john21twice
Top 500 Contributor
Share john21twice's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
john21twice's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    43
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    28 September 2010
  • Last Review
    10 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    15 March 2011
  • Last Question
    15 March 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    20 December 2010
  • Last Answer
    10 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
john21twice's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
This is a thick glove for worst winter conditions. An integrated waterproof membrane, makes sure you stay dry inside. Hollow fill insulation provides fantastic warmth. Articulated cut helps to reduce bulk.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice and Warm
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are very warm gloves and perfect for cold winter rides. Hands nice and warm during very cold winter rides. The grip on the palms is very good in the dry but when it gets wet it doesn't work.
Apart from that a very good pair of gloves"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides.(dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Value Tights
Posted13 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Follow the Wiggle size guide and you'll get the right size. Needed a new pair of tights to replace an older pair of wiggle tights that were damaged on a patch of ice. Older pair were slightly nicer as the shoulder straps were wider and more comfortable. These are good value for money and a great buy for use during the winter when there is a chance of falling off on ice. Why spend a small fortune on something that may get ripped?"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
One of the better Gels
Posted06 January 2014
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not too thick or sugary so easy to swallow. The taste isn't overpowering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergyBar is a healthy snack with a balance of simple and complex carbohydrate from fruit, grains and nuts that taste great
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
These have everything, Taste & Energy
Posted06 January 2014
john21twice
fromPerth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great tasting, seem to provide energy when required, what more do you want. Could munch them all day!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Merino cycling sock has a slim and lightweight feel but offers exceptional warmth to weight ratio.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Quality a bit of a let down
Posted18 January 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
john21twice
fromParis
Country : France
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are good value Merino socks but they don't last that long. Mine lasted for about a year, which isn't that good as they were only used a few times. My cotton M&S socks last much longer but they don't keep my feet warm.
They performed well and I would purchase another pair if they are significantly cheaper than the competition."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
High carbohydrate drinks mix for sustained energy.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Buy for the taste
Posted18 January 2013
john21twice
fromParis
Country : France
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This product isn't too sweet and makes a refreshing drink. The taste isn't too strong and leaves no after taste.
I can't remember how many grams are required for 750ml bottle but it seems to be more than some products so the 2.2kg tub doesn't last as long as you would think.
Lastly as an energy drink it works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The 2012 Windslam gilet is great for when the weather starts to turn cold. Wear the gilet over your long sleeve jersey to maintain your core body temperature in weather down to 10 degrees Celsius (depending on layering and ride intensity).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice Gilet
Posted23 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
john21twice
fromParis
Country : France
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The quality and fit of this gilet is fantastic (remember to order a size bigger than the size chart recommends). The windproof panels have a nice fleecy backing and the mesh at the back provides plenty of ventilations.
There are three rear pockets but for some reason these are set higher than normal making it very difficult to access them whilst on the move. This shouldn't be a deal breaker as this is a very good gilet.
One other thing the collar is very high, which I don't like but it's easy to turn down so not really a problem."
Pros: High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For the rider who wants a form fitting winter jersey, made from premium Italian Roubaix fabric and a clean aesthetic synonymous to the dhb brand.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Poor Fit
Posted23 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
john21twice
fromParis
Country : France
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Firstly, as other people have mentioned the size guideline for this product is wrong. I would recommend ordering a size bigger. If I didn't have to pay the postage costs for returning this product it would have been sent back. The cut is all wrong, far too much material on the back panel and the cut around the arm holes is just wrong.
Apart from that a good product, nice material, looks good and is really comfortable if you keep your arms by your sides."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An all-Italian road helmet made with Kask's signature styling and workmanship. The Mojito offers the superb Up & Down fitting system and unique synthetic leather chin strap for absolute comfort out on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Nice Helmet providing you don't wear glasses
Posted10 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
john21twice
fromParis
Country : France
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Unfortunately this wasn't the helmet for me as the very comfortable system at the back for securing the helmet to my head prevented me wearing glasses. The plastic got in the way of the arms of my glasses. Perhaps I have a funny shaped head and for fellow glasses wearers this won't be a problem.
Apart from that, this was a great helmet that had to be sent back.
I ordered the white version that looked fantastic."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
A unique sports drink that increases fat burning and maintains the immune system during training. ZV0 replaces 7 key electrolytes and provides 1.6g of immune boosting glutamine per serving
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Need the weather to warm up to really test
Posted03 May 2012
john21twice
fromParis
Country : France
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Firstly it hasn't really been that hot so far this year so I can't comment on how these tablets perform. In warm (ish) conditions I haven't suffered from cramp whist using these tablets.
The big problem for me is the taste, which is very chemical. I use one tablet in a 750ml bottle rather than one in a 500 ml as recommended. This way chemical taste isn't quite so bad.
Will not purchase these again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
john21twice's Questions
 
 Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
Countdown Active Shell Vest - 2012
A compact and protective vest with a Windstopper Active shell front panel to shield you from wind chill on quick descents and on cold windy days. The Countdown Vest packs down into a jersey pocket for the climbs or when the temperature rises.
 

Sizing Information

Are these gilets tights fitting? I am not sure if the Large or XL will be the right size for me. My chest size is 105 so the size guide recommends XL but I don't want a jacket that flaps about. Anybody got any suggestions?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
john21twice's Answers
 
This is a thick glove for worst winter conditions. An integrated waterproof membrane, makes sure you stay dry inside. Hollow fill insulation provides fantastic warmth. Articulated cut helps to reduce bulk.
 

Are these gloves washable and even machine washable.

As toasty as my gloves are, they stink and are not washable.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Mine whent through the wash and are still OK.
1 month ago
by
john21twice
Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
 
The 2012 Windslam gilet is great for when the weather starts to turn cold. Wear the gilet over your long sleeve jersey to maintain your core body temperature in weather down to 10 degrees Celsius (depending on layering and ride intensity).
 

Sizing

Is the guide realistic? I'm 5'11" with a 41" chest. Does the medium come up large or visa versa?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm about the same size as you and went for the XL, which is a good fit especially if using the gilet over a thicker winter top. I have a 16" neck and the collar is a little tight and the arm holes are also cut very small.

I'm not racing snake or a fat boy, somewhere in the middle.

Great top.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Seam Problems

Hi, I have read that there are/were problems with the seams on these jackets. Is that the case or have they been fixed?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I think there were issues with the earlier jackets. I sent mine back and it's been replaced with a new one and so far no problems so I would say there isn't a problem anymore.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 

Are these meant to be tight fitting?

Hi,

Are base layers meant to be tight fitting as in sticking close to skin like compression gear?

Cos my chest is 103cm.
Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes they are.

I'm about the same chest size and ordered a large, which is too big. I purchased another one in small that fits like a glove.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris
 
Got a turbo trainer? Get one of these!
 

A tire or a pair?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Just the one tyre.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
john21twice
Paris