cyclingfury
Share cyclingfury's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
cyclingfury's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    25 June 2009
  • Last Review
    11 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    23 March 2013
  • Last Question
    17 February 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    26 September 2012
  • Last Answer
    11 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
cyclingfury's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Thomson are famous for their strong, reliable and lightweight stems and seatposts.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A high end seatpost collar
Posted11 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is not cheap in price and it's not cheap in quality. It looks great on the bike - very classy.
It needs VERY LITTLE TORQUE to tighten up, so don't overdo it. Tighten in very small increments until your seatpost stops slipping and you'll be fine.
I fitted mine in seconds and I am totally delighted with it.
It's a little bulkier than other seatpost collars one can buy but I can forgive this as it is of such good quality.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergyBar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great energy bars - if the taste suits you.
Posted11 March 2014
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are the easiest energy bars to eat on the bike I have ever tried. They are soft and tasty. However, as taste is subjective I suggest you try before you invest in a boxful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your Edge® 510 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Available in seven different colours (sold separately).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Added protection for your Garmin.
Posted26 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Garmins are not cheap, so a bit of extra protection doesn't go astray.
This does the job in adding a bit of protection for day to day use but won't protect your unit from major trauma (eg dropping it from a height.)
It does give you the option of colour coding your Garmin with your bike though!
"
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sturdy and rigid nylon carrying case that can hold the GPS and accessories.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good case to protect your Garmin
Posted26 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you're going to spend a few hundred quid on a Garmin, it makes sense to buy this case to protect your investment from inadvertent damage.
It's well made and easily accommodates your Garmin and the heart rate monitor strap.
Very useful if you intend to travel and want to pack your Garmin in safety.
Quite expensive though.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Keep warm and protected with the Etape Bib Tights. Constructed with a stretch thermal fabric for a performance fit and heat management. A great entry level bib tight for the colder months.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pair of bib tights!
Posted22 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a pair of bib tights for winter MTB riding as I didn't want to use my road riding bib tights for muddy conditions. I ordered a size up for a more relaxed fit for off road riding.
These fit the bill in all respects. The cut of the garment also makes it easy to negotiate natural breaks :) The stirrups are useful in ensuring the cold and wet are kept out when wearing overshoes.
One note of caution if you buy these to commute in during the winter: the reflective stripes on the side of each leg will begin to peel off after the very first wash. (Other reviewers have also noted this). This didn't bother me as I prefer the tights without them, so I just peeled them off - they look a bit scruffy half hanging off anyway. This small defect detracts from an otherwise excellent garment and is something the manufacturer should address."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: poor quality reflective stripes
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Why would you want to pay more??
Posted26 August 2013
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great pedals at a great price. Totally reliable. OK not the lightest but at this price these pedals are brilliant value for money."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bars
Posted04 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Terrific bars and good value for money. The shallow drops compliment my fairly long head tube so riding on the drops is now even more comfortable. Despite the elongated shape of the bar tops I still managed to fit handlebar gel and tape with any problems."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This storage water bottle, with screw on lid, is ideal to organise your inner tube, tools, Co2 inflator etc and fits neatly into your water bottle cage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Buy it, put stuff in it, put on bike, forget it.
Posted10 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A very simple product to carry a spare tube, tyre levers and a multi tool.
Tip: Sometimes the spare tube can be difficult to remove from a tool bottle when it's shoved tightly inside it. So put your spare tube in a small polythene food bag with handles. When you need to remove the tube from the bottle just pull it out by the bag's handles."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
High performance mountain bike shoes with all you need to keep your feet comfortable and secure out on the trails. Featuring a lorica synthetic leather upper and the Sidi MTB competition heel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pair of shoes
Posted05 June 2011
cyclingfury
fromRutland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've finally made the switch from Look racing pedals to SPDs after getting totally fed up of replacing racing cleats and not being able to walk around in them. I'm not a racer and so the very small weight penalty of wearing MTB shoes on my road bike is well worth the added convenience.
The Dominators 5s are a great pair of shoes, comfortable and up to the usual high standard of Sidis that I've come to expect. The only downside is that they are hugely expensive, but try buying a set of cycling shoes in size 50 in a different make - it's just impossible! Also I have very slim feet and Sidis suit me just fine, but those of you with a broader foot may need to go to the "mega" wide fitting.
Lastly for my shoe size i should be buying a size 48 but Sidis do tend to come up small so you will need to buy a size or two up from your usual."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Carbon Fibre Road Handlebar End Plugs
Carbon Fibre Road Handlebar End Plugs
Glitz up your road bike with these carbon fibre bar end plugs. These are superlight and easy to fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
These look great!
Posted25 June 2009
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
cyclingfury
fromRutland, UK
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used all manner of bar end plugs but these look the best by far. I can't claim that they're any more practical than other plugs, they work just fine, but sometimes when you need stuff for the bike you have to buy from the heart rather than the head!"
Pros: Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
cyclingfury's Questions
 
The new Athena black Dual Pivot brake levers retain all the technical and performance characteristics of the 2011 all silver version. The Athena 11x brakes are designed to stop the bicycle in the shortest distance without locking the wheels.
 

