colour ways
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Next to skin compression base layer, provides support whilst remaining comfortable and non restrictive.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ah, That's Better
Posted05 January 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been using compression socks to help calf muscles recover and when these tights came up over Christmas at such a low price I decided to give them a go.
Not too tight but tight enough to be effective they give a cool soothing effect on sore muscles and do seem to help with recovery. I'm quite happy to wear them all day, especially at work after a ride and DOMS has been a less frequent visitor since the purchase.
Usual DHB good value and quality so treat your aching muscles to a little compression.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Climbing Gear
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Long gone are the days when I could make my way up steep gradients on a 27t gear like a young gazelle :-) So, thank you Shimano for introducing a 10 speed 32t cassette. I can now gracefully spin my way up the hills without rupturing thigh muscles!"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
10-speed 105 wide link rear derailleur (short cage SS) using the Advanced Wide Link design which increases rigidity and shifting performance. Super stiff for fast and accurate changes across the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bike Vanity
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"New bike with budget group set. Old bike with Shimano 105 5700 group set. Group set swap a no brainer but...the 105 was silver and looked wrong on the new bike!
Delighted to find a black rear mech here on Wiggle as this group is long discontinued.
Works beautifully and looks great!
"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your drivetrain and bottom bracket from chain-drop. The LifeLine chain catcher helps prevent your chain dropping below the inner chain ring when shifting on uneven terrain. Shift quickly and confidently on pave roads and cyclocross courses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Inexpensive and effective
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Simply could not stop the chain dropping off the inner ring on down shifts on a new bike so a chain catcher needed to be purchased. No hesitation in buying the LifeLine version as I own a great many products from the brand and they've all top notch.
Easy to install, but remember it won't work with bikes that have band on front mechs, it will need to be fitted to braze on mechs only.
Suffice to say I had no issues with chain drop since installing and although there are considerably more expensive options I fail to see the need to splash out for them.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Comfort, support and stability for flexible, speed orientated cyclists. With lightweight titanium rails, minimal cushioning and a flat profile, the TI Sprint saddle excels on time trials, tri stages and high intensity road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Personal Perch Peference
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Saddles are probably the most personal thing anyone can choose for a bike and it is virtually impossible to recommend one.
The width and shape with the deep channel of the Cosine Sprint appealed to me after not getting on with alternatives and at the price it wasn't a huge gamble.
Delighted to say therefore, that it actually suits me very well. Completed a 60km ride on an alloy framed bike with no 'bad saddle' symptoms so very pleased with my choice.
Certainly worth considering Cosine as a brand choice as they have several different styles and shapes, with hopefully on to suit you.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Muc-off re-hydrating disc brake cleaner can improve braking performance by rapidly removing brake dust, brake oil, dirt and grime from all braking parts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Grime Removal
Posted13 December 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having recently purchased a disc road bike and as a regular user of Muc Off products buying their disc brake cleaner was a no brainer for me.
After 300km of riding I used it for the first time and was amazed by just how much grime had built up on the rotors. Suffice to say the cleaner removed it all with minimal fuss and the brakes remain squeal free and positive.
"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Aeron Windslam Roubaix is a new improved version of the top-rated Vaeon Zero Bib tight. Windslam front panels protect you from the cold on fast descents, open roads and bitter winds. A Tour Air chamois supports you over endurance distance rides
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Finally, Warm Legs!
Posted13 December 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've endured cold legs on winter rides for many years despite them being wrapped in various bib tights. Whilst my upper body luxuriates in multiple layers my legs have been clad in microscopically thin 'roubiax' fabrics and have frozen as a result.
DHB's Windslam material features in a several of my upper body items and works extremely well so when I saw it was available in a bib tight I decided to give them a go.
First ride out in -1C and hey presto, my legs stayed warm and functional! The thicker windproof material provides protection on your thighs, over your knees and part way down your shin and it really does work. The fit is perfect on me with no baggy bits or pinch points behind the knees.
To say I am pleased with this purchase would be understatement, another excellent dhb product and a very welcome addition to my winter cycling wardrobe.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This high performance Luxury Chamois Cream is specifically formulated to deeply moisturise your skin for total riding comfort and protection, over long distances, in all conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long Term Protection
Posted07 December 2016
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've tried many different chamois creams over the years with mixed results. I didn't realise that Muc Off made one so decided to give it a go and I'm very impressed. Good consistency means it lasts for even longer rides and as I've had no reaction to it I guess it's good for sensitive skin types.
As you don't need to use a lot the tub will last many months!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
krsl48 has not submitted any questions.
 
krsl48's Answers
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
11 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex