Bikerunner
Top 500 Contributor
Share Bikerunner's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Bikerunner's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    41
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    26 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    27 September 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    27 September 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    24 July 2009
  • Last Answer
    18 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Bikerunner's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Shimano SPD MTB Cleats: Available options are SH51, SH52 and SH56 to fit the vast majority of SPD pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted26 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these because I purchased a second pair of shoes, but since I later purchased a second set of pedals for my second cycle, I needn't have bothered as there was a set with the pedals.
At least I have a spare set now, and I might get myself some more shoes at some point.
"
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great tubes
Posted27 September 2012
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are exactly what it says on the box - quality tubes.
I've been using them for some time now, I have to top up the pressures every week or so, but other than that I've had no problems with them.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL540RC Econom Force LED Front Light
HL-EL540RC Econom Force LED Front Light
Ecology meets economy. The CatEye Econom Force uses ROL technology and 4 NiMH rechargeable AA batteries to provide an efficient, regulated 4000cd light beam.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great light
Posted18 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to replace my previous Cateye rechargable light, a Single Shot Plus. The body of the old light had broken, but it still works, so I was able to compare the two lights, and found that the new one is about as bright on low beam as the old one was on high beam.
The spread of light isn't quite as wide as the older light, but it is brighter, and is adequate for road use. It might not be wide enough to ride trails or off road, but a second, helmet mounted, light would help there.
I've only used this around town so far, but I have ridden along an unlit cycle path in a park , and I think this light will be good enough to cycle along unlit roads.
I havn't used it enough yet to see how long the battery lasts, but if it's anything like my last Cateye rechargeable, it'll be good, especially if used on flashing when there are street lights."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano MT23 Trail/Touring Shoes 2013
Shimano MT23 Trail/Touring Shoes 2013
Multi-use touring shoes with a ventilating mesh upper and a recessed cleat for comfortable walking. Ideal for touring, long summer leisure rides and every-day riding.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great all round shoe.
Posted02 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"For some time I'd been thinking of trying out some shoes with cleats, but had been put off by the expense, being unable to walk easily in road cycling shoes, and the prospect of falling over at traffic lights.
I finally took the plunge, and found these shoes to be ideal for my needs.
I wanted some shoes I could walk in, and having a natural slate floor in my hallway, normal road shoes were out of the equation. These are reasonably comfortable to walk short distances, and first impressions on the bike are that I should have made this move years ago.
The difference in power transfer to ordinary trainers, even with toe clips, was a bit of a revalation, I hadn't realised how much better shoes with cleats are.
After reading the other reviews I had decided to go one size larger, and found them to be a good fit, especially considering I have reasonably wide feet.
Overall I'm happy with them, I don't expect they will be very waterproof, but I do have some shoe covers to go over them when winter arrives.
One other thing, after some 25+ miles I've not actually fallen over yet, so I've obviously got used to unclipping before coming to a standstill."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Muc-Off have now added Nano technology to their award winning cleaning formula. So why is Muc-Off with Nano better? Because the Nano sized particles contained in our revolutionary formula will remove dirt and grime with even less effort!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Product.
Posted21 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This does exactly what it should, it cleans dirt and oil off components, and rinses off cleanly.
As long as you leave it to soak for a while, and work it into the corners with a soft brush, one application usually does the job.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Elite Team Workstand
Elite Team Workstand
Another wiggle exclusive!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sturdy, stable, stand.
Posted08 February 2012
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is a sturdy stand that holds the cycle securely while it is being worked on.
It has a good range of adjustment, so you never need to bend down to reach the parts that you are working on.
It was a bit expensive, but it's good quality, so should last a long time.
My only regret is that I didn't buy one years ago.
"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
On the road or on rough ground, the C2 represents an ideal compromise between lightness and high levels of comfort
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable saddle
Posted08 February 2012
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought one of these several years ago for my other cycle, and was completely satisfied with it.. I hadn't used that particular cycle very much, but I decided to use it a bit more last year, and when I got back to riding my day to day cycle, I realised how bad the saddle on it was.
It didn't take long for me to decide to upgrade the saddle, and since I'd had around 1,800 trouble free miles on one of these, it seemed the natural choice.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement bike mounts for the Edge 200, 205, 500, 605, 705, and 800.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it should.
Posted08 February 2012
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought a used Garmin 705, and it only had one mount with it.
As I have two cycles I needed another, and everything I needed was in the pack.
Not much to say really, it does what it's supposed to do."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Topeak quality at a great price! Padded elastomer grip and TwinHead connector make this efficient pump comfortable and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fast efficient pump
Posted29 October 2011
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This pump makes it easy to both inflate from flat, and to top up the pressure.
The head clamps onto the valve easily, and doesn't slip off. The long hose means you don't have to rotate the wheel to reach the valve.
The guage is large enough to read easily, but not so big that it gets in the way.
The clips that hold the hose mean that the hose can be used to hold the handle in place, so you can use the handle to carry it.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Vital companion for the Edge 705
Posted01 July 2011
Bikerunner
fromBirmingham England.
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had recently aquired a used Edge 705, but it didn'r have tha cadence sensor. I bought one, and found it easy to fit and set up, and since it's self calibrating, that was all I needed to do.
It does exactly what it should, what more can I say?
It's a bit expensive, and since I never use an indoor trainer the speed sensor is a bit pointless, but it's there if I need it.
"
Pros: Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Bikerunner's Questions
 
