RuffianRider
Top 100 Contributor
Share RuffianRider's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RuffianRider's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    74
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    02 January 2010
  • Last Review
    19 July 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    17
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    01 March 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 February 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
RuffianRider's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Shorts
Posted19 July 2011
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have been using these shorts for a couple of months. In that time I have done several long rides, including one 8hour mtb race. So far they have been very comfortable. The pad seems better than in previous DHB shorts. The bib part of the shorts aren't too bulky and haven't got sweaty on hot rides.
The quality of materials appears to be very good, with no sign of wear yet.
The white stripe on the legs may not suit everyone. Personally I think it looks good, I just hope the white stays white and doesn't turn grey like some white cycling clothes.
Overall these are high quality shorts."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ciussi Side Access Bottle Cage
Ciussi Side Access Bottle Cage
The Ciussi Side bottle cage is made of high resistant silicon alloy. Thanks to it's symmetric frame in relation to the anti-slip button, lateral introduction and removal is possible from the left or from the right.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A clever cage
Posted19 July 2011
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought this to fit on the seat tube of my wife's 16" On-One Whippet, so she can carry an extra bottle in longer rides. The seat tube on the frame is very short so a normal top entry bottle cage will not work in this location.
This cage works well, and allows an additional 500ml bottle to be carried on the frame. Quality of the cage appears to be good. The bottle is held securely and has not jumped out during use.
The cage can be fitted for left or right hand bottle entry."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Feedback Sports Pro Ultralight Workstand is great for travel due to having a tool-less easy set-up and being compact as well as lightweight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Work Stand.
Posted19 July 2011
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace a much cheaper workstand that had not proved to be very durable.
The work stand is already fully assembled in the box so it is very quick to put up for the first time. Initial impression are of a high quality product, the red finish on the main tubes looks good.
In use the stand works well, however it can tip if the bike is in the wrong position between the legs. The clamp is fairly easy to use, however not as easy as the clamp on the more expensive version. It takes seconds to fold the stand down, and when folded it doesn't take up too much space.
Overall it is a high quality stand, and so far looks to be well worth the fairly high price."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Airstream Mitts Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Airstream Mitts Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Versatile cycling gloves with modern styling and a breathable mesh/lycra back for a close fit and cool feel. The hard wearing synthetic leather palm adds grip and protection with padding to help absorb vibration from the roads.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Comfortable but pad not durable
Posted19 July 2011
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have used these gloves for a couple of months, they are a good fit and are comfortable to wear. The general construction appears to be good, however the one weakness is the pad on the palm has squashed very quickly, so it no longer offers any padding. I am not overly worried about having lots of padding on gloves, so I am still happy to use the gloves. If you like well padded gloves I would look at something else."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
A compact and protective vest with a Windstopper Active shell front panel to shield you from wind chill on quick descents and on cold windy days. The Countdown Vest packs down into a jersey pocket for the climbs or when the temperature rises.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Gillet
Posted15 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This was bought as a replacement for my old gilet. The quality is the typical high standard expected from Gore. I wear an XL in Gore clothing and an XL gilet was a good fit - maybe fractionally baggy as it flaps slightly on the shoulders when riding at speed, only really noticeable on descents.
A nice feature on the rear of the jersey is cut aways that allow you access to the rear pockets of your jersey. This seems very well thought out.
Overall I am very pleased with the purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedcross 2 Shoes ss11
Speedcross 2 Shoes ss11
Race-ready, ultra-light and built for speed.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great lightweight shoes.
Posted15 February 2011
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought these as a bit of a do-it-all trainer. Sometimes for running in, sometimes walking in the woods with the kids, and they have been worn to the pub once or twice too!
The shoes are very light, probably the lightest pair of shoes I own. They are very comfy and fairly supportive. They seem to be grippy on most surfaces. They have stood up to three or four months of use very well.
Most of the shoes I own are a size 45 and a size 45 in these fitted me fine, the almost felt a bit tight out of the box - but must have stretched slightly during the first few wears as they are a perfect fit now.
The lace system works very well.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MTB Inner Tube
MTB Inner Tube
Top quality rubber...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Inner Tube
Posted15 February 2011
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Bought to carry as a spare for my UST tyres. Quality seems fine, I have always found Ritchey tubes to be very good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Inov-8 Prosoc 22 Twinpack - SS13
Inov-8 Prosoc 22 Twinpack - SS13
Anatomically designed training and winter racing sock. Developed and tested to provide the ultimate in off-road running comfort and performance. Fast wicking, quick drying Coolmax® with padded areas giving extra cushioning and protection for long distance running and walking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Socks
Posted15 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These were bought for me as a present for me by my wife. Initial thoughts were that they were slightly thicker than the socks I normally wear cycling. In use they are very comfortable and seem to keep toes warm on cold days, but aren't too hot. As they are slightly thicker than my normal socks they are actually more comfortable to wear. If I need to buy some more I probably will. They seem to be fairly durable and aren't showing any signs of wear despite lots of use."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement bike mounts for the Edge 200, 205, 500, 605, 705, and 800.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Garmin Edge Mount
Posted15 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this to replace the two bike mounts that came with my Garmin Edge 305. On both of those the little retaining arm had snapped off, meaning the mount would not securely hold the GPS any more - although they still work fine on my turbo trainer bike!
When I got the new mount I was pleased to see it had been upgraded slightly from the earlier version, and now looks slightly more robust, hopefully I won't have a repeat failure.
The mount can be fixed to stem or bars, and includes a little wedge to adjust the angle. It also includes two cable ties for mounting.
It is fairly expensive for what it is, but works well."
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TORQ bar has been painstakingly formulated to produce a food that is ultra high in carbohydrate, very low in fat and with ingredients wide-ranging in glycaemic index for immediate and sustained glucose release.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bars for endurance events
Posted10 November 2010
RuffianRider
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have used Torq bars for a number of years. The flavours are all good, and not too sickly. The best thing about these bars is they seem to stay edible no matter what the temperature - a few other bars I have tried have ended up solid, and really hard to chew if the temperature has dropped below about ten degrees.
Easy to open when riding too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RuffianRider's Questions
 
RuffianRider has not submitted any questions.
 
RuffianRider's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
A compact and protective vest with a Windstopper Active shell front panel to shield you from wind chill on quick descents and on cold windy days. The Countdown Vest packs down into a jersey pocket for the climbs or when the temperature rises.
 

is the back as well as the front waterproof?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No. The back is partly mesh
3 years, 8 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 MTB Inner Tube
MTB Inner Tube
Top quality rubber...
 

How much do they weigh?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I have just weighed mine. 198g for a 26x 2.1-2.3 presta valve tube
3 years, 8 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 Exposure Helmet Mount Bracket Kit
Exposure Helmet Mount Bracket Kit
Multi-position design helmet mount bracket kit for (2008 or later) Diablo /Joystick/Wiggle Joystick and Spark lights.
 

Helmet mount

Will this work with a exposure spark light?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes it does.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 M076 MTB Cycling Shoes
M076 MTB Cycling Shoes
Designed with the sporting and recreational rider in mind, offering excellent function at a great price.
 

is SPD cleat kit including with shoes? we haven't received it with shoes.Do you supply it or do we have to buy it seperatly?thanks.

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You have to buy the cleats separately, as they are supplied with the pedals.
 
Products from my answer
 
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 M076 MTB Cycling Shoes
M076 MTB Cycling Shoes
Designed with the sporting and recreational rider in mind, offering excellent function at a great price.
 

Hi, can you tell me if these shoes are compatible with the M520 pedals by Shimano?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes they are.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 M076 MTB Cycling Shoes
M076 MTB Cycling Shoes
Designed with the sporting and recreational rider in mind, offering excellent function at a great price.
 

Will these shoes fit the shimano pd-m747 pedals?

I'm a bit new - will the shoes fit directly on to these pedals or do I need to buy some additional attachment (cleats?) so that the shoes clip on to the pedals?
User submitted photo
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will need to buy cleats. New pedals are supplied with cleats, if you don't have any you can buy them separately.
 
Products from my answer
 
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 Rubino Slick Clincher Tyre
Rubino Slick Clincher Tyre
Road racing clincher tyre with PRB puncture protection. All new Rubino features available with a slick tread pattern!
 

Can I fit the Panaracer Fire XC Pro tyre to my bike

I have a Specialized Rockhopper fitted with own brand 26 X 2.0 tyres. The rear one is showing signs of wear and I would like to replace with the Panaracer, 2.1 size.Will it fit OK and is it difficult to put on being a folding type.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I think you have asked your question under the wrong product?

Yes, a 2.1 Fire XC Pro tyre will fit your Rockhopper's wheels. Folding tyres are normally easier to fit as the bead is more flexible.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 Fat Boy 2010
Fat Boy 2010
Great equipment for great ride enjoyment.
 

Sizing enquiry

Focus Fatboy - I am 6' tall with a 33" inside leg measured floor to crotch without shoes. What size would suit me best? Thanks. Mike
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I am the same height as you and I would go for a 48/L, which is a 19" frame.

I have not ridden a Fatboy, but I have tested a Raven in that size and it fitted me well.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

How to find cycling shoes for indoor cycling?

Im looking for cycling shoes which would have a cleat compatible with indoor spinning bikes?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Look for a shoe that is compatible with SPD. These shoes are.

If you are only using them for spinning then go for something with as much mesh in as possible. Also it is worth getting shoes with some grip on the sole you don't slide everywhere when off the bike at the gym (off road shoes are better in this respect)

You will also need to buy a pair of cleats as the shoes aren't supplied with them. Look for Shimano SPD cleats, every spinning bike I have seen with clipless pedals has used these.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider
 
 Ultegra 6600 Double 10 Speed Front Derailleur OE
Ultegra 6600 Double 10 Speed Front Derailleur OE
For use with 10-speed double chainset, Extra wide pivot link increases rigidity for improved shifting response, Lightweight and durable construction, The polished and clear coated Ultegra finish resists corrosion and looks great, Light action spring reduces effort required to actuate shifts, Compatible with 10-speed drivetrains, Maximum capacity of 15 teeth, Weight: 103 g for band-on
 

What diameter seat tube is it for? Will it fit a 34.9mm OD tube?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
This is a braze on fitting front mech, so won't fit on your frame, if you don't have a braze on mount You could buy an adaptor to make it work on your frame.

You would be easier to buy the mech that clamps straight onto your frame.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
RuffianRider