spaceyjase
Top 500 Contributor
Share spaceyjase's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
spaceyjase's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    35
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    16 June 2009
  • Last Review
    14 April 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    30 October 2009
  • Last Answer
    18 February 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
spaceyjase's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Gore Bike Wear Contest Full Zip Short Sleeve Jersey
Gore Bike Wear Contest Full Zip Short Sleeve Jersey
A ventilated slim fit short sleeve jersey with a full zip for temperature control and quick changes. Perfect for summer rides and sportives with refined Gore Bike Wear styling.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Funny size... could just be me!
Posted14 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought a size up - large - as recommended and the overall fit across my chest is just right. More length would be nice though as the top fits exactly. It's OK on the bike as one leans forward. Oddly, and unlike some other Gore tops I have, there's no tacky/rubber strip around the waist to keep it in place so it moves around a bit, catches a draft."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Aeron Race Cycling Short
dhb Aeron Race Cycling Short
These anatomically fitted shorts, made from an Action 205 performance stretch fabric, feature contrast styling and offer a state of the art Elastic Interface Giro Air chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Style and quality with an athletic fit.
Posted14 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"As title! Lots of panels make these shorts fit great and work well on a long ride. They look smart too with a good overall fit.
I was between medium and large. Go large!"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultremo R.1 Evolution Coloured Folding Road Tyre
Ultremo R.1 Evolution Coloured Folding Road Tyre
Created using new construction principles and with new high tech materials. Rolling resistance and weight have been radically reduced! Improve your personal best by a factor of R.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Meh
Posted24 June 2011
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Lovely looking tyre, thought I'd give it a go instead of the Pro3 Race as the claim of low-rolling resistance and puncture protection was too great. I purchased mine in May and have done the daily commute, 3ccr and London to Brighton (in amongst a few training rides), barely touching 500 miles, and I'm through the side wall already. They're certainly fast but overall are just a thin, race tyre. Back to the Pro3 Race!"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Wears Out Easily
 
Products related to my review
Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
4.4 out of 5(320)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Monza Road Helmet 2011
Monza Road Helmet 2011
The Monza's race-bred styling and cool performance were made for life in the faster lane. Sleek and sophisticated, it's the perfect choice for riders with a passion for style and an eye for value.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good looking helmet...
Posted11 May 2011
User submitted photo
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"...but it's fairly wide down the sides! I like the overall fit and the helmet has a fair few points of adjustment. The vents are large and open, won't get too hot wearing this lid. But it is much thicker than your typical helmet and the forward facing vents could do with some mesh to stop any extra passengers."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices, thick side sections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Race Rocket Master Blaster Mini Pump
Topeak Race Rocket Master Blaster Mini Pump
Designed to meet the demands of a professional racing and training schedule this elegant and sleek mini pump features a full aluminium body, head and pump handle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Pump it!
Posted16 April 2011
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great little pump, highly recommended to all. It is tiny (see pictures) yet packs a decent amount of pressure (although being small means a lot of pumping for roadies!), fits both popular valve types and (important!) has no knobbly bits to annoy and chafe when it is in a jersey pocket (it also fits into the ubiquitous Topeak saddle bag).
The capped end also has a little cute face. Surely that's a five star rating, amirite?"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
 
Products related to my review
Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Medium Saddle Bag
4.6 out of 5(839)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gold Lubricant 4oz
Gold Lubricant 4oz
This chain lube moved the 21st. century closer to the 22nd century. Drive-trains look like that just came out of the box.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Clean me, lube me.
Posted14 April 2011
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Wow, this is pretty cool stuff! It says it cleans and lubes and, well, so does every lube on the market - but this is something else. Following the instructions (and you must follow them, don't just spray this on!) leads to the dirt and grim _visibly_ leaving the chain and cassette. Lovely!
Overall performance seems to be good with a layer of lubricant doing what it is supposed to do. I haven't given it much in the way of adverse weather treatment and for that, I'd probably still go for a more specialised lubricant, but give this a go. Rock 'n' roll!"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nobby Nic Evolution Folding Bike Tyres
Nobby Nic Evolution Folding Bike Tyres
Spirited grip. Devilishly fast. Nobby Nic combines the incompatible! It has divine grip and goes like the devil. How is that possible?
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Tyres... evolved?
Posted14 April 2011
User submitted photo
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not convinced, I got punctures ;)
Overall the tyres have performed well so far (punctures aside; it was wet and gravelly, I guess I'm just unlucky), with plenty of straight line grip in some totally absurd conditions. These come up a little thinner than I expected but that's cool as I've found my frame has miserly clearance when it gets muddy. They feel fast and react well under power but I do wonder about tackling more technical terrain so your mileage may vary.
They certainly look the part though. Give 'em a go."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily
 
Products related to my review
Red Metal 5 Int Standard MTB Wheelset
4.7 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Red Metal 5 Int Standard MTB Wheelset
Red Metal 5 Int Standard MTB Wheelset
Red Metal 5 wheels allow all enthusiasts to enter the Fulcrum® Off-Road universe.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Wheels!
Posted14 April 2011
User submitted photo
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Good set of wheels, abused by some local trails around Berkshire after replacing the previous wheels that came with the bike (which I managed to break - the rear hub got bent). They are still true and don't appear to have picked up any adverse wear or tear - the spokes add a great look to the bike, nice and chunky overall without being excessively heavy. The wheels have a great feel while spinning down a hill and have a nice balance helping the rider confidently control the bike.
Not a fan of the decals but for the price that's cool. They look good from a distance!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Dia-Compe 188 Reverse Brake Levers
Dia-Compe 188 Reverse Brake Levers
Speciality levers that hinge on the outside and have a cable feed that runs outside the handlebar.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cool and the gang
Posted18 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are great! Another fixed gear rider, wanted something cheap and low maintenance to stick on the end of the bars... although maybe I have broken some hipster rule by having both ;) There's a little bit of play in the actual lever (to the left/right) but it's fine and makes no noise, provides essential braking assistance when the time demands. As they thread through, they make for a very tidy set-up. Bargain too, buy!
The handles seat a barrel ended cable for those interested."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Moto Baggy Shorts
Moto Baggy Shorts
With years of experience in motorcross, Troy lee build their shorts to withstand the toughest challenges on 2 wheels.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Hang on...
Posted15 February 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
spaceyjase
fromWokingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Runner
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"...OK, they look fairly 'trendy' I guess and they're certainly stitched together well, seem to have hard wearing seams that will stand up to a muddy single track like no other but there's no button and the ratchet mechanism, held by a couple of rivet-like things (hey, I just wear the clothes!), came off the shorts after a fairly hard ride. That's not good and is a big let down overall for something that's described as being tough. And it wasn't just my shorts either.
Fit is a little tight, perhaps. Went for the 32" and it fits _perfectly_ rather than a baggy fit (like other off-road styled shorts)... casual fit? Nah. Might want to go a size up. There's also removable padding on the sides of the short for those inevitable bumps but no padding where it counts. Naturally there's a disclaimer that they won't protect you in the event of a crash anyway so I'm always in two minds as to why they bother.
A little disappointed then considering the price."
Pros: Rugged, Adjustable
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
spaceyjase's Questions
 
spaceyjase has not submitted any questions.
 
spaceyjase's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Dia-Compe 188 Reverse Brake Levers
Dia-Compe 188 Reverse Brake Levers
Speciality levers that hinge on the outside and have a cable feed that runs outside the handlebar.
 

What type of brake cable end do these use?

So I can get the right cables at the same time :-)
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Barrel!
3 years, 9 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham
 
 Gel DS Sky Speed Shoes SS11
Gel DS Sky Speed Shoes SS11
Following the success of the GEL-DS TRAINER the GEL-DS SKY SPEED is suitable for the more efficient runner with a neutral gait. It features additional Guidance Line technology for a smooth and efficient ride with ASICS most advanced upper technologies for an extremely comfortable fit.
 

Would anyone recommend to run a marathon in these shoes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Well, it depends on your particular running style. These are very light and don't have a lot of support; they're fairly neutral overall and recommended for a neutral running style. They are extremely comfortable over a long distance and quite sturdy. I don't see why you couldn't run a marathon in them (I've not done a full marathon in them). Best advice is to see a running shoe specialist and check your running style :)
3 years, 9 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham
 
 Easton Cork Bar Tape
Easton Cork Bar Tape
The finishing touch, comfortable padded tape with Easton logos on the surface and on end plugs.
 

Is the end plug reflective?

I know some brands have a reflective logo on the end plug, is this the case with this product?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Nope - it's basically a transparent cap over the 'E' (Easton) logo on a black background.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham
 
 Garmin Forerunner 310XT GPS Sports Watch with HRM
Garmin Forerunner 310XT GPS Sports Watch with HRM
Garmin International is pleased to announce the Forerunner 310XT multisport GPS training device. It is Garmin's first swim-proof training device that is water resistant to 50 meters.
 

Do you need to purchase accessories (bike/run) or does the watch automatically calculate speed/distance based on GPS for bike and run?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Out of the box, the watch calculates distance and speed based on GPS signal. You can make this more accurate with the optional foot pod for running and the cadence sensor for a bike.

Both are optional extras sold separately. Hope that helps!
3 years, 10 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham
 
 Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
The Finchdean range - top performance kit which looks good and feels great
 

6'4, 40 inch wirst and 48 inch chest

another sizing questions, cannot decide which size to get, as depending on which measurement I go with changes from XL to XXL, can someone help?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd get the size up; I found the bib a snug fit. If it isn't right you can take advantage of the returns policy :)
3 years, 10 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham
 
 Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Does the pump come with a mounting kit

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes. You can mount it to a bottle mount or use the supplied cable ties to put it on the frame.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham, UK
 
 Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Is this suitable for french valves common to most road bikes?

I have been told portable pumps tend to bend the valves on road bikes. Is there any truth to this?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Well, yeah but the valve end of this pump is separate from the body so you're not putting any force onto the valve and/or wheel. The valve end fits easily over the valve and locks in with zero effort.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham, UK
 
 Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
Topeak Road Morph with Gauge
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

What psi does this go to?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Well, the gauge goes up beyond 90 psi but it's hard to tell just how far it goes.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham, UK
 
 Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
The Pro³ Race has one of the lowest rolling resistances of any commercial racing tyre.
 

do the tyres come as a pair or does it depend on whiah you want to buy?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
They're sold as a single tyre (not a pair).
4 years, 4 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham, UK
 
 Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro3 Race Folding Road Tyre
The Pro³ Race has one of the lowest rolling resistances of any commercial racing tyre.
 

what does it mean by a "folding tyre" ?

is this any different from other tryes. does it affect the tyres?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It just means it doesn't have a bead (e.g. wire) so can be folding (it'll come folded too). It doesn't have an effect on the tyre.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
spaceyjase
Wokingham, UK