krsl48
Top 50 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    116
  • Helpfulness Votes
    135
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    19 April 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    6 October 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    1 October 2017
  • Last Question
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 >>>
 
Combining a compact profile, highly adjustable fit and the attention to detail you expect from dhb, the new R2.0 Road Helmet is a performance-orientated lid that won't hold you back out on the road
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact, Comfortable And Breezy
Posted27 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The need for a new helmet was necessitated by trying to carry too much gear downstairs at once resulting in a dropped Giro that did what it was designed to do and broke on impact.
I did look at the dhb Aeron helmet but was put off by the similarity to Kask. I'd already tried a Kask and it never fitted properly despite trying numerous settings on the mutli fit system. The new R2.0 helmet suited my budget, looked like a simple classic helmet and nearly everything dhb I've bought has worked extremely so well so I ordered the white version.
It was very straight forward to set up, the straps similar to those seen on far more expensive helmets and the generous padding made it feel very comfortable right out the box. The adjuster on the back is positive and easy to use on the fly. Ventilation is extremely good, I'd forgotten just how cool a standard helmet is compared to even the best ventilated aero versions and I personally really like the compact shape. This is no mushroom helmet!
The Giro Foray this helmet replaced just pips it on the comfort stakes but this is as much to do with head shape as anything and certainly not a deal breaker.
DHB's new lid has a lot going for it and will appeal to any rider looking for a trusted brand on a limited budget.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
A quality brake cable outer casing for effective and responsive braking. Compatible with both Road and Mountain Bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Tiny Bit Draggy
Posted17 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Only possible issue is that the rear brake of the bike I put this is on doesn't feel quite as positive as it did with slightly more expensive outer. Used with a LifeLine Performance inner cable it just feels like there's a bit of friction that's preventing smoother operation. That said, at the price it's fine!
Rear brake has internal routing using a full length of outer which may also contribute to the draggy feeling?
"
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Brand-X Chain Catcher - Double 34-50T / 39-53T
Brand-X Chain Catcher - Double 34-50T / 39-53T
Protect your drivetrain and bottom bracket from chain-drop. The LifeLine Chain Catcher helps prevent your chain dropping below the inner chain ring when shifting on uneven terrain. Shift quickly and confidently on paved roads and cyclocross courses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does The Job
Posted17 July 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Identical product to the chain catcher formerly known as LifeLine. Installed on a bike that routinely chucks its chain off the inner ring (despite numerous adjustments) and stops it happening. Perfect."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium handlebar tape with a matte velvet perforated finish for secure grip on the drops and flats. With a 2mm thick profile and a gel component, LifeLine Bar Tape provides increased cushioning and comfort on endurance road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Elegance Without The Premium Price Tag
Posted17 July 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This product is very similar to bar tapes from other brands costing four times as much but seemingly indiscernible in quality. It has a really nice soft touch and does help reduce road buzz somewhat. Visually very appealing too.
Like its more expensive premium brand brethren it is tricky to wrap due to almost non-existent stretch in the tape, especially when doing the figure of eight round the shifters. Unlike the 'Physic' equivalent it doesn't rip if pulled tightly so you can be quite forceful with the wrapping.
Worth noting it appears to be supplied in a shorter length than other LifeLine tapes, I had just enough to do 42cm bars with a 50/50 wrap.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, slightly tricky to wrap
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Lifeline Stash Saddle Bags are available in four sizes and are the ideal companion for a ride. Made from a tough rain and wear resistant 600D Polyester and PVC material and with reflective strips the bags are hard wearing and packed with features.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TARDIS Saddle Pack
Posted13 July 2017
User submitted photo
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having discarded saddle packs in favour of stuffing my jersey pockets with ride essentials to foolishly appease the Velominati and consequently suffered asphyxiation issues as my collar was pulled ever tighter round my throat I decided it was time to revert to the traditional, if non pro, method of carrying stuff.
No hesitation in buying a LifeLine branded stash bag, Wiggle's own brand routinely delivers the goods, and delighted with the product. In true TARDIS fashion it can hold a lot more than its size suggests (I ordered a small), the construction is top notch and joy of joys it doesn't rub on the back of thighs as I pedal as so many others have done!