Are these 11 speed calipers compatible with 10 speed Centaur Triple levers?

2 months, 1 week ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Chorus 10 speed Ergopower Quick Shift Levers and with composite body and levers.
 

Would these levers be compatible with the 10 speed Centaur triple groupset?

2 months, 1 week ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
XT SPD's are designed to take the rigours of off-road competition whilst also being perfect for cross country trail riding. This XT trail pedal is ideally suited to tackle single track and ultra-technical descents with control and confidence.
 

Can I clip in on both sides of these pedals

10 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
If you are commuting to work or racing against the clock it is always advisable to replace worn and damaged parts to make the most off every ride.
 

Would this be suitable to replace the 40 ring on my 2006 Chorus 50-40-30 triple chainset?

11 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
A great stylish stem using the new Puzzle clamp system, which reduces the stress on the bolts and the handlebar and also makes you wonder how it works.
 

Will this stem fit the 3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Road Bars?

11 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
The FSA Colnago (ST09 Celsius) OS-150 Stem is the OS-150 but in Colnago branding. It is 3D forged then CNC machined from AL6061T6 to make it durable and reliable.
 

What is the angle of this stem please?

11 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Lightweight and strong 2014 aluminium road racing drop handlebar, with a oversized 31.8mm clamp diametre.
 

Compact v Round

I'm not sure what the essential differences are between compact and round. Is the depth of the drop? If so, what is the difference in drop on the PLT bars?
11 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
A 10 speed Centaur cassette with a sprocket ratio of 12-30.
 

What is the spread of teeth on his cassette?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
cyclingfury's Answers
 
EnergyBar is a healthy snack with a balance of simple and complex carbohydrate from fruit, grains and nuts that taste great
 

are these bars actually coated in chocolate?

No
1 month, 1 week ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
EnergyBar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 

How many grams of carbs per bar ?

40 grams, of which 20 grams are sugar.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Thomson are famous for their strong, reliable and lightweight stems and seatposts.
 

Thomson seat collar

Hi, I'm looking to buy one of these collars and am wondering if anyone could recommend a good (and inexpensive!) torque wrench to help ensure a good fit.
I didn't use a torque wrench because I haven't got one. The instruction leaflet that came with it advised to tighten the collar in tiny increments until the seatpost stops slipping ( or cannot be moved). It takes surprisingly little torque to do this. I just used an Allen key and it holds my carbon seatpost rock solid.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Keep warm and protected with the Etape Bib Tights. Constructed with a stretch thermal fabric for a performance fit and heat management. A great entry level bib tight for the colder months.
 

Do these have seat padding?

No. The seat is reinforced but it is not an actual pad.
6 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

have the handle bars got cable recesses in them

3T ErgoNova Pro Alloy Handlebar
Yes. I had no problem fitting my Campagnolo Chorus cables into the recesses.
7 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

is the 46cm bar a true 46cm c-c? 48cm o-o

I found them to be 44cm at the hoods but 46cm on the drops.
7 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Value for money dual sided SPD pedal, a favorite XC mountain bike pedal. Super-compact and lightweight design for a multitude of cycling uses. Sealed cartridge bearing spindle keeps out water and mud for a smooth action, and makes for a durable pedal.
 

is quantity 1 two pedals then?

Yes you get two pedals.
7 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
ERGONOVA sets a new standard in comfort riding. The top of the bar is egg-shaped in section - the longer radius provides a wider top surface for the hands.
 

Is this bar shorter at the hoods?

I usually ride a 42cm bar but I read that the 3T bar is shorter at the hoods. Should I get this bar in a 44cm?
Yes. Mine are 46cm at the drops but only 44cm at the hoods.
8 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland
 
Fi'zi:k MicroTex is super tough, stretch resistant and breathable. Best looking, most comfortable tape of it's kind.
 

how do you install?

I have not installed bar tape before, how do you install? When I peel of the paper there does not seem to be any adhesive
A great tip is to liberally smear the handlebars with print stick glue before applying the tape. Not only will it dry and secure your bar tape but it remains slippy long enough to allow you to wind and unwind the bar tape multiple times when you are trying to fit it. Very handy if, like me, it usually takes a few attempts to get the new tape on just right!
1 year, 6 months ago
by
cyclingfury
Rutland