krsl48
Top 100 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    94
  • Helpfulness Votes
    77
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    20 September 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    20 September 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    19 September 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 >>>
 
The X-Tool Nitrile glove is the perfect latex free mechanics glove for keeping your hands protected from any contaminants whilst working on bikes or machinery.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality Protection
Posted20 September 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Sold under the X Tools name but delivered in a generic box these great value gloves provide a barrier between myself and the multitude of substances I don't want on me whilst working on bicycles.
One time use per pair but plenty in a box.
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Helping to shield your face from both sun and showers, the Classic cycling cap is an indispensable part of your cycling kit that fits well under your cycling helmet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Really Good Fit
Posted20 September 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The last remaining item in my cycling wardrobe that wasn't DHB was a standard issue cotton cycling cap, after all a cap is a cap is a cap...?
Leaving the existing cap at a coffee shop on first use this year (I just forgot it after months without needing it) prompted the need for a replacement so this one found its way into an order.
Putting it on and I'm instantly amazed by just how good the fit and shape is! It's snug without being tight and actually has the shape of a human head, so no excess material around the top. This one I won't feel the need to whip off as soon as I take my helmet off for fear of the ridicule my, with hindsight, poorly shaped previous version brought on.
Variety of colours available and I've no doubt the usual dhb durability on what is a very simple but essential item for cooler weather rides.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Small But Bright
Posted20 September 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've taken to riding with lights on the bike all the time to give the motoring public a fighting chance of noticing me but admit I really don't like the look of 'big' lights on my carbon bike and the small ones I've encountered aren't bright enough.
Browsing the LifeLine range here on Wiggle I noticed this set of USB 'emergency' lights and for £16 I took a punt.
Out the box they seem well made with a mounting system to suit all handlebar/seat post options plus a built in clip for rucksacks or a belt. They are small, marginally bigger than a match box but are impressively bright given the size. Four modes in total with varying battery run times (pulse will get the nod from me) with the 'high beam' mode providing a focused, bright light!
Built in USB charging adds to the versatility of this excellent product. Staying visible and retaining the 'race' looks of my bike mean these little lights do everything I bought them for.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice Looking With Fit And Build Quality Issues
Posted17 September 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had a pair of the original dhb road shoes and have been waiting for the brand to release a new range for some time. Fair to say I was pretty excited when I saw they were available and it took all of ten minutes to place an order for the Aeron ATOP Dial version in black.
First impression out the box was of a light, well constructed shoe with a shiny carbon weave sole. I like the 'indented' dhb branding and the overall aesthetic is far more high end than the asking price suggests.
The description of the shoe states that the toe box has been 'enlarged' to encompass more foot shapes and boy, dbh aren't joking here! (See photo for comparison in length to a Shimano shoe, both size 42). My size 42 have a toe box I could fit an extra toe in and I perhaps should have bought a 41? This is of course a problem when buying any clothing untried online. Toe area aside the rest of the shoe fits reasonably well but I just can't help thinking one size down would have given me the 'snug' feeling I'm more used to and I wouldn't be tugging on those straps quite so hard?
First ride revealed an incessant 'creak' or 'click' sound when pushing beyond glass cranking or out of the saddle. Post ride investigation with the inner sole removed showed the glued liner above the cleat mounting area 'popped' up and down with any pressure applied. I admit a modification that will prevent any return of the product has cured the pop but should I have had to even do that on a £100 item?
My experience so far is that the fit has been compromised to suit more foot shapes and I think dhb would have been better to offer a normal or wide style as Shimano do. At £100 I'm not inclined to order a pair of size 41s to see if there's an improvement, especially as curing the click noise has certainly 'damaged' mine beyond return.
I could have just got a rogue pair of course but having used £40 shoes and not had to modify them to stop a noise I'm slightly disappointed in the construction.
Overall, a great looking pair of cycling shoes but I'm not convinced by the sizing or build and I'm rather disappointed.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit, creaking inner sole
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 is a completely redesigned front derailleur for use with Ultegra ST6800 shifters only for optimum shifting performance
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Slick Shifting
Posted22 August 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having swapped an Ultegra 6800 group set from an outgoing frame to a new one I was left without a front mech (original band on, new braze on) so I used a Tiagra 4700 I had thinking it wouldn't make a lot of difference.
After a few rides feeling the front shifting was compromised and with Wiggle selling the Ultegra braze on so cheaply I couldn't resist any longer. The front shift is now back to its light and positive best with the 6800 levers. It's not really until you experience the difference that you can fully appreciate it and while the Tiagra mech worked, it wasn't optimum. A marginal gain perhaps but for less than £30 one I'm happy to accept.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, best with 6800 levers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Rear Mudguard is a quick & easy solution to protecting your rear from road spray. Compatible with all two railed saddles the LifeLine Rear Mudguard can be fitted in a matter of seconds with no additional tools needed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It Actually Stays Put!
Posted10 August 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've lost three of the original makers version of this simple product (can't say who as the review will be rejected for inappropriate language) on rides so plumped for the cheaper LifeLine version this time. On a Prologo Kappa 3 saddle it is a massive improvement fit wise, I really can't imagine this one flying off mid ride.
Obviously it's no substitute for full mudguards but as a simple to fit, discreet way to keep your posterior dry it's ideal.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Brand-X Road Racing Compact handlebar features a compact ergo bend with a short 90mm reach and shallow 125mm drop.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Longer Reach Than Advertised
Posted07 August 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Upgrading the group set on a 'winter bike' also required some new finishing kit with a reluctance to spend known brand money. I discovered Brand-X (as generic as you'll ever find) on Wiggle owned CRC and was impressed enough with the seatpost/stem I bought to order the bars from Wiggle* purely for the 'matching kit' thing.
These bars measure centre to centre so bear that in mind when ordering and also note that the stated reach of 80mm is inaccurate and they are over 90mm. The drop is indeed compact.
Personally I like flat topped handlebars and these have a very flat wide top, a shape which won't suit everyone but I find nice on long rides just to rest my palms on.
Slight niggles with measurements aside these subtly branded bars do the job and combined cost with the seatpost and stem is less than most bars cost alone.
*Currently only the bars are available from the Wiggle site which is a shame because delivery from CRC is ropey by comparison. An ordered placed with the latter using Priority delivery on a Thursday arrived the following Monday while an order placed with Wiggle on Sunday arrived next day! The difference being UK based and not using Royal Fail makes ;-)"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: measurements not as stated
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Muscle Relax helps improves the recovery of sore and tired muscles.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Recovery Aid
Posted27 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"With Muc Off still unable to provide stock of its Recovery Balm I have been forced to look elsewhere and this Morgan Blue offering caught my eye. At half the price of the Muc Off and endorsed by several professional road teams I ordered it thinking there wasn't much to lose.
The 200ml tub is going to last a fair while as you really don't need to apply a lot of the fairly fluid cream. Initial results indicate it does indeed aid recovery of sore or tired muscles after a ride although perhaps not to the same extent as I experienced with the Muc Off product. This is highly subjective of course and use over a period of time will give a better indication.
The elephant in the room with the Morgan Blue is the smell! It's bordering on over powering and lingers on my hands for hours, despite several hand washes. I really can't identify what it smells of but it is strong!
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: strong odour
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Combining a compact profile, highly adjustable fit and the attention to detail you expect from dhb, the new R2.0 Road Helmet is a performance-orientated lid that won't hold you back out on the road
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact, Comfortable And Breezy
Posted27 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The need for a new helmet was necessitated by trying to carry too much gear downstairs at once resulting in a dropped Giro that did what it was designed to do and broke on impact.
I did look at the dhb Aeron helmet but was put off by the similarity to Kask. I'd already tried a Kask and it never fitted properly despite trying numerous settings on the mutli fit system. The new R2.0 helmet suited my budget, looked like a simple classic helmet and nearly everything dhb I've bought has worked extremely so well so I ordered the white version.
It was very straight forward to set up, the straps similar to those seen on far more expensive helmets and the generous padding made it feel very comfortable right out the box. The adjuster on the back is positive and easy to use on the fly. Ventilation is extremely good, I'd forgotten just how cool a standard helmet is compared to even the best ventilated aero versions and I personally really like the compact shape. This is no mushroom helmet!
The Giro Foray this helmet replaced just pips it on the comfort stakes but this is as much to do with head shape as anything and certainly not a deal breaker.
DHB's new lid has a lot going for it and will appeal to any rider looking for a trusted brand on a limited budget.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
A quality brake cable outer casing for effective and responsive braking. Compatible with both Road and Mountain Bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Tiny Bit Draggy
Posted17 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Only possible issue is that the rear brake of the bike I put this is on doesn't feel quite as positive as it did with slightly more expensive outer. Used with a LifeLine Performance inner cable it just feels like there's a bit of friction that's preventing smoother operation. That said, at the price it's fine!
Rear brake has internal routing using a full length of outer which may also contribute to the draggy feeling?
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
krsl48 has not submitted any questions.
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
2 days ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
4 days ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
4 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
4 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
4 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex