burb
Share burb's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
burb's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    03 June 2010
  • Last Review
    05 September 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 July 2010
  • Last Question
    12 July 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 September 2011
  • Last Answer
    05 September 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
burb's Reviews
 
 Assos Chamois Cream
Assos Chamois Cream
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome
Posted05 September 2011
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I love this product, I can now ride for hours and this really helps with saddle soreness and general saddle discomfort.
This product may seem expensive, however for the amount you need to use each time, it is very good value.
The minty fragrance is a bonus.
If you spend at least an hour in the saddle at any time, use this product."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Look Keo Cleat Cover
Look Keo Cleat Cover
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent product
Posted05 September 2011
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These cleat covers are brilliant, I am now able to walk when off the bike without feeling off balance, they also protect my cleats to prevent them becoming damaged.
This is such a simple idea but it is brilliant, a must buy if you have shoes with Look cleats."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Coloured Skull Cap
dhb Coloured Skull Cap
Warm and breathable cold weather headwear made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No more cold ears.
Posted05 September 2011
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Extremely comfortable, as with all the DHB kit, very well made and does the job it was designed for.
I can now ride in the colder weather, without getting cold ears, keeps your head warm without feeling uncomfortable.
Folds up to a very small profile so is ideal for stowing in a bike bag or jersey pocket.
For the price I would recommend that anyone who enjoys riding even in colder weather should have one of these in the their bag."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome trainer
Posted05 September 2011
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to allow me to continue my cycling during the winter and on those days where weather was not ideal for riding outside.
I use my old mtb on the trainer, I bought some adapter wheel nuts to fit this as I did not have a quick release on the mtb.
I use the gears on the bike to adjust the load, however the trainer does have it's own tension adjuster if I need further effort.
The unit folds away nicely and I can be up and running in around 5 minutes when required.
I believe for the price, this unit is well worth the money, I have noticed improvements in my overall fitness and leg strength.
As mentioned at the beginning of this review, it allows me to train no matter what the weather is like."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nuun Active Hydration - 8 x 12 Tablets
Nuun Active Hydration - 8 x 12 Tablets
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated. Supplied in a box of 8 tubes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent product
Posted05 September 2011
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I had been suffering with cramp when cycling, after reading a few forums on similar issues, I saw a number of comments on these NUUN tablets.
Since using these, I no longer suffer with cramp when cycling, I am also able to maintain my effort for longer, these tablets do not contain any sugars or caffeine unlike some other re-hydration solutions which is a bonus.
Would highly recommend these tablets."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Crank Brothers 19 Function Multi Tool
Crank Brothers 19 Function Multi Tool
19 function multitool weighing a mere 175g (without tool flask).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent tool
Posted21 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have had many multi tools over the years and this is definately the best.
High quality construction, comfortable to use and has all the critical tools you would need out on the road.
This product also looks cool in the case.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hunston Face Mask
Hunston Face Mask
The Merston range - warm, breathable and affordable
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great product
Posted21 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This face mask is excellent, very comfortable and keeps your face nice and warm.
This mask is ideal for cycling or walking as I found out recently with the extreme cold weather.
The only thing that could improve this product is a hole to allow you to drink whilst cycling.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
Carbon Bottle Cage
4.8 out of 5(80)
 
 
 
