Jonad724
Top 100 Contributor
Share Jonad724's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Jonad724's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    35
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    21 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    49
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Answer
    09 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    23 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    6
 
 
Jonad724's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Sceptics Be Prepared to Change
Posted21 May 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I must admit I was sceptical about whether this was just a novelty or whether I would actually get some benefit from it. The intuitive target changes each day to reflecf activity levels. I have seen comments form others saying you have to swing your arms like you're marching in the military but once you start walking with a small arm swing you can then you can even hold a phone to your ear with the vivofit on the same arm and it continues to register. The only downside is the strap which is easily caught on edges and then drops off, as it's so light you don't always notice sorted by a 'fitbelt or 'o' ring over the clasp fixes this though."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: strap clasp is easily caught and watch can undo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
The Nike Air Pegasus+ 30 Shield Running Trainer continues a legendary tradition with an updated breathable upper and super-responsive cushioning. Water resistance, reflectivity and a fleece collar make it ideal for running in wet, dark, cold conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK for Trail Running
Posted27 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a pair of these as the predecessor 29GTX show has been discontinued. These don't have the Gore-Tex upper of the 29 GTX which is a shame as that was an excellent feature whereas these are just water resistant. This shows when trail running and the going gets wet and whilst they don't leak like a normal running shoe there is some seeping wetness when it rains or you run through a puddle. They grip well on all but ploughed fields and are well cushioned. Where they score very well is visibility as the whole upper has a reflective pattern like leopard print which lights up like a Christmas tree when a light is shone it. On cold dark nights on the trail they are as good as you can get from a reflectivity point of view. So they're OK for trail running and the Pegasus last which Nike has kept the same for the last 30 years are predictably comfortable but these aren't as good as the shoes they replaced and this in my mind makes the price a little hard to justify. As there is no real alternative if you want a pegasus trail shoe, and I do, these will do."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Adidas Run 3 Stripe Climacool Cap - SS14
Adidas Run 3 Stripe Climacool Cap - SS14
Warm days are perfect for getting outside, but they up your chances of overheating. So, the adidas CLIMA365 3-Stripes CLIMALITE® Cap has fabric that pulls sweat out, and a moisture-reactive sweatband to keep you dry and cool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It does what it says
Posted20 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this cap specifically for a half ironman which i knew was going to be a hot one and it worked really well. Some 'wicking' hats don't keep you cool when they get wet which I suppose is logical but this one does so I was ale to chuck water over my head safe in the knowledge that it was going to slowly steam my head. It's quite thin material which helps but even so has stood up well lots of training runs and now two half ironman races."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The true workhorse of the DeFeet wool posse, the versatility of the Woolie Boolie is mind boggling - from riding to running to kayaking to sleeping in them.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Daft name but great socks
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have used these for over a year now coupled with Shimano Gore-Tex winter cycling boots and they do keep my feet reasonably warm in comparison to others I have tried in which your feet get cold and then just don't warm up.
I have invested in a pair of lambswool topped insoles for my cycling shows which does make all the difference at keeping my feet a bit warmer for a bit longer.
I can'f fault the durability of these and they keep their shape and texture well even after a number of washes. Nothing really keeps your feet warm for hours on end on a bike in the winter but these do go a long way towards it."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Who wants to skimp on braking?
Posted11 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not me that's for sure. These may not be the cheapest but I have used other brands and others in the Shimano range and these are by far the best I have used.
Performance in the wet is good in comparison to others I have tried which is a blessing since I do most of my riding in groups and in the dry nothing comes close to how well these work.
These last a full year with me (I do around 4,000 miles a year) and so work out to great value given the battering these take on my winter/training bike.
Whilst I might not have the most expensive brakes I do feel its not worth skimping on brake pads and these show why."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A rehabilitative taping technique applied over muscles to reduce pain and inflammation, relax overused tired muscles and support muscles movement.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
It's Fine So Long As.....
Posted20 November 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"You don't sweat or go out training when it's raining. It works but only for a short period of time when training and any sort of moisture appears on the skin either with sweat or rain. Probably best used for recovery or injury rather than trying to use in training or racing, especially triathlon for the swim as it just floats off then. I'd pay extra and get Rock Tape which is waterproof and you can race/train with."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Riemann's unique P20 formula is unlike other suncream products, it is non-greasy, non-oily and fragrance free to provide the ultimate coverage, both in and out of the water, for up to 10 hours a day. Delivered in a spray bottle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Crikey It Actually Works
Posted30 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Speaking as someone who still has the outline of the tri-suit perma scarred on their back from a half ironman 12 months ago I was a bit sceptical that this would work. I tried it on a day out to an airshow when it was 28 degrees for most of the day, clear skies and strong sunshine. I know it works because I missed a bit on my neck and got sunburnt there, painfully so, but everywhere else I had this on I didn't. It is also waterproof for an hour's sea swim as well so it does the trick nicely. Can't fault it."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Exclusive to Wiggle! The Zoggs Predator Flex Goggle features 4 Flexpoint Technology™, delivering increased flexibility in the frame for maximum comfort and precision of fit. This goggle also features integrated UV and fogging protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Staple part of my kit
Posted08 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've used these for around 5 years now and I'm on my 7th or 8th pair. For the last few months I've been using the polarised version as most of my triathlons are open water and so is my training. Its fair to say these are good and with wider than average eye seals and appertures plus a flexible build they work well for me. There is no adjustment across the nose band so I suspect these either fit or they don't there is no inbetween but that said I have leant my spare pair to a female triathlete with a smaller face than my and they fitted her perfectly so there probably aren't many faces they won't adapt to. I think also that Zoggs has improved the seals on these as prior to this pair they would wear out when worn in chlorinated water after about 6 months."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zoggs Penrith Short features a solid allover colour print. Manufactured from soft, long-lasting Durafeel fabric.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Sizing an Issue
Posted02 July 2013
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I previously bought the Speedo version swim short but they were out of stock so I bought these. I'm pretty much a medium with 34 inch waist but these are quite tight so go a ice larger would be my suggestion."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL530 and TL-LD1100 Light Set
HL-EL530 and TL-LD1100 Light Set
The EL-500 was the brightest battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Blimey they're bright
Posted20 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"When I read some of the reviews for these lights I really thought they couldn't be as bright as was being claimed but I liked the chunky look and took the plunge.
What I have discovered is, that really are as bright as people say they are even to the point of being able to see the beam from the front light on the ground in daylight on a misty day. The rear lights are very bright and using both front and rear on murky days or at dusk makes a huge amount of sense and cars really do not pull out when you expect they would do and they also go a lot wider than before without this rear light. In a word briliant, literally."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Jonad724's Questions
 
Jonad724 has not submitted any questions.
 
Jonad724's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

How does the vivofit record cycle rides (if at all) as it has no gps? Would a ride register as an activity?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It doesn't register that you've ridden a distance because it doesn't have GPS but with the new firmware it does recognise if you have a heart rate monitor strap on and then doesn't show the red inactivity indicators and the calorie coutn is far more accurate than the Garmin 800 or 310 both of which i have used. 800 underestimates 310 overestimates.
2 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
The Compressport ForQuad thigh guard is the only compression product sized to your upper leg muscles, not your waist, enabling optimal compression levels to your quadriceps and hamstrings while also supporting the ITB.
 

Can these be worn lower fro knee support?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No not really, they are designed to be worn on the thigh and are too loose to be worn as knee supports. There are much cheaper neoprene or similar supports which are a lot cheaper.
2 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

Does it have an alarm function and vibrate mode?

Can you set an alarm and can it alert by vibrating? That is the Jawbone product will vibrate to advise alarm and other reminder times.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Unfortunately not but it does have a clear display which the jawbone doesn't I believe
2 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

hart rate

the vivofit dispays heart rate......but does it displays max heart rate , minimum ? and average heart rate during an exercise ( EX :1 hour)

like others (watch heart monitors)

so tell me about all heart rates fonction
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It displays heart rate in zones which can be tailored on the Garmin Connect app or on the website. Garmin connect shows max, min and average heart rate but the watch deosn't do this on the wrist.
2 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
 Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
The Nike Air Pegasus+ 30 Shield Running Trainer continues a legendary tradition with an updated breathable upper and super-responsive cushioning. Water resistance, reflectivity and a fleece collar make it ideal for running in wet, dark, cold conditions.
 

Pegasus 30 v Pegasus 30 Shield

Hi.

Could you please explain the difference between the two types of pegasus 30 shoes you stock? What does the Shield refer to and is there any major difference in the shoes?

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
With the 30 Shield the whole upper is reflective with reflectors on the heel counters as well. These are designed to be off road and trail shoes although having used them for a couple of months now the water resistance is a tad questionable on the uppers. In the 29GTX shoes you could run through puddles and not have any seeping dampness but these definitely let water in although not as much as an ordinary running shoe. These also have insulation in them to keep your feet warm in colder weather and the tread is chunkier than on the standard 30, there is also a stone shield as well so that you don't get thrown off balance when on rough ground. I also own standard Pegasus shoes (29s) and these are definitely more robust and will withstand trail running although the predecessor the 29GTX had a Gore-Tex upper and was a far superior shoe to these. As the 28GTX was discontinued these are the next best thing.
6 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
 Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
Air Pegasus 30 Shield Shoes - HO13
The Nike Air Pegasus+ 30 Shield Running Trainer continues a legendary tradition with an updated breathable upper and super-responsive cushioning. Water resistance, reflectivity and a fleece collar make it ideal for running in wet, dark, cold conditions.
 

Pegasus v Pegasus Shield

I understand that the Pegasus Shield is designed to cope with cold & wet conditions, but help will it be in summer when it's hot.

Is it just as suitable for running in the hot summer?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I own a pair of these and they have an insulated liner on the tongue which makes them warm and comfortable to run in. My feeling is these woud be too warm to run in during the summer months although I did complete a half marathon as part of a half ironman in the predecessors to these in August and they were fine. Those were the 29GTX with Gore-Tex uppers and were a superior shoe to these and were much more breathable.
6 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 60 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

Are these tyres puncture resistant?

I have been looking for Kevlar re-inforced tyres for a gift and came across and article mentioning these. The article says "New Kevlar® Endura 3D Compound, with high duration and exciting road-behaviour" but Wiggle's own description does not mention this.

Do these tyres contain Kevlar or some other re-inforcing material? Do they have a good puncture resistance?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes they are puncture resistant and they have a Kevlar band in them. I've used for about 4 years now, doing 6-7 thousand miles a year, and have only had 3 or 4 punctures. In fact when they puncture its time to change them. My last set had so many cuts nd nicks in them the bike shop were amazed they were still inflated sand hadn't punctured every time I rode them.
7 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 

Ultegra 6700

Hi
Are these compatible with Ultegra 6700 Brakes?
Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
On the pack they say compatible with Dura Ace and Ultegra brake systems
7 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 

Two pads or four?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They are sold in pairs but when replacing brake pads its always best to replace all of them at once that way they wear at pretty much the same level and braking isn't affected by differences between front and back.
7 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
High performance road-specific pad inserts designed to fit all Shimano Road Systems. Designed for alloy rims and compatible with Dura-Ace 7900 brakes.
 

do shimano dura ace brake pads come with the fixing bolts?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
They only come with the screws which go through the shoe and into the groove in the pad to stop them flying out. To get the bolts as well you would need to buy the whole shoe/pad assembly.
7 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex