LastMinute
Top 500 Contributor
Share LastMinute's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LastMinute's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    10
  • First Review
    19 July 2009
  • Last Review
    16 May 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    09 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    27 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
LastMinute's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Excellent tape for all applications, sufficient for one 28" rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easier and as good as Glue
Posted16 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Fitted tyres with glue and with this tape. This is as good as the Continental Glue. Its is far easier to fit such that centring the tyre is simple. its ride-able same day.
Used it in the Alps in summer and for UK racing. Wouldn't go back to glue."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tasting just as good as your favourite chocolate bar but without the high fat content, ride provides long lasting energy through a combination of complex carbohydrate and fibre.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
taste OK but hard to stomach on hot days
Posted15 March 2013
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I don't think the food balance is great and they are hard to stomach on hot days. because they have a lot of chocolate they melt and become very sticky on hot days. Healthier version of the Snickers bar."
Pros: good taste if you like snickers bar
Cons: sticky, not the easiest to eat on hot days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike. High performance compound for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
stops carbon rims
Posted15 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"It is better than cork pads especially in the wet. It is more severe though. These stop you well, but will wear out your rims faster. Good performance in the wet and dry."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: wears out your rim quicker
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful Hot Pack 4 Windproof Vest
Sportful Hot Pack 4 Windproof Vest
Essential protection for changing weather conditions, the Hot Pack 4 Vest provides windproofing and water resistance. It packs down into a compact stuff sack and fits easily into your jersey pocket. Minimum weight, Minimum bulk, Maximum Protection.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
flaps badly in the wind
Posted15 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"This is very light and easy to put on and takeoff whilst riding. Its fit isn't so good and it rides up causing it to flap even more. The shoulder area in-particular isn't a good fit. It keeps the wind out on long alpine descents, but it will cost you ~5mph off your top speed. The finish of the zip in my case causes it to rub on my bib shorts causing piling, not good."
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lycra Shoecovers
Lycra Shoecovers
Ridden to victory at the Paris Roubaix on the feet of Fabian Cancellara, Sportful Lycra overshoes slip through the air with an Aeroflow compress fabric construction. Identical to those worn by the Saxobank Sungard team with a refined sportful graphic.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps your shoes clean
Posted15 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I always use shoe covers to keep my shoes from building up with dirt. The problem with all of these they don't place a reinforced toe and heel areas. Hence a short walk in the shoes can really bring an end to these covers."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Green Oil White - Super Dry Chain Wax Lubricant
Green Oil White - Super Dry Chain Wax Lubricant
White is a super dry chain wax. It uses a plant based rather than petrochemical based solvent. The formula contains natural bees wax rather than petrochemical or pafaffin wax.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Lubricant that fails to deliver
Posted15 March 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've tried everything, but this stuff still fails to get me to the end a 60 mile ride where i don't have steel rubbing against steel with no lubrication left. Chain stays clean though but you'll need a new one in half the time and it sounds terrible."
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Gabba Windstopper Rain Jersey
Castelli Gabba Windstopper Rain Jersey
A fully protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Tested and developed by the Cervelo Test Team, the Gabba jersey is a breakthrough in comfort and wet weather protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best jersey
Posted15 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"This is the second purchase of this top. I bought one when they first came out. It is not completely water proof the seams are not taped. This year’s colours are better. My first one survived three crashes, but is showing signs of damage on my shoulder from the last crash.
I sweat extremely heavily compared to most, but this top copes well and I never get the chill feeling I get in all other tops I’ve used when I get wet from sweat. I’ve never been able to do sport and not get soaking from sweat that is how bad it is. I have the best kit there is, nothing copes, except this because you don’t get the chills the same. It’s the best single jersey you can own. I’ve used it in winter (below zero) and summer (British). The only thing I can fault is the sizing. I’m between sizes. The large is too big and the medium slightly too tight. It is a compromise i reluctantly have to take. Oh another fault can’t they put some number tie place holders on the back for racing.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: sizing should overlap for best fit
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
 
