Kanto
Share Kanto's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kanto's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    26 July 2010
  • Last Review
    07 June 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Kanto's Reviews
 
The Rolls-Royce of mudguards; they are virtually unbreakable and very elegant. The stainless steel v-shaped stays make for easy fitting and quick release secu-clips are far safer than standard fixings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mudguards that work
Posted07 June 2016
Kanto
fromKettering
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought these for my Boardman Hybrid Team. I was a bit concerned that the disc brake clutter would make fitting difficult but the only mod needed was to remove one of the plastic hub end mounts from the end of one pair of stays. The fittings and bolts supplied were generous and high quality. There is a slight bit if faffying about with the plastic end caps to the stays as you have to trim off the excess length of the stays before fitting them. But all in all they look very neat, have sufficient clearance for fairly chunky 28mm tyres."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Mono Short Sleeve Fluoro Jersey
dhb Mono Short Sleeve Fluoro Jersey
A great value hi-viz jersey for visibility on low light cycle commutes. The Mono Jersey combines technical fabrics with low key styling and a relaxed fit. The perfect blend of performance, casual looks and safety out on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable and visible
Posted17 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Kanto
fromKettering
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a hi-vis short sleeve top for early morning rides (when motorists are still dozy). This is comfortable, fit is good and the pockets hold inner tube, phone etc. without any worry of anything falling out."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MT43 SPD Touring/Leisure Cycling Shoes
MT43 SPD Touring/Leisure Cycling Shoes
A versatile multi-purpose trail, touring and leisure SPD shoe. Ideal for off-road riding or great as mixed commute shoe thanks to a comfortable walking sole and relaxed casual looks.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice shoe for cycling & walking
Posted23 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Kanto
fromKettering
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"After the first ride I had one blackened toenail on each foot but thereafter fine so I guess they stretched a bit. Only criticism is that the cleat mount doesn't adjust as far to the toes as I'd ideally like. It's only about 2-3mm short of optimum so liveable with."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Unadjustable, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bike wall rack
Posted01 October 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Kanto
fromKettering
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very easy to fix, just 2 screws. It's a very simple and elegant solution that works well. However, it is just that, a steel back plate with 2 holes and a bit of curved steel rod welded to it, all finished in black powder coating. My guess is that the material cost is no more than £1. OK there's a bit of labour but I reckon it's a bit pricey for what it is."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, Good Fit, simple
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lightweight but tough
Posted26 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kanto
fromKettering
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Land's End to John O'Groats, 1,054 miles with 9 days of rain and only 2 puntures! That's amazing.
Some other reviewers have said they're hard to fit. I found them pretty easy. In fact I can fit them without using tyre levers (I have big hands mind you).
"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Kanto's Questions
 
Kanto has not submitted any questions.
 
Kanto's Answers
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

Will these tyres fit my wheels

I've got some Zipp 404 clinchers and was wondering if these will fit? Will they be suitable for training?
Not sure about fit but if the size matches I can't see you'll have a problem. As for training, these tyres are fantastic. I have an 800m rough track between my house and a proper road and in 2 years no punctures. My son used them for a Lands End to John O'Groats trip (on minor roads). He had only 2 punctures over 1050 miles.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Kanto
Kettering
 

Can you lock the wheel to the rack?

Is there enough room to put a bike lock through the wheel and the rack for extra security?
It wouldn't work as you could just slip the lock off. You could fit a steel angle cleat to one of the fixing screws though which you could thread a cable lock. But what if your thief has a screw driver?
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Kanto
Kettering
 

How long are the screws for the wall?

Looking for landlord's permission for this on our balcony wall so want to know how deep I'll have to drill.

Thanks
Depends on the wall! I reckon you need at least 40mm of good penetration into masonry or 25mm into timber, i.e. the strutural part of the wall. So the screw must plaster (& insulation) thickness plus 40mm for masonry and plus 25mm for timber framing.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Kanto
Kettering
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

Is this the new model with K320 casing?

Your item description says 240TPI, and was wondering if you could source the new 320TPI casing model, as seen on Vittoria's website.
http://www.vittoria.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12311&Itemid=116
Yes
6 years ago
by
Kanto
Kettering
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 

I'm confused as to the tubular bit. Do i still need a normal inner tube or is it a glue on job. It look like a clincher from the picture

It's a normal tyre that requires an inner tube. It just rides like a tub.
6 years ago
by
Kanto
Kettering