OGIL
Top 500 Contributor
Share OGIL's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
OGIL's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    43
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    20 May 2013
  • Last Review
    26 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2013
  • Last Question
    22 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    12 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    26 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
OGIL's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smooth and easy
Posted26 January 2015
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to apply, brings smooth transmission, lasts well and helps the environment. A trio of good points."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Keeps you warm
Posted26 January 2015
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been using these bibtights in the recent cold spells in the North West with my Garmin recording -1 C and feeling as warm as needed after the intitial 1/2 mile. The windstopper fabric make them a little harder to get on than normal Sorpasso bibtights but they are comfy and keep muscles supported and toasty.
Great refklective Castelli logo on the sides. Together with a winter long sleeved base layer and Castelli Espresso 2 jacket its all I've been needing."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Castelli Quality
Posted26 January 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Castelli gear works for me and this base layer is excellent for spring and autumn. Keeps you warm and keeps you cool, if you see what I mean. Usual proviso on sizing, go one larger than you normally would."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smooth and instant gear changes
Posted11 December 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought to replace an identical but crash damaged rear derailleur. The previous unit had given me over 2,000 miles of trouble free cycling with never a missed gear. Easy to set up, smooth and instant in operation. Expensive, yes, but works like a dream and I'm sure the cheaper Ultegra version is just as sweet."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gets chains shiny clean
Posted11 December 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to use, smooth in operation and within a minute or two my chain was clean as the proverbial whistle. Great reults without bother."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great back up lights
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Using these in conjuction with my main Moon front and rear lights as a back up and extra lighting for drivers to see me, hopefully. Moon's set on constant these on flashing. Excellent little lights, lightweight, easily fixed and most importantly bright. I've had no issues in wet weather. Also useful as day-time lights when the weather gets murky. The rear would probably suffice on its own but the front is best only as an auxilary light."
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin Premium Heart Rate Monitor Strap
Garmin Premium Heart Rate Monitor Strap
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and useful
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Excellent heart rate monitor with a comfortable strap. I use it with my Edge 1000 and an Elite Turbo trainer and the Elite trainer app. Never misses a beat."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gym Boost
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use these only during gym sessions where I find the extra boost from the caffiene enables me to push harder."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
In Ride Hydration
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Tasty, refreshing and great for in ride hydration. Also use them for gym and running track sessions"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good 810 Upgrade
Posted22 October 2014
OGIL
fromLancashire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I upgraded from an 810 to the Edge 1000 and was happy I did. Faster sattelite pick up times, larger, more detailed screen and the segment facility keeps me on my toes, so to speak, when I feel like testing myself. No problems in wet weather."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
OGIL's Questions
 
 

Size

What size; width and length is this trainer? Is it foldable when not in use?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Colour

Image shows a black wheel but the description states silver. Which is it?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Rotatable

Is this light able to rotate on the bracket so that it is horizontal?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Size?

Height 169cm
Chest 99cm
Waist 86cm
Hips 99cm
inside leg 74cm

Medium or Large?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
OGIL's Answers
 
 

Water Resistance

Hi,

Are these as water resistant as the non-windproof version of these tights?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
More resistant
6 days ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 Garmin Premium Heart Rate Monitor Strap
Garmin Premium Heart Rate Monitor Strap
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 

Is this HRM compatible with the new Garmin 1000?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Short answer, Yes.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Compatability

Can I use the existing sensors currently attached to my pedals, frame and wheels?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'm using this with a Trek DuoTrap speed and cadence sensor. Found the sensors within seconds.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

For the blue jersey what colour is the back? Is it mainly blue?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, with narrow white stripe across shoulder blades
6 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Sizing

Just wondering how the sizing compares to Castelli jerseys? I normally take a L in Castelli jerseys, so I assume I would also need a L with this baselayer?

Thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes. I'm the same as L fitted snuggly.
8 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Does the console give a mph speed reading as well as kmph and how easy is it to set mph as the unit default setting?

Being English and consequently used to mph for speed calibration I require a trainer console that has a mph speed reading. If the console default is kmph I want to be able to permanently change the default console speed measurement to mph. Is this possible on the Qubo Wireless Digital trainer.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the unit can be set up easily to record in miles, and also have lb for weight if required.
11 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 

Do you need special tyres

Hi,
Have seen that similar TACX trainers recommend using their 'blue' tyres. Is there a similar requirement for the Elite?
Or should I just use standard tyres?
Assuming that any 'slick' will reduce noise?
Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I recommend any tyre specifically designed for turbo trainer use. Have used it with road tyres but only to video myself at slow speed for bike fit purposes.
11 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire
 
 Assos Active Wear Cleanser
Assos Active Wear Cleanser
ASSOS Active Wear Cleanser is delicate on elastic fibres, pH neutral, neutralises odors, enhances textile breathability and maintains sharp colour sublimation. Exactly what you need for washing performance Sportswear.
 

What size is this bottle?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
300ml. But 1 cap for 5l so it is economical
1 year, 4 months ago
by
OGIL
Lancashire