Jonad724
Top 100 Contributor
Share Jonad724's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Jonad724's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    40
  • Helpfulness Votes
    17
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    19 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    14
  • First Answer
    09 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    19 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    8
 
 
Jonad724's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The new training tyre benchmark with fewer flats, secure grip thanks to the Aqua-Flow rain tread and long tread life. Low rolling resistance makes longer rides in the saddle more of a pleasure rather than a chore.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great as a spare
Posted19 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm using this as a spare tyre to take when I go cycle touring and it looks pretty good, folds nice and flat and is easier to get on than the Rubino equivalent rigid tyre. It's extremely light which is ideal for me and pretty sure its a good buy"
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Not Just for Topeak
Posted19 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Just to cover firstly that this is a kit which has standard adapters for Topeak pumps but it also has bits and pieces to allow you to fit it to any other pump. Basically you do this by cutting off the old hose whilst still attached to the existing pump and then use a p-clip to attach the new hose and head with a joining adapter. Simple and the new head is solid and locks on firmly to the valve with no leaks and no shredded knuckles when you try to take it off because it is much bigger than my old Beto one and takes less force to remove it. It also doesn't leak at all allowing me to get my tyres to 140 psi. All in all recommended and not just for Topeak pumps if you're happy to be a bit of year 7 plumbing."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These SealSkinz mid weight, mid length socks are waterproof, windproof, breathable and lined with Merino wool for moisture control and added comfort. The elasticated ankle and instep offers extra support and a comfortable fit. Great winter sock.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Strange Socks but they Work
Posted05 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are unlike any socks I have ever tried before and for their first outing I rode (unintentionally) in severe rain storm. They stayed dry under my Gore-Tex cycling boots for a good 2 hours of constant and heavy rain before my feet got wet. They feel thick but aren't actually that much thicker when you put them in shoes. They don't stretch too well so make sure you get the size right."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easier than counting lengths
Posted05 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I must admit I was dubious about whether this would be as good as the advertising claims it is but I was pleasantly surprised. The buttons are quite chunky and easy to use with wet fingers (try it with an ordinary watch and see what I mean) although the 'pause' button can be a little bit sensitive so sometimes I accidentally hit it twice meaning I have to do an extra set of lengths. It also doesn't always recognise a length but this is usually because of a lack of 'glide' at the start of the length. It does have a 'drills' function as it doesn't work for kicking only but I've yet to work out how to use this. Like all Garmin watches it is robust and reliable all things considered and is a lot easier than trying to keep track of swimming distance by counting laps in your head #ok, just me then#. Not sure how it compares with Pool-Mate but I specifically wanted a Garmin version because I have other Garmin products which integrate with Garmin Connect and this was just easiest for me. All round I would recommend."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Trion:Z ACTILOOP
Trion:Z ACTILOOP
The ACTI-LOOP wristband contains powerful negative ion producing materials in the pod and patented ANSPO magnetic technology working together to produce the most powerful product of its type on the market today.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
I think it works therefore it does........
Posted16 September 2014
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As someone who has suffered from various aches and pains as a result of being a triathlete for 24 years I did wonder whether this would work. I had been thinking about something like this for some time and finally took the plunge with the ACTI LOOP as it is apparently the most powerful on the market. It might all be completely psychosomatic, although you do forget you're wearing it so maybe not. but it does appear to work. I don't get quite so much pain in my knees when I have sat down for a while and overall general aches and pains are less. The one note of caution I would add is do check what size you need on the Trion: Z website as it is a silicon band which doesn't stretch very well so it will be uncomfortably tight if you get the wrong size. It is though pretty unobtrusive and you do forget you're wearing it."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Sceptics Be Prepared to Change
Posted21 May 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I must admit I was sceptical about whether this was just a novelty or whether I would actually get some benefit from it. The intuitive target changes each day to reflecf activity levels. I have seen comments form others saying you have to swing your arms like you're marching in the military but once you start walking with a small arm swing you can then you can even hold a phone to your ear with the vivofit on the same arm and it continues to register. The only downside is the strap which is easily caught on edges and then drops off, as it's so light you don't always notice sorted by a 'fitbelt or 'o' ring over the clasp fixes this though."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: strap clasp is easily caught and watch can undo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
The Nike Air Pegasus+ 30 Shield Running Trainer continues a legendary tradition with an updated breathable upper and super-responsive cushioning. Water resistance, reflectivity and a fleece collar make it ideal for running in wet, dark, cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK for Trail Running
Posted27 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a pair of these as the predecessor 29GTX show has been discontinued. These don't have the Gore-Tex upper of the 29 GTX which is a shame as that was an excellent feature whereas these are just water resistant. This shows when trail running and the going gets wet and whilst they don't leak like a normal running shoe there is some seeping wetness when it rains or you run through a puddle. They grip well on all but ploughed fields and are well cushioned. Where they score very well is visibility as the whole upper has a reflective pattern like leopard print which lights up like a Christmas tree when a light is shone it. On cold dark nights on the trail they are as good as you can get from a reflectivity point of view. So they're OK for trail running and the Pegasus last which Nike has kept the same for the last 30 years are predictably comfortable but these aren't as good as the shoes they replaced and this in my mind makes the price a little hard to justify. As there is no real alternative if you want a pegasus trail shoe, and I do, these will do."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adidas Run 3 Stripe Climacool Cap - SS14
Adidas Run 3 Stripe Climacool Cap - SS14
Warm days are perfect for getting outside, but they up your chances of overheating. So, the adidas CLIMA365 3-Stripes CLIMALITE® Cap has fabric that pulls sweat out, and a moisture-reactive sweatband to keep you dry and cool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It does what it says
Posted20 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this cap specifically for a half ironman which i knew was going to be a hot one and it worked really well. Some 'wicking' hats don't keep you cool when they get wet which I suppose is logical but this one does so I was ale to chuck water over my head safe in the knowledge that it was going to slowly steam my head. It's quite thin material which helps but even so has stood up well lots of training runs and now two half ironman races."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The true workhorse of the DeFeet wool posse, the versatility of the Woolie Boolie 2 is mind boggling - from riding to running to kayaking to sleeping in them.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Daft name but great socks
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have used these for over a year now coupled with Shimano Gore-Tex winter cycling boots and they do keep my feet reasonably warm in comparison to others I have tried in which your feet get cold and then just don't warm up.
I have invested in a pair of lambswool topped insoles for my cycling shows which does make all the difference at keeping my feet a bit warmer for a bit longer.
I can'f fault the durability of these and they keep their shape and texture well even after a number of washes. Nothing really keeps your feet warm for hours on end on a bike in the winter but these do go a long way towards it."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Who wants to skimp on braking?
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not me that's for sure. These may not be the cheapest but I have used other brands and others in the Shimano range and these are by far the best I have used.
Performance in the wet is good in comparison to others I have tried which is a blessing since I do most of my riding in groups and in the dry nothing comes close to how well these work.
These last a full year with me (I do around 4,000 miles a year) and so work out to great value given the battering these take on my winter/training bike.
Whilst I might not have the most expensive brakes I do feel its not worth skimping on brake pads and these show why."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Jonad724's Questions
 
Jonad724 has not submitted any questions.
 
Jonad724's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

tyre size

I have a specialized tricross bike but want to try a road tyre. Any recommendations on a size? Not sure what my rim size is but the bike came with 700x32c. Looking for a faster tyre for road cycling so that I have a better chance of keeping up!
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will need 700x32 C and you don't get many road tyres which have a low rolling resistance at that size but this has a good trade off between rolling resistance and puncture resistance which is where it really scores. You won't though get much rolling resistance reduction with 32c as these are a 1/3 larger than 23c.
1 week, 4 days ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

lap counts

I want to measure my distance but I dont tumble/flip turn, and i dont push particularly hard off the wall. To measure laps and distance can i press/tap a button on the watch at each lap instead of using the automatic feature?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
So long as a you a short glide when pushing off from the wall (arm being still so you can still kick) then it recognises that you have changed direction.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Garmin Connect/ Garmin Swim

I allready have a Garmin 310 and upload my data to Garmin Connect. Is it possible to o upload the data from Garmin Swim to the same account or do I have to create a new one?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
As with all Garmin fitness products you can upload it to your existing Garmin Connect account and it will also show all your training products on the overview page.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

does it count calaroies

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes it does but only in the generic sense based on your swim speed, height, weight and gender rather than more accurately with a HRM strap. It is pretty accurate from experience too.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Will Wiggle accept a return if the watch is not waterproof?

I have read some reviews that have suggested it may let water in. Are these faulty watches or is it an issue per se?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
As it's called Garmin Swim then if it lets in water it is faulty. Mine is fine and I'm sure if lets in water then Wiggle will replace it.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

Does the vivofit show how fast I'm running eg minute miles/km?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No it doesn't as it does not have GPS although it's pretty accurate for distance walked it's a little bit out when it comes to running but it doesn't have real time display of time/distance.
6 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

Is the battery replaceable?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, completely user replaceable and the manual even shows you how, quite remarkable for a Garmin product!
6 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
 Trion:Z ACTILOOP
Trion:Z ACTILOOP
The ACTI-LOOP wristband contains powerful negative ion producing materials in the pod and patented ANSPO magnetic technology working together to produce the most powerful product of its type on the market today.
 

how do i know what size is correct for me ?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Check out the sizing guide at http://www.trionz.co.uk/ which should help. Go looser rather than tighter as there isn't much give in them.
6 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
 Compressport ForQuad Thigh Guard
Compressport ForQuad Thigh Guard
The Compressport ForQuad thigh guard is the only compression product sized to your upper leg muscles, not your waist, enabling optimal compression levels to your quadriceps and hamstrings while also supporting the ITB.
 

Do these use silicone bands?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No, these are elasticated like lycra, there is some silcon in the small grippers in them which help to distribute some of the shock though.
6 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

How does the vivofit record cycle rides (if at all) as it has no gps? Would a ride register as an activity?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It doesn't register that you've ridden a distance because it doesn't have GPS but with the new firmware it does recognise if you have a heart rate monitor strap on and then doesn't show the red inactivity indicators and the calorie coutn is far more accurate than the Garmin 800 or 310 both of which i have used. 800 underestimates 310 overestimates.
10 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex