Yogi6777
Top 10 Contributor
Share Yogi6777's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Yogi6777's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    245
  • Helpfulness Votes
    157
  • First Review
    10 July 2009
  • Last Review
    13 June 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    32
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    09 April 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    09 April 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    167
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Answer
    19 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    08 April 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    14
 
 
Yogi6777's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 >>>
 
 Slant Helmet - 2012
Slant Helmet - 2012
Versatile, stylish and affordable, the Slant is an exceptional helmet at an amazing price. Featuring 21 channeled vents, a Fusion In-Mold Microshell, ErgoDial fit system, easy-adjust Cam-lock strap levers, and a Blade Visor.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted13 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I got this helmet for my wife who is starting to cycle to work. It is very lightweight and great looking. She finds it very comfortable to wear. All in all a super helmet for such a low price."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Tufo Valve Key
Tufo Valve Key
Use this to replace valve cores, stops over-tightening and splitting of valve stem.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Useful and cheap
Posted13 June 2012
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I didn't even know such a tool existed, let alone was needed... until the inner portion of my inner tube valve kept unthreading itself when I removed the bike pump....
In case you didn't know, some (but not all) presta valves are made of two threaded cylinders, one inside the other. If they are not tightened correctly, air will leak and make it impossible to keep good pressure. In a worst case scenario, every time you unthread the pump from the valve, the valve unscrews and all the air comes out. Yikes!
Anyway, this tool is exactly what you need... use it to tighten the valve, and keep it in your saddlebag in case it works loose (unlikely). At this price you can have several in case one gets lost.
The quality is great for the price too - solid, robust plastic.
As I mentioned at the start, not all presta valves are made in two parts... have a look along the valve "stem" - it will be obvious if it is one solid piece of metal or not."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Edge 800 GPS Plus GB Discoverer 1:50 Trail Bundle
Edge 800 GPS Plus GB Discoverer 1:50 Trail Bundle
The Edge 800 Trail bundle includes Garmin GB Discoverer™1:50,000 scale Ordnance Survey mapping for the whole of Britain with contours, elevations, summits, paths, routable roads and more.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great, with a steep learning curve!
Posted08 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The Garmin is, eventually, a great piece of kit. There is no manual so to speak, or what manual there is needs to be supplemented by going on the Garmin forum, or by emailing Garmin (I recommend the former).
It is very easy to get the Garmin up and running, displaying the lovely OS maps (if you have bought the package that includes them.
There are 4 screens which you can scroll through when cycling... map, training partner, elevation and info. The latter can be split into multiple screens if you want. You can add/remove fields from the map depending on how cluttered you want it. The info screens too can have hundreds of fields added/removed, so you can have as much or as little info showing. This process of customization is not intuitive, but pretty straight forward once you know how.
I was keen to use the elevation function... which in this model relies on barometric pressure (rather than just the elevation according to the map). It works very well.... but is affected by temperature etc, and the device does need to settle for a few minutes before you set off. My approach is to turn the device on 5 mins before I leave, I have also added a "pin" to the map outside my front door (so to speak) to which I have added the correct elevation. When I hit the start button, the device calibrates itself to the known elevation. It sounds complicated, but it really isn't. When you upload the rides to Garmin Connect, you can turn on an elevation correction function which seems to correct things too.
I have not tried the heart/power/cadence function, so cannot comment on those. Battery life seems very good... I reckon I charge it every 10 hrs of cycling, possibly more.
Overall, a lovely looking piece of kit, which has a few quirks, but these can be overcome by going on the forums. As long as you don't expect iPhone levels of perfection you shouldn't be disappointed!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Road Drive Mini ABS Pump
Lezyne Road Drive Mini ABS Pump
A HP hand pump made entirely of aluminum for precise and lightweight construction. The barrel, handle, piston, end caps, and frame pump mount are all custom CNC-machined.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Delightful to behold and use
Posted08 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had one of Lezyne's shorter pumps initially, (Alloy Dive), but found it too short for getting tyres up to high pressure (i.e. it was difficult to complete the last few strokes). So, I switched to this pump which is a bit longer. I'm pleased to say it makes all the difference, and it is much easier to get tyres nice and hard. I have only used it with 26" touring tyres, but I'm confident it would be the same for 700c tyres. I use mine with the Lezyne pressure gauge.... highly recommended."
 
Products related to my review
Lezyne Pen Gauge
4.3 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Privateer Mountain Bike Magazine - Issue 4
Privateer Mountain Bike Magazine - Issue 4
The forth instalment of Privateer casts it's unique style and perspective over the mountain bike world, including insightful contributions from World Cup downhill Champion Tracey Moseley and Swiss cycling ace Thomas Frischknech.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Typical Rouleur publication... excellent!
Posted08 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A great mixture of articles covering old and new, characters and equipment. Although mountain bike themed, it is not necessarily just for people interested in this discipline... it would suit anyone interested in cycling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Force Short Sleeve Jersey - 2012
Force Short Sleeve Jersey - 2012
Ideal for spring/summer training and sportives, the Force short sleeve jersey features the traditional 3 rear pockets for energy gels and a shell jacket or vest, all with that distinctive Northwave look.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Strange fit
Posted08 April 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I'm on a life long mission to find a well fitting cycle jersey. You'd think that would be easy, but somehow it's not. I have tried several makes, many models and sizes.... and have only found one which fits. Unfortunately this is not it! I am 64kg on a bad day and 170cm. This jersey wasn't a nice snug fit... rather it was a "sports" fit. I'm not sure what sport it fits... pie eating perhaps? Yes it was rather baggy around the middle.... strange seeing as most cyclists are not going to have beer bellies! By all means try them.... but be prepared to post them back!
I have recently bought a Mavic jersey which seems to fit my skinny frame very well, or Santini seem to fit very well too. Definitely worth a look!"
 
Products related to my review
Draft Short Sleeve Jersey
4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
GreenEDGE Team Jersey - 2012
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Pen Gauge
Lezyne Pen Gauge
Replacement Pen Gauge hose for medium and large pumps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good quality and very useful
Posted08 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have a track pump for use it home, which has a built in pressure gauge, However when out and about and using a hand pump, I also like to know my tyres are up to pressure. There is nothing worse than cycling soft tyres, and it very easy to think you're tyres are hard enough when they're really not.
This little device replaces the normal pump "tube" in your Lezyne pump (well, the models with removable tubes that is!). It includes a pressure indicator within it, which is a red ring that moves up past the numbers. It is very well built and seems to work very well. I can't comment on accuracy, but it certainly seems to show a pressure that is consistent with the amount of effort needed. It probably won't fit all Lezyne pumps, so check before buying it is compatible."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
High5 Zero Electrolyte Drink - 20 Tabs
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great drink but....
Posted08 April 2012
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These tablets work out very good value, especially if you make the "one tablet per 500ml" drink rather than "two tablet per...". The drink tastes nice too, with a subtle flavour. The only problem was that the tablets in the bottom half of the tube got stuck together somehow after a few months of opening. It was almost like moisture had got in, even though it definitely hadn't. Very strange."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Caddy Large Saddle Bag - 2011
Caddy Large Saddle Bag - 2011
The Lezyne Caddy saddle bag features a compact and modern design and is available in a range of colours
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted23 June 2011
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a small toolbag to stick under my saddle... I use a Rohloff equipped tourer, so don't actually carry many tools. This accomodates a 26" tube, Park allen key multi tool, puncture kit, 3 lezyne tyre levers... plus a phone! If you use it on a road bike, a lot of space would be freed up with the smaller inner tube.
It does have several inner pockets, labelled for levers/money etc, but they're pretty slim, so don't necessarily expect to use each pocket for it's intended use.
Overall, seems well made, and suprisingly roomy (for it's size). Just don't expect to put food/coat in it.... just the bare minimum."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Cycling Magazine - Issue 23
Cycling Magazine - Issue 23
The 23rd issue of Rouleur has a truly international flavour as our contributors bring you cycling stories from around the globe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great, as ever
Posted23 June 2011
Yogi6777
fromWest Sussex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Rouleur is the ultimate road cycling magazine. The printing, photography and quality of articles are unsurpassed. Slightly elitest perhaps in the choice of subject matter, but it does get you under the skin of the world of pro cycling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Yogi6777's Questions
 
Yogi6777 has not submitted any questions.
 
Yogi6777's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 >>>
 
 Edge 800 GPS Plus GB Discoverer 1:50 Trail Bundle
Edge 800 GPS Plus GB Discoverer 1:50 Trail Bundle
The Edge 800 Trail bundle includes Garmin GB Discoverer™1:50,000 scale Ordnance Survey mapping for the whole of Britain with contours, elevations, summits, paths, routable roads and more.
 

How long does the battery last on average?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
I reckon I charge mine once a week which is 10hrs cycling.... possibly less often than that even.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
Hydration Systems
Hydration Systems
 

Where have all the Camelbaks gone?

Wiggle used to stock a large selection of Camelbak hydration packs. I finally decided to treat myself to one and logged on to Wiggle only to find a two packs on sale. Where have all the packs gone?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Maybe the product listings were being updated.... search my manufacturer, all seem to be on there now.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Ladies Zap Jacket SS12
Ladies Zap Jacket SS12
The Zap Jacket is part of Sugoi's elite range of outerwear that rises above the market with proprietary fabrics and designs address moisture management, breathability, water and wind resistance, thermal temperature and more.
 

What is the blue colour called?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Laguna
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Ladies Zap Jacket SS12
Ladies Zap Jacket SS12
The Zap Jacket is part of Sugoi's elite range of outerwear that rises above the market with proprietary fabrics and designs address moisture management, breathability, water and wind resistance, thermal temperature and more.
 

Can you please advise which colour is which?

Best answer
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Laguna = blue, super nova = yellow, imperial = purple
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 

dhb Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts - Discontinued?

Currently all out of stock items show as discontinued. Are these shorts (dhb Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts) going to be replaced by a similar (and similarly priced) item? Same goes for the dhb Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts.
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi, the website now shows the shorts in stock. Highly recommended too! Neil
 
Products from my answer
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
4.5 out of 5(867)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 

im 6 f 7in and im just wondering how these sizes work

it says about height n im 199cm but i dont have a size 44in waist .. if ya good help me out that would be great

heres the link on the bottem

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/dhb_Earnley_Cycling_Bib_Shorts/5360024489/
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi,

I would always start off with the size that matches your height, otherwise if the straps are too short, they will cut in on the shoulders and the groin... not pleasant.

I bought a size too small (which matched my chest/waist) and they were very uncomfortable. I switched up to the larger size (which matched my height) and they were great. Supposedly they are about 6" too big around the chest and waist but you'd never know... snug as anything!

Regards

Neil
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 

Which size?

Hi

Height: 1.83 m
Chest: 93 cm
Waist: 80 cm

Should i buy medium or large?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi,

I would always go for the larger size if unsure - if the size is too small, the straps will be too short, leading to them cutting in on shoulders, and the groin area - not pleasant! I am 170cm tall and use a medium... so would definitely suggest you use a large.

Neil
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 

Do these have...ummm...bum padding?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi,

Yes they do... one of the features is "Maximum comfort thanks to the dhb coolmax Integrated DuPont antibacterial synthetic chamois, with anatomical shaping and great heat dissipation."

Cheers

Neil
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 Zinn And The Art Of Mountain Bike Maintenance
Zinn And The Art Of Mountain Bike Maintenance
This is probably the bench-mark by which all other mountain bike maintenance books are judged, it is a concise well-organised and well illustrated reference guide to mountain bike maintenance and repair. Whether you to adjust the latest hydraulic disc brake or restore a decades-old machine, you ...
 

right for a Hybrid?

Is this the version to get for a hybrid bike with V-brakes, triple chainset and rigid frame (rather than the version for Road Bikes)?
Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
This is definitely the right version for you.... it covers v brakes in great detail, BBs, headsets, etc.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex
 
 PC991 9 Speed Hollow Pin Chain
PC991 9 Speed Hollow Pin Chain
The PC-991 represents our premium Power Chain II offering. The PC-991 features an inner plate and outer plate design that offers faster and more accurate shifting in all conditions.
 

Can this chain be used for MTB'ing?

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
Hi,

It can indeed... highly recommended!

Neil
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Yogi6777
West Sussex