dickiedoo
Top 500 Contributor
Share dickiedoo's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
dickiedoo's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    27
  • First Review
    12 June 2009
  • Last Review
    04 March 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    3
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    10 January 2011
  • Last Question
    10 January 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    18 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    30 December 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
dickiedoo's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
This handy bike handlebar mount allows you to place either your Garmin Edge 200, 500, 510, 800 or 810 infront of your bars. This puts the Edge in a position optimised for easier viewing and increased safety.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Enough with the neck strain.....
Posted04 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The 'standard' Garmin/stem bands etc mounting has been fine but once you've stepped up to the out-front mount, you'll never go back! Ease of fitting, lightweight and much easier viewing of your garmin, without having to look down at your stem, means a safer and, lets face it, cooler looking way to carry the Garmin."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The S7 generation of ASSOS overshoes is built on a newly developed "pattern design chassis" featuring the minimum number of seams necessary, providing a snug, low-volume contouring fit. The rainBootie provides total waterproofing for wet conditions
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
(mostly) goodbye wet feet
Posted03 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Assos, its not cheap but it looks good, it lasts and it works. I've tried quite a few pairs of overshoes and none of them have kept my feet dry when the rain is persistent. These beauties keep the wind out and perform better than most when it comes to keeping dry but I have yet to find an overshoe that can keep all the rain out."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 GatorSkin Road Tyre and Tube Set
GatorSkin Road Tyre and Tube Set
Two highly puncture resistant training tyres with unique grippy winter compound tread complete with presta tubes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Winter miles road bombs
Posted03 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Its cold, its dark, its raining....winter riding, you embrace it because when the (hopefully) lighter/warmer days come, it will seem easy in comparison to the winter miles. Getting those miles in, with as few punctures as possible is mostly about the Tyre and these are good. Not too heavy, good grip, roll well and resist all but the most persistently intrusive shards of flint etc. They are hard wearing and good for at least 5000k (in my experience) buy with confidence!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Inspired by the Ronde van Vlaanderen, the Fiandre No-Rain Jacket is designed for the Flemish winter but excels in all conditions with protection from the cold, wind and rain without sacrificing breathability or fit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Winter night riding companion
Posted01 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It s cold, dark and wet, this well designed jacket has excellent features for this type of conditions, High warm neck, drop tail, waterproof panels which are roubaix lined and wind proof. I chose this hi viz colour to increase visibility during winter night rides. Good fit and comfortable to wear. Would have been even better with a standard 3 pocket rear cargo pockets."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: a standard 3 pocket rear cargo feature would be be
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Wind and Waterproof cycling gloves with a light, breathable construction. Featuring a 3-layer membrane fabric assembly, 3D pre-curved fingers and silicone contact points for protection, feel and dexterity on the roads and trails - whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
No more wet cold hands....
Posted10 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having a had a pair of sealskinz gloves before I know what they are capable of. Living in the far southwest (where it rains a lot) keeping hands dry and cutting out wind chill is essential on a long ride. These gloves do the job very well. I chose the hi-viz yellow colour way and in the low light conditions of foul weather and winter, they add an extra level of safety. My only critique of these gloves is the lining is not fixed and can be a bit tricky to get your hands back in."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit, hi viz yellow great in low light
Cons: lining not fixed can make access tricky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
float or no float.....?
Posted07 March 2012
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been using speedplay zeros for 5 seasons now, this purchase is to replace a long serving pair. You can clip in on both sides, you can set float between 15' and 0 degrees, you can even adjust the float on a heel in/out rotation basis. The stainless steel pedals weigh approximately 40g more than the ti version but cost a whole lot less, I cant imagine using anything else now RECOMMENDED."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
One below pro standard
Posted04 March 2012
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This cassette shares many of the features of the Dura ace cassette but for less than half the price! This is on my training wheels and performs as well as the Dura ace cassette on my race wheels, it's not as light and it may not last as long but as far as performance is concerned the difference is barely discernable."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 101 Clincher Front Wheel (Beyond Black)
101 Clincher Front Wheel (Beyond Black)
A great clincher front wheel from Zipp, now with black spokes and hubs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
what a pair of wheels!
Posted13 February 2012
User submitted photo
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"although 'only' 2012 101's this is the first Zipp wheelset I,ve had. The Toroidal rim shape super smooth hubs, low weight and rigidity of these wheels make them very fast! I chose these because for the type of riding/races/events that I,m doing they represent the best compromise for me. Only used them for a single training ride, up to now but I'm sold, probably wouldnt want any other brand of wheel ever again!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The K-EDGE chain catcher is a precision component that enhances the overall function of your drive train while protecting your valuable frame.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Remember Andy Schleck, TDF 2010!!
Posted03 February 2012
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am using a compact chainset 50/34 for european sportives AND the Dragon ride. Under less than optimal shifting conditions, the chain sometimes unships and although I am not technically in a race its still a massive inconvenience. The k-edge chain catcher is almost un-noticable and weighs next to nothing. Since fitting I have not experienced a single chain loss. It works for me"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Aeon Road Helmet
Aeon Road Helmet
The ultimate combination of ventilation and light weight, the Aeon excels on long climbs and hot weather conditions. Weighing only 222g (medium) and featuring 24 wind tunnel sculpted vents, the Aeon the helmet of choice for dedicated racing cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hard to tell you're wearing Helmet.
Posted19 January 2012
dickiedoo
fromPenzance
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is the third Giro helmet I,ve owned, this model weighs so little(in my opinion) you can barely tell you're wearing it! At the moment its only january so ventilation on hot days hasnt been an issue yet! If my other Giro helmets are anything to go by, adequate ventilation will not be an issue! The' roc loc' system and the adjustment capabilites that this helmet has, will render it almost impossible not to get a comfortable, secure fit. This is not a cheap helmet but then your head is priceless....recommended!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
 