Bikerunner has not submitted any questions.
 
Bikerunner's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

I have a 700x28 tire and was wondering if the Continental Quality Road Inner Tube 700x25-35 will fit?

I have a 700x28 tire and was wondering if the Continental Quality Road Inner Tube 700x25-35 will fit? I previously bought 700x18-25 and found that tube wall became very thin due to high inflation.

thanks.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I had the same problem with the 700cX18-25 tubes in 700cX25 tyres, and kept getting pinch flats.
I switched to the 700cX25-35, and have had no problems at all with them.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
On the road or on rough ground, the C2 represents an ideal compromise between lightness and high levels of comfort
 

Is this saddle suitable for TT/TRI

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It should be, it's comfortable, and relatively lightweight. I've covered some 1,800 miles on one of these, and just bought one for my second cycle.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

Which tube do I pick for The Sport contact 700x28

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The 700 X 25 - 35 should be the best fit for that tyre. I use them in my 700 X 25 Continental Ultra Gatorskins with no problems.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
Replacement bike mounts for the Edge 200, 205, 500, 605, 705, and 800.
 

One or two sets in package for option 1?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I bought an option 2 kit and it only had one, so I assume that option 1 is the same.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 

How does it work?

How does this sensor work, does it have a magnet attached to the crank? If so, where does the sensor mount?
If riding outside, do I need to use it to measure speed, I thought the GPS in the 705 measured speed, I am guesing it is for use inside with a turbo or rollers.. Can anyone confirm this for me
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
There are 2 magnets with it, one fits on the crank, and the other on a spoke of the rear wheel.
The cadence is obviously self calibrated, and the speed can be done either manually, or atuomatically, the first time you ride it outdoors where it can pick up a GPS signal.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 

Will it work on a turbo trainer i.e. can you put speed magnet on rear wheel and will forerunner (or whatever) pick up signal on the front of the bike?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, it will pick up the signal from the GSC10, as long as it's compatable with it.
My Edge 705 will pick up the signal fron 3 or 4 metres away, once it's synced, it won't pick up interference form other devices.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

Which replacement cartridges would you use for this?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I just use tha 16g cartridges, which will inflate a 700c x 25 tyre or a 26 x 1.75.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
 Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
Ultraflate Plus CO2 Tyre Inflator
The best selling Ultraflate Plus uses trigger controlled technology for fast, easy, single handed CO2 inflation.
 

What's the length?

How many mm long is this product?

Will it fit in the Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag size medium?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's 5 inches, or 13 cm long.
I'm not sure of the size of that bag, so can't tell you if it will fit or not.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
 HL-EL320 LED Front Light
HL-EL320 LED Front Light
"Awesome!" would sum up Cateye's new EL-320, at just 176g in weight and over 1000 candlepower this compact light illuminates dark streets or can be used with its flashing beam to attract attention amongst city lights.
 

Will H32 handlebar brackets take the cateye el320 light

My bikes are all fitted with the H32 brackets- will the cateye el320 fit these? H32's are listed as an option for the el530 will this light fit?
Ta
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The light will fit a H34 handlebar bracket, but I'm not sure of the H32.
I've had a look on the Cateye website, and I can't find any information about either of those light brackets, so can't compare them.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.
 
 HL-EL320 LED Front Light
HL-EL320 LED Front Light
"Awesome!" would sum up Cateye's new EL-320, at just 176g in weight and over 1000 candlepower this compact light illuminates dark streets or can be used with its flashing beam to attract attention amongst city lights.
 

What are the dimensions of this light?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's 10 cm / 4 inches long, and 4 cm / 1 5/8 inches across.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Bikerunner
Birmingham England.