cyclingfury
Share cyclingfury's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
cyclingfury's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    25 June 2009
  • Last Review
    13 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    17 February 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    26 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    11 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
cyclingfury's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The racing classic and handmade in Germany. The name Grand Prix has become a brand of its own in cycling circles worldwide. The Grand Prix is the classic tyre marking quality and performance. A great all-round tyre for all-year use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
An excellent wet weather tyre
Posted13 July 2015
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use these on my wet weather wheels for the summer months.
They fill a gap as I use race tyres for dry summer rides, conti 4 seasons during the winter and these Grand Prix for wet weather riding during the summer. They are a little tougher and have excellent wet weather grip.
Highly recommended.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap and cheerful for when you run out of tubes
Posted13 July 2015
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Straight forward puncture repair back up for those rare occasions when you have used up all your spare tubes on a ride.
They weigh next to nothing and could save you a long walk home!
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
10 function tool, perfect for everyday cycling. Beautifully finished and includes its own mini 4mm Allen key to tighten itself.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A great little multi tool
Posted13 July 2015
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"An essential item to have in your saddle pouch for any serious/regular rider.
It contains just about everything you're likely to need to deal with minor mechanical problems on the road.
There is no chain splitter but in 26 years of riding I've never needed one so I take the risk on training and club rides and carry this instead as it's lighter. I have a bigger Topeak with one on for sportives etc.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The La Sal 1.0 gloves are a fantastic pair of short fingers gloves from Lizard Skins. This top end La Sal 1.0 glove uses pittards premium leather and features a micro suede thumb for a lovely fit and feel. A very classy addition to any cyclists kit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Buy if you want to treat yourself
Posted23 May 2015
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These gloves are sheer indulgence.
They are fantastically comfortable and have a nice retro look to them.
These are my go to gloves when the sun is shining and I'm off riding my beautiful 15 year old steel bike.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Secure, convenient and waterproof storage for your cycling essentials. With room for tubes, inflators, CO2 cartridges, multitools, gels, keys, cards and smartphones, the LifeLine storage bottle keeps all your kit within reach on the roads and trails.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works a treat
Posted23 May 2015
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can I say? A straight forward solution to carry a few tools/ tubes on rides where you don't need to carry two water bottles.
I use this for shorter rides (eg Saturday Club cafe rides). I have a lifeline matching water bottle, so they look pretty smart on the bike together.
I also occasionally stuff a gilet and arm warmers into it if I intend to ride in uncertain weather, and carry my spare tube / multi tool in my usual saddle pack. This saves me bulking out my jersey with spare clothing."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Casual Trouser
dhb Casual Trouser
The dhb Casual Trouser is a high stretch, utility trouser designed for off bike use in and around event and training environments.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice casual trousers for town shop cycling
Posted23 May 2015
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Ideal for wearing on the bike when popping down the town to do some shopping etc.
Off the bike they look very much like a normal pair of cargo style trousers, thus avoiding the tight Lycra look.
I wouldn't wear them for serious cycling though, they're not really designed for that.
My only slight criticism though is that the Velcro on the bottom of the legs doesn't allow you to fasten them quite tight enough, and so there is a risk of the trouser fouling the chainring. I got my wife to sew extra on Velcro to avoid this!
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: bottom of legs too baggy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Thomson are famous for their strong, reliable and lightweight stems and seatposts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A high end seatpost collar
Posted11 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is not cheap in price and it's not cheap in quality. It looks great on the bike - very classy.
It needs VERY LITTLE TORQUE to tighten up, so don't overdo it. Tighten in very small increments until your seatpost stops slipping and you'll be fine.
I fitted mine in seconds and I am totally delighted with it.
It's a little bulkier than other seatpost collars one can buy but I can forgive this as it is of such good quality.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Energy Bar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great energy bars - if the taste suits you.
Posted11 March 2014
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are the easiest energy bars to eat on the bike I have ever tried. They are soft and tasty. However, as taste is subjective I suggest you try before you invest in a boxful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your Edge® 510 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Available in seven different colours (sold separately).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Added protection for your Garmin.
Posted26 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Garmins are not cheap, so a bit of extra protection doesn't go astray.
This does the job in adding a bit of protection for day to day use but won't protect your unit from major trauma (eg dropping it from a height.)
It does give you the option of colour coding your Garmin with your bike though!
"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sturdy and rigid nylon carrying case that can hold the GPS and accessories.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good case to protect your Garmin
Posted26 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you're going to spend a few hundred quid on a Garmin, it makes sense to buy this case to protect your investment from inadvertent damage.
It's well made and easily accommodates your Garmin and the heart rate monitor strap.
Very useful if you intend to travel and want to pack your Garmin in safety.
Quite expensive though.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
cyclingfury's Questions
 
 Campagnolo Athena Black 11 Speed Dual Pivot Brake Calipers
Campagnolo Athena Black 11 Speed Dual Pivot Brake Calipers
The new Athena black Dual Pivot brake levers retain all the technical and performance characteristics of the 2011 all silver version. The Athena 11x brakes are designed to stop the bicycle in the shortest distance without locking the wheels.
 