Size small comfortably holds 2 700c tubes, 2 Co2 cannisters plus LifeLine actuator and tyre levers. If you want to get a multi tool in as well I suggest going to the medium size.
LifeLine products tend to sell and go out of stock quickly so snap one up soon and breathe freely while the Rule Makers choke on their collars ;-)
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, no thigh rub!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Light and reliable, now with a wide rim for improved ride quality and comfort the Aksium Wheelset is Mavic's entry level wheelset giving you access to the road performance akin to the Mavic brand.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mavic on a Budget
Posted20 June 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a Boardman which I wanted to upgrade to eleven speed. The stock wheel set wasn't compatible and as I'd put Aksium discs in my winter disc brake bike it was an easy choice to go with these.
They're not the Elite versions so slightly heavier and don't have the 'on trend' wide rim for balloon tyres but the weight isn't noticeable as they roll nicely and provide a comfy ride even on rough roads.
I've found tyre choice can have a critical effect on how wheels feel so for the record mine are shod with Vittoria Zaffiro Pro 25C.
Overall quality of what you'd expect from Mavic at a price you can pay for very budget looking & feeling wheels.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Genuine replacement 9 speed cassette featuring a sprocket ratio of 11-34 tooth.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Heavy Bike Made Easier To Ride Uphill
Posted4 June 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Purchased for a 10.1kg alloy disc brake road bike with the sole intention of providing a low gear to use to drag it up the many hills in my area.
Works perfectly with the Sora R3000 rear mech and has done exactly what I bought it for.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine ANT + Speed and Cadence sensor allows you to track more metrics with higher accuracy so you can really maximise your performance on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Inexpensive Speed Accuracy
Posted4 June 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Purchased more for the ANT+ speed sensor than the cadence. GPS can struggle to maintain accurate speed readings, either dropping out altogether in some conditions or reading excessively. I'd love to have clocked 135kph down Leith Hill but I think it was unlikely.
The Garmin sensors are considerably more expensive than the LifeLine which does the same job. As it uses magnets rather than accelerometers to measure wheel speed it is a more involved task to fit to your bike and perhaps a little unsightly. Once installed and paired you can forget about it until the battery needs replacing.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dhb's Classic Bib Shorts are designed for all levels of cyclists and for all cycling activities from cafe runs to GranFondos. Elegant design and top performance evolved from dhb's own Aeron Race shorts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superior Comfort
Posted26 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Budget restrictions mean that the money I've lavished on designer bib shorts in the past is no longer available and with the said designer shorts looking threadbare after a year's use it was time to purchase new ones. I've been mightily impressed with my other dhb sport purchases so it was an easy decision to buy the Classic bib shorts.
First ride today. Inside the first 10km I'm thinking, er, exactly why I have I spent so much on bib shorts in the past!? These dhb ones fit incredibly well, are properly supportive and the pad is luxurious, a feeling strengthened at the end of the three hour ride.
Personally I also like that fact that front of the shorts features a higher insert than most which provides a far more acceptable level of modesty when walking into crowded coffee stops on route.
I won't ever be buying Scorpions or Le Mountain shorts again, three pairs of these is a far wiser investment imho.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The world of sports nutrition can be quite daunting – there are so many different products, brands and varieties to choose from. So to make it as simple as possible, we’ve put together the SiS Training Supplements Intro Pack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
SiS Taster
Posted25 March 2017
krsl48
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A great value pack to try out a few of the SiS products. Even if the energy products turn out to be not your cup of tea, so to speak, you get a free bottle to use."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
A classical-looking shoe with the adjustability that only laces can offer. The dhb Dorica MTB Shoe adds a touch of class to your kit-list and delivers outstanding comfort and versatility.
 

Size compared to Veron D?

Hello everyone, how does the sizing of these compare to the road Veron D? Are they the same upper? I had to get one size down from my usual in the Veron and would like to know if I should do the same with these?
Many thanks,
K
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

How wide are these shoes and how do they compare width-wise to dhb's previous shoes? Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are completely different from previous dhb shoes so I wouldn't use them as a reference.
I think they are wider than a standard shoe but not as wide as a shoe manufactured to be wide, between the two.
My experience was that I needed one size down from my usual 42 to get the right fit. This was compared to Shimano shoes and my work/casual shoes.
Really nice shoe, well made, good looking!
Hope this helps?
8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex