krsl48
Top 50 Contributor
Share krsl48's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
krsl48's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    120
  • Helpfulness Votes
    139
  • First Review
    10 April 2012
  • Last Review
    22 August 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review Comment
    29 January 2017
  • Last Review Comment
    6 October 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    1 October 2017
  • Last Question
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    21 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    1 October 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
krsl48's Reviews
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 >>>
 
The Shimano Ultegra 6800 is a completely redesigned front derailleur for use with Ultegra ST6800 shifters only for optimum shifting performance
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Slick Shifting
Posted22 August 2017
User submitted photo
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Having swapped an Ultegra 6800 group set from an outgoing frame to a new one I was left without a front mech (original band on, new braze on) so I used a Tiagra 4700 I had thinking it wouldn't make a lot of difference.
After a few rides feeling the front shifting was compromised and with Wiggle selling the Ultegra braze on so cheaply I couldn't resist any longer. The front shift is now back to its light and positive best with the 6800 levers. It's not really until you experience the difference that you can fully appreciate it and while the Tiagra mech worked, it wasn't optimum. A marginal gain perhaps but for less than £30 one I'm happy to accept.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, best with 6800 levers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Rear Mudguard is a quick & easy solution to protecting your rear from road spray. Compatible with all two railed saddles the LifeLine Rear Mudguard can be fitted in a matter of seconds with no additional tools needed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It Actually Stays Put!
Posted10 August 2017
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I've lost three of the original makers version of this simple product (can't say who as the review will be rejected for inappropriate language) on rides so plumped for the cheaper LifeLine version this time. On a Prologo Kappa 3 saddle it is a massive improvement fit wise, I really can't imagine this one flying off mid ride.
Obviously it's no substitute for full mudguards but as a simple to fit, discreet way to keep your posterior dry it's ideal.
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Brand-X Road Racing Compact handlebar features a compact ergo bend with a short 90mm reach and shallow 125mm drop.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Longer Reach Than Advertised
Posted7 August 2017
User submitted photo
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Upgrading the group set on a 'winter bike' also required some new finishing kit with a reluctance to spend known brand money. I discovered Brand-X (as generic as you'll ever find) on Wiggle owned CRC and was impressed enough with the seatpost/stem I bought to order the bars from Wiggle* purely for the 'matching kit' thing.
These bars measure centre to centre so bear that in mind when ordering and also note that the stated reach of 80mm is inaccurate and they are over 90mm. The drop is indeed compact.
Personally I like flat topped handlebars and these have a very flat wide top, a shape which won't suit everyone but I find nice on long rides just to rest my palms on.
Slight niggles with measurements aside these subtly branded bars do the job and combined cost with the seatpost and stem is less than most bars cost alone.
*Currently only the bars are available from the Wiggle site which is a shame because delivery from CRC is ropey by comparison. An ordered placed with the latter using Priority delivery on a Thursday arrived the following Monday while an order placed with Wiggle on Sunday arrived next day! The difference being UK based and not using Royal Fail makes ;-) "
Pros: Great Value
Cons: measurements not as stated
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Muscle Relax helps improves the recovery of sore and tired muscles.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Recovery Aid
Posted27 July 2017
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" With Muc Off still unable to provide stock of its Recovery Balm I have been forced to look elsewhere and this Morgan Blue offering caught my eye. At half the price of the Muc Off and endorsed by several professional road teams I ordered it thinking there wasn't much to lose.
The 200ml tub is going to last a fair while as you really don't need to apply a lot of the fairly fluid cream. Initial results indicate it does indeed aid recovery of sore or tired muscles after a ride although perhaps not to the same extent as I experienced with the Muc Off product. This is highly subjective of course and use over a period of time will give a better indication.
The elephant in the room with the Morgan Blue is the smell! It's bordering on over powering and lingers on my hands for hours, despite several hand washes. I really can't identify what it smells of but it is strong!
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: strong odour
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Combining a compact profile, highly adjustable fit and the attention to detail you expect from dhb, the new R2.0 Road Helmet is a performance-orientated lid that won't hold you back out on the road
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact, Comfortable And Breezy
Posted27 July 2017
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" The need for a new helmet was necessitated by trying to carry too much gear downstairs at once resulting in a dropped Giro that did what it was designed to do and broke on impact.
I did look at the dhb Aeron helmet but was put off by the similarity to Kask. I'd already tried a Kask and it never fitted properly despite trying numerous settings on the mutli fit system. The new R2.0 helmet suited my budget, looked like a simple classic helmet and nearly everything dhb I've bought has worked extremely so well so I ordered the white version.
It was very straight forward to set up, the straps similar to those seen on far more expensive helmets and the generous padding made it feel very comfortable right out the box. The adjuster on the back is positive and easy to use on the fly. Ventilation is extremely good, I'd forgotten just how cool a standard helmet is compared to even the best ventilated aero versions and I personally really like the compact shape. This is no mushroom helmet!
The Giro Foray this helmet replaced just pips it on the comfort stakes but this is as much to do with head shape as anything and certainly not a deal breaker.
DHB's new lid has a lot going for it and will appeal to any rider looking for a trusted brand on a limited budget.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
A quality brake cable outer casing for effective and responsive braking. Compatible with both Road and Mountain Bikes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Tiny Bit Draggy
Posted17 July 2017
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Only possible issue is that the rear brake of the bike I put this is on doesn't feel quite as positive as it did with slightly more expensive outer. Used with a LifeLine Performance inner cable it just feels like there's a bit of friction that's preventing smoother operation. That said, at the price it's fine!
Rear brake has internal routing using a full length of outer which may also contribute to the draggy feeling?
"
Pros: Great Value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your drivetrain and bottom bracket from chain-drop. The LifeLine Chain Catcher helps prevent your chain dropping below the inner chain ring when shifting on uneven terrain. Shift quickly and confidently on paved roads and cyclocross courses.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does The Job
Posted17 July 2017
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" Identical product to the chain catcher formerly known as LifeLine. Installed on a bike that routinely chucks its chain off the inner ring (despite numerous adjustments) and stops it happening. Perfect. "
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium handlebar tape with a matte velvet perforated finish for secure grip on the drops and flats. With a 2mm thick profile and a gel component, LifeLine Bar Tape provides increased cushioning and comfort on endurance road rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Elegance Without The Premium Price Tag
Posted17 July 2017
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" This product is very similar to bar tapes from other brands costing four times as much but seemingly indiscernible in quality. It has a really nice soft touch and does help reduce road buzz somewhat. Visually very appealing too.
Like its more expensive premium brand brethren it is tricky to wrap due to almost non-existent stretch in the tape, especially when doing the figure of eight round the shifters. Unlike the 'Physic' equivalent it doesn't rip if pulled tightly so you can be quite forceful with the wrapping.
Worth noting it appears to be supplied in a shorter length than other LifeLine tapes, I had just enough to do 42cm bars with a 50/50 wrap.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Limited Color Choices, slightly tricky to wrap
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Lifeline Stash Saddle Bags are available in four sizes and are the ideal companion for a ride. Made from a tough rain and wear resistant 600D Polyester and PVC material and with reflective strips the bags are hard wearing and packed with features.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TARDIS Saddle Pack
Posted13 July 2017
User submitted photo
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
" Having discarded saddle packs in favour of stuffing my jersey pockets with ride essentials to foolishly appease the Velominati and consequently suffered asphyxiation issues as my collar was pulled ever tighter round my throat I decided it was time to revert to the traditional, if non pro, method of carrying stuff.
No hesitation in buying a LifeLine branded stash bag, Wiggle's own brand routinely delivers the goods, and delighted with the product. In true TARDIS fashion it can hold a lot more than its size suggests (I ordered a small), the construction is top notch and joy of joys it doesn't rub on the back of thighs as I pedal as so many others have done!
Size small comfortably holds 2 700c tubes, 2 Co2 cannisters plus LifeLine actuator and tyre levers. If you want to get a multi tool in as well I suggest going to the medium size.
LifeLine products tend to sell and go out of stock quickly so snap one up soon and breathe freely while the Rule Makers choke on their collars ;-)
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, no thigh rub!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Mavic Aksium Wheelset
Mavic Aksium Wheelset
Light and reliable, now with a wide rim for improved ride quality and comfort the Aksium Wheelset is Mavic's entry level wheelset giving you access to the road performance akin to the Mavic brand.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mavic on a Budget
Posted20 June 2017
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
" I bought a Boardman which I wanted to upgrade to eleven speed. The stock wheel set wasn't compatible and as I'd put Aksium discs in my winter disc brake bike it was an easy choice to go with these.
They're not the Elite versions so slightly heavier and don't have the 'on trend' wide rim for balloon tyres but the weight isn't noticeable as they roll nicely and provide a comfy ride even on rough roads.
I've found tyre choice can have a critical effect on how wheels feel so for the record mine are shod with Vittoria Zaffiro Pro 25C.
Overall quality of what you'd expect from Mavic at a price you can pay for very budget looking & feeling wheels.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
krsl48's Questions
 
A classical-looking shoe with the adjustability that only laces can offer. The dhb Dorica MTB Shoe adds a touch of class to your kit-list and delivers outstanding comfort and versatility.
 

Size compared to Veron D?

Hello everyone, how does the sizing of these compare to the road Veron D? Are they the same upper? I had to get one size down from my usual in the Veron and would like to know if I should do the same with these?
Many thanks,
K
11 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
krsl48's Answers
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

How wide are these shoes and how do they compare width-wise to dhb's previous shoes? Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are completely different from previous dhb shoes so I wouldn't use them as a reference.
I think they are wider than a standard shoe but not as wide as a shoe manufactured to be wide, between the two.
My experience was that I needed one size down from my usual 42 to get the right fit. This was compared to Shimano shoes and my work/casual shoes.
Really nice shoe, well made, good looking!
Hope this helps?
11 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

What is the stiffness rating of the sole?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
DHB don't appear to publish an official rating but from personal use it compares to a Shimano RC7 sole in stiffness.
1 year ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
Lightweight & stiff, the all new dhb Aeron Carbon Road dial cycle shoes are engineered for performance. Not only do these shoes enhance your performance out on the road, they also deliver on comfort and fit.
 

Is the heel replaceable?

Hi is the heel replaceable on the sole of the shoe?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, it's permanently fixed.
1 year ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

I have a Giant Defy 2 1012 with a 12-30 cassette would the 11-32 be a straight swop or would I need to change my RD.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unfortunately you will need a medium cage rear mech to work with a 32t cassette and possibly a new chain if the original has been cut short.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
A high quality 10 speed cassette using Hyperglide sprockets resulting in in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

Will i have to change my rear derailleur and chain if i swap a 10 speed tiagra 11/28 to this 11/32?

i currently have a short cage derailleur and a standard chain.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
You will need the medium cage rear mech with a 32 or 34t cassette and a new chain if the old one isn't long enough.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
LifeLine Road Pedal Cleats - Shimano SPD SL Compatible
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 

Screw length

Hi has the issue with the screws supplied with the cleats been resolved, quite a few people who reviewed these cleats mentioned the screws been too long.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
They are still considerably longer than the Shimano one's but work fine with my dhb R2.0c shoes. Not sure that would be the case with my Giro's though.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench Set
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 

Compatible with Phillips no1 head?

Can this take a Phillips no1 head, required for tightening Speedplay cleat screws?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
With the correct adapter and appropriate screw head, yes it will.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

SRAM Red Crankset compatible

Will SRAM Red 50/34 GXP 10 crankset fit to this GXP bottom bearing cup set.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Should be, don't believe Red has a specific GXP design.
5 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
This SRAM GXP Team Bottom Bracket features its new Gutter Seal Technology & a distinctive Tungsten finish.
 

83mm??

Is this an 83mm BB??
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
No, standard 63 shell.
5 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex
 
 Garmin Out-Front Bike Mount
Garmin Out-Front Bike Mount
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place your Garmin Edge cycling computer in front of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 

Would this work with Mio 305

Hi Guys,

Was just wondering if this would work with the Mio Cyclo 305 as keen to order a bike mount for this product.

Thanks
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Unlikely as it's exclusive to Garmin Edge devices with a twist fit.
5 years ago
by
krsl48
West Sussex