krsl48
Top 50 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    125
  • Helpfulness Votes
    143
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    15 November 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    6 October 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    1 October 2017
  • Last Question
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 >>>
 
These Tektro dual pivot calipers feature a long drop (reach 47mm to 57mm) and are ideally suited for the Kinesis training frames (Racelight, T and Tk) or any other manufacturer frame which caters for these types of brake calipers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Long Drop Upgrade
Posted15 November 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" My new carbon bike features long drop brakes so it can take mudguards and bigger tyres. The OE Tektros it comes with are OK but I wanted something a bit better. Long arm upgrades are few and far between. They are either very expensive (TRP) or not compatible with new Shimano levers so finding the Tektro R539 was good news.
Delivered in the manufacturers packaging they're presented like brakes costing three times as much and are definitely an upgrade. Finish is good and they feel/look well made.
Easy installation with a positive, snappy feel at the lever as opposed to that spongy sensation with cheaper calipers. Braking power is a big improvement which at the end of the day is the reason I wanted to upgrade.
They won't win awards from those used to high end caliper stopping power but do a good job for me!
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Great value bib shorts with a quality CyTech 'Veloce' chamois for excellent comfort. If your rides are getting longer and your old sports kit isn't doing the job, the dhb Bib Shorts are a great upgrade from more basic cycling shorts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than Some Costing More
Posted14 November 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I prefer bib tights without a pad for winter riding, my choice being traditional tights worn over bib shorts. In need of replacements for the upcoming winter months I discovered these entry level dhb shorts and ordered a pair.
They look and feel better than some I've paid a lot more for. On a two hour ride this morning the chamois was perfectly comfortable, no rubbing or anything that could spoil a bike ride noticeable.
I don't have sprinter legs and the fit round the leg holes is ever so slightly 'baggy' but this is more my physique than a fault with the shorts. Besides, I bought them to wear under bib tights so it's zero problem.
Satisfied enough to order additional pairs with a view to getting dhb Classic bib shorts for the summer.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Narrow Road Clip-On Mudguard Set feature a PET/Aluminium construction making them lightweight and flexible yet they are still highly durable and resistant to corrosion. Perfect for commuting or winter training duties.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Removable Winter Protection
Posted22 October 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I have a carbon road bike with mudguard mounts and enough clearance for 30c tyres so I could fit traditional guards for the upcoming winter months...but I don't want to.
Of all the detachable options these LifeLine Clip On Mudguards seemed to offer the most bang for buck so I ordered a pair.
They certainly seem to be very well made and attached to my bike with relative ease. The ability to position them accurately is a bonus and they are quite discreet too. A quick test spin failed to produce any unwanted rattles so I think I've got a cleaner winter nailed.
LifeLine again delivering a quality item for a fraction of the cost of named brands!
"
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano Tiagra brake caliper offers great braking performance and features the Super SLR dual pivot design. Finished off in the dark grey anodised paintwork, the rear brake is lightweight, durable and has a toe-in adjustable brake shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Stopping Power
Posted7 October 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" As an upgrade from the unbranded Tektro brakes supplied with my bike these Tiagras are amazing. A much lighter action at the lever and stopping power on a par with previous versions of 105 these brakes represent great value.
The more traditional construction will limit tyre clearance so those looking to use 28c rubber would be best advised to look at new 105 or above.
Minor concern over the durability of the release mechanism.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This Shimano RS010 entry-level wheelset offers outstanding performance for the price. Part of their Road Sport range, it features reliable Shimano hubs, semi-aero rims & are ideal for training or for everyday riding when commuting to & from work.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better Than Price Implies
Posted7 October 2018
User submitted photo
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" My new bike was supplied with tubeless ready wheels which on the face of it seems like a nice idea. The reality is that unless you're going to use tubeless tyres they are a pain with clinchers and tubes simply because it is so difficult to get tyres back on and seated after a puncture.
After the second 30 minute roadside tyre battle I decided to replace the OE wheels with traditional clinchers. On something of a limited budget I settled for the Shimano RS010 wheel set.
As with most products described as 'entry level' they won't set a weight weanies heart racing but they are well made with a solid sturdy feel. The rim join is smooth and undetectable during braking, the hub silent while free wheeling and the overall ride quality with Vittoria Rubino 25c tyres far more forgiving than you might expect. Traditional round spokes would make replacement easy in the unlikely event of a breakage and most importantly tyre fitting is a breeze.
For the riding I do they're perfect and I can reasonably expect a good few thousand miles of trouble free cycling.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Brand-X carbon layback seatpost is manufactured from a lightweight forged 6061-T6 Aluminium head and clamp which is bonded to a lightweight UD carbon shaft. It dampens road vibrations and sudden shocks to increase comfort on long rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Weight Weanies Need Not Apply
Posted22 August 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" If you want a feather light carbon seat post that snaps at the very suggestion of a 60kg plus rider the Brand X one isn't for you.
If you want a carbon seat post for £27.00 that looks good and improves ride quality look no further!
Seriously, it's not light but it is well made, good looking and does help soak up those big bumps in the road. "
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lifeline Handlebar Mount is the ideal companion to your Garmin Edge GPS and Action Camera. The low slung design looks great and places the device out of the wind, reducing drag.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Slightly flawed
Posted31 July 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Having an action camera and gps unit stored neatly in front of the handlebars is great and the LifeLine mount offers the ability to do just that. The GPS mount is secure as is the camera mounting which is more than can be said for the arm that extends forward.
A small allen key bolt simply isn't strong enough to prevent sideways movement on the arm and I'm not prepared to risk £500 worth of kit for the sake of this flaw.
"
Cons: Poor Fit, not strong enough
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A stylish, matte finished bottle cage available in a range of colours to match any kit. The LifeLine Essential One-Piece Matte Plastic Bottle Cage has a contoured inner edge for easy bottle entry and a secure, rattle-free fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works better than more expensive cages
Posted31 July 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" A bottle cage has the single task of keeping your water bottle attached to the bike and this LifeLine offering does it very well. On rough terrain it grips the bottle firmly enough to prevent any bouncing or rattling but isn't so tight you can't get your bottle back out. Works better than some cages that cost a lot more. "
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, variety of colours
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect addition to any toolbox, the LifeLine RimTape Cloth is certain to keep you going morning, noon and night.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
A bit too sticky
Posted31 July 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" As I was having real trouble seating tyres on a tubeless ready rim with plastic rim tape I ordered this cloth version from LifeLine.
It does the job it is intended to by covering the holes in the rim and getting tyres on, off and seated correctly is a lot easier as hoped.
However, the sides of the tape are incredibly sticky, evident when you try to remove the product from its packaging. I subsequently discovered that the inner tube had stuck to this excess and pulled the tape off whilst removing it.
Certainly does what it's intended to but the excess adhesive means it is somewhat flawed.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: excessively sticky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stainless steel inner gear cable for smooth and lasting shifting performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lasts longest
Posted19 April 2018
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" There are a multitude of gear cables available with all sorts of fancy finishes but this simple Shimano one outlasts them all! And my bike is so hopelessly old fashioned it has cables OUTSIDE the frame so they're exposed to all kinds of weather. "
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
A classical-looking shoe with the adjustability that only laces can offer. The dhb Dorica MTB Shoe adds a touch of class to your kit-list and delivers outstanding comfort and versatility.
 

Size compared to Veron D?

Hello everyone, how does the sizing of these compare to the road Veron D? Are they the same upper? I had to get one size down from my usual in the Veron and would like to know if I should do the same with these?
Many thanks,
K
1 year, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

How wide are these shoes and how do they compare width-wise to dhb's previous shoes? Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are completely different from previous dhb shoes so I wouldn't use them as a reference.
I think they are wider than a standard shoe but not as wide as a shoe manufactured to be wide, between the two.
My experience was that I needed one size down from my usual 42 to get the right fit. This was compared to Shimano shoes and my work/casual shoes.
Really nice shoe, well made, good looking!
Hope this helps?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 Garmin Out-Front Bike Mount
Garmin Out-Front Bike Mount
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex