Jonad724
Top 100 Contributor
Share Jonad724's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Jonad724's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    18
  • First Review
    13 June 2009
  • Last Review
    29 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    61
  • Helpfulness Votes
    14
  • First Answer
    09 February 2010
  • Last Answer
    19 June 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    8
 
 
Jonad724's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ultralight
Posted29 July 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am always a bit dubious when people say they can forget their wearing a helmet, although as a triathlon race official I do often see people who do forget to take their helmet off before heading out on the run, but this is the only helmet I have ever owned (and I've owned a few) where you can halve the weight by taking the cardboard tags off. This is incredibly light and more importantly very comfortable. Having moved from a Giro Atmos helmet which hurt the front of my head no matter how much padding I used to this one I wouldn't have anything else. I really cannot fault this helmet in any way."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Fortezza Senso All Weather competition tyre for all weather conditions with low rolling resistance and outstanding grip in both wet and dry weather. The Curve Control System guarantees durability and an exceptional ride quality, even in corners.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Low Rolling Resistance
Posted19 June 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is my second review of this tyre and I have bought four of these for my winter and race bikes. After 300 miles on the front wheel of my race bike the tread started to separate so I had to exchange it which Wiggle did without too much fuss and they also refunded my return postage too. On the first trip out on these tyres the rear punctured and the tread was sliced by a flint so I do wonder how puncture resistant these are but a dollop of super glue stuck the tread back down and no problems since. The do run at considerably higher pressures than other tyres so the rolling resistance seems to be a lot lower and they do seem to grip well on corners, vital for me after falling off three times earlier in the year on other tyres. Overall a good tyre but I wouldn't think it's suitable for winter riding because of the doubts I have over puncture resistance but in fairness I haven't tried these in winter conditions so the jury is still out on this one."
Pros: Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A workshop grade track pump for fast, precise inflation of road and MTB tyres. With a durable steel barrel, large pressure dial and dual purpose valve head, the LifeLine track pump is an essential investment for mechanics and domestic users alike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
20 PSI In Each Pump
Posted11 April 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Whilst I can't comment on the mating habits of donkeys as one of the other reviewers has this is an excellent pump. From flat to 140psi in 7 pumps is brilliant and it will go up to 200psi without giving yourself a hernia. I regularly use my Vredestein Forza Sensa tyres at 140-160 psi and this pump achieves that with ease. The inflator head grips the valve without any leakage at all but does take a bit of a push to get off however in doing so no air escapes except for the usual 'whoosh' when disconnecting a track pump. Very pleased with this pump and have relegated my Beto pump to just for my MTB or turbo bike."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This highest-grade synthetic cork gives you a firm no-slip and shock absorbent grip and unlike natural cork synthetic cork has a consistent quality throughout with no weak points to break during high-intensity usage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Top Layer for Double Tape
Posted11 April 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used this bar tape as a top layer on double taped with Cinnelli cork tape underneath which was wearing out but I wanted a bit more comfort. This tape is strong and won't tear unless you really pull hard on it to get it to the right tension, its comfortable and well padded. I usually go for cork tape but this is definitely thicker and more padded."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This lightweight figure of 8 Pullbuoy is designed to securely fit between the legs providing you with comfort and stability whilst offering optimum buoyancy. It also helps to build upper body strength.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lighter than Others
Posted11 April 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I usually use my club's Speedo pull buoy but my coach set me some sessions where I needed to have my own. This is much lighter than the Speedo version and the elongated figure of 8 shape means you can have the smaller end facing the bottom of the pool, so less drag, and the lightness is noticeable. Overall and excellent pull buoy and I won't be using my club's own ones from now on."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new training tyre benchmark with fewer flats, secure grip thanks to the Aqua-Flow rain tread and long tread life. Low rolling resistance makes longer rides in the saddle more of a pleasure rather than a chore.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great as a spare
Posted19 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm using this as a spare tyre to take when I go cycle touring and it looks pretty good, folds nice and flat and is easier to get on than the Rubino equivalent rigid tyre. It's extremely light which is ideal for me and pretty sure its a good buy"
Pros: Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Not Just for Topeak
Posted19 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Just to cover firstly that this is a kit which has standard adapters for Topeak pumps but it also has bits and pieces to allow you to fit it to any other pump. Basically you do this by cutting off the old hose whilst still attached to the existing pump and then use a p-clip to attach the new hose and head with a joining adapter. Simple and the new head is solid and locks on firmly to the valve with no leaks and no shredded knuckles when you try to take it off because it is much bigger than my old Beto one and takes less force to remove it. It also doesn't leak at all allowing me to get my tyres to 140 psi. All in all recommended and not just for Topeak pumps if you're happy to be a bit of year 7 plumbing."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SealSkinz mid weight, mid length socks are waterproof, windproof, breathable and lined with Merino wool for excellent moisture control in all weathers. The elasticated ankle and instep offers extra support and great comfort. Simply superb winter socks
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Strange Socks but they Work
Posted05 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are unlike any socks I have ever tried before and for their first outing I rode (unintentionally) in severe rain storm. They stayed dry under my Gore-Tex cycling boots for a good 2 hours of constant and heavy rain before my feet got wet. They feel thick but aren't actually that much thicker when you put them in shoes. They don't stretch too well so make sure you get the size right."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Easier than counting lengths
Posted05 March 2015
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I must admit I was dubious about whether this would be as good as the advertising claims it is but I was pleasantly surprised. The buttons are quite chunky and easy to use with wet fingers (try it with an ordinary watch and see what I mean) although the 'pause' button can be a little bit sensitive so sometimes I accidentally hit it twice meaning I have to do an extra set of lengths. It also doesn't always recognise a length but this is usually because of a lack of 'glide' at the start of the length. It does have a 'drills' function as it doesn't work for kicking only but I've yet to work out how to use this. Like all Garmin watches it is robust and reliable all things considered and is a lot easier than trying to keep track of swimming distance by counting laps in your head #ok, just me then#. Not sure how it compares with Pool-Mate but I specifically wanted a Garmin version because I have other Garmin products which integrate with Garmin Connect and this was just easiest for me. All round I would recommend."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Trion:Z ACTILOOP
Trion:Z ACTILOOP
The ACTI-LOOP wristband contains powerful negative ion producing materials in the pod and patented ANSPO magnetic technology working together to produce the most powerful product of its type on the market today.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
I think it works therefore it does........
Posted16 September 2014
Jonad724
fromBraintree, Essex
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As someone who has suffered from various aches and pains as a result of being a triathlete for 24 years I did wonder whether this would work. I had been thinking about something like this for some time and finally took the plunge with the ACTI LOOP as it is apparently the most powerful on the market. It might all be completely psychosomatic, although you do forget you're wearing it so maybe not. but it does appear to work. I don't get quite so much pain in my knees when I have sat down for a while and overall general aches and pains are less. The one note of caution I would add is do check what size you need on the Trion: Z website as it is a silicon band which doesn't stretch very well so it will be uncomfortably tight if you get the wrong size. It is though pretty unobtrusive and you do forget you're wearing it."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Jonad724's Questions
 
Jonad724 has not submitted any questions.
 
Jonad724's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
The GatorSkin Folding is the UK's favourite training tyre (formerly known as Ultra GatorSkin). With its DuraSkin™-anti-cut fabric and PolyX Breaker® also makes it suitable for commuting through to sportives as well as training.
 

Will this tyre help for pinch flats?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
In a word no. Pinch flats are caused by poor fitting technique and in fact I have only ever had pinch flats with folding tyres. It tends to be more obvious if the tube is trapped with wired tyres because they are more upright. If you want to avoid pinch flats what I would suggest is just pump the tyre up a little bit when the new tyre is put on and then check carefully around the rim to see for signs of the tube being trapped. The tyre will not be as straight there as it will be elsewhere.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
The Fortezza Senso All Weather competition tyre for all weather conditions with low rolling resistance and outstanding grip in both wet and dry weather. The Curve Control System guarantees durability and an exceptional ride quality, even in corners.
 

The price for the Vredestein Fortezza tyre is it for one or comes in a pair?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No it's for one, they're expensive but do offer much lower rolling resistance.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
A workshop grade track pump for fast, precise inflation of road and MTB tyres. With a durable steel barrel, large pressure dial and dual purpose valve head, the LifeLine track pump is an essential investment for mechanics and domestic users alike.
 

Do you have to screw an adaptor onto the valve before using the pump

The inner tubes I have recently bought have a smooth valve with no thread, I am trying to locate a pump that just fastens to the valve without an adaptor
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No you don't have to screw this pump on, it grips the valve even without moving the locking lever out but of course it won't inflate without doing so. My race bike valves are not threaded and this works fine with them.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

tyre size

I have a specialized tricross bike but want to try a road tyre. Any recommendations on a size? Not sure what my rim size is but the bike came with 700x32c. Looking for a faster tyre for road cycling so that I have a better chance of keeping up!
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will need 700x32 C and you don't get many road tyres which have a low rolling resistance at that size but this has a good trade off between rolling resistance and puncture resistance which is where it really scores. You won't though get much rolling resistance reduction with 32c as these are a 1/3 larger than 23c.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

lap counts

I want to measure my distance but I dont tumble/flip turn, and i dont push particularly hard off the wall. To measure laps and distance can i press/tap a button on the watch at each lap instead of using the automatic feature?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
So long as a you a short glide when pushing off from the wall (arm being still so you can still kick) then it recognises that you have changed direction.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Garmin Connect/ Garmin Swim

I allready have a Garmin 310 and upload my data to Garmin Connect. Is it possible to o upload the data from Garmin Swim to the same account or do I have to create a new one?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
As with all Garmin fitness products you can upload it to your existing Garmin Connect account and it will also show all your training products on the overview page.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

does it count calaroies

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes it does but only in the generic sense based on your swim speed, height, weight and gender rather than more accurately with a HRM strap. It is pretty accurate from experience too.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Will Wiggle accept a return if the watch is not waterproof?

I have read some reviews that have suggested it may let water in. Are these faulty watches or is it an issue per se?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
As it's called Garmin Swim then if it lets in water it is faulty. Mine is fine and I'm sure if lets in water then Wiggle will replace it.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

Does the vivofit show how fast I'm running eg minute miles/km?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No it doesn't as it does not have GPS although it's pretty accurate for distance walked it's a little bit out when it comes to running but it doesn't have real time display of time/distance.
10 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex
 
Make every step count with vívofit™. It’s the only fitness band that greets you with a personalised daily goal, tracks your progress 24/7 and reminds you when it’s time to move. vívofit has an easy-to-read display and 1+ year battery life.
 

Is the battery replaceable?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes, completely user replaceable and the manual even shows you how, quite remarkable for a Garmin product!
10 months ago
by
Jonad724
Braintree, Essex