gaterz
Share gaterz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
gaterz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    17 June 2009
  • Last Review
    03 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    29 July 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    29 July 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    02 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    18 June 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
gaterz's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
PowerTap ANT+ Dual Speed Cadence Sensor for use with wireless ANT+ PowerTap power meters.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well
Posted03 September 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As the previous reviewer said I was also fed up with the Garmin sensor not working particularly after getting wet. Also got through batteries very quickly.
Did not find the instructions particularly good. Trying to get the sensors within 1-3mm of the magnet proved a challenge so decided to add magnets on the wheel magnet so I did not have to tip the sensor over at an angle. However once it was sorted the Garmin 800 I have, picked up the sensors immediately. Remains to be seen whether this is as sensitive to the wet as the Garmin sensor. It is not particularly neat but then neither was the Garmin.
"
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent chain cleaner
Posted17 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I had been using a different manufacturers product for a couple of years until the plastic clips broke and I could not fix it. The Park chain cleaner was advertised at a really good price. I like the fact that the clips are metal, the cleaner is poured into the base of the unit before placing on the chain (my previous was poured in from the top and was very messy. The handle on the side is good, and finally the brushes with the fluid clean the chain very well. I am not sure how long the sponge will last but it does seem to reduce the amount of fluid that ends up on the floor. Instructions are also clear, even to the extent that they advise you to put newspaper down on the floor before starting (which I do anyway). Overall highly recommend this tool."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Connex 10S1 10 Speed Chain
Connex 10S1 10 Speed Chain
The lightest chain within the Connex range. The combination of hollow pins and stainless steel inner plates guarantees an exceptional lifespan and reduced weight at the same time.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Expensive but does the job
Posted09 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this chain after having had a chain snap on me after ony 1,700 miles. I decided to buy a more expensive chain and after reading lots of reviews went for this one. The chain came with a link to fit together. So having measured and disconnected a few links I used the link to fit together. This was very straightforward. Unfortunately I did have a problem with noise from the chain when riding up steep hills. I went to my local bike shop and we narrowed the problem down to two things; a worn cassette or the link. So he removed the link (the cheaper option) and replaced it with a KMC link and the chain is now quiet in operation. We could only think the link was catching on the rear derailleur as it is slightly larger than the rest of the chain links. Apart from that the chain seems reasonably quiet in operation. Time will tell as to its durability."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Expensive, connecting link oversized
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Little tool
Posted09 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having recently had a chain snap, I realised the limitations of the small multi tool I carried and it was only another cyclist stopping that helped get me on my way. I then decided to buy a better piece of kit I could carry with me. This seems to be a well made tool small enough to slip into a saddle bag but big enough to handle chain link removal without too much effort. I used it on the new chain to remove a couple of links. I may never need it again but at least I have the peace of mind of knowing I have the right tool for the job now. Recommended."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent looking Mudguards
Posted18 June 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are attactive looking mudguards which have a carbon look finish and dont look out of place on my Bianchi. They do the job they are supposed to. However I did have some problems fitting them. For a start there was not enough protection foil so I used white electrical tape.
The adjusters would not stay in postion until eventually I held them in position and then marked them before drilling and screwing (with the small screws provided) through the mudguards. Once this was done they fit well.
The rubber bands provided for securing to the frame seem quite strong. I dont think I will need to use the cable ties provided.
Now they are set, they will be easy to remove and put back on when required.
Overall pleased with the finished look, but do need careful fitting.
Cannot yet comment on durability.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, takes time to fit properly
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 C9 Gel Short Finger Cycling Glove
C9 Gel Short Finger Cycling Glove
Gel padded gloves with an advanced design and ergonomics for perfect fit.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Provide Good Vibration Protection
Posted02 August 2011
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have only worn these gloves twice on rides just over 40 miles each. Compared to my previous gloves which were obviously worn out I did not suffer with any pains or numbness in my hands. I bought the large size and I dont have particularly large hands but they fit well. They do not have any adjustable closure but as they fit so well I do not consider this to be a problem. They seem to provide good ventilation through the back of the hands and the palm of my hands were not too sweaty by the end of the rides.
Cannot comment on durability.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Product with some reservations
Posted02 August 2011
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these mudguards as I had somehow managed to snap the previous mudguards (SKS raceblades). I would advise watching the video on the Crud website as it gives useful hints and tips on fitting, which proved useful.
I had no problem fitting the front mudguard on my Bianchi 928 C2C but when it came to the rear I could not stop the guard rubbing the tyre. I realised that the thickness of the guard under the frame was pushing the guard down onto the tyre. I had to push the guard further through the frame and rather than tie the guard over the brakes I tied over the frame forks. I them had to cut the front section to fit.
After some minor adjustments were carried out the mudguard does not rub and does not rattle. They also look quite stylish. I like the fact that they cover much more of the tyre than the raceblades did and therefore provide more protection.
I am quite pleased with the final result but it is worth taking your time over the fitting and with a little trial and error will work as designed.
"
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, protects front chainring
Cons: takes some time to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Xenon Cycling Socks Pack of 3 - 2011
Xenon Cycling Socks Pack of 3 - 2011
"Lightweight race cyclist socks with silver threads to combat odor and extremely comfortable materials make these socks valuable on longer trips."
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable Socks
Posted02 August 2011
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are very comfortable summer socks with no ridges/seams in pressure areas. The socks are designed to be left and right specific and are marked as such. Cannot comment on durability as have had for less than a week. They are a little on the expensive side but I guess you get a better fit for this price, so it is worth it.."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Machine Kit
Chain Machine Kit
Chain Machine includes 104 rotating and fixed brushes to ensure a super clean chain. Counter-rotating top and bottom scrubbing brushes ensure that the rollers of the chain are cleaned.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Chain Cleaner
Posted19 July 2011
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"There were no instructions provided with this gadget. However it was fairly easy to sort out how to use it..
Once attached to the chain and with cleaning fluid in the cleaner I turned the chain backwards for a few revolutions until the chain was coated. At that point it did not look clean but once I had wiped the chain with a rag it came up like new. I also used the brush and cleaner to clean the rear cassette. I washed off the cleaning fluid with water and allowed to dry and then coated with the dry lube provided.
Cleaning out the gadget is the worst part of the whole operation and the only time you are likely to get a spillage.
This is the first time I have use one of these gadgets and it is so much easier, quicker and brings up the chain like new. I will probably clean the chains more frequently now. Highly recommended.
Would have have been 5 stars but have marked it down for the lack of instructions.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged
Cons: no instructions provided
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Aeron cycling shorts pack an amazing feature set at a very competitive price: premium Italian stretch fabric and refined fit furnished with the ‘Race LT’ CyTech Elastic Interface cycle pad. An excellent value cycling short without compromise.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Colours
Posted19 July 2011
gaterz
fromBristol
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was looking for shorts that were not black and you would not believe how hard it was to find some. I bought the red and the blue. I have used them for short rides, up to 30miles and for longer 65 mile rides. I have found that after about 50 miles my posterior starts to feel the pressure. So I tend to use these shorts only for shorter rides. Cannot comment on durability. They wash well and dry quickly as most of these type of shorts do.
For the money they are very good value
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit, good choice of colours
Cons: not enough padding for long rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
gaterz's Questions
 
gaterz has not submitted any questions.
 
gaterz's Answers
 
RaceBlades - the innovative new guard for all race bikes. Almost invisible, this new guard system is the problem solution for all road racers looking for a functional but lightweight guard (225g for the complete set front and rear).
 

I have a Bianchi C2C via Nirone 7 and was wondering if these would be suitable/fit?

I have fitted these mudguards to a Bianchi 928 C2C and they look pretty good. Just take your time when fitting them.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
gaterz
Bristol
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

What psi does this go to?

I managed to pump tyre to 120psi but I think it could have pumped even higher if needed.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
gaterz
Bristol
 
 Expando Wedge Medium Saddle Bag
Expando Wedge Medium Saddle Bag
Topeaks original wedge shape saddle bag with the QuickClick mounting system.
 

Does this come with a fixing bracket?

Or do you need to buy it seperately?
Thanks
J
Yes the item does come with a fixing bracket, although as I said in my review I had to turn the backplate over to make it fit.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
gaterz
Bristol