Products related to my review
LX Short Finger Cycling Gloves
4.2 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
dickiedoo's Questions
 
 Premium Heart Rate Monitor Soft Strap
Premium Heart Rate Monitor Soft Strap
The new HRM soft strap, which is rugged enough to withstand swimming.
 

is this compatible with an EDGE 705?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
Garmin ANT+ Sport Heart rate monitor chest strap for Forenunner 50 and 405.
 

is this compatible with an EDGE 705?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
dickiedoo's Answers
 
Complete top-of-the-range gear cable set designed to suit Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 and Ultegra 6700 Road bike brakesets. Fitting new gears or completely overhauling your gear cabling couldn't be easier - everything you need in one pack.
 

Shimano Road Brake Cable Set with PTFE Inner Cable - Please could you confirm this product is compatable with Shimano 105 leavers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
2 years, 7 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is this the regular Ultremo ZX?

What the "Evolution"?
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I think the zx is an evolution of the R1, I believe some people had issues with durability/puncture protection with the R1 tyre which the 'evolved' zx has addressed.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
 Shirahama Shoes AW13
Shirahama Shoes AW13
3D moulded upper for ultimate comfort and fit
 

Size choice

I take 44/10 are they a small fit and if so should I order 45/11.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I have a pair of these, I would not say they are a small fit I feel they are fairly true to size
3 years, 5 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
 Zero Extreme WindStopper Base Layer AW10
Zero Extreme WindStopper Base Layer AW10
The Craft zero extreme range is designed to keep you dry and fresh in any cold weather workout. The advanced fabric technologies keep you drier, lighter, fresher and warmer.
 

Windstop fabric on shoulder

Image pic shows windstop fabric cover up shoulder part on black one,but dont on white one.
And watching carefully,I also noticed these models(Black one and White one)in the pic are somehow different in shape of panels.
Which of them is the correct model?

Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I have the white baselayer and mine has the windstopper panels on the shoulder-I dont have the black one so cannot comment on panels
4 years, 2 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
The GatorSkin is the ultimate wire bead training & racing tyre where puncture protection is priority. Using the latest technology against flats the GatorSkin range uses an aramid breaker and Duraskin® sidewall ProTection.
 

Which size would be best to replace exsisting 700x26, the 25 or 28?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I think your question can be answered by thinking about your intended use for the replacement tyres. If you are using them on a winter training/commuter bike I think the 700x25 would be fine. If you are fitting them to a touring bike or are planning to carry any sort of weight I would go for the 700x28. Hope this helps.
User submitted photo
4 years, 8 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance
 
 Thermolite Pro Unpadded Bib Tights
Thermolite Pro Unpadded Bib Tights
Teflon HT treated Thermolite provides insulation and comfort , Wicking stretch mesh upper bib to prevent overheating with zip fly , Ergonomic body panelling , High stretch Lycra bound straps , Reflective logos on thigh and rear , All seams fully flatlocked for comfort , Slimline ankle zip for ease of access with snapdown puller , Double thickness layer on knees
 

Are these tights waterproof?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No the thermolite tights are not waterproof, for waterproof tights by Endura you need the STEALTH models. It rains a lot here in Cornwall in the winter and in my experience you are better off with tights that are windproof as this will stop your muscles getting cold.
 
Products from my answer
Winter LL Unpadded Bib Tights
4.3 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
Winter LL S5 Padded Bib Tights
4.4 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
Thermolite Padded Bib Tights
4 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 10 months ago
by
dickiedoo
Penzance