krsl48
Top 50 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    107
  • Helpfulness Votes
    122
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    10 January 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    06 October 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 October 2017
  • Last Question
    01 October 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    01 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>
 
A premium 31 strand, superior shine inner cable for fast, accurate and effortless shifting performance. Featuring a Shimano STI® / SRAM Doubletap® compatible anchor, and 3 cable ends to prevent fraying.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works just fine!
Posted10 January 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm using these in everything from Shimano Claris to Tiagra without any issues. Shifting is light and slick even in the most basic of Shimano's product range.
Another excellent LifeLine product that saves me money to spend on more exciting stuff.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With a mix of oats and fruit pieces these wiggle nutrition energy bars have a huge 45g of carbohydrates per bar. Perfect for long distance, multi-day sport training or just as a healthy snack on the go.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Inexpensive Energy That Tastes Good
Posted10 January 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As real life catches up with cycling life and the income available to spend on my hobby reduces I've started looking at ways to save some money. Suddenly those £2.50 a pop energy bars seem somewhat luxurious.
At less than half the price of a science derived product these Wiggle Nutrition bars are the perfect solution. They taste good and have provided me with the energy I need to ride my bike.
Whether they're up to getting a pro round the Tour is irrelevant to me but they certainly get me round a 50 mile ride very well.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Muc-Off Amino Recovery Balm (150ml)
Muc-Off Amino Recovery Balm (150ml)
Muscle recovery is a crucial element to an athletes training regime - ensure your muscles are ready sooner, with Muc-Off Amino Recovery Balm!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Noticeable Improvement
Posted10 January 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Recovery has never been something I'm good at, especially as I get older. After a good ride I find my legs can be stiff and heavy the following day.
I saw this on Muc Off's site, was somewhat sceptical about the claimed benefits but decided to give it a go.
If it's a placebo effect, I'll take it. A small amount of the balm rubbed into my legs post ride has made for a very noticeable improvement in how they feel the following day. Even after some longer three hour plus outings I've found a significant reduction in next day aches.
Wouldn't be without it now.
Should also mention that two friends who tried it after my recommendation have also reported having fresher feeling legs the days following a ride.
"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Brand-X Road Stem offers incredible value for money and is highly strong and durable. This is thanks to its tough 3D forged aluminium construction, which resists flex and fatigue, yet is also extremely lightweight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice stem for little out lay
Posted10 January 2018
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I needed a longer stem to slightly extend my reach and as my days of needing the most expensive, super light items available are a long way behind me this Brand X product, at less than £10 seemed to good to pass up.
Easily the same quality as items costing a great deal more and as light as the £50 FSA stem it's replaced I'm delighted and personally like the very subtle branding. There was no binding of the bolts or any of the faults associated with cheap finishing kit so very happy with this purchase.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Brand-X carbon inline seatpost is manufactured from a lightweight forged 6061-T6 Aluminium head and clamp which is bonded to a lightweight UD carbon shaft.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brand X Budget Delight
Posted10 January 2018
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Long story short, I needed a new seat post with zero lay back to alter my position on my 'best' bike. There are dozens to pick from, some identical looking save for different lazer etched brand names.
In the end I opted for the Brand X offering because a) it was zero lay back, b) it was 400mm long and c) it has a carbon fibre shaft for £25.00. OK, it's not NASA quality carbon, I get that but it is still carbon.
I have to admit that I didn't expect the product to be as light as it is and seemingly well made. The saddle clamp offers twin bolt adjustment, a feature usually reserved for much higher priced items, which I have found to be solid and precise. In the bike it looks very stealthy, a definite bonus.
Only time will tell if the durability is reflected in the price but for the time being I'm in a better position on the bike with a carbon seat post and enough cash saved, compared to lazer etched carbon seat posts, for a years worth of coffee.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine MTB Clip-On Rear Mudguard is quick and easy to fit and will protect you from muck and spray from the road or trail. It's light weight, durable construction and seatpost mounting bracket makes it perfect for all mountain bikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and Effective
Posted01 December 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought for my CX bike when using it for work rides as tired of a wet, filthy back on arrival.
The ease of fitting is a real bonus, it's supplied with shims to fit all popular seat post sizes and the coverage is very good. I especially like the deep sides which catch more spray than a simple flat design.
Clearly the guard is intended for 26" wheel bikes where it extends slightly beyond the rear wheel so on 700c, 29'er and 27.5 there is likely to be some spray but it will be minimal.
Overall another great LifeLine branded product for a fraction of the cost of the big name equivalents."
Pros: Adjustable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quick release link for Shimano, KMC, and SRAM chains. Easy to fit and great for emergency use when out on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tough job made easy
Posted29 November 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The only time I ever had a chain break on a ride was when I had to join a new one using the pin method.
Otherwise I've used KMC missing links in all sizes from 8 to 11 speed and never had a problem. Fitting is a breeze and removal equally straight forward making chain cleaning (without a bespoke cleaner) a lot easier.
Supplied as a pair having a spare in your saddle pack or jersey pocket makes repairing at the roadside a lot easier in the event of chain breakage.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These LifeLine alloy valve caps maybe small, but they can sure pimp up your wheels. With a variety of colours to match any bike colour scheme, they are extremely lightweight, attractive and apart from looking good, protect your inner tube valve.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The Little Things
Posted29 November 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Valve caps. Not the first thing you think about when considering parts for your bike but if you've done everything else you can a pair of these alloy ones (colour coded if you please) add the finishing touch and show you attention to detail is unmatched!"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
New and improved. Smooth, precise shifting for Shimano®/SRAM® equipped bikes. With superior shine cable inners, sealed CNC ferrules and custom frame protectors, LifeLine Performance Cablesets add effortless lever feel to your groupset.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why pay more?
Posted29 November 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have great faith in Wiggle's LifeLine brand so there was no hesitation in buying this cable set for a CX bike build. I've had to replace other brand cable sets on a fairly regular basis (every two months or so) during the winter as my bike has exposed cables and they've corroded quickly but after a couple of months or fairly grim off road conditions the LifeLine's are still working as well as the day I installed them.
You could pay a lot more for premium cable kits but I'll stick with these and save a good pounds in the process.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A 9 speed chain that is compatible with all 9 speed drivetrain systems. Features include X-SP treatment, X-Bridge and Bull-Eye pin means a chain that is strong, durable giving great performance in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Chain For Low Price
Posted29 October 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Putting lower gearing on a bike required a longer chain and as it's for a winter bike I thought I'd save a few pounds and go with KMC instead of Shimano.
Chain comes with a missing link so no messing around with fitting a new pin and in operation is quiet, shifts smoothly and accurately and looks pretty good into the bargain. FTR, using with Sora R3000 nine speed shifters and mechs.
Based on the performance of this entry level chain I wouldn't hesitate to buy more KMC chains in future for my ten speed bike.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
A classical-looking shoe with the adjustability that only laces can offer. The dhb Dorica MTB Shoe adds a touch of class to your kit-list and delivers outstanding comfort and versatility.
 

Size compared to Veron D?

Hello everyone, how does the sizing of these compare to the road Veron D? Are they the same upper? I had to get one size down from my usual in the Veron and would like to know if I should do the same with these?
Many thanks,
K
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

How wide are these shoes and how do they compare width-wise to dhb's previous shoes? Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are completely different from previous dhb shoes so I wouldn't use them as a reference.
I think they are wider than a standard shoe but not as wide as a shoe manufactured to be wide, between the two.
My experience was that I needed one size down from my usual 42 to get the right fit. This was compared to Shimano shoes and my work/casual shoes.
Really nice shoe, well made, good looking!
Hope this helps?
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
2 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex