krsl48
Top 50 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    116
  • Helpfulness Votes
    132
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    19 April 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    6 October 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    1 October 2017
  • Last Question
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 >>>
 
Stainless steel inner gear cable for smooth and lasting shifting performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lasts longest
Posted19 April 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"There are a multitude of gear cables available with all sorts of fancy finishes but this simple Shimano one outlasts them all! And my bike is so hopelessly old fashioned it has cables OUTSIDE the frame so they're exposed to all kinds of weather."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tool box in a can! all in one restorer, light lubricant and protectant!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Oh that smell!
Posted19 April 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"In addition to bringing show room shine to my bike frame and components this product has one of the most compelling aromas of all cycle cleaning kit. Bubble gum or cherry or a mix of both? Mmm!
Best to use it outside or with a window open indoors and give what your sprayed a good wipe down afterwards for top results.
"
Pros: smells great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Whether you lead an active lifestyle or an elite sporting career, the Wiggle Hydration Tabs can help you get the most out of your water and optimise hydration. Available in four great tasting flavours, including two NEW flavours Orange and Strawberry!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Refresh on a budget
Posted19 April 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The cost of these Wiggle Nutrition Hydration tabs belies how well they work, especially when compared to premium brand alternatives.
They add a light refreshing flavour to water and have served me well on long, hot rides as well as during the cold winter months.
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The RP5 Road Shoes have been created with the advanced features and construction of Shimano's competition road shoes but deliver the comfort and efficiency required for those long days in the saddle
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Single Boa Issues
Posted19 April 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have a pair of the previous version RP5 shoes and wanted to treat myself to a new pair of shoes for summer. New generation RP501 with a Boa fastening fitted my budget so I went for it.
I had to 'size up' with the RP5 (43 as the 42s I bought first were very small) so did the same with the RP501s. The new shoe has a slightly wider fitting and roomier toe box and borders on too big but I feel the 42 (my usual size) would be overly tight.
They are much lighter than previous version and feel well made. Used them today on a three hour ride and they have that 'one boa' issue I've found with other shoes using the system. I can do them nice and tight at the top but they feel loose in the middle where a rachet shoe would have a second strap and my feet move around in them as a result.
I can forgive them this and look forward to a good summer's riding with them, once my feet are used to the different fit.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quickly removes the toughest of grime from all drivetrain areas including chain, front and rear mechs as well as the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better Than Fruit
Posted18 April 2018
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've used citrus degreaser before and this Muc Off product knocks spots off it, or should be grease?
Sprayed directly on jockey wheels and chain rings it rinses off with water leaving them spotless and used in a chain cleaner it leaves chains sparkling clean!
More expensive than citrus degreaser yes but it works so well that you only need one application rather than several for the same results.
"
Pros: powerful cleaning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Superior traction and minimal rolling resistance for speed focused cyclists. With a high tack 60a compound, light 120 TPI casing and a tough Kevlar breaker, LifeLine Prime Race Tyres are perfect for road racing, fast club rides and challenging sportives.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Far Better Than Expected
Posted13 March 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"28c road tyres, all the rage and I wanted to see what the fuss was about but frankly not at £60 plus for a pair of branded tyres.
I use a lot of LifeLine products and despite some reviewers reservations about wet weather grip I ordered two Prime 28c with next day delivery for £30.
Fantastically easy to fit!
First ride today in very mixed conditions ranging from smooth freshly laid tarmac through flooded roads to muddy, filthy wet country lane descents. Not a bad way to test a tyre.
Ride comfort slightly improved for the extra volume and no noticeable loss of grip on any surface. 30mph down a narrow muddy wet descent with no dodgy moments. I wonder what some reviewers are expecting in the wet but at my level they're as good as anything I've ridden before.
Very happy to leave them on the bike and enjoy the benefits of wider tyres without paying for a better known brand.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Sporting the new grey anodised finish, the Shimano Tiagra 10 speed rear derailleur (long cage) carries the chain across the sprockets with ease delivering high performance gear changes and operation all at a low price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Terrific Tiagra
Posted11 March 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Hauling myself up a local 15% climb on my bike's standard issue 28t cassette I had to concede that I probably was going to have a medical emergency before I got 'stronger' using that gearing.
With the bike already equipped with Tiagra buying this GS rear mech and 32t cassette was cheaper than a more 'glamorous' rear mech on its own. That four tooth difference is huge and the reduction in leg fatigue so significant I can ride further! Mech itself is equal to quality of older 105 versions and works flawlessly.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Brand-X Layback 6061 Seatpost
Brand-X Layback 6061 Seatpost
Brand-X's Layback seatpost is manufactured from tough, yet lightweight 6061 aluminium and features a 15mm setback. This will help to put you in either a more relaxed position on a mountain bike or hybrid or a more aero position on a road bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value
Posted11 March 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Needed a new seat post after considerably more expensive one developed an incurable creak. A bit fed up of spending big ££ on short lived products I bought the Brand X one here thinking if it lasted six months it would be doing better than Full Creak Ahead version.
Surprised at quality of product tbh although weight weanies need not apply.
Easily adjusted with invisible branding it looks good on my bike and is working well.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Soft Chamois Cream is a hygienic protecting cream that helps prevent saddle sores, chaffing wounds and skin irritation caused by friction and perspiration during exercise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Slightly short lived
Posted11 March 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Poor availability of my usual product prompted me to purchase the Morgan Blue and it's not bad at all.
Does what a chamois cream is intended to do with my only comment being that it 'dries up' after a few hours so is maybe not the best product for rides over three hours or so.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: dries out quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A premium 31 strand, superior shine inner cable for fast, accurate and effortless shifting performance. Featuring a Shimano STI® / SRAM Doubletap® compatible anchor, and 3 cable ends to prevent fraying.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works just fine!
Posted10 January 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm using these in everything from Shimano Claris to Tiagra without any issues. Shifting is light and slick even in the most basic of Shimano's product range.
Another excellent LifeLine product that saves me money to spend on more exciting stuff.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
A classical-looking shoe with the adjustability that only laces can offer. The dhb Dorica MTB Shoe adds a touch of class to your kit-list and delivers outstanding comfort and versatility.
 

Size compared to Veron D?

Hello everyone, how does the sizing of these compare to the road Veron D? Are they the same upper? I had to get one size down from my usual in the Veron and would like to know if I should do the same with these?
Many thanks,
K
7 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

How wide are these shoes and how do they compare width-wise to dhb's previous shoes? Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are completely different from previous dhb shoes so I wouldn't use them as a reference.
I think they are wider than a standard shoe but not as wide as a shoe manufactured to be wide, between the two.
My experience was that I needed one size down from my usual 42 to get the right fit. This was compared to Shimano shoes and my work/casual shoes.
Really nice shoe, well made, good looking!
Hope this helps?
7 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 Garmin Out-Front Bike Mount
Garmin Out-Front Bike Mount
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex