john21twice
Top 250 Contributor
Share john21twice's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
john21twice's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    28 September 2010
  • Last Review
    07 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 March 2011
  • Last Question
    15 March 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    20 December 2010
  • Last Answer
    10 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
john21twice's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
Quickly removes the toughest of grime from all drivetrain areas including chain, front and rear mechs as well as the cassette.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well
Posted07 May 2015
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Works really well and makes chain cleaning really easy."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Osmo Acute Recovery for Men maximises recovery by giving your body the nutrients it needs after exercise. This helps halt the stress induced by exercise and start the recovery process.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Not 16 servings for most people
Posted07 May 2015
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Product works but very expensive, even with 50% discount. If you are a slightly heavier rider Osmo recommend using more powder, twice as much as a very slim person.
Taste is interesting, I think in a good way."
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Swissstop Flash pro brake pads, with their black compound, provides great braking on alloy rims and also suited for softer alloys including magnesium. Suitable for less aggressive riding, very good in dry and wet conditions.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Worn out after 150 miles
Posted07 May 2015
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Work well but they are worn out after only a few rides. Two rides were in the wet and hilly but I was expecting the pads to be worn in such a short time."
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted30 March 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Always used really cheap cleaners before, which did an OK job but not a great job of cleaning the chain. This one got the chain really clean so I'm happy with my purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SiS GO Energy can be consumed as part of your carbohydrate loading strategy in the days and hours prior to your training or race whereby 48 grams of carbohydrate are delivered per serving.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Energy and Taste
Posted09 March 2015
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to mix and the taste isn't too strong. Seems to provide energy and is easy to drink so it ticks all the boxes. Will buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 2 Pack
LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes - 2 Pack
High quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bargain
Posted06 March 2015
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What a bargain for 2 inner tubes. Not sure they are the best in the world but perfectly fine for training."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Made with sweat-wicking fabric in a long-sleeve cut that hugs the body, the Nike Pro Combat Core Compression Men's Shirt is a comfortable base layer for cool-weather game days or training.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice base layer
Posted27 February 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Not sure what you can say about a base layer. It fits hold things in place and adds some insulation."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Same bio-mechanic design and shape of the Adamo Podium. The difference is they added more foam padding and gel to soften the ride. Climb on an Adamo Breakaway and you’ll likely ride off the front of the pack.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No Saddle is Perfect
Posted27 February 2015
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Read the fitting instructions, tweak things a little and you get a nice comfortable ride. I found it impossible to sit on the tip of the saddle that came with the bike and swapping to the breakaway solved the problem. Being used on a TT bike so not sure what it would be like on a road bike."
Pros: Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Pleased
Posted06 January 2015
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very pleased with the tights, the fit and quality is good. I'm 5ft.11 (34inch waist) and the large are perfect. One small complaint the flap at the top of the chest zip gets in the way when trying to zip up after quick pit stops."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Under Armour HeatGear Sonic Compression Long Sleeve - AW14
Under Armour HeatGear Sonic Compression Long Sleeve - AW14
The Under Armour HeatGear Sonic Compression Long Sleeve is made with the latest UA fabric, this wears like a second skin so you get the same powerful compression, plus extreme comfort for all-day wear.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very stretchy
Posted10 November 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality product. Used by my son for rugby, who really likes the look and fit of the top. The only issue is he can't remove the top quickly as the material is so stretchy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
john21twice's Questions
 
 Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
A compact and protective vest with a Windstopper Active shell front panel to shield you from wind chill on quick descents and on cold windy days. The Countdown Vest packs down into a jersey pocket for the climbs or when the temperature rises.
 

Sizing Information

Are these gilets tights fitting? I am not sure if the Large or XL will be the right size for me. My chest size is 105 so the size guide recommends XL but I don't want a jacket that flaps about. Anybody got any suggestions?
4 years, 2 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
john21twice's Answers
 
This is a thick glove for worst winter conditions. An integrated showerproof membrane makes sure you stay dry inside. Hollow fill insulation provides fantastic warmth. Articulated cut helps to reduce bulk.
 

Are these gloves washable and even machine washable.

As toasty as my gloves are, they stink and are not washable.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Mine whent through the wash and are still OK.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
john21twice
Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
 
The Windslam Gilet is great for when the weather starts to turn cold. Wear the gilet over your long sleeve jersey to maintain your core body temperature in weather down to 10 degrees Celsius (depending on layering and ride intensity).
 

Sizing

Is the guide realistic? I'm 5'11" with a 41" chest. Does the medium come up large or visa versa?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I'm about the same size as you and went for the XL, which is a good fit especially if using the gilet over a thicker winter top. I have a 16" neck and the collar is a little tight and the arm holes are also cut very small.

I'm not racing snake or a fat boy, somewhere in the middle.

Great top.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
 dhb Signal Jacket
dhb Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Seam Problems

Hi, I have read that there are/were problems with the seams on these jackets. Is that the case or have they been fixed?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I think there were issues with the earlier jackets. I sent mine back and it's been replaced with a new one and so far no problems so I would say there isn't a problem anymore.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer is brilliant value providing a superb cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 

Are these meant to be tight fitting?

Hi,

Are base layers meant to be tight fitting as in sticking close to skin like compression gear?

Cos my chest is 103cm.
Thanks.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes they are.

I'm about the same chest size and ordered a large, which is too big. I purchased another one in small that fits like a glove.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
 Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Got a turbo trainer? Get one of these!
 

A tire or a pair?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Just the one tyre.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris