CumbrianMart
Share CumbrianMart's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
CumbrianMart's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    07 January 2012
  • Last Review
    31 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 June 2013
  • Last Question
    02 January 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    09 October 2012
  • Last Answer
    31 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
CumbrianMart's Reviews
 
A compact HP pump design that brings floor pump function and power along for the ride. The aluminum barrel, shaft, base, and T-handle are custom CNC-machined for durability, ergonomics and reduced weight. Supplied with inline gauge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best so far
Posted31 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
CumbrianMart
fromCockermouth, Cumbria
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"A mini track-style pump. Usual Lezyne quality. Better than any other mini pump for road tyres. This does both presta and Schrader, with a neat reversible adapter that then screws securely into the foot of the pump. I like the permanently fixed hose with the in-line gauge, which seems fairly accurate, but I suspect the gauge will fail with any water ingress. This pump will reach at least 100ps fairly readily. The handle, which is grooved to take the hose, is not very comfortable. It is a reasonable looking T shape, but the T is too small and may be less effective that a standard handle. A folding foot stirrup is provided - inevitably it's rather small, but does provide stability in use. It looks a bit odd on the bike, but so what? No idea about longevity, but my other Lezyne stuff lasts forever."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tired of re-tightening your headset? So are we.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
So much cooler than a star fangled nut
Posted04 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
CumbrianMart
fromCockermouth, Cumbria
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great product, but requires a little care when fitting.This is my second Hed Doctor. Like many people, I managed to break the alloy bolt on my first, but Hope replaced it FOC. I now know just how to fit these properly and the second one went on just fine:
The Hed Doctor has a collet fitting. There are upper and lower wedges and a central split collet with an O ring. You must loosen both upper and lower wedges. Then squeeze the split collet as near to closed as possible. Reassemble ( no need for grease, as the bolt comes ready greased and you do NOT want grease on the outside of the collet). Clean the inside of the steerer. It is possible that you'll chew the fragile O-ring as you push it in. Don't worry about this, the O ring is largely superfluous. The Hed Doctor needs to be inserted well into the steerer. If it is not deep enough, then as you tighten the bolt, you may run out of thread and, rather than just tightening the collet in the steerer, you will be shearing the bolt at the end of the thread. REMEMBER, all you are doing is pre-loading the bearings with the Hed Doctor, the stem bolts are what hold the entire assembly together. Just use 2 fingers on the allen key and gently. Tighten just enough to eliminate any play (turn front wheel sideways, apply brake and rock to feel for play). If no play, tighten stem bolts and rotate bars with front wheel off the ground. It should feel butter-smooth. Simples!
Have run my Hope headset for 2 years now and it's just like new."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality, usual issues with getting a good fit
Posted02 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
CumbrianMart
fromCockermouth, Cumbria
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Arrived promptly in an inevitably huge box.
Rear was easy to fit, although, unlike most guards, you have to cut the stays short enough to fit inside the plastic mounting clips, as these are blind. No 'shove it into position and stick a plastic cap on it' like previous guards. Stainless steel cuts easily enough with a B&D Multi-saw.
As usual, the problem comes when fitting the front. The slot in the bridge support is too short, so the guard can't be pushed up far enough to clear the 25mm Schwalbe Duranos I'd fitted. Had to enlarge the hole quite a bit, but now fits well.
Usual good SKS quality, but some reflective stripes would be a nice addition.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features, fiddly to get good front fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pretty fast and so far, no p*nctures
Posted09 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CumbrianMart
fromCockermouth, Cumbria
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these to replace some Marathon Supremes that I had on my new disc braked VN Amazon tourer. I'd found the 32mm Marathons really sluggish, so went for 28mm folding Duranos. Things to note: side walls feel very thin and delicate, but this does make them easy to fit by hand. The tyres ride pretty light (for 28s on a tourer!), but do feel a touch harsh at 90+ psi. They perform well in all conditions and corner well in the wet. I've done about 800-1000miles on West Cumbria's billiard table smooth tarmac (fna, fna) and they look like new. No significant cuts. The only niggle is that the fabric at the bead is slowly losing threads just above the edge of the rim, which tend to flail around, so I just cut them off with a craft knife. Highly recommended, especially if you're in need of some fairly quick 28s."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Good Fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Drive LED Front Light
Power Drive LED Front Light
This powerful road cyclist and commuter light also has an 'off-road capability'. It's compact, lightweight and weighs in at 120g, but pushes out 300 lumens of light.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lezyne Power Drive - why pay more?
Posted07 January 2012
CumbrianMart
fromCockermouth, Cumbria
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this as a 'second' front lamp. I have a set of Ay-ups which are still giving faithful service after 4 years, but I didn't want all my eggs in one basket. I commute 22 miles each way, in all weathers, so reliable lights are essential. The Lezyne is light, bright and versatile. It gives a good well spread beam pattern, with no sharp edges to the beam. It will run for over 2 hours on high setting and generally exceeds the stated run times on all settings (I got bored timing after 6 hours on flash). The bracket is a doddle to fit to the bike, but I do find fittting the light to the bracket a bit of a faff, but once fitted it's fine, It has lateral adjustment available on the fly, and even the vertical clamp has a big fat knob, so you can tweak that if need be. The lamp toggles through the modes easily enough when you are wearing mitts, but is a touch fiddly when you're keeping warm with thick gloves and liners.
The flash mode uses the high setting output, so is very effective in traffic. Indeed, it can sometimes distract me, never mind other road users, so I keep it ainmed to the nearside. Road signs half a mile away start flashing at you! I have had several cars and even a lorry flash me to 'dip my lights' since using the Lezyne with the Ay-ups!
I would not expect that hard-core off roaders will find the Lezyne bright enough for single track thrashes, but for road use it is excellent. It weighs little, and the USB recharge is ideal for me - I just keep a USB wall plug and a lead at work and charge it up ready for the commute home. It can be a bit tricky to tell when it is fully charged, as the intermittent flash that signals charging is a bit random ( It even flashes when just plugged into a lead. The Mini USB socket on the base of the light is sometimes awkward to plug in to, but it is well sealed, as is the rest of the unit. The option of buying a spare battery for £20 is useful. I've read reviews that suggest it is CNC machined, but it looks more like a good quality casting to me. No matter, it is an excellent unit for the money.
As usual, the middle of a range of 3 models seems the best mix of value and performance.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
CumbrianMart's Questions
 
The Micro Drive rear light is a purposeful every day and night safety light. All the very best safety features within reach of every cyclist.
 

Is this the new 2014 model with improved clamp?

Apparently, clamp design is improved for 2014, redusing risk of light bouncing out of cradle.
7 months ago
by
CumbrianMart
Cockermouth, Cumbria
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

Use of toe clips with PD-T780s

I'm building my daughter her first road bike. Anticipating that she may eventually use SPDs, I'm after a dual function pedal that will take a toe clip on the non-SPD side to start her off. Do the reflectors remove to reveal the usual two bolt holes? I know the PD-M324s will take clips, but the quality seems a bit suspect.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
CumbrianMart
Cockermouth, Cumbria
 
CumbrianMart's Answers
 
A compact HP pump design that brings floor pump function and power along for the ride. The aluminum barrel, shaft, base, and T-handle are custom CNC-machined for durability, ergonomics and reduced weight. Supplied with inline gauge.
 

Where on the presta valve does it screw onto?

Does this screw onto the threads the cap attaches to or the thrads on the stem of the valve?
Just checked. It screws onto the smaller thread on the valve core, not the wider fixed thread. So, as with most pumps, there's still the potential to unscrew the valve core. In my experience, you really don't need to screw it on at all tightly. Also, as there's a pressure release device, the connector does not bind onto the valve.
Hope this helps
1 year ago
by
CumbrianMart
Cockermouth, Cumbria
 
Tired of re-tightening your headset? So are we.
 

1" Threadless Headset

I realise that this is made for 1" 1/8 steerers but the Hope tech website says that the maximum expansion is 26.6mm so I presume it will fit smaller? I'm interested in a tifosi carbon fork and would it be possible for you to check? Many thanks.
No. The 26.6 refers to the INSIDE diameter of the steerer. 1 1/8" refers to the outside diameter of the steerer. It is for 1 1/8" only.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
CumbrianMart
Cockermouth, Cumbria
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

Do they have any puncture protection?

Also, could these replace my sleek 700 x 20c? I would like a good puncture protection.
I'd go for the new Michelin Pro4 Endurance ( now that the beloved Krylion Carbons are no more). The Duranos are not a race tyre by any stretch.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CumbrianMart
Cockermouth, Cumbria
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

What tube

Would it be ok if I were to put a 700x23 tube inside these tyres?
Use a tube that matches the width of your tyre. Most lightweight tubes are 20-28mm compatible. I always think that the ideal is in the middle of the tube's range, but I'm using 20-28mm tubes with 28mm tyres at the moment, with no problems. Fatter tubes = more weight, just where you least want it. Skinny tubes in a fat tyre will be at their limit of puncture resistance, should anything penetrate the tyre or cause a pinch. As always, compromise is best.
Remember to get a suitable valve length to match the depth of your rims, so you can get a pump on easily.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CumbrianMart
Cockermouth, Cumbria