Hand making a tubular tyre is an art in itself. So, because production differs distinctly from the manufacture or regular bicycle tyres, they are exclusively manufactured in a new Schwalbe factory.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good grip inconsistent quality
Posted27 July 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"Bought 4 of these. All have behaved differently. Two suffered from bad cuts on the first and second rides. The othe two didn't. Some of the cuts were side to side cuts needing super-glue to fix them. They have all suffered from punctures. I rarely get a puncture with clinchers, but these a different story. I ended up using NoTubes to limit there occurrence, but this is not completely puncher proof. Latest flat was cut side wall of the tyre about 1cm in length. All of the punctures have occurred road racing.
They have good grip, but not brilliant grip. Their wear rate is reasonable for a high end tyre, though never wore one out in 2000 miles I've used 4 tyres them.
Would I buy another one, no. I do have durano plus clinchers and these have been brilliant and trouble free.
"
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Low Quality, cut easily on some and not on others, puncture to easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
High performance, 5 ply, all conditions road race Tubular equivalent of the popular GP4000 clincher, which works well on all road surfaces.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
De-laminated 1st ride
Posted27 July 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I boufght these after reading the reviews here. I don't rate their clinchers at all. So I was worried buying these.
Found them a lot harder to put onto the wheel initially to pre-stretch the tyre than other manufacturers tyres I've fitted. I found them very easy to fit once stretched. I used tape over glue for the first time very easy. If anything the adhesion is stronger than glue.
On the first ride, a road race, these de-laminated, but they didn't flat which I'm impressed with. They don't deflate anywhere near likes of Vittoria and Schwalbe.
During the sole ride I didn't have any major skid, but did break heavy into some bends and did some heavy accelerations on the climbs and out the corners, but nothing different to other rides. I've never had a tyre ever de-laminate like this one before. The tyre was placed on the rear wheel. Retuned this and the other 2 tyres.
The tyre gripped well in cornering and provided a good feedback that was comfortable. Can run at a lower pressure, which is helpful.
There is quality there but equally there was some missing.
I'm still looking for a good tubular race tyre that does not fall apart or flat easily.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, grip, little air loss, easy fit once stretched
Cons: Low Quality, de-laminiated
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Arione CX Carbon Saddle & C-Braided Rails 2012
Arione CX Carbon Saddle & C-Braided Rails 2012
All the benefits of the CX concept, but built on a more economical nylon carbon base. A lightweight saddle with super strong braided carbon rails.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best seat I've used to date
Posted21 July 2011
LastMinute
fromSurrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I have been using this seat for over three years now. I have tried others but found none that work as well. I have used this on the Tour of Flanders and found it to be fine and very comfortable. It allows you take a multitude of different positions, more so than other seats I've used. Seats though are a personal thing and if you can try before you buy I would. Make sure you pay attention to set-up, wrongly set-up seat will make it feel uncomfortable. For the Carbon rails, ensure the seat stand clamp is suitable. Otherwise you'll be needing a new seat stand as well. It does not have seams on the side to wear out your clothes. The leather does mark easily though."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
 
LastMinute's Questions
 
LastMinute has not submitted any questions.
 
LastMinute's Answers
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the pedals come with the cleats included in the price?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

has anyone had to replace or service the peddals or cleats? if so whats the procedure

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Their website has a full set of instructions, which come with the pedals when purchased with the original packaging.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Are these pedals compatable with the new specialized BG 74 road shoes

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

do the zero pedals include cleats or do these need to be ordered seperately?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
High performance, 5 ply, all conditions road race Tubular equivalent of the popular GP4000 clincher, which works well on all road surfaces.
 

What length is the valve on these?

I would like to fit these to some 50mm deep carbon rims so just want to check if they will fit straight on or I will need an extender.
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
You will need a valve extender. The inner valve can be removed to fit this. You only need a short valve extender 25-30 mm
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
High performance, 5 ply, all conditions road race Tubular equivalent of the popular GP4000 clincher, which works well on all road surfaces.
 

How many are in a package? One tyre or two?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
1
2 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 

How do I correctly dispose of spent canisters?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Once empty these should be recycled as metal
3 years, 3 months ago
by
LastMinute
Surrey
 
 Edge 305 GPS with Heart Rate or Cadence Sensor
Edge 305 GPS with Heart Rate or Cadence Sensor
Choose your Edge 305 with either the Heart Rate Sensor or the Cadence Sensor included.
 

re GPS 305. does it have an on screen map depicting location?

how much does it weigh?
are all costs in Australian dollars?
User submitted photo
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It does not have map dipicting roads. It does allow you to follow a course by showing the relative direction change to the position you are coming from. Quite intuitive once you get use to it. It is not as good as a background map, but very usable.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
LastMinute
North Yorkshire
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

What is the TPI for these tyres

Howdy just wondering what the TPI count is. In the description it says both 290 and 320, which one is she?
Cheers
Stu
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
2011 tyre is 320 and old version is 290
3 years, 7 months ago
by
LastMinute
North Yorkshire
 
 Shamal 2 Way Fit Tubeless Road Wheelset 2009
Shamal 2 Way Fit Tubeless Road Wheelset 2009
Over the years the Shamal™ name has become a symbol of Campagnolo wheels.
 

Are Quick Release Skewers and wheel bags included?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The wheels came with two wheel bags and skewers. The pair of skewers weighed 100g.
5 years ago
by
LastMinute
North Yorkshire