Are these 11 speed calipers compatible with 10 speed Centaur Triple levers?

1 year, 6 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 Campagnolo Chorus 10 Speed Ergopower QS Lever Set
Campagnolo Chorus 10 Speed Ergopower QS Lever Set
Chorus 10 speed Ergopower Quick Shift Levers and with composite body and levers.
 

Would these levers be compatible with the 10 speed Centaur triple groupset?

1 year, 6 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
XT SPD's are designed to take the rigours of off-road competition whilst also being perfect for cross country trail riding. This XT trail pedal is ideally suited to tackle single track and ultra-technical descents with control and confidence.
 

Can I clip in on both sides of these pedals

2 years, 2 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
If you are commuting to work or racing against the clock it is always advisable to replace worn and damaged parts to make the most off every ride.
 

Would this be suitable to replace the 40 ring on my 2006 Chorus 50-40-30 triple chainset?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
A great stylish stem using the new Puzzle clamp system, which reduces the stress on the bolts and the handlebar and also makes you wonder how it works.
 

Will this stem fit the 3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Bars?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 Colnago OS-150 Stem
Colnago OS-150 Stem
The FSA Colnago (ST09 Celsius) OS-150 Stem is the OS-150 but in Colnago branding. It is 3D forged then CNC machined from AL6061T6 to make it durable and reliable.
 

What is the angle of this stem please?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Lightweight and strong 2014 aluminium road racing drop handlebar, with a oversized 31.8mm clamp diametre.
 

Compact v Round

I'm not sure what the essential differences are between compact and round. Is the depth of the drop? If so, what is the difference in drop on the PLT bars?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 Campagnolo Centaur 10 Speed 12-30 Cassette
Campagnolo Centaur 10 Speed 12-30 Cassette
A 10 speed Centaur cassette with a sprocket ratio of 12-30.
 

What is the spread of teeth on his cassette?

2 years, 5 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
cyclingfury's Answers
 
EnergyBar is a healthy snack with a balance of simple and complex carbohydrate from fruit, grains and nuts that taste great
 

are these bars actually coated in chocolate?

No
1 year, 5 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Energy Bar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 

How many grams of carbs per bar ?

40 grams, of which 20 grams are sugar.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Thomson are famous for their strong, reliable and lightweight stems and seatposts.
 

Thomson seat collar

Hi, I'm looking to buy one of these collars and am wondering if anyone could recommend a good (and inexpensive!) torque wrench to help ensure a good fit.
I didn't use a torque wrench because I haven't got one. The instruction leaflet that came with it advised to tighten the collar in tiny increments until the seatpost stops slipping ( or cannot be moved). It takes surprisingly little torque to do this. I just used an Allen key and it holds my carbon seatpost rock solid.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 Altura Etape Bib Tights
Altura Etape Bib Tights
Keep warm and protected with the Etape Bib Tights. Constructed with a stretch thermal fabric for a performance fit and heat management. A great entry level bib tight for the colder months.
 

Do these have seat padding?

No. The seat is reinforced but it is not an actual pad.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Handlebar
3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Handlebar
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

have the handle bars got cable recesses in them

3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Handlebar
Yes. I had no problem fitting my Campagnolo Chorus cables into the recesses.
2 years ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Handlebar
3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Handlebar
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

is the 46cm bar a true 46cm c-c? 48cm o-o

Best answer
I found them to be 44cm at the hoods but 46cm on the drops.
2 years ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

is quantity 1 two pedals then?

Yes you get two pedals.
2 years ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
 3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Handlebar
3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Handlebar
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

Is this bar shorter at the hoods?

I usually ride a 42cm bar but I read that the 3T bar is shorter at the hoods. Should I get this bar in a 44cm?
Yes. Mine are 46cm at the drops but only 44cm at the hoods.
2 years ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Great looking Fi'zi:k handlebar tape that’s available in a wide range of colours and compliments any finishing kit. It will scrub up time and again to ensure your bike looks as good as new.
 

how do you install?

I have not installed bar tape before, how do you install? When I peel of the paper there does not seem to be any adhesive
A great tip is to liberally smear the handlebars with print stick glue before applying the tape. Not only will it dry and secure your bar tape but it remains slippy long enough to allow you to wind and unwind the bar tape multiple times when you are trying to fit it. Very handy if, like me, it usually takes a few attempts to get the new tape on just right!
2 years, 11 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland