OGIL
Top 500 Contributor
Share OGIL's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
OGIL's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    20 May 2013
  • Last Review
    22 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2013
  • Last Question
    22 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    12 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    22 October 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
OGIL's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The Femto Drive lightset is an affordable yet brilliant compact "be seen" light. Engineered alloy body is light (62g per pair with straps) and tough with long lasting, high polished and anodised finish.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great back up lights
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Using these in conjuction with my main Moon front and rear lights as a back up and extra lighting for drivers to see me, hopefully. Moon's set on constant these on flashing. Excellent little lights, lightweight, easily fixed and most importantly bright. I've had no issues in wet weather. Also useful as day-time lights when the weather gets murky. The rear would probably suffice on its own but the front is best only as an auxilary light."
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and useful
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Excellent heart rate monitor with a comfortable strap. I use it with my Edge 1000 and an Elite Turbo trainer and the Elite trainer app. Never misses a beat."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Zero the new great tasting electrolyte drink from High5, now comes with a caffeine kick (65mg) - about the same as a mild cup of coffee.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gym Boost
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use these only during gym sessions where I find the extra boost from the caffiene enables me to push harder."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
In Ride Hydration
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Tasty, refreshing and great for in ride hydration. Also use them for gym and running track sessions"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This colour touchscreen GPS bike computer offers in-ride challenges through Garmin Connect™ segments. Features preloaded Garmin Cycle Map, round-trip routing, wireless uploads and live tracking.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good 810 Upgrade
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I upgraded from an 810 to the Edge 1000 and was happy I did. Faster sattelite pick up times, larger, more detailed screen and the segment facility keeps me on my toes, so to speak, when I feel like testing myself. No problems in wet weather."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A protective chain cover for use with the Evoc Bike Travel Bag. The cover fits over your chainset and transmission,it protects the rest of your kit from dirt and grease, prevents your chain catching and shields your derailleurs during transit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Ideal for bike transport
Posted15 July 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great item, fits easily over pedal, chain and mechs, keeps the chain grease of the car. I'm using to transport bike in a car not with the Evoc travel bag."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Convenient and protective storage for your wheels. Ideal for carrying spares on race day and shielding your car boot from mud and grease.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good, but tight fit
Posted15 July 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My carbon wheels with cassette fitted were too much of a load for this bag. Happily my winter ones did, just, and were fine with tyres removed. Ideal safe wheel storage through the summer with plenty of pocket room for accessories. Good value cokmpared with price of other double wheel bags. Well made"
Pros: Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great for the price
Posted15 July 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Roomy, well made with enough padding to make me happy to pack my carbon wheels"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cool and dry
Posted23 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Tested this on a long ride in 18C temparatures with a Volata Jersey. Kept me just right temperasture and absorbed any sweat well. As always with Castelli go a size larger than your normal."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Warm breathable Knee warmers with Castelli's advanced Nano silicone treatment for fantastic water resistance. NanoFlex fabric behaves just like Thermoflex fabric in dry conditions, but provides unbelievable water repellency when it starts to rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Knee to low shin warmers
Posted14 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Certainly keep your knees warm, in fact a bit longer than expected so keep most of your legs warm - perhaps I have short legs!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
OGIL's Questions
 
Qubo digital is an ANT encoded, electronically-adjusted magnetic roller controllable by the head unit using wireless management. Guaranteeing control and performance, it keeps every moment of your training monitored and follows you in your progress.
 

Size

What size; width and length is this trainer? Is it foldable when not in use?
1 year ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
The Shimano WH-RS11 rear Wheel offers all the technology of Shimano wheels but at an economical price with a 24mm high profile aluminium rim that improves aero dynamics it makes an ideal wheel for training on during the cold winter months.
 

Colour

Image shows a black wheel but the description states silver. Which is it?
1 year ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
With the Knog Blinder Road R, Knog introduces its first generation of Hi-powered bike lights specifically designed for road cycling. Delivering a colossal 70 lumen strobe on the rear, they're the first Blinder lights of their kind to give riders
 

Rotatable

Is this light able to rotate on the bracket so that it is horizontal?
1 year ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
Exceptional fit and comfort on Winter road rides. As part of the Rosso Corsa line, the Sorpasso tight is built with Castelli's premium technologies and fabrics for the highest level of performance out on the snow strewn passes and windswept climbs.
 

Size?

Height 169cm
Chest 99cm
Waist 86cm
Hips 99cm
inside leg 74cm

Medium or Large?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
OGIL's Answers
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 

Is this HRM compatible with the new Garmin 1000?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Short answer, Yes.
1 week, 2 days ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
This colour touchscreen GPS bike computer offers in-ride challenges through Garmin Connect™ segments. Features preloaded Garmin Cycle Map, round-trip routing, wireless uploads and live tracking.
 

Compatability

Can I use the existing sensors currently attached to my pedals, frame and wheels?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm using this with a Trek DuoTrap speed and cadence sensor. Found the sensors within seconds.
1 week, 2 days ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
A technical summer jersey available in three striking styles. The Volata features 3 rear pockets & a zippered key pocket, great for carrying those personal items & comfortable stretch mesh fabric on the shoulders & side panels for added rider comfort.
 

For the blue jersey what colour is the back? Is it mainly blue?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, with narrow white stripe across shoulder blades
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
Minimalist piece for warm weather usage. Fully open mesh holds the jersey off of skin and the resulting layer of air works to regulate body temperature. Coupled with very little moisture absorbing, this base layer stays cool and light. Sleeveless version
 

Sizing

Just wondering how the sizing compares to Castelli jerseys? I normally take a L in Castelli jerseys, so I assume I would also need a L with this baselayer?

Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes. I'm the same as L fitted snuggly.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
Qubo digital is an ANT encoded, electronically-adjusted magnetic roller controllable by the head unit using wireless management. Guaranteeing control and performance, it keeps every moment of your training monitored and follows you in your progress.
 

Does the console give a mph speed reading as well as kmph and how easy is it to set mph as the unit default setting?

Being English and consequently used to mph for speed calibration I require a trainer console that has a mph speed reading. If the console default is kmph I want to be able to permanently change the default console speed measurement to mph. Is this possible on the Qubo Wireless Digital trainer.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the unit can be set up easily to record in miles, and also have lb for weight if required.
8 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
Qubo digital is an ANT encoded, electronically-adjusted magnetic roller controllable by the head unit using wireless management. Guaranteeing control and performance, it keeps every moment of your training monitored and follows you in your progress.
 

Do you need special tyres

Hi,
Have seen that similar TACX trainers recommend using their 'blue' tyres. Is there a similar requirement for the Elite?
Or should I just use standard tyres?
Assuming that any 'slick' will reduce noise?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I recommend any tyre specifically designed for turbo trainer use. Have used it with road tyres but only to video myself at slow speed for bike fit purposes.
8 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
ASSOS Active Wear Cleanser is delicate on elastic fibres, pH neutral, neutralises odors, enhances textile breathability and maintains sharp colour sublimation. Exactly what you need for washing performance Sportswear.
 

What size is this bottle?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
300ml. But 1 cap for 5l so it is economical
1 year, 1 month ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire