nellie116
Top 1000 Contributor
Share nellie116's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
nellie116's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    34
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    20 May 2010
  • Last Review
    04 April 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review Comment
    02 May 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    02 May 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 May 2011
  • Last Answer
    14 November 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
nellie116's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 FSA BB30 Chrome Steel Bearings
FSA BB30 Chrome Steel Bearings
Chrome steel BB30 replacement cartridge bearings with either black or green seals.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
decent consumable
Posted04 April 2016
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"After several years of owning a bb30 equipped bike I've come to realise that short of going ceramic, the bearings wear out every few thousand miles. I've tried expensive ones and cheap ones and they all last about the same so these are a fine, cost effective replacement that I'm pleased with cause i consider them a consumable"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ultegra expectations achieved
Posted13 March 2016
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"i needed a slightly wider range cassette so went for this one as i have ultegra levers, albeit with a 105 mech. replaced the mech and chain at the same time with ultegra item so not definitive what has conrtibuted what but the whole geartrain now is smooth, quiet, quick shifting and much easier to set up well compared to my previous set up of a 105 mech and cassette."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Corsa CX Open Clincher Road Tyre
Vittoria Corsa CX Open Clincher Road Tyre
The Corsa CX (clincher version) gives exceptional grip, comfort and speed and is the worlds best-known tyre and features 320 TPI Corespun casing that confers a uniquely supple ride and gives exquisite handling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
awesome
Posted11 March 2016
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've never spent much on tyres thinking all the rave reviews of £25+ tyres was all bunkum....despite always treating my cars to premium tyres.
After a slightly disappointing trial of some 25 lifeline tyres i decided to revert back to my trusted vittorias but these instead of the rubinos i usually have. I've never had a problem with the rubinos and thought they were fine but these are simply spectacular in comparison.
Smooth riding and light, they really do feel faster all round.
I'm not using them as a winter tyre or training tyre...I've put them on my bike to ride all year, whatever the ride. Only a few hundred miles in and they've managed to keep 100% of the 79% nitrogen and 21% oxygen in so far :-)
Only gripe is they are not available as a 25c in yellow
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: not available in 25c yellow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what is expected of it
Posted22 February 2016
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Time for a new cassette and rear mech so an upgrade from 105 to ultegra seemed like a good idea. Obviously had to replace the chain too so it made sense to stick with ultegra there too. Used with a kmc quick link, the whole drive train was easy to set up and is silent in use. Wiggle also had the best price atb time."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Superior traction and minimal rolling resistance for speed focused cyclists. With a high tack 60a compound, light 120 TPI casing and a tough Kevlar breaker, LifeLine Prime Race Tyres are perfect for road racing, fast club rides and challenging sportives.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
poor quality awful wet grip, nice ride good dry
Posted20 February 2016
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been looking for yellow sidewalled 25c tyres to fit in with my bike colours without any joy. These were briefly featured in cyclist with a favourable write up so thought I'd take a punt as white sidewalls would also work aesthetically.....After all, you gotta look fabulous whilst being awesome! The tyres fitted really easily and actually felt sticky so i had high hopes, especially in the wet. Unfortunately one of the pair i bought had a slight defect in which ended up being a side and tread bulge. The black centre tread line was also not in the centre on either tyre....ocd? Possibly!
The tyres rolled really well, were quiet and gave a lovely ride at 100psi. The first corner taken in the wet produced a slip from both front and rear. This happened a few more times with a huge dent to my confidence in them from which i haven't recovered. The defective tyre has been returned for replacement and the pair will become training winter tyres because they do ride nicely, just not great in the wet. Or maybe I'm just becoming a wuss as i get older and have an irrational fear of touching the ground with anything other than my feet:-(
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality, not great in the wet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Install components with calibrated precision. The LifeLine Essential Torque Wrench allows you to apply the correct tension and clamping force when fitting and adjusting components, helping prevent costly damage or dangerous loosening of bolts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great iinexpensive kit
Posted29 December 2015
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Lovely small wrench kit that I'd promised myself for a while. With so many carbon parts now, overtorquing could be costly. What was bought for just a headset has been used a lot more so is proving an inspired buy. Great tough storage box too so no lost bits and everything in it's place."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Expandable plug. Mandatory for carbon fibre fork steerer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
quality cost effective bung
Posted07 December 2015
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed a new bung as my existing one kept slipping andmaking the headset loose. This bung and some carbon paste has sorted thr problem.
Only drawback is no torque figures given which would give peace of mind when using carbon forks
"
Pros: Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: no torque figure given
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A complete top-of-the-range gear cable set designed to suit Dura-Ace 7900 and Ultegra 6700 gears. Fitting new gears or completely overhauling your gear cabling couldn't be easier - everything you need in one pack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
worth considering first before replacing other
Posted13 September 2015
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Ultegra drivetrain was getting worse and worse to the point of replacing levers and mechs having already replaced inner cables. Tried these as a last ditch attempt before big bucks solutions and found them to restore gear changing back to something close to enjoyable. Would recommend. Only downside was not enough cable ends supplied so had to use some old ones in addition."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value.
Posted26 June 2015
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are my third set. They usually last about 3k+ before getting too many cuts in and tread wearing thin on the rear. Puncture resilience is great as far as I'm concerned. The weight seems fine, handling fine, wet weather grip is dubious, but I am a bit of a wuss on wet rides. I would spend up to £25 on a tyre but there just doesn't seem anything that's appreciably better than these for the price. Training tyre!? What does that mean! I ride 3 to 4k a year, 20 mile leisure rides to 200k sportives and I have never cursed these tyres. There may be better ones out there but if it ain't broke....don't fix it!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Good Fit, Great Value, Rugged, good colour combinations available
Cons: Bulky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
High performance 10-speed 105 Road cassette. Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
cost effective cassette
Posted17 June 2015
nellie116
fromsomerset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"bought for my winter wheels, same as i have on my summer ones which i've had no problems with. no basis for comparison but happy with this cassette"
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
nellie116's Questions
 
nellie116 has not submitted any questions.
 
nellie116's Answers
 
The Femto rear is an affordable yet brilliant compact "be seen" light. Engineered alloy body is light weight (31g with strap) and tough with long lasting, high polished and anodised finish.
 

Would this fit securely on a seat stay as well as seat post?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Probably not as the rubber strap would be too long and the angle of the rear of the light is designed for a seat post angle not a seat stay angle.....it would point up!
1 year, 8 months ago
by
nellie116
somerset
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Top of the range Dura-Ace Super narrow 7901 chain is a lightweight 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer.
 

is this compatiable with 105 and durace 7900 cassette

I have a complete 2013 105 groupset on a scott foil 40 and want to upgrade to Durace 7901 10speed chain & Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette will these fit on without any issues.
Do I need to adjust the length of the chain to fit the 105 crank 53/39T?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
i upgraded to a set of mavic kysyrium sls's with a 105 cassette to go with the rest of the 105 groupset i had on the bike. as a treat i also got this chain and although it is compatible, it seems far harder to keep in sync and running quietly than the original 105 chain. used with a quick link over thousands of miles with no problem. if the gearing is unaltered then there will be no need to adjust the length of the chain.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
nellie116
somerset
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Top of the range Dura-Ace Super narrow 7901 chain is a lightweight 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer.
 

Does this chain have the quick release link or will I need a tool to fit it?

Can I buy the quick release link separately if not?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
it doesn't have a quick release link but i have used a kmc quick link on mine with no issues.
link can be bought seperately
2 years, 2 months ago
by
nellie116
somerset
 
Science in Sport GO Electrolyte is an ideal energy source during sports performance in the heat. Providing fast hydration and sustained energy before and during sport.
 

Go Electrolyte or Go Energy?

Hello,

I am going to be doing a 24 hour kart race soon and am looking for the best sports drink to help me hydrate as much as possible. I'll be doing up to 2 hour stints without the opportunity to take on fluid, only before and after. I do sweat quite a lot hence the need to be as hydrated as possible before the start.

I've seen the SiS Go range and interested in buying a tub of either Electrolyte or Energy. Can anyone recommend the best for my situation.

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
used the sis go for years now. i also sweat a lot and have found it great for rehydration and energy. taste is pretty good in comparison to others as well, especially the tropical.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
nellie116
somerset
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre (2015)
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre (2015)
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Will the Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre fit my mountain bike wheels? The current off road tyres on my mountain bike read 26 x2.25.

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
should do. i've just replaced some continental king 26" X 2.25" with these schwalbe land cruisers and they are great.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
nellie116
somerset