krsl48
Top 250 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    70
  • Helpfulness Votes
    37
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    09 February 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    05 January 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
A set of 9 precision Hex Wrenches, ideal for professional mechanics and enthusiasts alike. Lifeline Wrenches are made of stainless steel with a Hi-Polished finish for longevity. Ideal for bike building and servicing.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Neat Package
Posted09 February 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Every hex key you'll ever need (on a bicycle) neatly packaged in a hinged container that keeps them all together. Shiny finish gives a quality feel and they fit perfectly into the bolt. The rounded end adds additional versatility for bolts placed in difficult locations where you need to get to them from an angle.
Another top LifeLine product.
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, great packaging
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Four workshop grade screwdrivers for a wide variety of cycle maintenance jobs. LifeLine Workshop Screwdrivers feature durable chrome vanadium shafts, toughened heads and large diameter, ergonomic handles.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does The Job
Posted31 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Screw drivers are screw drivers so hard to review. This set of four covers all the adjustments you'll need to make on a bicycle, they are comfortable and easy to hold and appear to be quite robust. Another top value product from LifeLine."
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A compact and convenient 5Nm torque wrench for the most common bike adjustment applications. The LifeLine Essential Mini Torque Wrench is ideal for setting the correct tension on stem clamps, seat posts and lever clamps etc.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Portable Torque
Posted31 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I am so hard wired into torquing bolts that I 'need' to do it even when making a roadside saddle height adjustment. Carrying a torque wrench isn't practical so this little gadget is perfect as it fits neatly into a pocket. 5nm covers the stem, steerer and saddle bolts on all my bikes so again this LifeLine product is ideal. Considerably cheaper than its rivals I've checked it against my wrench at home and at work and it matches the torque.
It is a very considerable click when it reaches the 5nm and is definitely worth following the instructions of bedding it in before using it in anger for the first time. As I intend to use it at work its durability will be tested but it feels substantial enough.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: hard to grip with weak hands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A premium 31 strand, superior shine inner cable for fast, smooth and effortless braking performance. Featuring a 6x10mm anchor to fit Shimano®/SRAM® compatible road levers, and 3 cable ends to prevent fraying.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Slick braking
Posted31 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"You'd be forgiven for thinking that getting excited about a brake cable was never going to happen but it just did!
I've pretty much always used Shimano or the LineLine Essential inner cables but was looking for something just a little better to use with TRP Spyre's on my gravel bike, so ordered LifeLine Performance inners. Straight out the packet you can feel just how smooth and slippery they are. Superior Shine indeed! Installed they work effortlessly even in budget cable housing with no detectable drag or grinding. Only time will tell how durable they are, although at the asking price it wouldn't be a big deal to change them on a regular basis.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Say goodbye to greasy or oily marks on your matt finishes. Muc-Off's quick to use Matt Detailing Spray is specially developed for satin matt paints, matt finishes & even matt vinyl wraps!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works But Not Brilliant
Posted25 January 2017
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have a bike with a white matt finish frame so the promises this product made were of real interest to me. It does work but the reality is, in my experience, it doesn't remove the oily finger prints or road grime as claimed. It certainly cleans away minor blemishes that are obvious on matt frames but the harder ones still need a squirt of GT85 on a soft rag to clear.
I've given it to a friend to try on his satin finish frame and will update when I have his feedback.
"
Cons: Expensive, not quite good enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A great tasting, fast acting high Protein and carbohydrate recovery drink delivering 17g of whey protein & 39g of carbohydrates in every 66g serving. Use Wiggle's Recovery Drink & kick start your muscle recovery & repair after exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The Real Thing
Posted25 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Protein recovery drinks have always been a bit too expensive to use on a regular basis and the after effects of the big brand products not been exactly sociable. After trying the Wiggle Nutrition gels and bars I decided it as time to try the recovery drink which is highly affordable given the size of the pack and number of servings.
With a good mix of protein and carbs it provides the right amount of post ride boost to genuinely aid recovery and for me personally, without the undesirable affects. I have noticed my leg muscles do feel better the following day so I've converted from a milk based shake to the real thing from Wiggle.
Taste wise it's very palatable with fresh bottled water, no chalky residue or bitterness.
"
Pros: Great Value, palatable, easy mix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Create a smoother energy and recovery shake drink with the Wiggle Nutrition Shaker Bottle. The metal whisk ball enhances mixing to ensure an even consistency throughout. A side measure scale helps you to accurately mix your nutrition drink.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliantly simple
Posted25 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Gone are the days of chugging down a post ride recovery shake and choking on the lumps of powder that stubbornly refused to dissolve with this brilliantly simple Wiggle shaker. The wire ball does a perfect job of mixing the powder leaving me to enjoy a nice smooth pre-chilled protein boost."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
the dhb Windslam Neck Tube provides a warm and cosy wind-blocking seal around the neck on the coldest of winter rides. You can even use it as a face mask due to the mesh panel allowing for easy breathing with the extra coverage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Mouth Mesh!
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Stand out feature of this neck tube is the mesh that covers your mouth and nose. This simple feature prevents a) glasses steaming up and b) the inside of your neck tube becoming really rather gross from facial exhalations.
On really cold days (-2C or lower) I do put it on backwards as the mesh doesn't provide enough protection to stop face freeze but thankfully that's rare.
Another great dhb product!
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bottle Holder Supreme
Posted05 January 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"We don't have much in the way of cobbled roads where I live but that's more than compensated for by lanes that have been dug up, repaired and ravaged by winter reducing them to trails mtb'ers would fear to ride.
I have seen multiple bottles ejected whilst negotiating said lanes but not from my bike or anyone else using Elite's venerable Custom Race cage.
In enough colour ways to suit just about bike this really is the number one bottle cage on the market.
"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, many colour ways
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Next to skin compression base layer, provides support whilst remaining comfortable and non restrictive.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ah, That's Better
Posted05 January 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been using compression socks to help calf muscles recover and when these tights came up over Christmas at such a low price I decided to give them a go.
Not too tight but tight enough to be effective they give a cool soothing effect on sore muscles and do seem to help with recovery. I'm quite happy to wear them all day, especially at work after a ride and DOMS has been a less frequent visitor since the purchase.
Usual DHB good value and quality so treat your aching muscles to a little compression.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
krsl48 has not submitted any questions.
 
krsl48's Answers
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
11 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
1 year ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team bottom bracket features their new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish. Gutter Seal Technology drastically improves sealing against the elements while reducing seal drag thus improving it's performance over time.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex