gaterz
Share gaterz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gaterz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    29 January 2018
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 July 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    16 April 2018
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    2 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    18 June 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
gaterz's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Muc-Off Chain Cleaner Aerosol rapidly removes heavy chain grime quickly and safely and is also bio-degradable. It breaks down oil, grease and grim, leaving the chain containment free.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sparkling chain and Cassette
Posted29 January 2018
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I used this cleaner for the first time after a particularly wet and mucky ride. It is the best chain cleaner I have ever used. As soon as you spray it on it gets to work. A quick rinse with water and the chain and cassette look like new. It would be easy to use too much as the cleaner comes out with quite a force. The cleaner smells OK too. Highly recommended."
Pros: High Quality, reasonable smell, cleans rapidly
Cons: easy to use too much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A workshop grade track pump for fast, precise inflation of road and MTB tyres. With a durable steel barrel, large pressure dial and dual purpose valve head, the LifeLine track pump is an essential investment for mechanics and domestic users alike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Quality Pump
Posted17 January 2018
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a beautiful looking pump that does the job of pumping up your tyres quickly and easily. Initially had some problems trying to remove from the valve until you get used to having to pull quite firmly to remove. Very pleased with this purchase."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Super lightweight, incredibly packable and totally waterproof as due to the use of Gore-Tex fabric, Castelli's Idro Jacket pushes the performance of rain jackets further than ever before. Think of it as an investment in your riding comfort.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Best Cycling Jacket ever
Posted17 January 2018
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been using this jacket a few months now. I started using whilst the temperature was still in the teens during heavy rain and have found that the coat is completely waterproof. I have also noted that despite getting warm under the coat there is no moisture on the inside of the coat that I always had with other jackets. When the rain stops you can shake the jacket and most of the water is removed. The coat packs down very small and is easy to stuff into a rear shirt pocket.
I am now using in colder weather and whilst it is a tight fit over the 2 layers of garments I wear, it blocks the chill and I stay warm and dry with little sign of moisture on the inside of the jacket.
The downside with this jacket is that it is black so I now use lights at all times. This is the main reason I have given it 4 stars. Jacket is also very expensive.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight, waterproof, breathable
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superior Garmin Mount
Posted29 March 2017
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is a well made metal mount and although quite expensive is worth the money.
The mount when fitted sits in line with the stem and the Garmin is out in front of the handlebars.
"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedplay Coffee Shop Covers snap over the cleats to make walking easier & to protect your cleats. They keep dirt & mud out of your Light Action, Zero or X-Series cleats when you are off the bike, & give you traction when walking on uncarpeted
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Speedplay Cleat Covers
Posted29 March 2017
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are essential to protect the cleats when you have to walk in your cycling shoes. I nearly lost them on one occasion but that was only because I had not put them on properly. Only downside is that you have to carry them in a pocket and therefore takes up valuable space."
Pros: Good Fit, protect clips
Cons: take up space in pockets during cycling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 K-Edge Computer mount for Garmin Edge - XL
K-Edge Computer mount for Garmin Edge - XL
Designed to accommodate the larger size of the Garmin Edge® 1000 but also compatible with all Edge/Forerunner units that utilise the quarter turn mount system, the K-Edge XL Computer mount is also the strongest Garmin Edge® mount available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than Garmin mount
Posted10 March 2016
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This may be an expensive mount but it means the Edge 1000 sits ahead of your handlebars and below the level of the top of the handlebars, rather than on top of the stem. The K-Edge is well made metal mount. Holds the Edge 1000 very securely. Highly recommended."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ultimate HP hand pump when weight and performance matter. The barrel, handle and pump mount are made of FCT carbon fibre containing no metal reinforcement, while the piston and end caps are made of custom CNC machined aluminum.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beautiful Pump
Posted16 November 2015
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a lovely looking pump is light and works well and easily pumps up to 100psi. I use it with the ABS hose with the pressure guage. I have not had the problem with the hose rattling in the pump that other reviewers have had. I like the fact the hose screws onto the valve rather than a push fit. I am also glad to say that the top part of the valve has not come never come off when unscrewing the hose. It is expensive but I think it is worth it."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerTap ANT+ Dual Speed Cadence Sensor
PowerTap ANT+ Dual Speed Cadence Sensor
PowerTap ANT+ Dual Speed Cadence Sensor for use with wireless ANT+ PowerTap power meters.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well
Posted3 September 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As the previous reviewer said I was also fed up with the Garmin sensor not working particularly after getting wet. Also got through batteries very quickly.
Did not find the instructions particularly good. Trying to get the sensors within 1-3mm of the magnet proved a challenge so decided to add magnets on the wheel magnet so I did not have to tip the sensor over at an angle. However once it was sorted the Garmin 800 I have, picked up the sensors immediately. Remains to be seen whether this is as sensitive to the wet as the Garmin sensor. It is not particularly neat but then neither was the Garmin.
"
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent chain cleaner
Posted17 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I had been using a different manufacturers product for a couple of years until the plastic clips broke and I could not fix it. The Park chain cleaner was advertised at a really good price. I like the fact that the clips are metal, the cleaner is poured into the base of the unit before placing on the chain (my previous was poured in from the top and was very messy. The handle on the side is good, and finally the brushes with the fluid clean the chain very well. I am not sure how long the sponge will last but it does seem to reduce the amount of fluid that ends up on the floor. Instructions are also clear, even to the extent that they advise you to put newspaper down on the floor before starting (which I do anyway). Overall highly recommend this tool."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Connex 10S1 10 Speed Chain
Connex 10S1 10 Speed Chain
The lightest chain within the Connex range. The combination of hollow pins and stainless steel inner plates guarantees an exceptional lifespan and reduced weight at the same time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Expensive but does the job
Posted9 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this chain after having had a chain snap on me after ony 1,700 miles. I decided to buy a more expensive chain and after reading lots of reviews went for this one. The chain came with a link to fit together. So having measured and disconnected a few links I used the link to fit together. This was very straightforward. Unfortunately I did have a problem with noise from the chain when riding up steep hills. I went to my local bike shop and we narrowed the problem down to two things; a worn cassette or the link. So he removed the link (the cheaper option) and replaced it with a KMC link and the chain is now quiet in operation. We could only think the link was catching on the rear derailleur as it is slightly larger than the rest of the chain links. Apart from that the chain seems reasonably quiet in operation. Time will tell as to its durability."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Expensive, connecting link oversized
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
gaterz's Questions
 
gaterz has not submitted any questions.
 
gaterz's Answers
 
 SKS Race Blade Clip On Mudguard Set
SKS Race Blade Clip On Mudguard Set
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

I have a Bianchi C2C via Nirone 7 and was wondering if these would be suitable/fit?

I have fitted these mudguards to a Bianchi 928 C2C and they look pretty good. Just take your time when fitting them.
5 years, 11 months ago
by
gaterz
Bristol
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

What psi does this go to?

I managed to pump tyre to 120psi but I think it could have pumped even higher if needed.
7 years, 9 months ago
by
gaterz
Bristol
 
 Expando Wedge Medium Saddle Bag
Expando Wedge Medium Saddle Bag
Topeaks original wedge shape saddle bag with the QuickClick mounting system.
 

Does this come with a fixing bracket?

Or do you need to buy it seperately?
Thanks
J
Yes the item does come with a fixing bracket, although as I said in my review I had to turn the backplate over to make it fit.
7 years, 11 months ago
by
gaterz
Bristol