Rhigos.03
4.8 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
Alien Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey
4.3 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Millook
Millook
This high grade alloy and carbon frame combined with the SRAM Rival groupset and Mavic Aksium wheels provides you with a fast, responsive race worthy sportive machine.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome
Posted03 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This bike is absolutely awesome, I have re-discovered my love for cycling and a lot of the reason is because of this bike.
I will begin with a summary then more detail for those of you who don't mind reading a bit:-
Frame: Extremely light, strong & good looking.
Gears: SRAM - Super smooth changes, easy to get used to if you have not used them before, excellent ratio.
Brakes: Excellent smooth feel, inspires confidence
Wheels: Mavic Aksium Race, great feel when on the road, looks great.
Overall Ride: Smooth, comfortable, confidence inspiring handling and power transfer.
Now for the detail:
I have recently got back into road cycling after an absence of a few years, I wanted to buy a bike which is lightweight but strong enough to deal with UK road conditions, comfortable enough for longer rides and designed and built well enough to inspire confidence when riding at speed.
I read numerous reviews on different bikes, frames, groupsets etc, upon comparison with other bikes in this price band, the quality of the components on this bike could not be matched.
This bike gives me everything I asked for.
The bike is so light (so much so I had to double check inside the box upon delivery to make sure the bike was in there!!!).
After a few adjustments of the gears, breaks, saddle and handlebars, the bike was ready to roll.
I have ridden the bike a few times now over varying short distances, the power transfer from me to the bike is immense, you can really feel all of your effort moving you forward rather than feeling like you are wasting effort.
The SRAM gears are an absolute breeze to use, even for someone like me who had not used the SRAM system before.
The bike absorbs the bumps on our roads really well, this is helped by the carbon front forks and rear stays
The brakes work nice and smoothly, and the Mavik Aksium race wheels ride well and look good too.
I like the saddle which comes with the bike, although this is a personal preference.
I bought a set of look cleated pedals and dhb shoes with the bike so I cannot comment on the standard pedals.
I have not been on any long distance rides as yet, however I cannot see that my opinions of this bike will change as on the short rides I have done I have encountered all manner of road surfaces, hills and general conditions to have tested the bike well.
I would definately recommend this bike to anyone, whether you are new to road cycling or a more established rider."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Triathlon 50 Lap Sleek Watch
Triathlon 50 Lap Sleek Watch
Ironman Sleek watches feature sport-timing functions perfected by 20 years of innovation. The stylish aerodynamic designs leave no doubt about the capabilities.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Simple to use, good functions, good value
Posted03 June 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I wanted a sports watch for running and cycling, however I did not need a watch which had too many functions or which would keep vast amounts of trip data.
This watch is ideal for what I needed, I can record a few lap times for comparison, the screen is nice and clear and the functions are easy to control especially when on the move.
The only minor negative point with this product is that after a few weeks of use the yellow coloured writing on the rubber start/stop button has almost worn off, but the button itself works with no problem.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Photon Waist Bag
Photon Waist Bag
Customizable water-bottle access in a sleek, minimalist design. Unique, ergonomically tunable water-bottle holster
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exactly what I needed
Posted03 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
burb
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I recently started running again and I really wanted something lightweight that would hold a drinks bottle, as well as having a pocket large enough for a house key, money and mobile phone.
This bag is ideal, extremely comfortable and breathable and once adjusted correctly there is no movement of the belt when running.
I also used this when riding my bike as I did not have a bottle cage fitted at the time and still I found the belt to be comfortable.
Would definately recommend this product."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
burb's Questions
 
 Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Got a turbo trainer? Get one of these!
 

MTB tyre size

I currently have a 26 x 1.95 tyre on my MTB, will the 26 x 1.75 fit ok for use with a turbo trainer?

Thanks
4 years, 5 months ago
by
burb
 
 CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
Best value magnetic trainer on the market.
 

Can you use this with a non quick release wheel?

I have an old mtb which I was looking to use with this trainer, however it does not have a quick release rear wheel.

Can I fit my current wheel to this trainer or do I need to buy an adapter for the trainer or a new wheel for the bike?

Thanks
4 years, 5 months ago
by
burb
 
burb's Answers
 
 Look Keo Cleat Cover
Look Keo Cleat Cover
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 

Would the fit the classic Look cleats?

Yes they do, I use them with my Look Classics.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
burb
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Do I have to buy a trainer tyre?

I'm thinking of buying a turbo trainer but don't want to faff about changing the rear tyre every time I switch from trainer to road. Can I use a trainer with just my normal tyre or is the performance compromised by not using a 'special' trainer tyre?
As I understand, you can use a normal road tyre on this trainer, however due to the heat generated when using the trainer a standard tyre will wear out very quickly.
I bought a continental turbo trainer tyre for use with this, however I have 2 bikes, one for use on the turbo and one for the road so I do not have the problem of needing to change the wheel.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
burb