krsl48
Top 250 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    78
  • Helpfulness Votes
    52
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    26 March 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    05 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
dhb's Classic Bib Shorts are designed for all levels of cyclists and for all cycling activities from cafe runs to GranFondos. Elegant design and top performance evolved from dhb's own Aeron Race shorts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superior Comfort
Posted26 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Budget restrictions mean that the money I've lavished on designer bib shorts in the past is no longer available and with the said designer shorts looking threadbare after a year's use it was time to purchase new ones. I've been mightily impressed with my other dhb sport purchases so it was an easy decision to buy the Classic bib shorts.
First ride today. Inside the first 10km I'm thinking, er, exactly why I have I spent so much on bib shorts in the past!? These dhb ones fit incredibly well, are properly supportive and the pad is luxurious, a feeling strengthened at the end of the three hour ride.
Personally I also like that fact that front of the shorts features a higher insert than most which provides a far more acceptable level of modesty when walking into crowded coffee stops on route.
I won't ever be buying Scorpions or Le Mountain shorts again, three pairs of these is a far wiser investment imho.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The world of sports nutrition can be quite daunting – there are so many different products, brands and varieties to choose from. So to make it as simple as possible, we’ve put together the SiS Training Supplements Intro Pack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SiS Taster
Posted25 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A great value pack to try out a few of the SiS products. Even if the energy products turn out to be not your cup of tea, so to speak, you get a free bottle to use."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Durable bar tape with a soft, grippy and breathable feel. With a 2mm thick profile, LifeLine Essential Bar Tape offers light cushioning, moisture management and easy installation thanks to an adhesive backing strip and stretch characteristics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tape
Posted25 March 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I expected this product to be the usual stiff, uncomfortable, hard to fit well and poor grip tape I'd come to expect from cheap bar tape. What I got was something akin to other brands expensive double gel luxury tape. Originally bought as something to finish off a cheap rebuild for a friend it now adorns the bars of a far more expensive bike and isn't out of place.
Easy to fit due to its stretch it has a generous amount of gel and is comfortable to grip providing excellent shock absorption.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A proprietary formulation containing integral Boron Nitride Compounds, Fluoropolymers & Nano Ceramic for the ultimate low friction drive chain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
All Oils Are Not Equal
Posted25 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A marked reduction in chain noise and a noticeable improvement in drive chain efficiency using this Muc Off product, a step up from the standard wet lube.
An application lasts a long time, even in the wettest of conditions and it doesn't turn into a messy black grinding paste.
Top notch chain lube ideal for year round use.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new training tyre benchmark with fewer flats, secure grip thanks to the Aqua-Flow rain tread and long tread life. Low rolling resistance makes longer rides in the saddle more of a pleasure rather than a chore.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Vittoria Convert
Posted25 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"For years I used a German brand of tyre (not the yellow one) until recently, when a new bike I bought came with Vittoria Zaffiro tyres fitted as standard.
I was pleasantly surprised at how well they rode and noticed a drop in grip when I swapped them out for my original first choice, enough to refit the Zaffiros and order a second pair for my other bike. Not only do they grip but they feel more forgiving on the rough roads of Sussex and no punctures yet despite riding through lanes covered in grit and hedge cutting remnants.
Previous generation Vittoria tyres have been very tight and hard to fit, especially on Italian wheels but these ones roll onto the rim easily with minimal effort.
As a 'training' or high mileage winter tyre they get the nod from me!
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A sleek and lightweight overshoe designed to protect shoes from road dirt and grime as well as adding a touch of aero slipperiness to your shoes. Ideal for spring riding and racing to keep best shoes clean.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Vanity Purchase
Posted14 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Any aero benefit proffered by these over shoes will be utterly lost on me but they do a very fine job of keeping my rather expensive shoes clean on those mild, post rain rides. Well made, good fit and rather smart item.
I'd like to mention here that I originally ordered the wrong size and with zero fuss I returned them via Collect+ and a new correctly sized pair was quickly dispatched to me. Wiggle, this is one of many reasons a good 95% of my online cycling shopping is done with you.
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Triple contour, dual compound V-Brake pad inserts for the ultimate combination of precision, power, feel and durability.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Weak In Cantilever Brakes
Posted28 February 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these to replace the pads that were supplied with some Tektro cantilever brakes hoping they'd take the stopping power up a notch.
First ride they provided significantly less power which I put down to bedding in. Next time out they made a very peculiar noise with no better power so I've refitted the original pads. A not insignificant amount of metal from the rims embedded in the LineLine pads after only 50km of use so harsh material.
It could be they just don't work well with a cantilever braking system.
"
Cons: weak braking, noisy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Blok Prism Long Sleeve Thermal Jersey
dhb Blok Prism Long Sleeve Thermal Jersey
Add colour to your Winter Cycling kit with the new dhb Blok Prism Thermal Jersey. Finished with the dhb Blok Prism print, this warm, fleeced jersey is breathable and wicking, making it ideal for training and sportives through the cooler months.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Winter Warmth
Posted28 February 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This jersey is a good, snug fit and despite it being thin to the touch it is certainly warm. Great for layering up and I suspect it'll be a standalone garment on milder spring or autumn rides.
Pockets on the rear are a decent size and the colourway is striking without being over the top.
A very welcome addition to my growing dhb clothing collection.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, good size pockets
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Hex Wrench Set
LifeLine Hex Wrench Set
A set of 9 precision Hex Wrenches, ideal for professional mechanics and enthusiasts alike. Lifeline Wrenches are made of stainless steel with a Hi-Polished finish for longevity. Ideal for bike building and servicing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Neat Package
Posted09 February 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Every hex key you'll ever need (on a bicycle) neatly packaged in a hinged container that keeps them all together. Shiny finish gives a quality feel and they fit perfectly into the bolt. The rounded end adds additional versatility for bolts placed in difficult locations where you need to get to them from an angle.
Another top LifeLine product.
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, great packaging
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Workshop Screwdriver Set
LifeLine Workshop Screwdriver Set
Four workshop grade screwdrivers for a wide variety of cycle maintenance jobs. LifeLine Workshop Screwdrivers feature durable chrome vanadium shafts, toughened heads and large diameter, ergonomic handles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does The Job
Posted31 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Screw drivers are screw drivers so hard to review. This set of four covers all the adjustments you'll need to make on a bicycle, they are comfortable and easy to hold and appear to be quite robust. Another top value product from LifeLine."
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
krsl48 has not submitted any questions.
 
krsl48's Answers
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex